Mazda dealers in Malaysia have begun advertising the CX-60 on Facebook, with many accepting bookings for the SUV. First making its global debut in March 2022, the CX-60 has been previewed here previously, most recently at this year’s Malaysia Autoshow.
Estimated to retail at RM198,900, the CX-60 will be offered in a sole 2.5G 2WD High variant that will be available in five colours: Soul Red Crystal, Platinum Quartz, Rhodium White, Jet Black and Zircon Sand.
In terms of the powertrain, our CX-60 will feature a Skyactiv-G 2.5 litre naturally-aspirated inline-four petrol engine rated at 191 PS (189 hp or 141 kW) and 261 Nm of torque, with drive going to the rear wheels via an eight-speed automatic transmission. This setup matches what’s offered in Singapore, although it looks like we’ll miss out on the inline-six engines available in other neighbouring markets like Indonesia and the Philippines.
Further details like standard equipment are not available for now, but the SUV is said to come with leather seat upholstery, a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster, a 12.3-inch infotainment display, dual-zone climate control (with rear vents), a panoramic sunroof, 20-inch wheels, a head-up display and a suite of active safety and driver assistance systems.
At its estimated asking price, the five-seat CX-60 will be priced above the CX-5 that retails for between RM144,469 and RM188,760 on-the-road without insurance. Mind you, the most expensive CX-5 you can buy comes with all-wheel drive and a 2.5 litre turbocharged inline-four petrol engine making 231 PS (228 hp or 170 kW) and 420 Nm.
However, the CX-60 is a larger vehicle that measures 4,740-4,745 mm long, 1,890 mm wide and 1,680 mm tall. By comparison, the CX-5 is 4,575 mm long, 1,845 mm wide, 1,675 mm tall, while its wheelbase of 2,700 mm is inferior to the CX-60’s that measures 2,870 mm.
According to dealers, the CX-60 will be a fully-imported (CBU) model, with deliveries set to commence from September this year. Given the information available so far, is the CX-60 appealing to you?
GALLERY: Mazda CX-60 preview at KLIMS 2024
Underpowered & overpriced!
Looking forward to change my Altis to this SUV
2.5NA? Next…
Huh, that is a decent price considering the upmarket position of this car (rear wheel drive, size etc.). And considering how well CBU’s prices hold up in 2nd hand market.
If Bermaz Auto only brings the entry level engine came to Malaysia, I am sure this car will die in Malaysia market. They don’t understand people who will get the “luxury” class standard. Big heavy body with low under power, sorry would get.
Respectfully disagree. Yes it is an entry level engine variant. But at that estimated price tag is it competitive. Just think about the alternatives (and think beyond SUVs because most consumers compare across body styles and segment with the common denominator being the price they are willing to pay, e.g., consumer A comparing an suv vs a sedan in the same price range he or she is willing to pay.) in the market today and what they offer. Mazda and bermaz have thought this strategy through. Not a fly by night or some half baked decision. Yes it is safe and somewhat underwelming but necessary to test demand for this model. Proof the concept successfully, expect them to bring in the more expensive variants
Yet Harrier sells like cakes. That car is only 2.0NA + CVT
Habislah Harrier. Harrier looks way outdated and still using underpowered engine, at least CX60 comes with more powerful engine, looks modern inside out and reliability for mazda also more trusted than toyota too
Looks cooler than BMW X3 and GLC,
But less comfortable to CX-8 which got a longer wheelbase and incline adjustable 2nd row.
Paired with 2.5T engine…better option.
Local Mazda distributor as I understand it, has stopped selling and model. Including the cx5. All and models available have been erased from their website. Only 2wd wil be sold.
i think you are mistaken. i see it all in the website. u must be referring to another country.
girl not the underwhelming basic look with black cladding (based on that malaysian dealership photo). like why even showcase that blue one at the kl auto fair with the delicious tan interior? honestly atp throw bermaz away i’m so serious. they always screw things up here for malaysians. and let’s not even start with that underpowered (for this car) engine ?? like they could’ve put in the 2.5L turbo instead if they think the 3.3L engine won’t take off in malaysia??
i will be happy to be proven wrong though if we end up getting the exact look of the blue unit (INCLUDING THE TAN) that was showcased last year though. still though that engine…hmmmm…
Unfortunately the factory-fitted cx60 only comes in 3 main engine variants and does not include the 2.5l turbo engine, and thats the reality. This is really Mazda and Bermaz testing the local market demand for the cx60 albeit via its entry level variant. Given the riss of (Chinese) EVs, I dont blame them for playing it safe with this strategy. Pmus the estimated price tag of 200k is relatively attractive (just think about the alternatives/competition and what they offer; I use the Camry comparison becuase I was seruously considering both and somewhat tilting towards the Toyota but with Mazda pricing it like that, hooyaa it does change the game a bit for me). If demand is robust (you guys can define it in terms of what that means in terms of volumes), I can see them bringing in the more expensive variants after the proof of concept that there is decent demand for the cx60. All in all a safe but smart move by Mazda/Bermaz. Brave even since demand for this is still uncertain. I liken this move to Volvo’s move to offer a locall assembled V60 in Malaysia which has turned out to be a low volume seller for them. As a current V60 owner, Im grateful to Volvo for being brave.
that’s fair. honestly typed this as an initial reaction ha but i think we’ll be ok with this ‘base’ engine. i still hope though we get the look of the blue display car at the Malaysian auto show with the beautiful tan interior. excited for what’s to come.
They should sell the CX-60 with the inline 6 engine here, it’s the sam thing with bmw too they failed to recognise the significance of the inline 6 engines and sell the model 5 series G30 onwards only with the inline 4 engines. No 540i model G30 here, if want to buy inline 6 MUST buy the M340i
Yep. With its ugly looks and ugly interior, the M340i is a way better buy than the new 5 series. Not least because its the perfect car on sale today.
Interior is big enough for family, luxurious enough, sporty enough. Its also the prettiest car BMW has currently (disappointingly). Not to mention the B58.
Better price than expected. But too late. Now ada better alternatives dah
Question is…does it ride well? The suspension setup at launch was horrible to say the least. They’ve since rectified it twice for the Aussie market so which version are we getting for our local market?
No hybrid
Mazda has updated the cx-60 suspension with softer rear springs, firmer shock absorber and better stability system because too many media and buyers reported it was too stiff and doesnt suit the character of a family suv. If you watch youtube video on the first batch a few years back almost all of them complained about the ride and handling was bad
Hopefully this is the updated model. Paultan team if you could please inquire them about this during the model launching later would be greatly appreciated.
from the photo, i thought it was CX5 exclusive edition or special edition or limited edition facelift
What I will say is at this price tag, it undercuts both the hybrid and non-hybrid versions of the new Camry. Plus new Camry offwres here is a Thai-dervied CBU versus a Japan CBU for the Cx60. IMO, this is not a bad strategy at all by Mazda to test demand for the CX60 using an entry level variant. I strongly suspect (and hope) if demand is good, they will bring in the more expensive in-line 6 engine variant. Watching with interest
Waching with interest
Price is fair,
Sure the engine is ancient by lux standard, down on power, but it something a little aftermarket can fix
( ecu / airfilter / exhaust )
But the 8 speed auto box is new.
RWD suv, undercuts the price of bmw x3 by a huge margin.
Interior is superb.
CBU JAPAN.
see you in mudah in 5 years haha
Would buy it but only the inline 6.
Maybe it’s because of road tax? But still, why bermaz, why? Just bring the inline 6 in.
I know that the PHEV is supposedly the mid-range powertrain, but at least give us the turbo. As it stands, the CX-5 is still better value even with its outdated tech.
I guess its fine for capturing a new market segment and customers but its so-so disappointing when the platform itself was built around the Inline 6.
Maybe it will be a CKD later but i do wish they would push for the sale of inline 6 here. Even the lower output version is enough.
Next they should reconsider all the Mazda3 pricing strategy and bring in the 2.5L NA for it.
Nampak hensem & sado, tapi mandul. Offer the best specs la let the market choose. Bukan kena pasang kat sini pun.
I’m using cx8 for almost 1 and half years, so far no complaint, suspension superb and performance without any hassle but it’s not sports car, using the highway at average speed 150 to 170, definitely will change to Cx60 when the warranty expired.