2025 BMW M5 launched in Malaysia – G90 is a 4.4L twin-turbo V8 PHEV, 727 PS/1,000 Nm, RM1.2 million

Also launched at the ongoing My BMW World event is the 2025 G90 BMW M5, priced at RM1,188,800, OTR before insurance (RM1,247,900 with extended warranty and service package). It’s based on the G60 5 Series and this is the first time the M5 is being offered as a plug-in hybrid (PHEV).

The M5 gets a 585 PS/750 Nm 4.4 litre twin-turbo V8, a 197 PS/280 Nm electric motor, an eight-speed M Steptronic auto and all-wheel drive. A total output of 727 PS and 1,000 Nm of torque catapults you from 0-100 km/h in 3.5 seconds, 0-200 km/h in 10.9 seconds and 80-120 km/h in 2.9 seconds. A Boost Control function, activated by one pull of the left steering wheel paddle in M Track mode, gives you instant max torque between 30 and 150 km/h.

The underfloor 18.6 kWh lithium-ion battery provides 69 km of EV-only WLTP range (you can travel up to 140 km/h in EV mode). Charge it at the max 11 kW AC and you’ll be full in 3 hours 15 minutes. Giving you aural pleasure are the M Sport exhaust system and BMW IconicSounds Electric (which operates in hybrid mode).

Suspension is handled by double wishbones up front and five links out back, and the M adaptive suspension has Comfort, Sport and Sport Plus modes. There’s also rear-wheel steering for the first time in an M5. The M xDrive all-wheel drive system offers 4WD, 4WD Sport and full rear-wheel drive (2WD) modes, and the driver can set preferences for powertrain, suspension, braking, steering, dynamic stability control and M Hybrid energy recovery via the M1 and M2 steering wheel buttons.

Exterior-wise, the new M5 features large angular air ducts, an M central divider, adaptive LED headlamps with M Lights Shadowline, a gloss black BMW Iconic Glow-illuminated kidney grille, the M Carbon Exterior Package (roof, mirror caps and spoiler) and staggered M light alloys (20-inch front, 21-inch rear). At the back you’ll see a Gurney spoiler, vertical reflectors and quad tailpipes.

Step inside and you’ll be greeted by elements such as the BMW Curved Display (12.3-inch instrument panel + 14.9-inch centre touch-screen, powered by BMW OS 8.5) with M-exclusive graphics, a head-up display, Augmented View and a D-shaped M steering wheel with red 12 o’clock marker and shift paddles.

The centre console holds a red start/stop button, the M Control knob as well as M Hybrid and M Mode selectors, while the BMW Interaction Bar’s (touch-sensitive row of controls below the centre screen) ambient lighting reacts according to the selected driving mode, be it Road, Sport or Track.

Around you are two-tone Merino leather, carbon-fibre trim with high-gloss silver threads, M seat belts, a wireless phone charger, 18 Bowers & Wilkins speakers, anthracite-coloured Alcantara headlining and powered M seats with lumbar and memory. Despite the hybrid battery, the boot can swallow 466 litres.

ADAS features include Driving Assistant (ACC with lane-keep and active steering), Parking Assistant (with 3D Surround View) and Reversing Assistant. You can have your M5 in Alpine White, Sophisto Grey, Fire Red, Brooklyn Grey, Carbon Black, Isle of Man Green, Marina Bay Blue or Storm Bay, and your interior in Black, Silverstone, Red or Kyalami Orange.

Click to enlarge spec sheet

GALLERY: 2025 G90 BMW M5 launched in Malaysia

GALLERY: 2025 G90 BMW M5 official launch photos in Malaysia

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sabri on Jun 12, 2025 at 4:48 pm

xiaomi su7 dont need this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
    • LOL … sudah banyak cancel order.. masih mana xiaomi su7 dont need this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Kai Ler on Jun 12, 2025 at 9:28 pm

not affordable, waiting period also too long, so these people cancelled them.

Xiaomi Sales are at the Top already, not yet stop growing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Sabri on Jun 12, 2025 at 9:58 pm

mmg byk orang cancel m5, malu aje pandu keluar, hanya jenis c suka brand yg beli bmw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • BEV FTW on Jun 12, 2025 at 6:33 pm

Come on now, for RM1.2 million 0-100 only 0.1sec faster than Volvo’s EX30 ? Need to do better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • Hmmmm on Jun 12, 2025 at 8:18 pm

How much faster its supposed to be to gain your approval?

• BEV FTW on Jun 12, 2025 at 11:44 pm

Are you saying a RM1.2M performance car that ran 3.5 sec is good enough? Well that’s up to buyer to decide. But for that money perhaps it would be nice if it’s a lil faster than Tesla’s RM242K 3.1 sec Model 3 performance, this is BMW M5 after all. Cars that ran under 4 sec are quite common these days and cost much less too, just sayin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
        • Basic knowledge on Jun 13, 2025 at 12:01 pm

A microwave is much more efficient and cooks steak faster than an oven or grill. Is it better? Maggi also cooks much faster and easier than ramen. It’s the experience not the end result, if you’re chasing after numbers can just get a kancil and strap the biggest turbo you can find won’t be much slower than a Bugatti Chiron to 100kmph.

• BEV FTW Bodoh on Jun 16, 2025 at 11:19 pm

you judge the car with 0-100. no wonder you drive myvi

• FrankC on Jun 13, 2025 at 2:16 pm

impressive ! BMW can afford to build up so many variant and yet still remain profitable. how they achieve that ? definitely not from cheap import from china makers. this german company is pure technology and strive to be efficient while manufacturing direct from europe. impressive discipline

• Fatty bom bom… 2.5 tonnes ! volvo XC90 is lighter than this car !

• Faris Hanafiah on Jun 13, 2025 at 2:45 pm

I think it should make better sense to bring the M5 Touring over here, especially given that the estate aren’t much heavier than the saloon.

• The car is great but not the colour pls…