A prototype 2025 Proton X50 facelift has been sighted with a revised front camo that’s thinner on the disguise, revealing a new front face that seems inspired by the Geely Binyue L. These new spyshots were posted to the paultan.org FB group by reader Hadri Jeffrey.
We previously already guessed that the new X50 facelift will take the Geely Binyue L as its base (judging by the full-width horizontally-slatted lower grille, as opposed to the Binyue Cool’s mesh grille), but this new spyshot pretty much confirms it.
Expect the next iteration of Proton’s best-selling SUV to get a redesigned tailgate and back bumper, full-width tail lamps, the aforementioned full-width horizontally-slatted lower front grille, slim headlamps with S70-like DRL dashes, L-shaped bumper corners front and rear, plus new 18-inch turbine-style alloys.
Under the X50 facelift’s bonnet could be Geely’s latest four-cylinder turbo engine, used since the Binyue Cool. In the Binyue L, the 180 PS/290 Nm mill is married to a seven-speed wet twin-clutch gearbox, yielding a 7.6-second 0-100 km/h time.
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
0.1% chance we will be getting the 180 PS/290 Nm 1.5L TGDi 4Cyl with 7.6-second 0-100 km/h time and also 5.9L/100KM fuel consumption as no one will be buying the X70 then.
There is additional leaks from fb sources that shown that X70 and S70 are getting their respective MC’s within 2025. Highly likely that they are getting the new engine mill to be inline with this X50 FL
Another china junk that clear stock from cina
I don’t think so.
But this face-lift not bad,
Just missing new door handle style, and don’t have the Hybrid engine announced in 2021.
https://paultan.org/2021/11/02/geely-launches-leishen-power-powertrain-brand/
I bet with you 1million we will get
OK but who’s manufacturing the engine?
You pay me the 1mil first then i will tell you who will manufacture the engine
Very Najib
Non-camo leak already out, pretty much 1-1 copy of the Binyue Cool L. Rebadging getting lazier…
Geely realising there’s no point to paying more money to localise design when Msians buy China cars anyway.
Exactly why spend more for rebadging if can get original for lower price
proton put more effort for interior parts.. much different from its donor model. Totally different
x50 punya door handle dalam yg senang patah tu boleh pakai yg abs quality tak?
Better face-lift
Exterior = Binyue L, smaller lamps. 4 cylinder
Interior = Binyue L larger screen but Geely XingYuan Proton eMas 5 center console.
No need to camouflage la…can see online Binyue L on medsoc clearly…just change Ploton top marks only for this Malaysia facelift
Suspension tuning for this new X50 will be as good as it can be from day one of release in Malaysia?. If yes will Geely own Binyue L be having the same suspension tuning, as this new X50, before heading to Australia?.
This facelift exterior doesnt look appealing lol. It looks so ah beng. I’ve seen some leaks from fb posts. Now I don’t feel that regret getting my X50 a month ago.
When is proton going to focus on the Saga, Persona and Iriz. We need facelifts for these cars pretty soon with new engines. The Saga is so old, and the persona and itiz needs a refresh look and engine.
X50 claimed 7.6sec, and hyundai kona 7.7sec. In real world kona get 7.8sec, while X50 around 8.5
You want speed go for ev lah.
Facelift…botox…and consumers fall for it…upgrade the engine and transmission, improve NVH la…this is far better than facelift.
Seems zero effort so call Malaysia localise design on bigger parts as bumpers are all carry forward from CN Geely. Previously when x70 and x50 launch Proton Design Team very loudly claims next model will have more distinct local design then outcome on X70 front change, S70 launch and this upcoming X50 is already proven there will be none.
Come to think of it, why waste resource to campaign launch of their current Harimau logo?
Seems likely Proton took an opposite design approach to differentiate from Coolray.
No campro, no buy. Campro is the best engine in the world after CM Punk.