Over 2m vehicles expected on roads this Deepavali

Over two million vehicles are expected to take to the roads this Deepavali, reports The Star, with Ops Lancar, aimed at keeping traffic flow smooth, to be conducted from October 17-21.

Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department director Comm Datuk Seri Mohd Yusri Hassan Basri told the English-language daily that Ops Lancar will see some 500 personnel deployed across hotspots and black spots nationwide.

“We are also waiting on further instructions whether there will be a specific period for commercial vehicles to be on the road. We are still waiting for announcements from the transport ministry on that matter. Our priority is to ensure all road users get to their destinations safely,” he said.

Sell your car, get paid in 24 hours

Renew your car insurance with us, 10% discount!

Use the promo code 'PAULTAN' when you checkout for 10% discount!

Renew Car Insurance

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• planbs use blain on Oct 09, 2025 at 5:35 pm

many vhicles on road because many can afford to drive thanks to budi95 thansk to DSAI. if former PM MO1 Bijan was still in power imagine how expensive that ron95 price would be . so can we conclude that this gomen is a govt for the poor and downtrodden?

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 1
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 10, 2025 at 6:52 pm

We can conclude this uturn gomen has failed and will only last until next GE or even collapse beforehand if Sabahans rejected them this coming state elections.

Dear Sabahans, its time to fight for your rights and reject PH control!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 3
      • plainsb use blain on Oct 12, 2025 at 10:45 am

already give them cheap diesel enjoy, confirm east malaysia fully support current gomen

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Bel Jin on Oct 10, 2025 at 11:10 am

We have to stop this everybody celebrating during the same holiday. Lets leave Deepavali only for the Hindus to celebrate and to travel.

Same goes to Chinese New Year and also Hari Raya.

Except for Christmas.. Santa Claus can’t travel without snow, right?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 2
    • beijinn on Oct 10, 2025 at 2:43 pm

brilliant idea. why should everyone enjoy holiday of another religion. further extend this concept gomen should ringfence the tax money collected from sales of alcohol & gaming, and strictly prevent usage of that tax money from being used to bailout their failed businesses – TH, Felda, LCS, Boustead, Sapura Kencana etc.

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0
    • jinbeii on Oct 10, 2025 at 2:45 pm

brilliant idea . if M cannot enter church and C cannot enter mosque, , so why should everyone shared holiday?

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 1