Transport minister Anthony Loke has reiterated in his speech at the ongoing Malaysia Commercial Vehicle Expo (MCVE) 2026 that his ministry will not tolerate driving under the influence (DUI), and that further “firm” measures are being studied to combat this.
“On the issue of driving under the influence, let me be unambiguous – the ministry will not tolerate DUI among professional drivers, even where no accident has occurred. Reckless driving puts lives at risk. We are actively reviewing further measures to address this, and those measures will be firm,” he said.
It was reported recently that the transport ministry is drafting a proposal to amend the Road Transport Act 1987 (Act 333) to require those convicted of DUI to pay compensation to victims’ families. Said compensation would be on top of prison sentences meted out under Act 333, Loke said then.
Amendments to Act 333 were passed in the Dewan Rakyat and came into force in October 2020, providing for heavier penalties against offenders. Under Section 44 of the Act, any individual who drives under the influence of alcohol or drugs and causes death may, upon conviction, face imprisonment of not less than 10 years and not more than 15 years, as well as a fine of between RM50,000 and RM100,000.
For repeat offences, the penalty is more severe — imprisonment of not less than 15 years and not more than 20 years, along with a fine ranging from RM100,000 to RM150,000.

Very slow action.
Most of time, action only take and took for the first few months, then back to normal,
same goes to those Heavy Vehicles issue, speeding heavy vehicles, mosquitoes bike, rempit, once there’s case, then hoo haa abit then back to normal…. same during bn. same during pn, and no diff during PH.
The alcohol issue, even if i am non muslim, i think if there’s needed to take action, then take it. If u so afraid of losing non muslim votes, there’s a way to do it, look at thailand, you can actually prohibit the ages or making the selective time for buying it! It might not be the best solution, at least it can coup or reduce it!