Toyota quitting Formula 1?

Toyota F1

Toyota F1’s race at the Abu Dhabi GP is apparently their last, as strong and intense rumours point to a Toyota board meeting to be held on the 15th of November to come to a conclusion that the company should leave the sport. We could actually know the outcome as early as 8th November 2009.

If Toyota really leaves the sport, this would open a grid position for then new Qadbak Sauber team, the team that used to be the BMW Sauber F1 Team. Toyota was supplying F1 engines to Williams this year but Williams will go with Cosworth engines next year.

Another Japanese company also announced it would be leaving F1 recently. Tyre supplier Bridgestone has announced it will leave at the end of next year’s season to focus its resources on other development. Bridgestone has been the sole supplier of F1 tyres for the past 2 years, and have been a supplier since 1997.

As for Kobayashi who was standing in for Timo Glock who has a back injury, the promising driver says he would most probably have to go back to Japan to work for his father’s sushi restaurant. Maybe he can build the business and then recruit all the chop shop owners here that will be out of a job soon.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gajen on Nov 04, 2009 at 9:31 pm

1st it was honda….now toyota…whos next? its sad that all are quitting

• Nieto on Nov 04, 2009 at 9:33 pm

Potential driver go make sushi? what a waste…. i belive some of the team plan to hire kobayasha

• Looks like F1 is a waste of resources for most of the teams when the economy cycle is low. When the economy cycle is high they say it's worth the R&D.

• trav_da_man on Nov 04, 2009 at 9:41 pm

This is sad. I really have thoughts for Kobayashi on this. I do hope at least he is recruited into the 3 new F1 teams including Team lotus.

With this the opposition behind team 1Malaysia F1 team will take this chance to spark more fire towards their opposition on Malaysia's involvement in F1.

• DOME Co.Engineering on Nov 04, 2009 at 9:54 pm

Kobayashi! We want to see you in action next year! You're my Jap idoL!

• "Maybe he can build the business and then recruit all the chop shop owners here that will be out of a job soon."

Some one here is really annoyed with the new NAP measures. Don't worry, you are not alone.

• Iskandar on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:18 pm

Time for Sime Tyre to enter F1 and supply the tyres. I suggest they use the name – 1Malaysia1Tayar.

After all, if Malaysia F1 team can enter the race at depressing time like this, why not get Sime tyre to be the official F1 tyre ?

I urge our wise ministers to really consider this. After all, what's the use of Petronas, KWSP and all the tax payers money ?

• Comfirmed Toyota is out of F1, since all the major car manufacturers leaving F1 now we can get P1, P2 , cherry, geely, Tata motors, Kia etc to join in the fun !

• jolly_idiot on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:23 pm

People are leaving but we're joining. I foresee Proton can get a good result since all their competitor is oledi impotent. Haha. Msia Boleh.

• MyCarMyLife on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:38 pm

We can expect cheaper Toyotas in the near future as F1 costs were much bearing on their shoulders for R and D, better copy others and improve , much lower cost this way.

• Ah Tan Workshop on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:41 pm

They know F1 is wasting money.. but our G proceed with 1malaysia F1 team because we are think out of the box.. even the national budget always got increases on deficit.. no brain punya G.

• Diablo on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:41 pm

Iskandar said,

November 4, 2009 @ 2:18 pm

Time for Sime Tyre to enter F1 and supply the tyres. I suggest they use the name – 1Malaysia1Tayar

____________________________________________________________________________

LOL. That is so hilarious

• Boink on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:49 pm

very soon F1 will also be known as a clowns event, 'welcome to F1 circus'

• osh_kosh on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:51 pm

"Maybe he can build the business and then recruit all the chop shop owners here that will be out of a job soon." <— LOL.. nice one Paul :P

• what the tuut? use the f1 money to give to subsidise the petrol la.n also what to prove all the component of the f1 including the engine are not made by malaysian la.

• MADBOY on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:54 pm

jolly_idiot said,

November 4, 2009 @ 2:23 pm

People are leaving but we’re joining. I foresee Proton can get a good result since all their competitor is oledi impotent. Haha. Msia Boleh.

——–

agree with u. let hope ferari, mclaren & other big name withdraw, then lotus can tapau the rest of the new team.

• knight_templar on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:59 pm

Maybe he can build the business and then recruit all the chop shop owners here that will be out of a job soon

—————————————————————-

Hahaha I like that Paul. Dark humor that really rubs it in, hehehe.

• What an irony!

The big boys are leaving the sport due to financial viability, not that they cant afford, but because it makes little economical sense.

A small 1Malaysia team is trying to defy the odds by going in the opposite. I wonder the decision is based on what, if any, feasibility study, and where the heck all the monies will come from, my 1Malaysia fund?

But considering the money could have gone into building more PKFZs… perhaps it is a wise decision. At the least, the rakyat has something to cheer for, for when 1Malaysia team cross the finishing line.. we can cheer….. YEAH!!! we finished the whole F1 race!

• it will be interesting if Team Lotus has kobayashi and fairuz :p

• lchan on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:18 pm

Really???…..go back and help his father's sushi restaurant???…haha…

• kimi_ on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:34 pm

The world largest manufacturer Toyota pull out of F1 as they think

NOT worth putting hundred millions each year but achieve nothing……

BUT proton has the gut to enter…..WTF…. Even BMW ,Honda and Toyota are saying that they dont know what they get or benefits by entering F1

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:41 pm

yes good. mazda f1 here we come

• with all the big boys out of the F1 race, 1Malaysia F1 team can win oredi, even blind folded..

Yay! **sarcastic cheers**

To the govt ppl, please prepare the trophy cabinets. We will WIN and sure tapau others teams.

• Hondas on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:51 pm

Obviously the F1 is $ consuming business, smart ppl pullout, but our gov still think of using it to promote a pathetic slogan 1malaysia. It would be better if channel the $ to help the poor kampung ppl than waste on this meaningless race, a game that we can't Win. Look at pass bad experience on Proton & Alex Yong F1.

• kimi_ on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:58 pm

I bet Lotus F1 will not score any single point next season….wait and see

• R0NaLD0 on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:59 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

yes good. mazda f1 here we come

haha no chance for u ! Real Madrid F1 team is coming….zzz

• mr_3m on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:13 am

Looks like our F1 team using "Lotus" under license will win next year's championship already…. anyone care to place their bets now???…. ahahha… a few months back I made a mistake of listing Toyota as one of the manufacturer quitting F1 in 2009. Oppsss… it was a mistake at that time, but in fact, they are quitting in 2010.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:21 am

Kobayashi is one fast driver. I am suprised if he does not get a car next year.

• mr_3m on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:43 am

kobayashi for 1Malaysia's Lotus?

even the guy have a sense of humour to accept that F1 is only a glamourised sport, hence the need to fall back on something MORE REAL, like a sushi restaurant (the equivalent of our gerai nasi campur or kopitiam)!!!

• familyman on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:43 am

hahaha paul, the last bit was hilarious

maybe his father actually own a tofu shop

then he has to do deliveries on midnite run over the moutains as well

• "Maybe he can build the business and then recruit all the chop shop owners here that will be out of a job soon."

i can feel the hatred for the g there…hehe.. i feel you paul..

• squawk on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:47 am

Sad to hear that. Hope a team will pick Kobayashi. He's got potential.

At a time when all F1 teams are finding it very difficult to stay in the sport, our 1Team can claim to be profitable from the 1st year. Truly boleh!

• Ferruccio on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:50 am

Confirmed. Toyota F1 is out.

• old man on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:54 am

"The Cherry is taking the lead now, wait, Proton is coming from the back and following Cherry, coming to the last corner, Tata is taking the outside to over take both Cherry and Proton….Proton finally over take Cherry, and its now between Tata and Proton…its only 100m left, but wait…the SimeTyre has give up on Proton!…Tata wins it!" ….from the 2020 F1 India Circuit race.

• old timers on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:23 am

big gun out, small fish in

use taxpayer money boleh lah…..bodo punya 1mesia

• Elvis on Nov 05, 2009 at 2:11 am

Hahahaha…funny lah you last paragraph..But seriously Sifu Paul, i wont eat sushi prepare by our would be out of business chop chop shops owners, Who wants to eat sushi that taste like second hand spare parts!!

• abdulwahub on Nov 05, 2009 at 2:14 am

LATEST NEWS!

P2 will develop their own F1 racing car this month and will compete in GP starting next year. According to reliable sources, they will use DVVT engines and body part of Viva for their first F1 car. After that ….

News to be continues next week.

• The best way to show the world our 1Malaysia F1 is to have a BIG picture of PM Najib and Mahathir on the racing car. Sure glamor habis…

Red bull oso no fight oredi…

Our automotive scene will not be as today without these leaders, right??

• As much as I think having a Malaysian presence in F1 is a bad idea, I am also looking forward to it and to see how they do.

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:02 pm

najib naza and cronies (woops i mean 1Malaysia) f1 team to win haha wtf

• Altezzar on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:32 pm

Hmm… 2 Big manufactures left F1. Now Malaysia Lotus F1 wants to go in…

something wrong with this formula………………

F1 is dying slowly. Better exit quickly before the teams go bankrupt..

• Ferruccio on Nov 07, 2009 at 1:31 am

Altezzar said,

November 5, 2009 @ 10:32 am

Hmm… 2 Big manufactures left F1. Now Malaysia Lotus F1 wants to go in…

something wrong with this formula………………

F1 is dying slowly. Better exit quickly before the teams go bankrupt..

Maybe Tony Fernandes knows something we don't? He started Air Asia right after Sept 11, (when all airlines were dying) they're not bankrupt yet.

Time will tell whether he is a genius or a looney. Usually the separation is indistinguishable anyway :)