VW Passat CC now available as a 5-seater!

The Volkswagen Passat CC is a pretty darn good looking vehicle and over here in Malaysia you can have one for about the price of a Volkswagen Scirocco. But I think Volkswagen was trying to be too true to the whole concept of a ‘coupe’ – they only gave the Passat CC two individual seats at the rear! A lot of manufacturers do this when they debut four doors with ‘coupe’-like rooflines, even the CLS and the X6 is like that.

The Passat CC is definitely wide enough to fit 3 at the rear so it seems to be a waste to dedicate the center area of the rear to a storage compartment. It looks like many others think so as well – requests by potential customers all over the world to offer a 5-seater has been so strong that Volkswagen has actually gone ahead and decided to offer a 5-seater version of the Passat CC!

The new 3-seat rear bench is optional, and the individual seat option will continue to be the ‘de facto’ configuration for the Passat CC. This option will cost the customer 100 Euros, which I feel is pittance for an additional seat when you’re already spending so much on the car.

If Volkswagen Malaysia offers this option (and I think they will – they have been quite friendly towards options in the past such as the funky optional Golf R tail lamps for the Golf GTI), you’ll finally be able to go ahead with your Passat CC purchase without having your relatives and in laws whisper about how you spent over 200 grand on a car that can only seat two at the rear!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nice lookin car. :)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 23, 2010 at 6:28 am

lol finally they see some sense

• OK, good!

• sutheshkumar on Jan 23, 2010 at 7:24 am

paul standard passat still available r?

• kevin lee on Jan 23, 2010 at 7:26 am

this is a good move by vw. the passat cc is one of the better looking sedans out there. with this done, it would eat into possible c-class or 3 series territory and have better appreciation for the vw brand. hopefully vw malaysia will look into it

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 23, 2010 at 7:34 am

I would opt for the 4 seater if i had 2 children. Wouldn't need an extra in-law to sit in my car just to hear them nagging. Hehe

• Interesting looking middle seat, looks as if it was an after thought.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 23, 2010 at 7:50 am

Paul is there any news about malaysia having the 1.8L passat cc with dsg gear box? And also the award winning 1.4tsi engine?

• chuakz on Jan 23, 2010 at 7:52 am

should make a 5 seater for all "4 door coupes"

• damn…out of reason not to ferry d inlaws..

• mystvearn on Jan 23, 2010 at 8:32 am

Given Malaysia's love for 5 seater, VW would know better than to offer that de facto 4-seater as standard

• read above, the standard passat is to come with 4 seats. 5 seats are an optional choice.

good idea, some markets prefer to have 5 seaters with coupe looks rather than 4. it will fit well here. good looking car too bad i dont see any on the roads. nor the roc.

• Gajen on Jan 23, 2010 at 8:54 am

ahh at last….now is much better!

however notice the non middle seats look really comfortable as they sink inside a lot..but if 4 is seating behind,trust me its uncomfortable haha

• David on Jan 23, 2010 at 9:20 am

HOHO!!! In SG, the CC is sold as a two seater in the rear, and many times the salesman said- "nono, VW will not make a three seater". Guess with this latest info I can go back and ask when will they be offering this option!!

Thanks Paul!!!

• VWVWVWVWVWWW fans i on Jan 23, 2010 at 9:44 am

Oh now i can order my passat CC!!!!

• shawal on Jan 23, 2010 at 10:45 am

Anyway, Malaysians are short people…so , it wont be a problem at the back…

• silver66 (Member) on Jan 23, 2010 at 11:26 am

There should be a big aftermarket opportunity for a 3-seater bench for the CLS and X6 too

• amouse on Jan 23, 2010 at 11:29 am

good choice… i love VW and always do =)

• mitlanevo on Jan 23, 2010 at 4:12 pm

i dont have stupid kampung relatives and in laws.

• The 5 seats will make this a good choice for someone looking to spend 240-250K.It's bigger than the 3 and C with a nice turbo engine while looking sleek.The disadvantage is the resale value(as always in Malaysia the "popular" makes have better residual value). But if you plan to keep the car for 5-10 years then I think this car stands out more than the baby merc or BM. However if you into the "badge" factor, then that's a different story….

• klaka seram on Jan 23, 2010 at 7:09 pm

This is good news to me, and I believe to many others. Now I can look forward to book this car once offered by VGM

TQ VW

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 23, 2010 at 10:27 pm

this car is good value for money. basically a bigger scirocco =)

• yeah!

• toycar on Jan 24, 2010 at 1:53 am

passat cc has been in my top of the list while 325 and a4 come next. too boring to see 3 series on the street and too scare to know the maintenance cost of a4, i think i will go for this one.

• wolfswagen on Jan 24, 2010 at 5:45 am

Camry is better, bigger and cheaper.

• raybrig on Jan 24, 2010 at 5:45 am

toycar,

why u scared to know the maintenance cost of a4??i own 1…no worries mate..just enjoy your car…no need to worry about maintenance..i bet the passat cc gonna hv almost same maintenance cost with a4 too…

• silver66 (Member) on Jan 24, 2010 at 5:56 am

so a Passat is cheaper to maintain than an A4? Hmm….

• rear wheel on Jan 24, 2010 at 6:24 am

Volkswagen always give the quality car,,..

Nice one

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 24, 2010 at 7:25 am

toycar said,

January 23, 2010 @ 5:53 pm

passat cc has been in my top of the list while 325 and a4 come next. too boring to see 3 series on the street and too scare to know the maintenance cost of a4, i think i will go for this one.

———————————–

yea man. plus another pub fact, if u drive volkswagen passat cc to hotel or any other posh place, they think u have something like s class

• OH NO!! its meant to be a coupe for 4, i dont want other ppl to make the car heavier than it already is….XDD

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:43 pm

the rear is tight. is good for the kids to know when they are due to leave the house XD

• firefox on Mar 02, 2010 at 7:00 pm

paul, can update the latest price of this CC with the 5 seats and DSG gearbox?