Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG available in Malaysia for RM1,999,999!

The SLS AMG is the AMG division’s first exclusive to AMG only car and it’s now here in Malaysia, priced at RM1,999,999 OTR without insurance! Of course, if you want a gold one you’ll have to pay more. In Europe, the car is sold at 149,000 Euros but you’ll actually have to pay an additional 19% VAT tax which brings the price up to 177,310 Euros. That’s about RM 892k. Add our Malaysian taxes and you’ll end up with way over double the amount, but I guess it’s all for a good cause.

For that 2 million buckaroos with a ringgit change you get a 6.2 litre V8 producing 571 PS at 6,800rpm and 792Nm of torque at 4,750rpm. The motor is a M156 massaged to be extra special installed in the SLS, rechristened the M159. It gets a new intake system, revised valves and cams, and a dry sump instead of a wet sump. On the inside, there’s plenty of real metal and dead cow, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia assures.

The car you see above is the first right hand drive SLS AMG in the world and it’ll be on display rotation at various locations and showrooms in Malaysia. Look after the jump for photos and a video from the preview this morning.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=987]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Why leave out just RM1 from the tag price? why don't they round it up to RM2 mill? at least people can boast saying my car is RM2mill as opposed to RM1mill plus :P

• Wow.. lust on wheels…. for rich blokes.

• Too expensive for middle income people like me..

• keretakura on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:28 am

not for us laa ..

• Go sulk in a corner on Mar 25, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Is there really a need for comments that state the obvious? Why waste comment space by whining instead of staying on topic?

Anyway, it's good to know that AMG recognises Malaysia as a worthy luxury market to parade the SLS. Hopefully they will post up the schedule for its rotation among dealers, if they haven't already.

• carsut on Mar 26, 2010 at 10:27 pm

same with me, for now.. but we dont know letter..

• proton on Mar 25, 2010 at 12:59 am

wow, just 2 millions only ,then you're on par on the riches already, sounds like a good deal.

• lkf0512 on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:03 am

I want to pengsan @@

• nabill on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:10 am

that interior doesnt look like a 2mil car seriously….not special enough….and about the price , lets jus say…..hahahahahahahahahaha!

• xavier lert on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:13 am

so cheap……tomorow ill buy it for my dad…..

• pomen_gtr on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:17 am

rich man toy…

will ended up in a garage sitting and never been driven…

• Seriously on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:12 pm

i doubt that, they'll probably be in sepang most of the time…

• Maybe there is something wrong with my eyes, but the car is ugly

• ditcherkid (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:12 am

its too new for our eyes, maybe in half a year we will see it differently.

• Ericboy on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:09 am

But it's still ugly… (front)

• emmeth on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:02 pm

If this RM2mil creation is deemed ugly, we need a new superlative for cheaper craps (that include dugong, p1, p2)

• normal_user on Mar 25, 2010 at 4:53 pm

yeah i agree. its damn ugly, especially from the side.

• Tiadaid on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:22 am

The Bentley Continental Flying Spur's a much more practical buy at 2 mil, but when you can afford to buy a car like that you don't necessarily think about practicality now do you?

• rkg38 on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:23 am

how much is Lambo Murcielago?

• good car, may consider as collection but that is limited edition ? :):):)

• ridinstylin.blogspot on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:27 am

who'll be the owner for 1st right drive..

• vee-dub on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:30 am

can buy 800 kancils i guess

• engdau on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:18 am

Can actually buy 75 units of Viva basic model.

• Kambing Gurun on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:11 am

Can buy 33 Persona Elegance High Line…

For reality check, it's like having rm11,100/month of pension if let say you live for 15 years after you retired…

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:31 am

Wow… RM2M. Here i am feeling a bit tight paying the monthly on my civic!

• lambov12 on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:35 am

not bad … since they bring in SLS, will SLR supercar coming soon ?

• dukeKTM on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:51 pm

SLR was in Malaysia for quite sometimes already… just go to NZ Wheels Klang and u'll find 1 unit black SLR McLaren sitting there lonely…only Left hand drive available..

Silver one sold to an Arab billionaire….

• xatomic on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:35 am

how much wud the roadtax be for 6.2l? hmmmm

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:50 am

It would be RM16530 a year. That's roughly my one year salary!!!!

• i wonder if Naza will bring it in.. should be cheaper i guess.. :)

• mazdAstina on Mar 27, 2010 at 7:34 am

it will only get cheaper if naza put its badge on the sls. Ha ha ha. Seriously. . between this and a SLR, I'll go for the SLR.

• droll on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:52 am

just another alternative to the ferrari.

• You know what they say – fast car, small d*ck?

• Why is it so?

• iskett on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:00 am

Hey, don't call alonso and schumacher that..

• chris on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:34 pm

I think that only applies for people who mod their cars or drive expensive cars yet drive at a slow pace (heaven forbid with a loud exhaust) to show off to everyone. The ones who drive fast are eager to get from point A to B ASAP.

• Jokers on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:03 am

can i have in pink color? i'll buy it then.

• Tan Ling Ling on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:10 am

I wonder if 2 mil can buy a helicopter instead? of course diff thing here.

• kopi-man on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:21 am

hahahaha, msian is crazy!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:23 am

stupid malaysian taxes

• dzulx on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:30 am

So you oppose govt taking money from the riches?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:53 am

it depends. rich or poor. everyone worked their way to their riches. u can't just tax the rich because they are rich, that will be communism.

• dzulx on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:19 am

Interesting… Hope you'll be in govt someday to see the reality…

Talk is cheap man….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 26, 2010 at 4:55 am

if i was in the government, that would be perfect. it's the best job in malaysia.

talk is cheap, yes. first of all, you guys always say that the rich discriminate the poor. the other way round is going on right here right now.

• funny thing is, if you consider our current AP system, where is the money going to? if it's going straight to the government then i wont have much to bicker. but we all know how "clean" our AP system is, right?

• dzulx on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:22 pm

I dont know how "clean" our AP system…enlighten me with some prove please…

You clearly cannot differentiate between AP and tax ;)

• not_ah_beng on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Is it the "rich" only who get taxed? You mean there's no tax on el cheapo B segment cars like Vios and Honda City and compacts like Jazz or Swift?? WOW that is news to me!

Also, yes I oppose government taking tax, because most of the time the money is wasted on stupid stuffs.

• Seriously on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:42 pm

I think he's just opposing high taxes on cars in general…

• michaelooi on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:26 am

2M – I'd buy myself a Carerra, and then a couple more Beemers to spare.

• Alpha on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:27 am

wat 2million only??chet!!i can buy dozens of them!!2 million rupiah,kan??haha~that means this baby is almost the price of a 458 Italia.I heard that Mutiara Motors will be selling 458 Italia for RM2.2mil.

• glacius_25150 on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:38 am

not worth it.. i'd rather pay the amount for a konneigseig (don't know if i spelled it right)

• david on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:40 am

probably the first full sports car with a proper interior

• Hope Singapore will have one of this.

• frossonice (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:05 am

I thought Singaporean will be kiasu enough to actually buy this for each one of their citizen, just to make sure Malaysian won't be able to catch up. Hehehe.

• bean maeko on Mar 26, 2010 at 1:23 am

and race it in their underground tunnel like speed racer… if the crooked bridge are to be allowed to build, it will destroy the race profile… u know, how those Singaporeans loooveee to invade others space….especially underground… u don no meh??!

• delio on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:25 am

for around Rm 2 mil, better i get the lamborghini gallardo. although it more smaller than this, its more sexy and more perfect . this too retro lah.

• meteoraniac on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:28 am

only 2 million ???? I'm handing my resignation letter to Anwar tomorrow to join AMNO

• UNKNOWN! on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:42 am

2 million only?

i thought it will be more than that.

• like the bit where author being sarcastic in this article :)

2 mill ringgit? Cheap. Our road will be infested by this soon haha and haha some more

• kampung boy on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:53 am

Man, lil bit abv my budget, I rather stick with my SLK (small liltle kancil)..heheh

• paul, can u inform when it will be coming to Penang? please

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 25, 2010 at 4:03 am

2million???!!!!….mengerikannnnnnnn

• konoha on Mar 25, 2010 at 4:03 am

Aku brani bsumpah kreta ni buruk Giler!!!

• Arslan on Mar 25, 2010 at 4:06 am

can i have in Black color? i’ll buy it then.

• paul, can you tell us the locations they are showing the car. i want to see it badly.

• I will ask my dad if he want to buy for me or not..

im sure he will consider it..hahahah

• frossonice (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:07 am

You mean the Tamiya one? Hehehe.

Man, this direct reply is way fun. Kudos Paul.

• Ugly… dashboard also ugly but i like the rear lamp

• balloon on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:33 am

I would rather buy the Ferrari Italia if i had the money .. anyway lets wait for another 10 years maybe i can buy a second hand one ! haha

• Devils on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:42 am

this model will be replacing the SLR..cause Merc sold off Mclaren as u guys know it..sound way better then the SLR..

• chris on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:42 pm

The SLR was a much sexier car. It looks more like a badass Merc. This one looks too retro. Plus the centre console is…totally unattractive.

• Devils on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:45 am

for that price is way cheap compare to SLR selling in M'sia..soon the car will be hitting showroom in K.L cant remember the date but should be next month…

• I honestly wont buy it if i have 2mio to splash… last thing to fatten the fishes up there.

• sentang on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:42 am

muke macam katak campor ngan cicak..

• petrol head on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:52 am

i think this is a collectible car… or toy :)

• WJJ1989 (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:57 am

we will be seeing lots of this car in high class areas of kl soon……..

• i like the "good cause" bit. paul i will have to commend you on your excellent skills of subtlety. keep up the great job!

• i think is a mistake over there.

Its torque was not 792Nm , instead it is only 650Nm…

• cmc80 on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:25 am

If i have plenty of money…

Ferrari 458 Italia will be the choice, not SLS ^^

• proton on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:23 pm

i tot SLS is limited right? while ferrari 458 is a mass prod?

• Arse90 on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:41 pm

its not a limited edition i think. its more like a lower production volume means like they produce only a certain amount for one month.

• SHADUP LA on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:46 am

ppl who cant afford wil say ugly lo …..

• bmw_owner on Mar 26, 2010 at 1:52 am

and ppl who can afford will not read these comments lorr..!!

no hard feeling man… its a nice car… just that the price is tooooo steeeeeep!!!

• Arse90 on Mar 25, 2010 at 9:10 am

I wouldn't consider paying 2mil for a mercedes. this car makes a ferrari feel like a bargain not that i can afford it XD

• shawal on Mar 25, 2010 at 9:28 am

…….i'll look up Motor Trader 2020 issue….see if anyone is selling….

• blek not nice at the front and dashboard… i still prefer my mercedes E220 w124…

• Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG vs Proton Satria Neo, Which 1 better???

• mohd hafizzul on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:52 pm

mahal siot…….

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 4:08 pm

hahaha… rm2 million only ma… this car surely kill myvi and persona market… wo hooo….. yes it is retro…. this car is the rebirth of 300sl.. looking same… huhu..

• first right hand sls with AMG summore in the world? fuh…they sure see malaysian with tonnes of money maybe..

nice retro btw…

• redxdevil on Mar 25, 2010 at 4:28 pm

i prefer perodua alza rather than this! lol!

• GT27 (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 4:30 pm

I heard there are 60 bookings on this car, looks like our country got so many super super super rich people…

If you can easily buy a miliion car, then you must have more than 20 to 100 million $$$…

If we have camry or accord, there will be satisfy to most of us, I never dream of 2 million $$$$$$$ car …

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:05 pm

w123 is enough for me… thats all..

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Are you sure 60!?

OK… i'm cancelling mine! Not rare and exclusive enuff anymore! …. huhu…

• Jaybond on Mar 25, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Ferrari 458 Italia would be more expensive than the Merc SLS.

As per norm, Italian supecars are more expensive than German supercars..

• kodok on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:01 pm

if you have to ask the price, means you can't afford it.

• BRAZBUZ on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:35 pm

better get california….

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:12 pm

at least it's much more cheaper than some 300sl…

• syafiq syukri ghani on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:21 pm

Wah!

• john more on Mar 25, 2010 at 9:13 pm

babilh, yg mampu beli semua anak beranak tokey2 balak, org malaysia cuma mampu pakai keta proton jelh sampai tua, mimpi sampai matipon xkan dapat merasa

• Rich Class on Mar 25, 2010 at 10:00 pm

there r ways to get rich la guys…u all kutuk onli…amway cosway apa apa way got wat….

• bmw_owner on Mar 26, 2010 at 1:54 am

oopps u forgot magnum… kuda… almost daily now got chance to get millions… hahaha

• DUn Care on Mar 26, 2010 at 3:07 am

ya la apa apa way la

dun illegal enaf….kuda got lesen….amway oso got lesen…so wat say u? shoot la drugs…or kidnapped…

• "Add our Malaysian taxes and you’ll end up with way over double the amount, but I guess it’s all for a good cause."

– Wah, Paul are you trying to be cynical? :D

• nighttrain on Mar 26, 2010 at 1:06 am

this car is not worth RM2m… It's only worth RM900k real standard global price outside Malaysia. Tax makes it 2 mil here. But for collectors, 2 mil is no problem. At least 300 people in Malaysia can afford it.

• karpal sinking on Mar 26, 2010 at 2:02 am

even without Malaysian tax the car is about RM 892k. we still cannot afford what..

• nighttrain on Mar 26, 2010 at 5:26 pm

of course we can't afford the gullwing. But we sure can afford a new RM98k BMW 318 now, can't we? That was my point, really.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 26, 2010 at 4:59 am

i still prefer the Blackbird or Devil Z

• Maserati on Mar 26, 2010 at 5:01 am

Who in the right mind will pay 1999999 buckaroos for this piece of crap!

Its damn ugly and its not worth it at all!

Rather get a nice Ferrari or Lambo with that kinda money!

• Superareza on Mar 26, 2010 at 7:31 am

I would rather get this car than ferraris or "lembu"ghinis….gull wing are extremely phenomenal

• tanSri on Mar 26, 2010 at 8:08 pm

This car is more relevant for those who's getting their 2nd,3rd or 4th SuperCar, something different… 1st superCar ownership i agree the F and L are the best to go though.. same thing applies to wife, mistress and mistresses, gf and gfs…

• furari on Mar 26, 2010 at 3:50 pm

i will vote for anybody that will abolish these stupid taxes

• I love how you emphasize the 'good cause' part.. anyways, this is a car everyone can own.. in their dreams

• Late me become a Gov on Mar 27, 2010 at 12:04 am

malaysia gov are useless and day light robbery kind , idiot gov only slow down malaysia !.

• Naaman on Mar 27, 2010 at 4:46 am

kudos to mercedes for coming out with a good piece of art.. many condemn it as a crap mainly it is extravagantly expensive.. that is what make it so exclusive man.. i did not deny that the hefty ridiculously imposed tax, however, this is the car to be appreciated.. if you are a car lover like me, hell yea this is a great car!!

• xmizanx on Mar 27, 2010 at 7:45 pm

i'll buy if govt change….

• mohgui (Member) on Mar 27, 2010 at 9:23 pm

cannot afford this but surely can afford the 1/43 scale model by Autoart (if they ever come out with one) ;p

• Mazda 3 MPS says:

25/3/2010 at 8:55 pm

if i was in the government, that would be perfect. it’s the best job in malaysia.

talk is cheap, yes. first of all, you guys always say that the rich discriminate the poor. the other way round is going on right here right now.

other way around? damm…i bet u must be one of those rich kids spoil brat "manja-makan-dalam-tandas" kinda type. berapa maid u got? hehehe

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 29, 2010 at 8:34 am

hello guys. u people are mixing rich people with politicians ok? so i guess tony fernandes etc etc is a total ass too right? cause he is rich.

• antiperodua (Member) on Mar 28, 2010 at 6:10 am

OMG!

• OpenMind on Mar 28, 2010 at 7:19 pm

hi Paul,

I disagree with the way you work out the calculation as VAT shouldn't be added in because it is only applicable if you purchase the car in Germany.

Secondly, that is a selling price and not cost. So, the cost would be much lower than EU110000 (as the margin for this sort of car should be much higher).

IF this is so, let just assume it is about RM500,000 in cost (before duty and tax and margin). If tax is paid based on this car value…then you can calculate how much the profit is….. again….this sort of margin actually make sense for this sort of car…..because you get all the attention on the road….and of course you need to pay for that….it would not surprise me if MAlaysia is the biggest importer of this car in this region…..

• CiViC_7900 on Jun 04, 2010 at 3:21 pm

In dreams fellas….aku pun sama.I’ll stick with my 08 civic.tamiya bole la beli..model.KKKKKAKAKAKAKAKKAKAKAKAKAKKAKAK

• Erwind on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Seen one on otr in brunei… Very nice

• mechedee on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:40 pm

compare to G55AMG 2011, this shit is ugly as hell

• 2m ahh? Helo 7m laa can buy 3pc sls Liao loo…. Those stupid here pls dun compare Satria Neo… Is a clown in toilet NO MAKE SENSE

• Benz Fan on Jan 13, 2013 at 12:50 am

Mercedes benz is the Best Car In The WORLD!!!!!!
    Agree if U r Mercedes Benz Fan..