Revised spec Mitsubishi Grandis with extra equipment

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has revised the spec of its Grandis MPV, which now comes with a host of new luxury features. They include xenon headlamps with auto leveling, a 2-DIN (6.1-inch) LCD touch screen head unit with GPS and reverse camera visual display, keyless entry and start, roof rails and a powered tailgate. Red metallic joins the four original exterior colours.

With all that, the price has increased from the previous RM160,557.80 (OTR without insurance) to RM165,427.80. RM5,000 for all that equipment sounds like decent value. Speaking about value, the Grandis already looks good next to the RM154,714.10 Honda Stream RSZ with more space and more engine.

The Grandis is powered by a 4G69 2.4-litre MIVEC engine with 163 bhp and 217 Nm, paired to a four-speed auto with manual mode. Other standard kit include two airbags, ABS/EBD/BA, rear 8″ LCD monitor, leather seats, climate control with rear manual adjustment, a bodykit and 17-inch wheels.

More pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1394]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• hazri99 on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:39 am

very expensive..

• very nice…always prefer this than Stream or recon Estima

• The Unicons on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:57 am

Additional about RM5000. I would say worth with new features and accessories listed. The xenon headlamps look cool. Hahaha….

• Alza additional 6k didn’t even have 16″ rims & HID or 8″ LCD monitor… T_T

• HalimN on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:57 am

Common Proton do a JV with MMC and soon we
    will be able to see more of these on our streets.
    Ditch the Sagas and aim for the higher end market.
    If the soon to be released Lancer-Waja is MMC based then
    i see synergies in this deal. Don’t forget that MMC has its EV’s too
    which is already in production.

• Ha Gnih on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:04 pm

Why does the Lancer comes in 6 speeders and not the Grandis ? I bet it is more fun to drive when it’s a 6 speeder and petrol economy can be maximized. Throw in paddle shifters, then it’s gonna be one sporty MPV.

• lancer on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:04 pm

TOYOTA, please wake up. where is your latest generation WISH? it has been around in singapore for quite some time. to grandis, it is a nice update.

• theanswer on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:15 pm

T should brind dual vvti engine first!

• this is large mpv., estima range….Toyota, when are u going to bring estima officially?

• hurahureyyy on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:01 pm

yeah, new wish and odyssey already in singapore… please bring that too!!!

• Archer on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:04 pm

Paul read lots of reviews re Grandis from European websites, seems ride and handling are not as good as it’s good looks, is that true? Have you reviewed the new spec Grandis yet, would be interesting to hear more.

• likehondanotsomuch on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Space and power vs stream low cost fuel n maintenance,,,,its your choice mate

• jhuan on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Indeed this Grandis is more valuable comparing to stream or wish. The interior is much more plush and of very good quality. Space wise win hands down vs the duo. Good alternative to an used estima…

• nabill on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:44 pm

4 speed auto seems like ancient to me….bt grandis will always be a good looking sleek mpv

• clownhabibi on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:45 pm

first!!!

• normal_user on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:14 pm

The Grandis is getting old, but it ages gracefully. Good value compared to smaller sized Stream & Wish.

• mohsin on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:16 pm

When Mitsu rebadge proton exora?

• WooGoo on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:30 pm

This MPV was launched in 2003, making it very old. Still it looks good.

I can’t find it in Mitsubishi’s Japanese website, is it still being sold in Japan or only produce for other countries?

Reviews from S’pore websites complain of its thirsty engine. May be an update to the latest engine would be nice….

• Yep, thirsty…UK reviewer recommend the diesel and just forget the petrol version…but we dun hv the diesel here

• TKLow on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Come on, another stock clearing exercise? This thing really needs a model change, looks dated

• Kancil_Redbull on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Danny,

Does the MPV have ESP?

>RM150k MPV with no ESP is disappointing.

• Seriously on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:09 pm

FOUR SPEED? Didn’t that transmission burn in hell a long time ago?

• profiler on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:16 pm

It doesnt have DOG (I mean DOHC) as well. GRANDIS can change name to GRANNYS

• theanswer on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:19 pm

dohc or sohc depends on the maker..both got its own advantage..sohc doesnt mean ancient at least they got mivec long before cps came into our life. regarding the 4 speeder..grandis is an old model..i dont think mitsu need to change the tranny..maybe they gonna use it on new model..who knows? pug 308 still use 4 speeder.

• DOHC is rather dated technology. Do you know the latest Honda model comes with SOHC? And do you know that the lates VW engine is 8 valves for 4 cylinders?

• Joyrider on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:10 pm

GPS as standard…great.

• mastermindz on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:11 pm

looks like exora

• Boogie on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:06 pm

In picture yes like exora, in reality a lot bigger with nice rear.

• Jack07 on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Nice and sleek MPV. Prefer this one against wish n stream.Value to buy.

• Boogie on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:09 pm

I own the earliest FL model. Riding and handling satisfactory but the engine noise sometimes disturbing. And with 17 inches tyre, the road sound is also noisy. However very practical for its purpose as an MPV.

• sranua on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:21 pm

Looks like Pug 3008 still the best offer MPV with every alphabet of safety throw in just under rm150k

• michelin on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Quick question..
      Pug 3008 = 1.6cc right?

• theanswer on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:20 pm

already seen it real..quite small compared to crv. but the turbo..nyum~

• Wait for the 5008 7 seaters mpv…same 1.6THP engine wt the 3008…thts will be great if price is kept below 150k

• Nice mpc..loaded with features.. Rather get this than those recond/used wish, caldina, elgrand, stepwagon,…..etc

• komeng on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:49 pm

I thought they will put audio button on the steering like pajero sport. but they don’t!

• tam25 on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:11 pm

ever consider a honda ODC? at that price, can buy a nice recon 200bhp Odyssey!

• Rulered on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Recon cars are actually overpriced 2nd hand cars. 1st, I don’t trust what the previous Japs owner did in the car, 2nd usually you can add 2-3 years to the car meaning if you use it for 5 years, its actually 7-8 years old already-usually that’s the age of wear and tear will set in. 3rdly, with much recalls for especially Japanese Domestic Market models, it’ll be a major headache even our local mechanics can repair them properly at all or even worst, it’ll be expensive.

• acerman on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:17 pm

I second that. The most years a japanese would use thier car is 5 years. More than that, it is illegal.

• 388900wow on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:36 pm

This Grandis can compare with the Estima anytime interm of the size and look~~
    at least when u wanna get a recon old model Estime..can deeply consider getting this brand new Grandis~

way better bargain if were to get a 7-seater MPV~~

not bad!!!

• @#$%^ on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:43 pm

Waiting for diesel grandish….

• Adi_7667 on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Im owning 2004 odc L type. Problem with wear and tear.
    Better buy new with affordable price. Grandis can be consider.

• Foong on Aug 11, 2010 at 8:21 am

Hi Adi_7667, u said 2004 odc L type got problem with W&T, do u means very hard to find the parts? or the parts very expensive?

• BobMarley on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:44 pm

Buy Starex lar…..cheaper,bigger and better torque.

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:19 pm

When Exora came out last year,firstly I think Proton copied grandis’s design,but when I saw that photo,it looks like Mitsu copied a little bit design from Exora,especially that grille and the front bonnet.

• Seriously on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:14 am

yeah, cause Proton’s design are sooo influencial right? It’s their first MPV, obviously they took design cues from other car makers, it’s not rocket science.

• Joseph on Aug 12, 2010 at 10:30 am

why would a superior manufacturer would want a carbon copy from a lesser being?

• jolly_idiot on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:25 pm

Wow, posh jappy. With that price I can buy 2 Protong Exora with beef up spec. I doubt 80k per exora (15K buffer) I can’t have it mod until look like this. I can even change the engine dude…

Exora Grandis.

• solarstorm on Aug 11, 2010 at 8:49 am

One of our company car is Grandis. Looks is nice and sleek but that’s about it.
    1. Lousy FC. U can actually see the fuel gauge dropping.
    2. Very cram 3rd row seat for a MPV this size.
    3. Don’t feel confident taking on a curvy corner even though it sits very low (see from outside)

• xrace on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:24 am

Rented tis in langkawi for 5 days.Superb handling and power was tremendous.Was goin up hill gunung raya without a hussel.Very robust and worth a buy tis MPV

• xrace on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:32 am

To those who never drove tis MPV or test drive,u are commenting like a white elephant.To those who spoke about Exora,compare a epal to a epal.U guys are comparing a epal an a orange.Does not make sense at all

• I own this car for almost a year. I drove 2000 cc cars all the times. I dont feel the fuel cons. is too high. I drove estima yr 2002 model in the past, 4 speeds and FC was high too. But if you drive Kancil, you will be surprise on the FC.

We surf this site to share our experience and thoughts but not to read jokes such as “Mit copy design q from Proton”, but the Grandis launched in 2003 and exora in 2009.

• Boogie on Aug 13, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Agreed. I own this car as well. FC, not much diff from my Accord 2.0. Third row seat, satisfactory for average adult. And please dont compare it with exora..

• hisham on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:29 pm

how much FC for this grandis? do anyone have an idea?

• nazree on Sep 09, 2011 at 6:26 am

i own this MG for a year. always travelling pg -kl on average speed of 110km/h the fc is about 11.3km/l

• I always admire Grandis size and price but there is one thing i cannot live without for a proper MPV, that is a SLIDING DOOR. I just hope and wish they will come with one then my search for an ideal MPV will end here.

• grandislover on Aug 18, 2010 at 6:28 am

i think mit grandis is a better mpv than estima.FC not bad,and nice sound system

• jgulam on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:40 pm

i bought a grandis in may and boy, it was a good buy,

• now 2015, year 2010 grandis still smell and performed as new car.