Audi A6 2.8 FSI and 3.0 TFSI launched at IIMS 2011

The Audi A6 has been launched in Indonesia, making it the first ASEAN country to get the new car, ahead of even Singapore. No surprise, considering Indonesia is important enough to Audi in the big picture for them to setup a factory there.

Two variants are available at launch, both with V6 engines. The inline-4 turbo seems to be missing for now, but perhaps that is to be launched later in CKD form. What is offered now is a 204 horsepower normally aspirated 2.8 litre FSI engine mated to a CVT transmission driving the front wheels, and a 300 horsepower 3.0 litre TFSI supercharged V6 with an S-tronic dual clutch gearbox driving all four wheels via the quattro all-wheel drive system.

To read more about the Audi A6, read our previous story covering the world debut, or look after the jump for a live gallery of the new Audi A6’s unveiling in Indonesia. When is Malaysia’s turn?

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2443]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• looking-good on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:22 pm

the E , the 5 or this A6?

• audi seems to be the only company that consistently gets the headlight and taillight design right including DRLs

• coolcar on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:42 pm

2.8 liter only produce 204hp?? old technology or what??

• What do you expect? Petrol engines are just low tech… ;)

The new Audi 3.0 V6 TDI has 313hp and a fuel consumption of 17km/liter

• BeemerFreak on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:53 pm

Yet and again, it shows that Proton and Perodua has done us more harm instead of good. All foreign investment and interest going to neighbour countries. What do we have left?

• MCdog on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:39 am

You still have high car tax and AP King to be proud ma ;-)

• Hermes on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:39 am

BeemerFreak, please don’t freak out to soon. You’re losing your macho now. Try to be cool…

What do we have left? We have us. We are the one responsible for ourselves. We can’t blame our neighbor countries for that.

Investors like to invest in a stable country. If the world always notices our country in chaos, how would they invest in our country?

Go Google about “Malaysia” and you can see what investor see about our country. If you search for “Malaysia” in YouTube, you can find bad thing more than good thing.

We are the only one can make how the foreigners look at our country. Just think about it.

• Vote Wisely

• sebijik cam lancer… anyway.. looks good..

• haha.. hater… when proton rebadge mitsu, u said “proton got no new idea”.. when the europian build something look-a-like.. u kept ur mouth shut…. yeah…. seriously, let’s compare..

these pics..

1) compare with 1st audi pic in this post
      http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=mitsubishi-lancer-2-0-gts&image=DSC_0592.JPG

2) cmpare with 2nd audi pic in this post
      http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=mitsubishi-lancer-2-0-gts&image=DSC_0593.JPG

• Still buy everything you heard from our bullish economy from every pro=establishment mouthpiece? Malaysia must do something and never let only tax-free industry like Lynas pick us as their money destination.

MITI, MIDA, MAA do something with our archaic NAP.

• vansgoh on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:32 pm

“CVT transmission driving the front wheels”……Feel like a Teana..aarr…and expensive Teana.

• FWD??? Is this car compete with Passat/Passat CC. Price shud be around passat and cheaper than RWD Merc E and BMW 5.

• Gajen on Jul 22, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Piece of utter crap. The hyundai sonata is way better.

• Muddy on Jul 23, 2011 at 12:18 am

U get into both cars, sit into the seat, shut the door and drive it. Then let us all know which is a better car bro!

• tikus on Jul 23, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Typical Hyundai sales man!!

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Jul 23, 2011 at 12:30 am

2.8 only 204 bhp? with cvt? this makes no sense. considering u have 3.0 300+ hp and s-tronic….

• cikuludes on Jul 23, 2011 at 8:32 am

easy. REMAP the ECU, then walla! near 300BBHP..all the power in the tuning of ECU..

• SoMeOnE on Jul 23, 2011 at 4:29 am

that 2.8 engine is an old engine…its from the same engine family as the 3.2 v6 in the mk5 golf (its called vr6 i think) that was developed in the late 90’s and hence the power gap even the 3.2 was a lil short on power although it sounded great…..i guess they dont have an engine between thier powerful 4 pots and the new v6’s in that 2.0 to 3.0 gap apart from that 5 cylinder animal in the rs models….and maybe the market needs it..hence the decision to go back to the old engine family….

• ‘its from the same engine family as the 3.2 v6 in the mk5 golf’

Totally nonsense! The engine in the Audi is mounted longitudenal, the one in the Golf is a transverse engine.

The VR6 in the Golf had a cylinder angle of just 15 degree, the Audi V6 engine has a cylinder angle of 90 degree.

It’s a comletely different engine.

• vxxxxxx on Jul 23, 2011 at 11:00 am

why KL motor show like shit. No hot car to see. Indon is better than us !!!

why? why ?

• AhBeng on Jul 23, 2011 at 11:13 am

it’s great to have the “tube” light styling than the biji biji LED lights, coz it’s really overly used by lots of WirAUDI even wajAUDI. This thing really looks damn good man.

• vansgoh on Jul 23, 2011 at 11:33 am

BMW’s angel eyes is the best, Audi’s biji biji LED lights look cheapskate.

• AhBeng on Jul 23, 2011 at 12:41 pm

yeah exactly… this version of audi has finally throw away those biji biji LED!

• nah BMW is so ugly this day!with angle eyes is even worst!Audi,Porsche,Mercedes and VW still the best looking German cars!

• Subzero on Jul 23, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Nice, the new Audi A6 C7, succesor to the C6. I like the new MMI system

• Just me on Jul 23, 2011 at 2:46 pm

Still German is the best in term of design and technology. Come on korean and Proton supporter, say something …

• Proton supporter on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:10 pm

You want us to say something? be careful what you asking for;

Will buy Proton over this expensive good for nothing FWD hairdresser’s car.
      – Proton is less expensive, can use the extra money to buy house and property.
      – Proton also FWD.
      – Proton also has CVT
      – Buy Proton will help Malaysia economy.
      – And on and on……

• Sarbath on May 23, 2012 at 1:03 pm

oi brader, people who buy the A6 already have a million price house lah.. This car already coz had a million.. Proton ?? Pftttttt they buy proton yet still buy rumah trees satu tingkat.. This A6 owner would buy the car as maybe 3rd or 4th car for the family.. pfttt, the list go on ?? you don’t have any idea to say anymore ?? Audi used the CVT for their lowest spec car in that range.. For the higher/highest range they will used FSI/TFSI.. And yeah compared that you noob proton ! ..

• Tame Racing Driver on Jul 23, 2011 at 5:47 pm

I was in Euromobil Glenmarie recently and i spotted ONE unit of the 3.0TFSI . When i asked one of the sales staff, he said it was a one off delivery before the official launch due to some miscommunication between dealer and customer and the dealership was obligated to deliver his car before the launch.

• LOVELY AUDI -THE LEGEND
    But what about Volkswagen , aren’t Audi and Porsche are in their group too
    When it comes to European automobile , there is only AUDI JAGUAR BMW MERC and VOLKSWAGEN

• Lim Kopi on Jul 24, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Another sign that our country is lagging behind most of our neighbours … including Indonesia ….

KLIM – NO GERMAN BRAND INTERESTED TO BE INVOLVED …

IIMS – MINI, BMW , MERC & even AUDI …..

Elect better leaders to avoid losing the entire country in 2 years time!!

• lailaikatong on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:41 pm

Spotted this new audi A6 3.0T (Black) on Jalan Sultan Ismail at around 9:00pm tonight. WVL 6## plate number.

• Back light looks like Lancer?

• audifan on Sep 07, 2011 at 4:36 pm

When will this new A6 be launched in Malaysia? Anyone knows?