Reports: Lotus CityCar confirmed, to be called ‘Ethos’

The Lotus CityCar Concept, essentially a three-door version of the Proton EMAS concept with Lotus’ new face, is confirmed for production, according to reports. Shown at the 2010 Paris Motor Show alongside Lotus’ five concepts, the CityCar will not be alone in the premium mini car market, it will be accompanied by the Aston Martin Cygnet, which is a rebadged Toyota iQ with luxury trim.

“The city car concept is now confirmed for production. That’s called the Lotus Ethos, and it’s due about 2013,” said Lotus spokesman Alastair Florance, who added that the “Ethos” will be built by parent company Proton. “It’s being worked on right now – people out in Malaysia are working on that.”

So it’s a rebadged Proton then? “We’ll work extensively on the engineering – the Lotus version will be very much a Lotus,” Florance was quoted as saying. “But I believe there will be a Proton version.” That’s the EMAS folks.

It will be bigger than the Cygnet/iQ, and the Lotus city car is planned as a hybrid-only model. The concept is powered by a plug-in series hybrid drivetrain with the ability to run solely on electric power, but a 1.2-litre three-cylinder petrol engine is there as a range extender, eliminating range woes.

Click here to view our live gallery of the Lotus CityCar from Paris 2010.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• riderxdesign on Aug 01, 2011 at 3:04 pm

just nice to compete with bmw i3 and cygnet in 2013/15

• MoFaz on Aug 02, 2011 at 12:03 am

‘lagi best’ takde chance dah lepas ni.. come on proton, lagi lagi lagi dan hentam lagi sama p2!

• Expatriate VN on Aug 01, 2011 at 3:06 pm

Go hybrid and electric, that is the way forward!

• Chris on Aug 02, 2011 at 9:40 am

But why a petrol range extender? Am I right thinking because it’s a small car thus the need for a compact engine?

Normally you’d think that a diesel would be more efficient, they’d probably run on palm oil too :D

Make solar panel as roof as standard too, I want a piece of that Malaysian sunshine.. a lot of people park their car 9-10 hours under the sun everyday…

• Cheng on Aug 01, 2011 at 3:18 pm

good luck.

• wowww…time to shine ur talent and more proton…

• azrai on Aug 01, 2011 at 3:30 pm

Wow! A rebadged Proton car to be in Lotus form. This is great achievement. Sure Dr.M is proud. By the way, is it using Nissan Micra platform?

• biggie on Aug 01, 2011 at 3:31 pm

The onewith Proton badge will be my next car

• PakAbu on Aug 01, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Danny,

Any words from Proton about this? Surely you have some kind of insider inside… right? :mrgreen:

• hunterhead on Aug 01, 2011 at 3:39 pm

mini lancer….

• I want this for my first small car..or do i wait for proton emas?

• narakka on Aug 02, 2011 at 3:40 am

ethos came first.after that emas.just wait for emas it just same car as ethos.

• Liverpool on Aug 01, 2011 at 4:05 pm

Wonder how much it’ll cost…or will it even be sold here if Proton were to build and sell EMAS in Malaysia.

• MoFaz on Aug 02, 2011 at 12:07 am

if hybrid, it maybe expensive.
      but if i remember correctly, Lotus will be using Hybrid engine, But Emas will have a new small engine from proton, not hybrid.

• ichi24 on Aug 02, 2011 at 9:28 am

nope, essentially this model is very base on EMAS proton concept car.

the difference ONLY is the “badge” and few design and spec.

as of now, proton are really keen with hybrid technology and you can see from previous paul post.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 01, 2011 at 4:21 pm

The Lotus Savvy is reborn.

• nik DBM on Aug 01, 2011 at 4:34 pm

i like !!

• DewaSemut on Aug 01, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Really good news from Lotus/ Proton! Hope the Proton version price range is within reach by mass consumers

• van hohenheim on Aug 01, 2011 at 4:40 pm

love this and aston

• _xXx_ on Aug 01, 2011 at 4:44 pm

alamak isn’t that Stormtrooper of Star Wars?

• reminds me of catfish with very wide mouth… a very futuristic and w-i-d-e catfish. =)

love the name thou.

• freeze on Aug 01, 2011 at 6:15 pm

meh

• BadBET on Aug 01, 2011 at 6:38 pm

good luck to proton.. make money and make us proud

• tikus on Aug 01, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Well done Lotus!! But….build by Proton……lets’ see. Danny, any idea 1.2 litre engine come from??

• Kiddo on Aug 01, 2011 at 9:11 pm

if it’s a range-extender module developed by Lotus then it’d most probably use the 1.2L from Lotus itself as Lotus has filed patents for the system.

• Obviously Tanjung Malim engines. We all know how “good” is Tanjung Malim engines. Hehehe.

• akinablue on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:03 am

so what???
        to me engine from tanjung malim not bad at all..my car now clocked at 250,000km..NO problem at all!!

• At least it’s better than anything you ever come up with.

• Kiddo on Aug 01, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Good one! Proton is really very busy and churning out nice products recently! :D

• addict on Aug 01, 2011 at 7:18 pm

Put a Proton badge on this and people call it budget transportation.

Put a Lotus badge on it and voila, a fashion statement.

• Vaporware…

• ichi24 on Aug 02, 2011 at 9:33 am

are you sure that is the right term for automotive? and coincidentally this post was just about lotus that are ready for production of “ethos”.

• Proton will start building prototype models for testing in november. They call it GSC for global small car

• MoFaz on Aug 01, 2011 at 10:45 pm

comes with free GSC movie tickets?

• ‘global small car’ hopefully means, that the EMAS will be sold in Europe too.

Daimler sold 94.300 ‘Smart Cars’ in 2010…

• ichi24 on Aug 02, 2011 at 9:36 am

well it’s truth, 1 for Proton badge (cheap) and another 1 for lotus badge (expensive)

win-win situation

• Actually its the other way around. Sell bloody expensive to fellow Rakyat. But sell dirt cheap to foreign market. The Rakyat has always been the unofficial major shareholders and R&D guinea pigs. Hello, is everyone taking a good NAP?

• well other country(almost all) in Asia has similar system like bolehland only differ in names n structure only..u go to indo car forum they will said their car is the priciest in the world, u go thai forum car same word, u go lioncity same also…

• loveit on Aug 02, 2011 at 6:59 am

should bring it here already…come on proton !

• fuhyoh! ini lagi syok!

• dentist on Aug 02, 2011 at 12:12 pm

looks like Jabba the Hutt

• RedBoys on Aug 02, 2011 at 2:12 pm

well done Lotus!

• kamaji on Aug 02, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Why use 1.2-litre engine for a city car like this.Performance & zipping around traffic like luke skywalker is certainly not the key.It’s merely a basic personal travel capsule…so I reckon a 2-cyclinder 600cc ultra fuel economical turbo-charged engine pair with a 5-speed cvt box will be ideal enough & sell it dirt cheap to the rakyat.Btw the front stormtrooper face is too big for this car lah.

• DarkAvenger on Aug 02, 2011 at 4:28 pm

btw, i think the main difference between this and EMAS is the doors…LOTUS got 3 doors, EMAS has 5. 5 doors are more pratical in Malaysian market.

• azrai on Aug 02, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Then we can buy Proton EMAS and change the bumper and emblem to Ethos one.

• tattoo sleeve on Aug 02, 2011 at 5:05 pm

nice!

• wmg4742 on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:35 pm

the different is Ethos got more premium and branded items and more power engine..and EMAS only got basic items and not so premium interior and lowerr spec engine…

• Rosmah on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Looks exactly like my grumpy hubby when the doc cuts up his knee.

• adam nawab on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:24 am

As always Msian will get the crumbs and hand me downs
    while Lotus gets the very best of everything.
    Come on Proton, after 25years of support and this is what
    you can offer in return??
    Why can’t P1 just rebadge the same Lotus spec
    like what they did to the Lancer and proudly claim it as
    a Proton !!

• biggie on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:06 am

of course can, but you just need to pay premium price.

if you do want to pay premium price why don’t you get the premium brand as well. For Proton its different pocket of the same trousers (unlike the mitsu case).

• turkish delight NOT on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:33 pm

P1 supporters will accept anything dished out
      for them, even leftovers they will say it is very very good !!
      Why go for 2nd best when we Malaysian deserve only the best from Proton.!!
      We want both models here – not only the lower spec ones.!!
      How much more can it cost when we already have the Insight & Prius as
      our benchmark !!

• makeitmine on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:35 pm

They made the right decision to build the car with Proton. If Lotus succeeds, Proton may be able to expand its production in Europe.

Proton will gain as they will learn new processes from Lotus. Lotus will gain should they decide to manufacture/assemble in Europe. Trained personnel from Lotus / Proton will be available to move both companies to a higher level.

Not clear is another company is involved. Mitsubishi or Nissan. Perhaps a surprise from Toyota. On May 2011, Danny Dany Bahar envisions a potential tie-up with Toyota.

• Fries on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Ooops, all baseless proton basher speechless.