SPIED: Suzuki Jimny seen at JPJ Putrajaya

Suzuki Jimny spy 1

Another new vehicle on the cards, never mind that it happens to be a 15-year-old design, because its followers and fans won’t care. Said vehicle is the third-generation Suzuki Jimny, which we hear is set to be launched in the country sometime next month.

Ever enterprising spyshot contributors Anol Alias and ApexKit spotted an evaluation mule in the JPJ Putrajaya car park late last week, and sent along the pix you see here.

The hardy fella is expected to arrive in its JB43 variant form, equipped with a 1.3 litre M13AA four-pot petrol mill – the grapevine suggests that it’ll be priced in the RM90,000 range. It’s also rumoured that both five-speed manual and four-speed automatic transmission choices will be available for the Jimny, which features a part-time 4WD system.

The robust and reliable offering will no doubt be welcomed by fleet operators, but its cult appeal should also see it make its way into the hands of a fair number of private individual buyers.

More on it when the time comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Handsome on May 27, 2013 at 8:56 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 137
  • RM90k range??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • read some other blog, without tax around rm57k, after tax is in rm90k range. This jimny from Japan model not from India model.

• lonelyobserve on May 27, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Still the same, vehicles imported from both countries are subjected to 30% import duty besides excise duty. Unless the vehicle is assembled in ASEAN countries then import duty is out.

• lazypapa on May 27, 2013 at 9:22 am

suzuki jimmy, 1.3 turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on May 27, 2013 at 5:20 pm

It is Jimny.
      This Jimny is designed many years ago, does it have any RISE/MAIDAS sort of thing? Other safety equipments?
      Jangan-jangan it is like the Perodua 4WD which I forgot the name, milo tin at RM85K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Anti Toyota on May 29, 2013 at 10:54 am

Another super CRAP people. Jimmy was a very reliable 4WD old days maybe in the future. FYI, Perodua 4WD is an actual Toyota RUSH base with everything similar.HAHAHA pity on you!!

• Henry on May 27, 2013 at 9:27 am

I know some people who loves this kind of vehicles.

Good to know there is another affordable alternative to the Land Rover Defender

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • good old days …..very nice vehicle you can lift this vehicle if you r stuck in the mud…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • BlackJKX on May 27, 2013 at 10:48 am

Ye lor.remember about 14years back,when i and a frend stuck in the mud at the muddy beach.sea water arise up to half of the jimmy.few people came by and lift up the jimmy.inside full of mud and water.the jimmy escaped,engine fire up at 1st crank and the rest is history.good eh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • ahlee bin ahtan on May 27, 2013 at 7:06 pm

my beloved estate workhorse in Nam Heng Estate Ulu Tiram back in the 70s

• Henry T on May 27, 2013 at 10:23 am

The return of an icon, but at 90k the price is now three times the original.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • favourite among wildboar hunters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • dozy8888 on May 27, 2013 at 10:48 am

1)This is a very old model!
    2)If really want to sell ok, but price need to reduce to RM 48K-58K range..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
    • dozy8888 on May 27, 2013 at 1:41 pm

3) Not forgetting it’s only 1.3CC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • guest on May 28, 2013 at 10:25 am

I find it funny that majority of people doesnt know the difference of CC and L. 1.3cc? Even a freaking RC car engine has higher displacement. LOL

• lover on May 27, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Suzuki Malaysia is well known when it comes to ripping off ppl wallet..just look at the pricing of suzuki swift and you can figure out their tactic! I love this thing but..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
  • We don’t get cars like this anymore, lightweight 4WD go-anywhere little machine, like the FJ40 land cruiser or the CJ7 Jeep. Thou, the European still got their Panda 4×4.

….but RM90k? For a car that is essentially the same as something waaaay less in Motor-Trader. Errr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on May 27, 2013 at 11:08 am

The best about jimmy is you just need off road tyre and winching in front to go off road. No need to make massive modification because it already have short wheelbase = no need to add more height, lighter, smaller. You said crap? Oh, target for this vehicle for specific user only. Normal user wont like it especially you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • from an ex owner of the 1st gen 2 door suzuki Vitara, i think this model is really overdue (people can get it at grey market).

its really a shame that the sidekick was scrapped and replaced my grandma-car grand vitara. and this jimny, if priced at 90k wont get many interest up.

it shud be arnd 70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Please throw into the sea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • i have been waiting for nissan kix to come for years… this jimny is good, if everything in and our is updated with what we supposed to have in 2010-es.

but suzuki never learns…. guess i’ll have to wait for few more years

• Wow, after the sj413, it’s finally here… Price very kick man… But full off road gear in a miniature car. Price at rm90k, maybe Suzuki can make it CKD and price it from rm79k. Plz also bring a basic model, coz many will end up in the jungle where it will flex and trash bigger 4wd’s. also a great work horse.

Suzuki Malaysia, should have done it a long long long long time ago since 98 la….

Will the 660 turbo come also??

• petrol..?!

• SUV lover on May 27, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Will seriously consider buying it if it is priced around 70-80k not around 90k…too expensive for a simple offroader which is supposed to b cheap and easy to run

• hukaka on May 27, 2013 at 9:59 pm

finally the legendary off road machine has arrive.
    this beast can par with land rover defender with a very friendly price.

• we have 1 jimny at home (2nd gen) – if the price is reasonable, we are thinking to let go the existing one and buy the 3rd gen!

• mr_em on May 29, 2013 at 8:50 am

LR Defender vs Suzuki Jimny..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5kFYcFQTcVg&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Jimny is cheap to modify… Body lift( low budget), 215/80-16 or 7.5 lorry tyres. Atv 3000lb winch(rm500), shakers, font and rear tow heavy duty hooks, can play whole day.

• leonardo on May 30, 2013 at 10:06 am

I have previously owned a Jimny SJ410, which i used to learn offroading. Tough car but underpowed and prone to overheating when at low speed in 4W Low gears. I also owned a Vitara 5 doors, which is tailored to on road conditions. The suspension settings is way too soft! Now this ‘new’ Jimny, which we all know is quite old already. If sold at 90K, and 1.3 L, it is doomed for failure. Remember Perodua Nautica? 1.5L and CBU from Japan, still cannot sell and sales were scrapped. Still it is a better buy than this Jimny, if you can ignore the Perodua badge. This ‘new’ Jimny must be priced around 60K-70k max if it were to succeed.

• sj410 on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:36 am

I don’t mind locally assembled CKD as long as it new jimny to replace my trusty sj410 and price is hell lower than that 90k. ouchh.. looks like I will be forever with my sj410.

• ah seng on Jun 29, 2013 at 1:02 pm

my dad own a 1982 LJ80 and myself a SJ413…
    seriously, for 90k, i buy hilux..
    to offroad.. get a second hand one…
    can’t be whipping a brand new 90k vehicle to offroad right when you can get a old one that does the job at 15~20k..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
  • jimny sj413 was the 1st wheel i learned to drive back in early 90s. Thanks to the canvas roof when driving on laterite full of deep holes. More capable as off roader than land rover bcos of it’s lightness and ability to ‘jump’.

• Cutter on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:08 am

When is it gonna launch?

• Stann Da Man on Sep 30, 2013 at 11:20 am

To our Young viewers…This car is an absolute legend in his days. 90K price tag is steep but I am sure many of the Jimny’s cult followers will bust their wallets for their beloved. I am one of them:-) Welcome back baby….it’s been too long.