MINI Countryman now locally assembled, from RM219k

mini countryman ckd 03.jpg wm

BMW Malaysia has announced the arrival of the locally-assembled MINI Countryman – the car is the first MINI to be locally-assembled in Malaysia and, indeed, in ASEAN. The first examples have begun rolling out from the BMW Malaysia Assembly Facilities in Kulim, Kedah.

The Countryman, which is the fifth model to join BMW Malaysia’s locally-assembled model range, is available in both Cooper Countryman and Cooper S Countryman ALL4 forms. The mechanicals continue as is from the CBU versions, the N16B16M0 1.6 litre Prince engine powering both models, and like before, the two variants differ in output.

In the Cooper Countryman the normally-aspirated unit offers 120 hp at 6,000 rpm and 160 Nm at 4,250 rpm, mated to an AW 260K six-speed auto transmission. Performance numbers include a 182 km/h top speed and a 0-100 km/h time of 11.6 seconds.

The Cooper S Countryman’s mill gains a twin-scroll turbocharger, direct injection and BMW’s Valvetronic variable valve management, and for output has 184 hp at 5,500 rpm and 240 Nm from 1,600-5,000 rpm, with 260 Nm on overboost. The same six-speed gearbox features, though with different ratios on 1st and 4th-6th gears compared to the Cooper. Performance numbers include a 0-100 km/h time of 8.3 seconds and a 205 km/h top speed.

mini countryman 04wm

In terms of wheels, the Cooper Countryman wears 17-inch 5-Star double spoke units, while the Cooper Countryman S is shod with 18-inch Turbo Fan design alloys, the same wheels as worn by the CBU units. And like the imported car, eleven exterior colour options abound, including Light White, Absolute Black, Crystal Silver, Royal Grey, True Blue, Blazing Red, Brilliant Copper. Interior upholstery is dressed up in a Leather Gravity Carbon Black scheme.

An interesting piece of trivia – the MINI Paceman has thus far been the only member of the family to be identified by a rear nameplate. Not anymore, because the locally-assembled Countryman features moniker badging on its rear.

As for pricing, the locally-assembled MINI Cooper Countryman goes for RM218,888, while the Cooper S Countryman ALL4 is priced at RM258,888, on-the-road without insurance, with the MINI Tender Loving Care service package.

When it was launched in March 2011, the Cooper Countryman was priced at RM248,888, and the Cooper S Countryman, RM285,888, so the local-assembly route has brought about a RM30k reduction in the case of the Cooper, and RM27k for the Cooper S variant. It’s also RM10k less than the 2WD Cooper S variant, which arrived last October, priced at RM268,888.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Full ckd fRom ground up or semi KD? I tend to believe its the latter given the demand….Nothing wrong with skd, naza also doing it

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Kent, you might be right – to avoid confusion, all referencing is now “locally-assembled” in the story.

• Beautycontestant on Jun 14, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Bang for bucks!!!

• Jimmy on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:31 am

Only a real loser will pay so much money for a Mini. you might as well buy a BMW. You get a better car, more status and presige. In the luxury world, BMW is known as a pariah car maker catered only for spoilt kids or people with small brains

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
          • JimmyIsIdiotwithNoBrain on Jun 22, 2013 at 11:03 am

loser like you never able to afford one. Many owners buying it as a third of forth car. is their money. why not.

• Jimmy is the epitome of that envious Mini fan that just hates seeing other people drive a mini. He himself is of course a common executive in a dead end job, who drives a 2nd gen Saga he inherited from his dad. Jimmy, Jimmy, Jimmy… by your definition there are thousands of losers in this country. Only difference is despite being losers, they seem to be doing pretty well, ‘innit???

• Sour grape.. If u can’t afford it, don’t make stupid comments..sure makes u look bad!

• 219k? i can buy 219pcs roti canai in my life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
      • Oblivion52 on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Your your your roti made of gold @ RM1k a piece? I m truly impressed Sir VS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Harits on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:22 pm

wow you must be driviing a rolls royce or sumthing if thats what you pay for your roti…any good business recommend to me ?

• he uses money to wipe his ass^^

• Math problems on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:55 pm

You got some real shit problems in maths

• Empire on Dec 12, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Your Roti Canai So Expensive :O Maybe Its Gold Roti Canai xD

• Another “proof” of promise delivered as highlighted by the mainstream media of which the name cannot be mentioned recently? Like if you think so :-P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 54
  • wait until 30% discount and price will goes to RM153,224 and for S version RM181,224

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Don’t expect something that’s impossible. How many years that our government only know to increase the price instead of going down as you said 30%? Pls correct me if I’m wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • Next….What options going to be omitted on CKD then?

• Hafiz on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Would proly comeout in the malay paper tomorow after Pg 308 and VW Golf:

Mini Cooper S
    Harga Januari 2013 – RM 285 888
    Harga Mei 2013 – RM 218 888
    Turun 23%

Reduced car price. Its actually happening!! WhoAooWaOo!! Isnt that great guys?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 17
    • mr_em on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Great, your “Utus*n” version reads like that, but the Paultan version will be as follows:

Mini Countryman Cooper S ALL4
      Harga Januari 2013 – RM 285,888
      Harga Mei 2013 – RM 258,888
      Turun RM27,000 atau 9.4%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • saladin on Jun 14, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Next time klr pulak kt paper harga kereta turun lagi. Lambo cbu rm 3mill to lambo ckd rm 1.5mill. Front page paper highlight goverment reduce car price. Whats the point if mavority of people still cannot buy. Common la….

• the sales of mini countryman at oto.com.my will be affected if they dun drop price!

• Roger Tan on Jun 14, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Any idea why they started with the Countryman instead of other models in the Mini range?

Is it because they foresee the demand for premium compact crossovers?

• jolly_idiot on Jun 14, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Mini has been emphasizing “Drive Something Fast”, “Joyful ride” in their advertisement.

I wonder how they can back their statement with 1.6 NA engine delivering 120BHP + 160NM torque with 0-100km/h in 11.6Sec

I would expect something more decent from Mini with price tag of RM200k+ and not with maCampro engine output.

At least a turbocharge for all models to justify it’s brand and joy.

• gunsee on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Buy SSS la, enjoy sprinting 0-100 in 8.7 sec but so-so ride and handling at high speed. Low speed fun, high speed hadoi, haha!

• motorhead on Jun 14, 2013 at 6:02 pm

200k for a miniman? Mini? Well, I respect some Malaysian taste.. They ll buy anyway.. Me? Sorry..

• Simon Hoh on Jun 14, 2013 at 7:45 pm

CKD = Pasang Roda. Just a way to say, ok we’ve got the pricing wrong. Let’s call it CKD and reduce the price so that it is more affordable. Guess what, it’s still NOT!

• Josh Ling on Jun 15, 2013 at 12:28 am

the rear nameplate of countryman was actually seen on some of the photos of JCW appearance packages of countryman reported in earlier article. so not surprised the locally assembled countryman continues with that arrangement.

btw, is MINI malaysia still selling the 2WD version of Cooper S Countryman?