Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8G officially introduced, RM120k

Corolla Altis 1.8G dark brown

The Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8G, which we reported on last month, has now been officially introduced. The variant replaces the 2.0G in the model lineup. To recap that in our initial report, the 139 PS, 173 Nm 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre unit takes over from the 145 PS, 187 Nm 3ZR-FE 2.0 litre mill – the seven-speed CVT transmission remains in place.

The 1.8G now features black combination leather upholstery as that found on the range-topping 2.0V (the 2.0G’s seats were fabric, like the baseline 1.8E). The car also gets smart entry and push-start ignition, as does the baseline 1.8E – both it and the outgoing 2.0G had keyed-ignition when the model was launched in January. The instrument panel has also been upgraded, with Optitron meters now to be found.

Additionally, the door handles now have a chrome finish and inside, illumination has been added for the centre console cup holders and front foot well. The halogen headlamps are now equipped with auto on/off operation, and the the 1.8G – which rides on 16-inch alloys and 205/55 tyres – also features a two-DIN DVD player with six speakers and a seven-inch touchscreen. Safety kit includes two airbags, though VSC is still not available.

Corolla Altis 1.8G interior

The 1.8E also gets most of the new bits as well – aside from the smart entry and push-start ignition, the base variant now has illumination for the cup holders/front foot well, chrome door handles and auto on/off mode for the headlamps in its kit mix.

Pricing, as reported earlier, is RM119,900 on-the-road with insurance for the 1.8G, which makes it just over RM3k cheaper than the outgoing 2.0G (priced at RM123,000 when the Thai-built 11th-generation Corolla was introduced here). The 1.8E goes for RM115,900 (OTR, with insurance), up from the RM114k when introduced, while the 2.0V continues on at RM136,000.

See how all the Corolla Altis variants shape up to each other as well as compare the differences between the old 1.8E and revised 1.8E on Carbase.my, and read our full test drive report of the Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Peter on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:23 am

still exp

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 7
    • Garganrtia on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:30 am

And still without stability control.
      Lousy UMW and Toyota Malaysia with another lousy launch like UMW Camry X (epic fail).

Luckily Raykat smart not to buy UMW Toyota cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 11
      • With 2 airbags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 3
        • Toyota Owner on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Feeling being cheated again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 2
          • those who bought 2.0G previously feel samn shit coz being con by UMW.
            I think UMW so desperate to fight for this segment since altis really not selling good as compared to other brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • BTW where is Sam Loo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • samelorstpd on Nov 08, 2014 at 6:38 am

Sam Loo is busy cancelling Vios and Altis orders

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
          • Toyota Moving Coffin on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:00 pm

This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in Japan for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM120k.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM120,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis despite being launched 1 year plus already.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to youand your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.
            How UMW? Get the car for US8000 (of even cheaper since its CKD) and yet take out the VSC??

All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!

Our lives not important UMW?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
          • GLC GLC GLC GLC on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Go and google Paul Tan’s article on VSC. Once you read it, you WILL NEVER touch a car without VSC. EU has just passed law, all cars are compulsory to have VSC.

We pay a bomb at RM120k, but we get trash!

Paul Tan wrote the best ever article on VSC. Go google it and get a shock of your lives.

This is the problem Government owns everything. UMW is big time crony GLC.

Most governments protect the rakyat. They tell the car company to put safety features or be penalised.

Malaysia terbalik. Government own UMW. If they put VSC, UMW will get less profit. So, better for people to die and we at UMW and Government of Malaysia can make more untung and money.

What is human lives? Nothing. Better we at UMW make more money money money $$$$$$$
            $$$$$$$$$
            $$$$$$$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • GLC GLC GLC GLC on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Go and google Paul Tan’s article on VSC. Once you read it, you WILL NEVER touch a car without VSC.

Paul Tan wrote the best ever article on VSC. Go google it and get a shock of your lives.

This is the problem Government owns everything. UMW is big time crony GLC.

Most governments protect the rakyat. They tell the car company to put safety features or be penalised.
            Malaysia terbalik. Government own UMW. If they put VSC, UMW will get less profit. So, better for people to die and we at UMW and Government of Malaysia can make more untung and money.

What is human lives? Nothing. Better we at UMW make more money money money $$$$$$$
            $$$$$$$$$
            $$$$$$$

• therefore sales volume (passenger car) Toyota Malaysia drop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
        • Where is Najib's Promise? on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:02 pm

What is MOST important is where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?
          More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up!
          How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us?
          How to buy this car?

78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. That is RM500 to RM2999). This was announced by Raja Nazrin recently quoting EPF data.

He was proving the Government wrong as the Government again lied to the people that we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM13,000) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures that 78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 snd below which is Government statistics.
          Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM13,000 in 6 years time?

• Are you on weed or what?this is the price for C segment in Malaysia…event cerato selling for that price…any cheaper you’ll have to go for the proton preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 85
      • Almera on Nov 07, 2014 at 1:21 pm

You can get C segments like Elantra or Cerato at below 100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
      • Lemer on Nov 07, 2014 at 1:48 pm

You can get KIA Cerato at 99K with VSC unlike this overpriced greedy Toyota still very basic safety specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 6
        • Alex Lim on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:27 pm

A Axia safety package

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • Chris (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Or, comparing the 2.0 Cerato to the 1.8G Corolla, for RM1000 less, you get:

– Extra 201cc, 21hp, 21nm torque
          – Extra 4 airbags
          – Extra stability control
          – Extra zone of aircond control
          – Extra aircond vents at the back
          – Sun Roof
          – Cruise control

And if you’re the nationalist sort, the KIA is assembled in Malaysia so while you’re “enriching” the Koreans like some would say here, you’re actually putting food on a Malaysian worker’s table.

*all info taken from carbase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
          • Desmond on Nov 09, 2014 at 11:12 am

basically see the spec Kia cerato is high HP and torque (Nm), but consumer didn’t compare that the Kia was high rpm just achieve the performance. Physically, high rpm the HP is increase but torque is decrease… So when you driving on high way, accelerate speed is good, but when constant high rpm, you will feel that torque start to drop down. That why every company provide the graph of torque with rpm. It is important for long distance traveling driver.

• Gunigugu on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Quite a nicely designed car, but sadly the price and safety equipment level lets it down badly. Sincerely Toyota will learn and implement what the people want if they want to be considered as serious contenders in the local market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Agreed. Love the bold external look. Vast improvement over the previous model. But the limited number of airbags – come on is 4 too much to ask for? And no vsc kills motivation to own it.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:32 am

So UMW, how do you guys feel of the recent news reports quoting that Honda Malaysia has officially taken over your sales figures, for the first time in history in Bolehland?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 1
    • jacksonljs on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:17 pm

somemore Honda Malaysia doesn’t even have pick-up truck and van in their model line up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • jacksonljs on Nov 07, 2014 at 10:44 pm

what i mean is Honda Malaysia even without pick-up truck and vans as opposed with Toyota Malaysia with their Hilux and Hiace, it still can overtaking Toyota for non-national makes category in terms of sales figures.

• Jules on Nov 09, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Nope… If Toyota added commercial vehicles … They would have sold more than Honda .. Quoted on the newspaper

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:58 pm

while i do not entirely agree to how honda malaysia position their product (honda jazz vs city) for example…i must commend them for giving consumers the choice of opting for a basic or luxurious version.

• Since when Honda has luxurious version?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 09, 2014 at 3:27 am

the top spec honda city, with soft touch dashboard feels nicer than an audi a4, though i would say the kia cerato is better than both of these two cars

• Anti-Establishment on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:57 pm

I say KEEP IT UP! It’s time Malaysian consumers take charge & show businesses that we’re a force to be reckoned! Let them slip down the line until they realize we’re no longer the fools that they think we are.

• Terminatory on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:33 am

3K cheaper only? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:33 am

no vsc. rubbish.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 9
    • OMG.ya,We should say good car but with rubbish safety package…puihhh…WTF..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 5
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:56 pm

i just want to tell akio toyoda to stop allowing UMW to sell toyota….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • amdbarton on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:35 am

Really GOOD car and GOOD price, 120k without VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
  • no toyota on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:43 am

Again, all cosmetic addon but no safety kit item added… hopeless umw

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
  • AVH (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:48 am

The other day, There was an article regarding Honda Malaysia has, for the first time in a while, overtaken UMW Toyota as the best foreign car seller in Malaysia. Now the Civic is by no means most outstanding car either in the showroom or in the C-segment…but it has at least VSC standard on all varients, and the 2.0l from what I heard, will be receiving 6-airbags as standard in the coming facelift.

I do like the Corolla’s look in some ways and before all of you stoned me, I must defend and say as a design evolution, Toyota really did came out lightyears ahead of the old Corolla, which was as boring a hospital paint to look at, its interior is also better than the Civic’s. But the being UMW, the spec sheets hasn’t change, which is truly dissapointing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 2
    • I almost placed a booking for the 1.8E early this year until i saw the specs of the new City V… i got the City instead. Almost similar passenger volume, bigger boot, better spec and best of all better SAFETY plus i save 24k for other things.

If they gave VSC for the new 1.8G, at least it will be able to sell better… sadly UMW is up to its usual tricks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
      • Yup very hard to beat the current City’s design, space and equipment. Even higher segment cars have to compete with it.

• Toyota Corolla AE 86 still best car ever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • sudonano (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Come on, hospital paint is not that bad!

The old Corolla, was actually quite decent looking when it came out. The one that really looked dated? That was the final Corolla to have the SE.G badge and with airbags. Yeah.

• Still no VSC? Then it’s worst than some Proton. People should start boycotting Toyota for omitting VSC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 4
    • Totally agreed, if u value yours & family life…bttr get other alternative with the important VSC/ESP (STABILITY CONTROL) which is proven help to AVOID accidence!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • nissan on Nov 07, 2014 at 1:42 pm

blame it on proton. if G come out strught safety rule on Car. May P1/P2 car cannot pull out from the factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • farghmee on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:21 pm

what?!

so toyota omit VSC in this car is proton’s fault?

i thought only iphone6 bends…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • hallo on Nov 07, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Stupid younissan. everything is proton fault ?
        Even small iriz got vsc@esc preve , suprima also got.

• this crap still need cost 120k? better go buy Accord or Golf, 120k compare to price for Suprima S and Preve is much much more expensive. UMW earn 40k profit for each unit? “Greedy UMW Toyota”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Rare to see this model on road.
    Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • ganni on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:05 pm

i see more cerato than corolla on th road…UMW should take an action and pls, u have a nice looking car (this is the first time i said to the corolla altis becaue prev gn all looks rubbish) but ur spec is rubbish..shame on u…

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:02 pm

No VSC and no full airbags.

UMW not going to shift to many of these. Even now, if you walk into any Toyota dealerships, you can get hugh rebates and high trade-ins. Ever notice that of late, Toyota salesman treat walk in customers very well now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • autodriver (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:16 pm

I do like this the exterior design of Altis, it is more apparent than previous gen. Unfortunately UMW has cut down the VSC consider the car price is over RM100k. This actually make Altis an unique C-segment who does not provide VSC/ESP within C-segment at price above 100k. Unbelievable the UMW thought this safety feature isn’t important to Malaysian.

Nowadays almost all Korean cars are equipped with ESP/VSC and many new models offering 6 airbags as standard even in A-segment like Kia Picanto come with 6 airbags + ESP at price around 60k. Wake up UMW Toyota, consumer is conscious about safety. Don’t keep thinking safe fuel by omitting safety features. Blxxdy hell.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • No VSC and only 2 airbags?

with this price, better buy Cerato K3

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • autodriver (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Yes, I seen more K3 on the road than altis or civic around KL. maybe because the price of K3 (mainly 1.6) is bearable with 6 airbags and ESP when come to think that altis got no VSC and 2 airbigs selling at ceiling price.

• paparazi on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:28 pm

if only 2 air bags & no VSC, than should free bullet proof vest ma,
      sure got market.

• toyotafan on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:21 pm

UMW is not going to up the spec list (or safety) just because the other makes do so. It will only do so if and only if, when PROTON does so. You see, UMW benchmarks itself against what PROTON does with speccing vechicles.

You should be more concerned whether the body and frame of UMW’s cars stand-up to the safety tests (front and side impacts or rear) or rather put, is as per Japan’s/US/EU Quality requirement and standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:49 pm

More accurately, what Honda will be doing.

The next Civic will likely have 6 Airbags. You can bet UMW will follow soon after.

Proton isn’t on the same planet. UMW would are less about proton, besides, all new Protons now are available with(at least options of) 6 airbags and ESP.

Don’t expect our local cars despite NCAP ratings to be same. Local cars dont comply IIHS’s 5mph low speed crash test…. Didn’t realise what was missing until a small kancil rear ended us and collapsed the rear bumber….apparently the Local Accord is missing the proper bumber re-inforcements.

• AVH (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:33 pm

I dont believe so, Honda has VSC standard across the Civic range for some time now, and are moving towards implementation on 6-airbags…. Toyota hasn’t followed suit.

• How come some Proton has VSC/ESP but this Toyota doesn’t?

• Serious?? No VSC that’s is compulsory in Europe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • chong on Nov 07, 2014 at 1:09 pm

some of the toyota sales man even told me, vsc is not important for small car. aikksss… Please improve!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • What even worse is if they ask you again what is VSC? Lol

• chong on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:22 pm

explain to them lo! what to do. need to educate umw/toyota malaysia about the safety on the road.

Perhaps ask them surf from PAULTAN.com to understand their competitor better! haha

• The great Cheater brand in Malaysia, Congratulation to UMW, you are “No.1” cheater brand of the year.

• malwish on Nov 07, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Better get recond Toyota Wish- new model. For 120K price you can get VSC, EBD ABS 6 airbag, 10 speaker and the Best thing is New engine 2ZR-FAE 1.8 lit make Valvematic with the seven-speed CVT transmission.
    http://paultan.org/2012/05/16/toyota-wish-facelift-for-2012-on-sale-in-japan/

• nabill (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 2:34 pm

should we blame umw or buyers who KNOW it doesnt have VSC and just 2 airbags ???

i honestly blame the buyer for giving them a chance to offer a pathetic feature set in a car this class…if thy dont buy , umw wdnt dare offer this variant…

• xiper (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:22 am

From the sales figure already shown more and more potential buyers are aware of it. Somehow UMW still didn’t learn from it because there are Hilux/Hiance/Avanza/Innova to support.

Both Honda and Nissan already “moving forward”

• kumar on Nov 07, 2014 at 2:38 pm

very rare car. even ferrari/porsche can be seen on the road most of the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • When Europe make ESP?VSC compulsory, UMW say its not important.. wow.. seems UMW knows better huh..

Countless cars lose control during heavy downpour and we know this is malaysia, raining sometimes gushing like waterfall.. unless UMW is not from Msia..

• Matrix on Nov 07, 2014 at 2:59 pm

hahahaha!

my city and inspira are much better!

This toyota is tin kosong!

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Rubbish…as long as UMW sells it without 6 airbags and VSC it’s a rubbish car to me.

• Twin turbo on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Volkswagen golf mk7 only cost rm135 after discount. Rm15k extra more and you will get a much decent car. In terms of safety, Toyota no where near Golf mk7. In terms of performance, vw golf mk7 can smoke this altis until tail light also cannot see..

• My car has VSC and traction control. Whenever I get it the first thing I do is to turn them off…Learn how to drive people!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 59
    • OldRB1 on Nov 07, 2014 at 10:50 pm

People do make mistakes, that’s the purpose of that thing to try to correct the car as to steerable, when you hit nothing then you’re an excellent driver but if you make mistake and accidentally hurt others…

• xiper (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:24 am

Then this Toyota is very suitable for u! Don’t have to waste your energy to turn it off!

• so its like learn to take care of yourself without buying insurance, trying to fund your own medical when you gone into deep shit huh… very good planning..

the world seems rosy to you assuming nothing will go wrong as long as u had done your part, i wonder y the word “accident” still appear in our dictionary..

• Acrix on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Hopefully one day you will not regret that decision to turn off your car safety systems which can potentially save your life and your family while on the road.
      A puddle of water, a small slick of oil on the road can make you lose control even at speeds below 60 or when you swerve the car to avoid hitting something can potentially make you lose control. Other than that other drivers could lose control and hit you which causes you to lose control of your car.
      Turn on your VSC and traction control for the sake of yourself, your family and other drivers on the road.
      Peace.

• toyoda on Nov 07, 2014 at 7:21 pm

No vsc….. still 3 years warranty (can’t think of other brand still offer 3 years only!)… lausy spec except for adjustable recline back seat… price still quite expensive than other brand…. but look quite nice…hmmm…sorry umw, still not going to sell that well….

• xiper (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:26 am

If you can’t think of, apparently BMW still offering 2 years warranty only…

• Whatever** on Mar 15, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Seriously u said that altis have lower selling? Hahaha….u go to umw klang and u will see the truth bro…..many altis there….hard for me to count lol….people buy it cause it have good styling….vvti engine also good ( i have test drive it )…..and for sure they have money to buy it…..it just have safety weaknesses and everyone try to make it a very big problem….ohh come on la….if they drive it safely….there will be nothing problem…i have seen many people commenting bad about safety features coz they always made their proton like a porsche n drive it more than the gov speed limit…n u can see everyday we have an accident either on highway or roads…i also guess that toyota have their own agenda why they do like that….so..before comment…think first la….what a stupid national mentallity….i dont mean u but to someone that think he always right….ahh….rubbish lol…

• paparazi on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:33 pm

this car belongs to third world country

• superdog on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Lat time Potong oso LCLY say “take it or leave it, many in the waiting list”…now UMW’s turn…Toyota Japan should ask UMW commit hala-kiri

• kimchisan on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:50 pm

Good Joke UMW! tell you what, my 3 years old forte 2.0 has EXTRA CC, HP, Torque, full front, side and curtain airbags, ESP, Cruise control, leather seat, paddle shifter, electronic chromic rear view mirror, and yet still 22k cheaper than your current latest generation ALTIS? and don’t even mention that it was in the year of 2011 when I bought it, you toy around with Malaysians’ hard earned money you will be dead fish soon!

• UMW Toyota is not stupid…some of new buyers just buying due to the badge factor.

I personally prefer Altis over shorter Civic if the former got VSA

• jacksonljs on Nov 08, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Have you all guys and girls notice that this year alone Toyota Malaysia doing more frequent (maybe countless times or almost every week) roadshows at different shopping or popular mall complexes in whole country as opposed with previous years plus numbers of roadshows is noticeably higher than other car distributors in this country in order to revive their dwindling sales of their brand new cars.

Personally, i will be more happy to see their sales ‘melonjak turun’ (aka tumbling) if they continue to do business in this way as nowadays, more and more customers simply can’t be treated as fool (as we said, customers are smart already).

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 09, 2014 at 12:07 am

Why does it have leather (which is expensive), but not VSC and 6-7 airbags (not so expensive features)? They must still think a bit of dead skin is more important to customers than their own skin… hopefully customers will prove these Uncles at UMW wrong.

• jtiou on Nov 09, 2014 at 1:10 pm

this is totally rubbish!!! give u fancy interior like touch screen, keyless but in term of safety, two airbags without vsc? come on toyota, ur price is expensive but will full of rubbish.

• Win7Teac on Nov 09, 2014 at 4:36 pm

IMO, if govt is able to follow Langkawi’s price for every vehicle. I am more than happy… Please make it happen

• 7yearscivicfd1 on Nov 09, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Which one of these car seen much more on the road? Cerato or New Altis?

People not that stupid Toyota , try harder.

• darkermarker on Nov 10, 2014 at 9:21 pm

The Altis spec is as kosong as plain water….