Ford Fiesta ST to arrive in showrooms this month; 2014 sales set to be Ford’s all-time high in Malaysia

ford-fiesta-st-previewed-asia-klasika 286

Already previewed at the end of October, the Ford Fiesta ST will arrive in Malaysian showrooms later this month. To recap, the B-segment hot-hatch offers a 1.6 litre turbocharged engine with 182 PS and 240 Nm of torque, and it’ll get to 100 km/h in 6.9 seconds through a six-speed manual gearbox.

Sounds delicious, doesn’t it? Priced at RM149,888 (OTR with insurance, or RM145,842 without), the tuned-up Fiesta will go up against the RM139,888 Peugeot 208 GTi (200 hp and 275 Nm, six-speed manual, 0-100 km/h in 6.8 secs) and Renault’s RM172,888 Clio RS 200 EDC (200 hp and 240 Nm, six-speed dual-clutch auto, 0-100 km/h in 6.7 secs).

ranger-3.2-main

Also announced are Ford’s October sales figures in Malaysia (1,209 units), which sees another two percent growth over last month. So far this year, Ford has sold a total of 11,426 units here, a significant 28% increase over the same period in 2013. The company is on track to achieve its all-time high record in this country.

The biggest contributor to that feat is the latest Ford Ranger. Recently updated to include electronic stability control (ESP) across all variants, the pick-up truck’s sales numbers (829 units in October, 6,831 in 2014) have surged by 46% compared to last year – not bad at all for the model’s third year in the market.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• spoon on Nov 11, 2014 at 2:20 pm

People fed up already with hilux i guess. Can see a new ranger everywhere

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • 3 Months Wait on Nov 11, 2014 at 5:28 pm

A big problem about Ford, every single part is a 3 month wait. My front bumper got bang, AutoConnexion took 3 months to replace it. They said must order from Singapore.

For 3 whole months they held my car. For 3 months I had to take bus to work. I got no idea why. Singapore is so close to Malaysia. But Ford Malaysia make it seem like it is in Zimbabwe.

Yes, the car is nice to drive and got real Continental feel. As good as Mercedes. But Buyer Beware lah. You will cry in pain when you line up in the bus stand waiting for the Metrobus.

My advice, stay away from Ford in Malaysia. Very good car but marred by super bodoh staff in the service centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Ford is over confident. Expensive price tag at Rm150k + strict loan requirement..you may have willing buyers but transaction won’t realize

• Same L0rrr on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:45 am

“If you can’t afford? Get an Iriz lar!! Iriz also can smoke!”

Proton fanboys will tell you this.

How can an Iriz to be compared with Fiesta ST? Simply because they have 4 wheels?

• gaviny on Nov 11, 2014 at 2:31 pm

sales sales sales, profit profit profit

aftersales?

errrr, that one worry later, customer no choice cannot go anywhere else, we threaten to void warranties

• Otak Udang on Nov 11, 2014 at 2:44 pm

No sales how to have aftersales ? PRRRRT !

• gaviny on Nov 11, 2014 at 3:06 pm

blame customer for not buying their cars so justified we treat you like crap if you have an issue..

proton salesman ah you?

• Walao A on Nov 11, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Give laa Sony head units!! How many generations of Fiestas they want to stick with this head unit ah?

• Matrix on Nov 11, 2014 at 4:38 pm

crap car.

Tried to race it at genting.
    lose to my city!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 11, 2014 at 5:25 pm

fiesta ST still not on sale in boleh la…

• Otak Udang on Nov 11, 2014 at 6:15 pm

So what not on sale? Still people from Sime Darby got a few unit for staff to use.

• thomasNOTmyname on Nov 11, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Of course they lose to you because you TRY to race them! Idiot!

• someguyonthenet on Nov 11, 2014 at 5:40 pm

you presumed this car is made for racing?

• PeteM on Nov 11, 2014 at 6:03 pm

I think you are trying to say “my city lose”
      We got it….

• panjang on Nov 11, 2014 at 7:21 pm

I bet lots of Myvito and Iriz wnt to try their luck with the Fiesta ST when they see it on the road.

• Sam The Miser on Nov 11, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Only fools will part their money for Ford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Ecoboost owner on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:10 am

Bro. Dont say like that. I like my fiesta. Its 1000 times better than my vios. Please dont act like u had it. U know nothing. Typical keyboard warrior

• Simon Ng on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:07 am

What happened to Wildtrak? I remember one time Ford was selling Wildtrak with nearly 2 years waiting list. Now cannot buy anymore.

• Steven yong on Nov 12, 2014 at 9:28 am

Ranger Wildtrak waiting list is 6 months…
    Those never try any ford cars please come over to your nearest showroom test drive it before comment any things…..
    Please read the catalog about the spec…
    Remember this… Ncap 5 star… thank you
    Of course I ford salesman…

• f0xtr0t on Nov 12, 2014 at 10:35 am

effin sime darby and their shitty pricing & servicing