Ford Ranger updated – ESP, 3-point belts and ISOFIX

ranger-3.2-main

The Ford Ranger T6 pickup truck has been lightly updated for the Malaysian market. From now on, all Ranger models will come equipped with electronic stability control (ESP), five (as opposed to four) three-point seatbelts, plus a centre headrest and two ISOFIX anchors for the rear bench seats.

Even the base single cab variant gains the vital stability control safety net, though obviously it loses out on the rear seat enhancements by not having a rear passenger compartment to begin with. Airbag count stays at two across the range, complemented by ABS, Roll Over Mitigation (ROM) and Trailer Sway Assist (TSA).

These additions come at a price, of course, as the retail prices for all models have been increased by approximately RM1,000 from before. Revised prices are now range from RM71,788 for the 2.2 litre XL Single Cab to RM98,640.60 for the range-topping 3.2 litre XLT variant (on-the-road prices without insurance, Peninsular Malaysia).

You can refer to CarBase.my to see the full specifications of the new ESP-equipped 2014 Ford Ranger models (including its Sabah, Sarawak, Labuan and Langkawi prices), and how it compares against the Toyota Hilux, Mitsubishi Triton, Isuzu D-Max, and Nissan Navara.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• i have been interested in the lowrider for some
    time but did not buy due to lack of airbags and
    safety features. Wow ford really surprised me
    this time bcos not only they include airbags
    but also esp and most of the safety features
    of the top end model. All this for Rm70k ( only
    1k price increase. )

• Anti-Fuel-Price on May 29, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Mana Wiltrak 3.2??? Hafriz. Any plan from Ford Malaysia introduce again. Been waiting for the past 2 yrs, wanna book that time but couldn’t and now only can buy second hand.

• Ray (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Okay even a single cab truck that costs 71k has ESP now. Dear Toyota, do you hear me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Sime Darby Auto Connexxion has stopped taking orders for Ford Ranger 3.2 Wildtrak altogether as the demand greatly outdo its supply. I got myself one in September 2013 after placing my deposit in September 2012… That’s one year! But my dad wanted it and I ended up getting Hilux *sigh*
    The next best thing will be 3.2 manual XLT…

• Leo, I’m looking to sell my 3.2 XLT manual… Interested?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on May 29, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Bro the 3.2 manual ok llaaaa but the spec is quite basic compare to WildTrak. No leather, No auto climate, etc….. plus manual box!!!! Driving truck I prefer Auto :( especially got stuck in da jam. But almost year Ford can’t increase their output, is kind of disappointment & is like seeing profit plunge to the sea.

• What to do? Love the power of 3.2 but loathe the specs that you mentioned – no leather and no auto climate and most importantly, I love the Orange colour combination on the outside and inside of this truck – or otherwise I’d buy one already. Manual or auto is not a problem for me..

• By the way… Bro, since they (Ford) have shut down their Australian plant, they only rely on Thailand plant to supply its truck to the rest of the world.. Which includes Australia (one of the biggest markets). They could barely supply enough to domestic market let alone the rest of the world

• Anti-Fuel-Price on May 30, 2014 at 2:11 am

Yeah!!! FORGOT bout that, FORD Aus shut down, no wonder no wonder. Hey me too LOVE the ORANGE WildTrak, whenever “lucky” saw one on de road I’ll say “Damn.. lucky bastard” hehehehe………

• Lol! Maybe one of them was my dad :) although I wish that it was me the lucky bastard instead!

• sudonano (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Probably one of the safest pick up trucks you can buy today. Should be relatively reliable too, as it comes with either a manual or a normal automatic, not a dual clutch.

Good effort Ford, bring back the WildTrak 3.2 now.

• sayonara toyota~ on May 29, 2014 at 7:43 pm

bye hilux~ this ESP baby will tapao other trucks gao gao!

• booked wildtrak back august 2012..almost 2 years now.still dnt have it..

• Bro, I booked in September 2012 and got it a year later… Impossible for you not to get it after so long. Did you book the truck directly with auto Connexxion or with dealers?

• its SDAC KK.already asked them.same answer.wait n wait n wait.same goes to my friend.so both of us still waiting.

• booked wildtrak back august 2012..almost 2 years now.still dnt have it..

• sutheshkumar on May 29, 2014 at 9:51 pm

I recall Ranger when first launched, comes witht the center 3 point seatbelt at the rear. Try checking back at the pics.

• Denaihati on May 29, 2014 at 10:30 pm

additional price with extra features including safety, looks good and worth it.

• Hukaka on May 29, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Mazda bt-50 2.2 auto got all include rear diff lock,this it’s great feature
    For off-roading,hill decent,the look are very subjective for me I feel ok.
    The front looks like space ship but the rear re not so nice.
    This car having noticble turbo lag if compare with my current ssang yong 270.but overall are good value.
    Ranger will having more looks and bt-50 are really value for every penny you paid for.in Australia the BT-50 XLT 2.2 auto are selling at Rm150K.
    Same spec there it’s another high end spec with will having electronic front driver seat.

• Baja Lapis Seng on May 30, 2014 at 5:23 pm

I’m having a serious butthurt right now as a pre-enchanced Ranger’s owner….:(

• Any one know when the new Ford everest coming ?

• lorider lovin on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Interested in getting the lo-rider, saw some rebates offered for 2013 stock. Can pls confirm if the enhancements mentioned above only apply to 2014 stock onwards only? If thats the case 2013 stock pre-enhancements will become cold stock

• lorider on Jul 24, 2014 at 6:40 am

Ok got confirmation on my question it is only for 2014.

Next question, any lorider owners can comment on the 5 speed gearbox? Read before there i serious issue and some have had it replaced?

• Fadiman76 on Nov 01, 2014 at 11:00 pm

I just bought New Ford Ranger 2.2 XL with grey color recently and very satisfied on it..