Toyota Alphard – pix of third-generation MPV leaked!

toyota-alphard-third-generation-leak-0005

This is the third-generation Toyota Alphard, rumoured to be making its debut on January 26 next year. Some presentation slides and a single front three-quarter photo of the new Alphard have made its way onto the Internet, so we get an early peek. What do you think of the new Alphard’s looks?

The transformation from second-gen to third-gen isn’t as big as how the Alphard transformed from the original first-generation to the current one, so this update is more evolutionary than revolutionary. On the front end, the MPV gets a new massive grille, similar in fashion to the Toyota Esquire and Crown.

toyota-alphard-third-generation-leak-0003

Perhaps the Vellfire will take a more sportier route with its looks, then? One of the slides show the rear end of the Vellfire, but there’s no front end to be seen yet. The Vellfire’s tail lamps are clear just like the current one, while the Alphard’s are red.

Reports have shared that the new Alphard will be 60 mm longer and 20 mm wider than the current one, while its height will be lower by 10 mm. It’s 2,950 mm wheelbase will also be increased by 50 mm to 3,000 mm, which will allow it to match the Nissan Elgrand’s wheelbase.

The Alphard and Vellfire should continue to be offered with two engines – a four-cylinder engine mated to a CVT gearbox, or a 3.5 litre V6 paired with a six-speed automatic. I don’t think the 2.4 will be downsized to a 2.0 like the new Harrier, considering the Alphard is a larger car designed to carry more people. It’s more likely that it will be replaced by a 2.5, just like the current generation Camry.

UMW Toyota brings in the current facelifted Toyota Alphard in both 2.4 litre and 3.5 litre variants. Check out specs and pricing for the Toyota Alphard on our CarBase.my car buyer research site.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gavin Y on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:48 am

very disgusting face, looks like torture victim that had their lips sliced off exposing the teeth even when not smiling,

vomit

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 9
    • joshua on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:06 am

i wont buy this mpv, late karam sing die inside this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 58
      • Ice Kacang on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:13 pm

If you can’t afford it, just admit it. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 20
        • Maserati(Official) on Dec 19, 2014 at 5:18 pm

This car is rubbish. Buy a Exora, that is more worth it. Proton is the best gift UMNO has given to us Malaysians.

Thank you UMNO. Thank you for caring for us Malaysians. Please do not drop car prices. Car prices are already affordable.

Those who whine are lazy people who do not want to work hard for more money. Then they blame the Government.

Please also do not reduce oil prices because oil is cheap in Malaysia.

Terimakasih BN. We all love you BN. And in BN, thank you UMNO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 90
          • trell on Dec 20, 2014 at 11:45 am

Wow this is new ah fart?

Hahahahhahahahahahahahahhaha

hahahahahahhahahahahahaha

hahahahahahahahahahhhahahaha

• muhammad meor othman on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:08 pm

sarcastic gila komen ko

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:19 pm

If like this, you don’t have any model to buy in Proton.

The Iriz 5 stars ASEAN NCAP is built on 60km/h crash scenario. In the reality, where got people crash at 60km/h? 160km/h would be reasonable since the Proton fanboys like to smoke this smoke that with this “awesome” car. So you think the 5 stars car can stand 160km/h impact? Think again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 70
        • No more Value on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:32 pm

drag proton into this again. Did proton ever hurt you before so that you hate it so much? Or is it because you love proton too much so you dont want others to have it, so that you are special one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 15
        • otak udang…gogle iriz accdent at high speed [email protected] savely..and for u haters,take hammer then hit ur car,got star enough??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
        • Fuego66 on Dec 19, 2014 at 4:19 pm

It’s a standard crash test. The 60 km/h is at POINT OF IMPACT. It shows your shallowness in automotive knowledge. Next time, don’t simply condemn. Sigh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
        • intgtr on Dec 19, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Same Lorrr got paid lor, even alphard want to compare with Iriz. Nothing special with Alphard, Estima, you name it.

Before forget I want to say it’s ugly.

Real ugly.

• danedz on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:33 pm

karam or karpal?

• DonkeyKong on Dec 19, 2014 at 2:29 pm

“Karam sing” LOL

• Karam Singh = newsreader. Still alive and well.
        Karpal Singh = the one ur referring to. Died in alphard crash.
        Haiyyaaa

• joshua, ask same lorr buy this mpv so can proof to us he wont die inside this car.

• milkyway on Dec 19, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Yes Same Lorrrr please buy this car, prove to us that its handling is as good as Exora!

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 20, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Get a EX5 if handling is everything of your driving experience!

• Pls go to library or google internet..

Ita not karam sigh walia weh..its late karpal singh

• Ah Beng Kia on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:07 am

Ugly, Uglier and now Ugliest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:18 am

the passenger seat look comfy to me….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • townbox on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:41 am

Do you think it is prettier than Proton Juara or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:17 pm

No,Proton Juara is better than this Alphard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Here comes the Proton 5S lifestyle again:
          1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Sangat Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 52
          • Samah Khan on Dec 19, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Here comes the Same LOrr & Toyota 5S lifestyle again:
            1. Sendiri Cakap tiada lagi ade org percaya
            2. Sendiri Syok sampai gila krn sales Toyota dah kurang
            3. Sentiasa Rosak bangsa sendiri
            4. Sales Carnival tiada lagi ade org pergi
            5. Sangat Mahal buatan Toyota krn same lorr gaji tinggi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
          • samelorstpd on Dec 19, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Toyot 7 “O”

1.Overpriced
            2.Overhyped
            3.Obsolete
            4.On garbage lorries
            5.Out of proportion
            6.Outdated
            7.Overrrated

Toyoto and p2 good quality control:

1. Looks Bad
            2. Sounds Good
            3. Promised Good
            4. But never Good

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 20, 2014 at 2:36 pm

When the fanboys got nothing constructive/informative to say, they either copy/paste or insult others.

No matter how you bash, Perodua and Toyota still selling hot. Go on Syok Sendiri, go on…

Why Toyota/Honda/Mazda/BMW foreign cars so expensive, thanks to Proton’s protection.

• samelorstpd on Dec 20, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Even no proton car prices will still high, you compare prius C with saga, you think you can get in Thai it at 33k kah?

Kahkahkag

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 20, 2014 at 10:03 pm

I never say Prius C is as cheap as Saga, did I?

When Prius/Prius C was tax free (without Proton’s protection), they are only RM140k/RM97k, which are affordable and you are seeing them all on the road now.

Without Proton, car prices can be a lot cheaper. A Vios for RM45k, why not?

• samelorstpd on Dec 21, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Then why in Thai prius C Is above 139k? Thai got proton issit? Haha!

• Itchybutt on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Also do you know that your asshole also smellier than the cabin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:46 am

Outlook is quite subjective personal preference. For some ppl, Lambo is ugly also.

However, if you are looking for space, comfort, reliable, this is the right car. These are objective facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 36
      • sonyman on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:19 pm

what rubbish you talking about.

Lambo, bonkers design, out of this world, those who say ugly are those who only Know that overdosed beetle.

Lambo design, you get something where many humans are not ready to accept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
        • MrNoEyesSee on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:24 pm

So basically to me ure “talking rubbish” since u cannot accept other ppl’s opinion

“Lambo design, you get something WHERE MANY HUMAN ARE NOT READY TO ACCEPT”? <- reflects on u perfectly

• Jimmy on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Some people like more the classic sportscar designs.
          I like Porsche designs, Ferrari’s also okay.

Lambo has good futuristic designs.

• No more Value on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Well… lambo is really have some model that are not too lambo…. But of course we cant say it is ugly, it is just not that lambo feel.

• samelorstpd on Dec 19, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Same Lorrr always talking rubbish, what do you expect he can do?

• Outlook is quite obvious bad looking bcos everybody told you is ugly.

Space, comfort, reliable? all subjective facts. My auntie told me her Alphard not big enough and less comfort. (I dunno she compare to what car)

• UMW_to_bring.... on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:51 am

…the steering in with one airbag can sell it at full price.

You assemble the rest.

• kington on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:52 am

Sure is ugly, but Toyota’s ugliness can sometime grow on you… this in black surely scares kids away….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Holy flying monkey poop!. That is one ugly grille. Looks like a bucktoothed hillbilly. Mat jongang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • So ugly on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:02 am

OMG, why it’s so ugly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • oil_worker on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:08 am

ugly front…

• Bob_B78 on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:10 am

Pretty spacious mpv with serious flaw. Its body shell is soft enough that you could use bare hands to deform it. Thats what I have observed from current gen. Hopefully the new gen has tougher body shell with improved safety.

• azhar on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:11 am

wow!!..surely they cant make it more uglier than that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • proismesolisten on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:14 am

omg ugly faggot

• carazy on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:16 am

The “Gigi” is so BIG wehh!!!

• Uvnice on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:19 am

Super ugly face, in my opinion!

Is this car tested with NCAP yet?

• lagibest on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:20 am

OMG! Am I the only person who think this design is ugly?

• That grill! Perfect for money lenders and taiko to ride for some action!

• Taiko boss MPV!

• It looks like a kerbau….

• aduh! patah hidung langgar dinding! ;p

• daniel on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:31 am

the alphard’s tail lamps is just awkward…

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:32 am

WTF is that?

• krishna on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:33 am

and this is how they kill a great looking car. I hated the front design of Elgrand and now this. so fugly!

• Ah Beng Kia on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:36 am

Ugly, Uglier and now Ugliest

• prabowi on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:43 am

This new alphard will probably get zero for pedestrian safety

• TheDean on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:06 am

I think the Japanese designers are geniuses: they design cars that already look smashed, so that when an accident happens, no difference.

• Sammy on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:19 am

What the….
    Is the designer of this car call Hannibal Lectur?

Please don’t ever bring this car to Malaysian road. Is an eyesore to our city..

• You can use that grille to actually “grill” something

• Sparcov on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:34 am

Prefer Vellfire over this at any time

• bax79 on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:38 am

oh my goat! what happen to the nose? Surgery failed?

• tokwan on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:44 am

New transformers movie will use this MPV..

• The longer time i looked at it, the nicer i think it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • apaapajelah on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:51 am

Design Toyota makin lama makin buruk.. This Alphard has a spacious cabin, but the design?? How about do some alternation, Exora’s design with Alphard’s cabin? Got hot selling of course!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Pls dont tell me u think Exora is beautiful………no way…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • youweirdo on Dec 19, 2014 at 8:37 pm

It’s subjective, but telling others that alphard is beautiful is weirdo

• apaapajelah on Dec 20, 2014 at 10:06 am

And pls dont tell me this Alphard ‘lebih cun’ than Exora..

• This alpax will be exempted from GST because too ugly too be taxed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • pok mang on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:55 am

wow! very autobot to me

• Most likely it will be use to ferry coffin. It can scares the hell out of the ghost.
    Make way! make way! Evil spirit & restless ghost…!

• any news about estima/previa? If I was correct, korean already have the new estima, saw one passing by.

• My first reaction : WTFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF

• Tamura on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:17 pm

looks like ultraman car…

• angah on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Face look like megatron

• Hukaka on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:29 pm

It will replace by 2.5 dual vet engine for the current 2.4 varian.
    Vellfire are almost the same front with dual head lamp.

• ah-fat-no-thank-you on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:31 pm

road hazards. big, clumsy, blocks your view, driven by plenty of idiots who either tail gate you or hordes the road.

• dugongx on Dec 20, 2014 at 1:44 am

what to do? All those idiots think driving this alfark is damn grand like rolls royce. Expect you to move out of their way, stop at junction and give way to them, hog 2 lanes.

Reality is that it is just a bloody van just like hiace with premium price and premium seats. Only they sendiri syok. Puii!!

• aawct on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:32 pm

OMG..transformer!!

• Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Really!!!!Where is the aerodynamical!!!Now my nose also kemik when I see this car.But,never mind good job Toyota.But guys,stay tuned for the 2015 Proton Exora.That day me and my family spotted the Exora 2015 testing at Sepang International Circuit.That day we just having fun,bring all our car and race each other.But when we go closer with the Exora 2015,we ask about the car and the people say that they cant reveal the spec,engine yet.But one words only I can say is its have the same big as the second gen of the Toyota Alphard.i didn’t mean that the new Exora have the same design as the Alphard,but i say that the new Exora have the same big as the Alphard.And of course,its engine will be more than 2.4 litres.Go Go Proton!!!!!!!!!

#GoodJobToyota

#ProtonExoraThirdGen

#ProtonThenNowForever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • savvylover on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:36 pm

that grille.really scary.will see a lots of this in Bolehland soon.

• Ja Rule on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Hoorey, new car for traitor Nik Aziz to ride in. Ride Alphard but pretend got no money.

But dont talk so much, later they impose hudud on you. Shhhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • Jimmy on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Recond Alphard owners, are they really rich?
      Where does he get his money from?
      Why a lawyer DUN cannot ride S-class if his lawyer firm earns a lot of money?

• what a rubbish u talk…banggang..hahahaha..

• x-city on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Silent of the lamb….

• kensiew on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:25 pm

No matter u like it or not, damn sure u will see a lot of it running around in malaysia coz people will still buy it

• I feel like.. Got six pack at the grill la haha.
    Omg better buy honda odyssey

• No more Value on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Anyone who say this is ugly, please stop. This is not ugly, this is epic! See the front grill remind me some kind of snake. So scary, so disgusting.

• No more Value on Dec 19, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Ok, everyone have different eye and brain in like or dislike a design. For me, the front grill really remind me one kind of snake. Maybe viper? And hope Toyota get a better designer soon.

• Omg…what happened to the front face?
    Looks like a monster craving for it’s victims.
    lol.

• Hedges on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Nahh.. Who would buy a van? An idiot or sam loo

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 21, 2014 at 9:02 am

I trade used kimchis (Hyundai Only)

Very profitable, coz there will always be sorhais that buys them new and sell it off within a year

• ayooo on Dec 19, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Front got battering ram like ancient war machine. Sure can survive frontal impact.

• min bas express…khakahakahkah..

• roxas on Dec 19, 2014 at 2:37 pm

top dislike car just got uglier ! with stupid drivers driving these and hogging the road !

• Gojeng on Dec 19, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Paint this MPV green and collide it with red Mazda 6, you’ll get a live action Angry Birds game cars edition.

• carlos on Dec 19, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Ok, Run & hide now!!

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 19, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Is this a new generation or a facelift? Exterior looks 90% like the current one. Interior is very good looking though.

• ganni on Dec 19, 2014 at 7:07 pm

I think toyota found their nice design cues..same as what vw did to their golf..just a minor changes only will do,,

• Toyota Ah Fart.

• putra_rider on Dec 19, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Buruk giler alphard ni…

• danny on Dec 19, 2014 at 5:03 pm

the size is bigger than the current one? I tot the existing alphard is already big enough…can call this mini bus …

• mutant

• ganni on Dec 19, 2014 at 7:03 pm

The 2nd has a better appearance..but i did like the rear design though..anyway..how abt the vellfire then? If the looks of the vellfire is not pleasing like this alphard, i would stick with my vellfire for a long time then..

• Ruleres on Dec 19, 2014 at 8:04 pm

No interior option for 8 seats?

• High class coffin, Same L0rr said this coffin is reliable and comfort. You can laid inside peacefully

• ale uto on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Kepala pantat !!!

• ale uto on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:03 pm

kepala pantat!!!

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:51 pm

They tried so hard to have lexus dna in it meh…I wonder how ugly it can be

• Jambang on Dec 20, 2014 at 2:28 am

I bought a Vellfire in 2009, first batch grey importer paid almost 390k. I always take 5/6 yr loan and use the old car as downpayment for a new car. This is my last year paying instalment and it has been my trusty ride… but this new shit?? I pass.

• cayanunalaifbaalifbaya on Dec 20, 2014 at 3:13 am

kalo kit siang buat proton baru la proton tu bagus mcm nak gila puji melangit.

• Thus is the future in automotive industry! It will revolutionize the automotive industry.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 20, 2014 at 10:44 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its a KIA, it can no longer be traded in

• Scary n ugly looking face…

• Pissonmacai on Dec 21, 2014 at 1:12 pm

if any above who’s feeling bad for taking so much ‘gaji buta’ but unable to perform well in other social networks so decided coming here to proof your ‘worthy’ as a Macai, then you’re truly an amazing human rubbish! your parents would be so proud that they would praise your boss whenever filling up their 1989’s manual Proton Saga with RON95 which you grew up with your siblings. I’m sure there are countless sweet memories from that piece of garbage which to your parents, is much valuable compare to you!
    well, no point arguing with a junk when there are so much customized Juke to admire, which I believe you’ll unable to own unless you finally decided to lick that fat lady’s axxhole, after she done her daily ‘routine’!
    oh! am I off topic again?

• s320l on Dec 21, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Juke always been smoked by my 20 years old German tank. It is weak car.