Public not ready for Vehicle End of Life policy – TokPa

kedai-potong

The long-talked about Vehicle End of Life policy, first brought up at the end of 2009 and which resurfaced in another (proposed) form as the Cash for Clunkers scrappage scheme earlier this month, is apparently far from becoming a reality.

In response to a question, Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed said at the just-concluded National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) status update that “the public is not ready” for such a scheme or policy, although he did not elaborate.

The Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) said recently at its 2014/15 review and insight on the local automotive landscape that a Cash for Clunkers scheme could increase the Total Industry Volume (TIV) to 750,000 units, although it has been quick to add that the government has not yet approved such a scheme.

In 2007, Proton introduced its own Proton Xchange Programme before discontinuing the scrappage scheme at the end of 2009. The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has also lobbied for such a programme to be implemented with annual sales of cars increasing, leading to more severe traffic congestions.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• The public is not ready because the 30% car price reduction also not yet japati.. in the end, all your fault la.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 5
    • protonGSC on Jan 30, 2015 at 1:50 pm

And “Rakyat no ready for GST” so government ever consider???
      And “Rakyat are ready for abolish of AP system and excise duty” But Govt never take action !

MAI is full of crap bullshit, hope that someone can pass the message to Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 30, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Who care about the rakyat? Government only care about their pockets (and the cronies too).

See the simple steps:
        1.Force the people to pay so much for the car
        2.Force the people to spend so much owning the car
        3.Force the people to change car after certain years

Rakyat bankrupt is rakyat own problem! Most important more excise duty, GST, number plate registration fees are collected.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
        • Bomoh on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:05 pm

So when is the 47% ready to scrap their very old crap car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
          • 4G63T DSM on Jan 31, 2015 at 7:46 am

Government don’t care what the 47% will do.

Maybe they think most of the 47% ride motor and won’t be applicable and the rest are cronies… Plenty of money anyway.

• MAI - King of Bullshit on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:45 pm

The people at MAI are told to confuse the public. MAI is famous with charts and projections. But actually, every single thing that came out of MAI’s mouth is pure lies lies lies.

Please MAI, please be honest. It is your own bangsa that is suffering the most. Don’t you feel sorry for your own people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • GolSendiri on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:05 pm

public not ready because gomen also not ready to abolish excise duty for cars………………….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Blue traveler on Jan 30, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Hi brothers and sisters here, this is my own view, actually we’re already living the vehicle end of life policy period, just under a different format. How….. Step back and see the resale value of the car. After paying a 4,5,7,9 years of loan. Then we’re hit by the fact that on and after 10years on the road, after spending your hard earn sweat n blood money on this car, almost 80% or more of the citizens can’t afford to buy your car when you want to sell after 10 years… Why? …” Er, sorry sir/mdm, 10 years Liao, can’t get loan for your car….”” Irregardless whether you have reduce your saga to below 7-9k or your Benz/Bmw to below 30k. Sorry no loan on 10 year old cars. Govt/ bank policy.
      F@$k, at least in sg I still can get back my COE payment and whatever the blue book scrape price the car goes for. Here no! Just been there done that….. So our cars are already in a 10 year end of life policy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • england rules on Feb 02, 2015 at 2:44 pm

I care more about how you use the English language.

Its “regardless” not “irregardless”.

• thepolygonal on Jan 30, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Car is precious because it cost so much we will hold on to it as long as possible.

If only we get 50% off for new cars purchased if we scrap.. hmm.. that I might consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • Gargantia on Jan 30, 2015 at 1:53 pm

“the public is not ready” by Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed.

And “Public are not ready for GST” by normal Rakyat.

And “Rakyat are really for abolish of AP system and reduced excise duty” do Govt ever consider ???

MAI or Cronies please make your vote Rakyat !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • Cronies wanted this policies long time ago, since their Proton doesn’t sale well….Dr.M will definate very happy if this policy implement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • jacksonljs on Jan 31, 2015 at 11:03 am

Not only Protong want this, i read somewhere from a news article (google yourself) that bloodsucker UMW Toyota also want this End-of-Life policy to be implemented, my personal assumption is because their car sales figures nearly beaten by Honda eventhough Honda don’t have any pick-up trucks and vans in their line-up, but hey, don’t think all customers are waterfish (can be cheated easily about RV hype and ‘advise’ customers that they will guarantee ‘hailat’ if going to choose other brands by most of their ‘friendly’ salesmans). Also, don’t think your customers will let go their 2004-2013 Altis 1.8G that have VSC to change to ‘brand new’ Altis 1.8G that don’t have VSC

• LatukBandar on Jan 30, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Vehicle End of Life policy? What about 2 or 3 term limits for all politicians?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • Menteri on Jan 30, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Menteri Menteri,I would like to suggest, Car below 100K No TAX! Car above 100K PAY TAX! ROLL ROYCE MERCEDES BMW AUDI TAX mereka 3Xganda TAX..FERRARI LAMBORGHINI ASTON MARTIN MASERATI PAY 10Xganda TAX! SEBAB CC Besar cuma muat 2 orang tak guna langsung. HYBRID HAPUSKAN TAX..Peace lah like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
  • superbird #43 on Jan 30, 2015 at 2:09 pm

there r lots of things more important than vehicle.
    spending the rest of my life paying for the vehicle after getting 1 is plain ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • niterunner99 on Jan 30, 2015 at 2:11 pm

sounds like GOV forcing owners to change cars…like SG’s 10yrs COE.

• Government say public not ready. Why not ready? Because government tax the car so high. LPPL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Maserati(The Clone) on Jan 30, 2015 at 2:51 pm

When we can get cheap car without AP?
    Maybe in a year 2040.

• BAD idea, to those who can’t afford to change car, macam mana??
    And some people buy car for their wife just to pick up their kids, after 10 yrs the KM is still low, then how? Some who love cars so much and take care of their car and still look brand new after 10yrs. Since GST is implement can the stupid CP500 scrap it? What the point asking the rakyat to pay advanced for income tax? The GOV don’t even know that when we declared the amount for tax, it doesn’t mean we already have collected the payment from our client. Some payment take 1yrs to collect, the Gov never ever think how tough our life is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • PocketIn on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:26 pm

This will only work if the cars is cheap, 5k or 10k, else this will never work

• The public is never ready until your cronies are ready to give up AP and all the proton crap industry protection policies. Question to the government/proton….are you ready?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Joker on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Year 2040 ???
    Ha ha ha…ha ha..

• azrai on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:06 pm

The big flood already scrapping half the cars in Kelantan and some in Pahang.

• Aiyoyo... on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:48 pm

mlm

• Jimmy on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:31 pm

There is a word called ‘majority’.

• paanjang16 on Jan 30, 2015 at 7:42 pm

No politician nor party will want to risk alienating their vote bank with such a scheme.Such a policy will simply never going to come to fruition since so many people rely on their cars to get around.

Even if there are no car tax or subsidized car price, there are still people who still need a car but cannot afford to buy an entirely new car. A basic Axia sets you back RM 25k now, even after we remove the tax it will still be RM 15k perhaps? RM 15k is still alot of money to some people where food, loan repayments and rent is more important. Asking people to fork out RM 15k every 10 years for a new vehicle is simply too much. A motorcycle is simply out of the option as some people has families and do not want to ride a motor due to safety issue. Such a policy has no 2nd hand cars since most will be scrapped by the time it reaches its expiry date.

In fact it would actually amaze me if the government actually go ahead with such a policy to take away people’s cars and force them to buy new cars.

• Diaspora on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:36 am

Tok Pa knows nothing about doings business. He is an economist and academician. His statements are purely theories and been feed by civil servants in the ministry and agencies who doesn’t know what business is all about.

His Ministry doesn’t have constant dialogue with the industries like how Rafidah Aziz did.

• Tiger on Jan 30, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Where is the mad scientist that discovered that “12 year old cars” are not safe to drive?? Where r the crazy guy who claimed many old cars involved in accidents?? Yes, many such scientist in Malaysia…first they claimed 10 year old car unsafe, than 15 year, than 12 years…they should get a Nobel Prize for these amazing discoveries ( no data to sapot them though)

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 31, 2015 at 7:53 am

First thing you learn about statistics is just how easy it is to play with numbers.

All you need to do is muddle up your sample size/ selection.

Motorcyclist are mostly unsafe with the most fatalities. Don’t see them making an issue to scrap them? What the 47% don’t agree w u ah?

• Martha on Jan 31, 2015 at 8:21 am

The question is… Is the government ready for the end of life…

• siaocom on Jan 31, 2015 at 8:30 am

If this being implemented, used car dealer is the 1st to die 1st. lol.

• Alex Choo on Jan 31, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Ya right, I can just scrap my father’s 32 years old “charade”… Wait, did I mention 32? Is older than my age and is still on the street! I rather drive inside Sarawak river and get rm10k from insurance company you stupid!

• Annoynimouse on Feb 02, 2015 at 8:27 pm

In the end, it’s all about road-worthiness of the cars. The MOT is system is the way to go. Have mandatory car inspections.

• Carlover (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 1:35 am

If this is implemented, all the lower-priced cars manufacturers would be happy because more people will buy cheaper cars.