2015 Toyota Alphard, Vellfire launched in Thailand

Toyota Alphard BKK 2015 6

Merely two months after the unveiling in Japan, the 2015 Toyota Alphard and Vellfire have officially launched in Thailand at the ongoing 2015 Bangkok show. Vellfire 2.5, Alphard 2.5 Hybrid and Alphard 3.5 V6 variants are available.

The vehicle pictured here is the range-topping Alphard V6. Under the bonnet lurks a 3.5 litre 2GR-FE V6 that feeds 276 hp at 6,200 rpm and 340 Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm to the front wheels through a six-speed auto. The outgoing model’s rear torsion beam has made way for double wishbones, and rigidity and soundproofing have been upped.

Inside, you’ll recognise the 2-2-3 seating layout, second-row Ottoman captain seats and so-called ‘Mickey Mouse’ headrests, but everything is presented in a more polished manner. The second-row seat armrests hide adjustment, Ottoman, memory, lighting and heating/cooling controls – very Business Class!

There’s an eight-inch touch-screen up front with navigation, a 4.2-inch TFT instrument panel multi-info display, a nine-inch roof-mounted monitor and 17 speakers’ worth of JBL sound. You’ll also find a dual sunroof, auto triple-zone air-con with Nanoe ioniser, 16 ambient lighting colours with four brightness levels, and Intelligent Smart Entry. The Alphard has nine airbags, VSC, traction control and hill start assist as standard.

We only have pictures of the Alphard V6 for now, but one step down is the Alphard 2.5 Hybrid, which brings together a 2.5 litre Atkinson-cycle four-cylinder engine, Toyota’s eCVT and an electric four-wheel drive system (141 hp front electric motor, 67 hp rear electric motor). The 2AR-FXE on its own makes 150 hp at 5,700 rpm and 206 Nm of torque between 4,400 and 4,800 rpm.

Finally, there’s the Vellfire 2.5, which gets a 2.5 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder engine and a seven-virtual ratio CVT. The 2AR-FE delivers 180 hp at 6,000 rpm and 235 Nm of torque at 4,100 rpm. This features a more garang appearance, incorporating ‘split’ headlamps and clear-lens tail lamps (as opposed to the Alphard’s warm-glow tube units).

Standard on the Vellfire is a dark interior with subdued wood trim, a seven-inch touch-screen up front, a 10.2-inch roof-mounted monitor and an eight-speaker sound system. Thai pricing is as follows – the Vellfire 2.5 starts the range at 3.399 million baht (RM376k), followed by the Alphard 2.5 Hybrid at 3.549 million baht (RM399k) and finally, the Alphard 3.5 V6 at 4.649 million baht (RM523k).

2015 Toyota Alphard 3.5 V6

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• spongewai on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:09 pm

yerrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 34
    • toofugly on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:41 pm

I just spilled out my dinner tonite seeing this fugly alphard!

*Vomit terribly*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 57
      • grbgcollect on Mar 25, 2015 at 8:31 am

Garbage lorry is better looking than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 37
        • Same L0rrrr on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Outlook is subjective. Just like you may think your Iriz is sexy, but i think it is nothing more than i10 copycat.

However, something are objective like Toyota’s reliability, fuel saving, comfort and good RV.

That’s why Iriz discount RM8000 no one bother, Toyota no discount still selling hot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 41
          • samelorstpd on Mar 25, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Who cares what you think or say, it’s all bs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • Snobs on Mar 26, 2015 at 12:36 am

Hahaha Same Lor/Sam Loo, you never failed to make a joke out of yourself. Toyota not giving discounts? UMW can’t sell the Camry without huge discount. If there are no discounts for their cars, Toyota would be trailing far behind Honda and even Nissan. By the way, Honda and Nissan are giving discounts too. Who isn’t these days?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Annoynimouse on Mar 26, 2015 at 11:15 am

That price for what is basically a large fridge with wheels?

• Stupid Same Lorr and his RV on Mar 26, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Screw you and your stupid RV mentality. People like loves to talk without engaging the brain. That is why, you only knew how to talk about RV and nothing else.

• Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:27 pm

In overseas Alphard is considered a low class car. In Malaysia, people think Alphard is a high class car.

Only a real idiot will pay RM523k. Go and buy a Porsche Cayenne. If you are looking for glamour, at least Porsche will give you that. If you are looking to pull chics, a Porsche can do that.

An Alphard, can only pull you one thing. What is that? Well, an Alphard or a Vellfire can pull you some pondans like Same Lorr, Sam Loo (ori1) and De La Junk who will give you good service and a romantic night out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 16
      • Cannot Control Willy on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:38 pm

People who buy Alphard and Vellfire in Malaysia are people who cannot control their willy. They earn like RM5000 a month but have 5 or 6 children. And then, no choice, buy a MPV or Van to transport their kids. And then complain cost of living so high

Malaysians need to learn one thing, the Government cheated you lah asking you to have so many kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • diverb on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Perfect hearse, nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 16
      • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:58 pm

In overseas, Alphards are used as kereta mayat. But all the datuks and tan sris in Malaysia think its a luxury car for family. It is not. Its a kereta mayat or a transporter for hotels in Macau.

All the recons in Malaysia have been used in Macau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • coldstorage on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:48 am

Lousy ugly fridge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
      • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Ha ha. Buy this car RM523k, in one years time, want to sell RM200k also so susah. that is the real fact of Alphard RV or Vellfire RV. They have lawan recon and it is so hard.

Moral of the story, don’t buy any car this expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Same Lorrr on Mar 25, 2015 at 8:43 am

Buy Toyota better.. Good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Mar 25, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Luxury Van… if you insist a van in ur car at lower budget, get Nissan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Mar 25, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Luxury Van… if you insist a van in ur house at lower budget, get Nissan…

• Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:08 pm

As usual, Same Lorrr and Sam Loo(ori1) will come here and say Toyota is the best RV.

Well, I don’t think so. 2014 Camry 2.5 accident free and 11 months old (registered in May 2014) is now selling for RM100k, down RM80k. In 11 months, your RV hilang RM80k.

So what lies are you spreading about good RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • Sam Lorrrr on Mar 25, 2015 at 7:09 pm

If you cant afford even vios , you better stick to your saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • OMG…damn nice and stlyish…

• yerrr ? you gay?

• Tubs up on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Nice but expensive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
  • Nathan Ferdinand on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:17 pm

9 airbags is good, but where is the VSC and TCS?

And that grille, like such rows of teeth…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • KarTiN (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Haha, well observed.

• Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:45 pm

Hi Nathan, both VSC and TCS are standard – the story has been amended.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • Youtube show front passenger seat can move backwards till 2nd row seat…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Too many kimchi owners that has been shown the Hilux lurking around.

Simply tembak.

Would love it if they buy more rotten cabbages so that I can make more money 18 months down the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
  • Sabah bah ni on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:30 pm

ump Toyota will launch alphard with spec as below
    2.5 Camry engine
    5speed auto
    Fwd
    Torsion beam
    16″ rim
    Bulb tail lamp
    Standard HU..optional for reverse camera @rm2999
    2 airbag abs ebd vsc
    No hillstart
    No cruise control
    Single zone ac
    Non ionic ac
    Fabric seat
    Manual adjust 2nd seat
    Single sunroof
    Flurocent sunlight 36w rooflamp..so sunny
    Manual door
    Manual tailgate

If missed out, pls add in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 20
    • pullcow on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:46 pm

One word : underpower
      How to move this cow?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • Jimmy on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:25 pm

To be fair, please read current Alphard spec sheet.

Please, no more torsion beam in Malaysia version.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:38 pm

lol do u ever check current alphard spec on toyoyta boleh site?…current one has 7 airbag n have vsc not low spec.

• Aaron on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Nothing beat TOYOTA!!! If you bash, chances are you have wrongly bought a Kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 29
    • speedster on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Can it beat Ferrari ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
      • Aaron on Mar 25, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Fart-lari? what Fart-lari, even a red bull easily beat them last few sessions.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:51 pm

It is beyond obvious that so many Paul Tan patrons are kimchi owners that has been shown the Hilux, some even 2 at a time but most twice sequentially.

Sorhais will never learn. They continue to make my business grow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
      • turboed on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:37 am

Why no turbo or hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • sore-eyes on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:53 am

Not sorhais, it’s “sore eyes” because it’s too ugly. Designers must have been high and syok sendiri building this kind of shiatee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • Toyota doesn’t make bad cars. It’s just UMW bringing in low-spec models at cut-throat prices.

I can buy two Corollas in the US for the price of one Camry 2.5V and they would have similar kit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Altis owners and older Camry owners meet accident become vegetable because got no VSC in their cars.

Better to own a kimchi and still have your limbs intact than a Toyota but wheelchair bound

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Cannot trust Toyota anymore must open up check if airbags are really inside those holes and make sure to go underneath to see if there’s a VSA linkage sometimes they took it out and VELLFIRE will become HELLFIRE in accident

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 27
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:51 pm

No kimchi competition in this sector.

The new grille is awsome

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 27
    • samlooteeth on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:43 pm

It looks like retard showing his fugly teeth, too big until his lips not enough to close it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
    • Josh Ling on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:23 pm

bet sam loo you are gonna get a lot of trade-ins later on for this car eh? lol…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:46 pm

I am amazed at how you got time to refresh the page and click like so many times. Indeed it is true, there is no sales in UMW and Toyota salesman are bored to death. All go online and condemn other car brands especially their main threat, Hyundai and Kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • apanama on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Drooling over this but with bloody gst around the corner, i guess just have to make do with Alza Advance….sighhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Alza can die faster one wor. Kereta Mudah Terbakar(tm) with option for self-cremation.

Money or life, your choice…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
      • oh wait. you can actually do the same in an alfat. Difference is you will get a state funeral

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • rublind on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:48 pm

You have to go to optometrist and check your eyes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • Most expensive coffin in the world, who want to buy one for Zzz… forever?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:34 pm

meanwhile in malaysia…umw is still selling avanza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:01 pm

Fark, stuck with insurance agent the whole afternoon.

Gotta renew business insurance but this time round, I kena kau kau on premium.

The agent and adjuster came in to let me know that in one of the KIA showrooms, a kimchi owner that wanted to trade in his K5 got a stroke after the salesman told him that trade in is not accepted.

So, he sneaked to the rooftop of the 2 story shoplot and jumped down. Fortunately, he only suffered a broken leg and a fractured arm.

The underlying issue is now insurance underwriters has been given a blanket instruction to all premises that deals with Korean Cars are the following :-
    1) Have Trained First Aid Worker
    2) Defribilator
    3) Clinic within 1.5km
    4) Barriers or barracade from main roads/drains/high areas to prevent suicide.

Now I have to invest in all items 1-4. Gotta lower the trade in value of Hyundais to pay for this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 21
    • UMW Mampus on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:18 am

Stupid Toyota salesman. Eh don’t here talk **** can ah? Go back and sell your stack of unsold cars in the showroom please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:19 pm

They cannot sell cause Toyota now got no RV. People in Malaysia now realised what a fraud UMW is taking out safety features like VSC and giving people just 2 airbags.

Malaysians have seen the light. If you still insist on buying a Toyota from an unscrupuluous company like UMW, do buy 2nd hand.

As usual, Same Lorrr and Sam Loo(ori1) will come here and say Toyota is the best RV.

2014 Camry 2.5 accident free and 11 months old (registered in May 2014) is now selling for RM100k, down RM80k. In 11 months, the RV hilang RM80k. So, worth just buying 2nd hand Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Altis owners all crying, buy their cars RM139k but want to get RM70k after 1 year also so hard to get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • The ladyboy punya pimp punya keranda car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
  • zatar on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:33 pm

havent the launched in thailand and indonesia get everyone wake up of the bolehland future productivity yet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • shawal on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:37 pm

” the grill was inspired by the large amount jay walking offenders in bukit Bintang, we fill that we need a huge aggressive grill to scare pedestrians “

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • ae101 on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:38 pm

Design is really personal preferences. i can accept it. As a passenger in sharan, smax and alphard, i must say alphard is one of the best in term of comfy feel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • spoke on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:46 am

…but not for speed cruising

• PeterGriffin on Mar 25, 2015 at 8:05 am

Agreed. Actually the Vellfire is a very comfortable car. Despite its boxy shape, the MPV serves as a very comfy executive “Limo” – on the cheap (compared to 7-series Beemers). Great sitting position (I can lie down after a tiring business trip), very silent cabin and roomy, good suspension even on B-roads.

Not that most haters here will know the feeling, but Japanese made Hondas are a world of difference from those Thailand made for the emerging markets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • junkyjaps on Mar 25, 2015 at 8:28 am

Very clear that you never been in contis. Been both of them, on B-roads it’s way above Japanese, even Ford or p1 are better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • dugongx on Mar 26, 2015 at 12:23 am

Those fellers in alfart only syok sendiri. Never sat in an S-class or 7 series before. Pariah alfart is so bumpy and unstable in highway. Not to mention hancur to 100 pieces during accident. Cheap plastic car.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 26, 2015 at 6:23 am

As long as its not a kimchi, you will not be shown the Hilux

• dugongx on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Please don’t bring this fugly junk coffin to malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Boleh! on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Bash so hard for what? Not that you can afford it….
    Sour grapes……

• toyofan on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:45 am

WThey are Toyota fans want them to improve. Toyota must thank them for bashing.

• Painter on Mar 25, 2015 at 1:15 am

I think Thailand price is similar or higher than Malaysia. Is the tax structure similar?

Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, the cars are expensive. I think Indonesia too.

• ventil on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:50 am

AAAAAArrrrrghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    My eyes!!!!!!! My eyes!!!!!!!!!!

• Hantu on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:56 am

Ini kereta ke hantu?

• taboogen on Mar 25, 2015 at 8:22 am

really hate this car.. it is so enormous and it tool a lot of spaces in traffic jams.. and worse there is 1 driver inside in this big ass VAN

• blaster88 on Mar 25, 2015 at 9:30 am

Looks like a Transformer…Hideous!!!

• Con’t understand why people can afford this Van but can’t afford to pay RM2 for parking at mid valley and choose to park it on the side of the road… anyone have the answer?

• Becoz if they park underground, other people cant see them flaunt their wealth. At the same time, when LHDN come visiting, they rage them Gov is stealing their money.

• xoomie on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:29 am

Are we getting Alphard’s little bro.. Toyota Noah/ Voxy. ? Please UMW bring those in..

• Koko lee on Mar 25, 2015 at 1:30 pm

damn… What a nice guanchai..

• reminds me of that tow truck character in CARS the animation…”the JOnggang” tow Truck…this thing is simply Jonggos!!! hahahahahahaha

• Contender on Mar 25, 2015 at 5:16 pm

I think Vellfire looks much nicer …… Alphard will have to take a while to accept the new look ….. so the grey importers better start to slash their prices of their overpriced re-conditioned Alphard and Vellfire with tampered mileage.

On another note, I have seen some no shame drivers who replace their Toyota Alphard badge with Lexus badges on their vehicle. Why ? No brain ?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 25, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Great to see that more sorhais are buying new Hyundais.

Now that my pipeline for 2016 Q3/Q4 is primed, time to fix the infrastructure gaps the insurance leeches wants.

I would not want any hailat kimchi owners to take their lives or dying of stroke in my yard. Dem sui if they do. Wanna die also die somewhere else lar

• Annoynimouse on Mar 26, 2015 at 11:25 am

For an MPV, I’d just get an Alza or the larger Exora or Nissan Livina. Then spend the rest of the money to get a nice Evo, or Type-R or a 2nd hand M car etc.
    If you want that much space and comfort, book a hotel room.

But still Malaysians will buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Mr.Honda on Mar 26, 2015 at 11:57 pm

I just came here to read the comments. .I cnt stop laughing reading the comments. .hahaha

• pokngah on Sep 13, 2015 at 8:41 am

many are confused face alphard & Vellfire
    http://toyota.jp/vellfire/
    http://toyota.jp/alphard/