GALLERY: 2015 Mitsubishi Triton VGT in showroom!

2015 Mitsubishi Triton VGT Adventure (left) and VGT MT, click to enlarge

Here it is, folks – the 2015 Mitsubishi Triton! We’ve taken the trouble to get photos of the new pick-up truck on the showroom floor, and doesn’t it look a treat.

We’ve got two variants for you today – the top-spec VGT Adventure (red) and the VGT MT from a rung below (silver). Fully-imported (CBU) from Thailand, the new Triton is powered by a 2.5 litre VGT engine that develops 178 PS and 400 Nm from 2,000 to 3,500 rpm.

This is an improved version of the current 178 PS/350 Nm DI-D motor, not the new 2.4 litre turbodiesel MIVEC VGT engine with 182 PS, 430 Nm of torque and 20% better efficiency that Thailand gets.

The VGT Adventure is five-speed auto-only. It gets HID projector headlamps with LED DRLs, 17-inch alloys, shift paddles, leather seats, auto dual-zone air-con and a 6.1-inch touch-screen with reverse camera.

2015 Mitsubishi Triton VGT Adventure (left) and VGT MT interiors, click to enlarge

The five-speed-manual VGT MT does without Bluetooth, cruise control or a reverse camera. It also has auto single-zone air-con and a manual transfer case instead of the Easy Select 4WD rotary selector (2H, 4H, 4L) shared by the VGT Adventure and VGT AT.

On the outside, the VGT MT settles for reflector headlamps without DRLs, plainer-looking side steps and no window visors. Simpler 16-inch alloys, too.

Apart from the two variants pictured above, there will also be VGT AT and two non-VGT workhorse variants: 4X4 MT and Quest 4X2 MT. The latter’s ‘Quest’ name replaces the old ‘Lite‘ moniker.

The new Mitsubishi Triton is now open for booking, with estimated introductory prices of RM71k-114k, OTR with insurance and GST. The launch is expected to take place next month.

2015 Mitsubishi Triton VGT Adventure

2015 Mitsubishi Triton VGT MT

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Nice looking truck and many safety feature. Goodbye to Hilux temporarily till Toyota release new gearbox , engine and safety for new Hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Really on May 01, 2015 at 8:48 am

The safety features of dual front airbags, ABS and EBD are the same as the current Triton. Still no stability and traction control and hill hold assist. Which is to say the new Triton disappoints by not offering any improvement in term of safety features over the old model.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 01, 2015 at 10:22 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • donkey J on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:48 pm

on aspect of design, it deficient, probably effort on material.

• Same Lorr on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Sushi.. Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • nabill (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 4:11 pm

I saw one jus now silver color… To be honest it looks alot better in da flesh… N it does look modern as well… Im starting to like it!
    The previous triton was mot really known for any great single feature bt it was very reliable n did the basics well… N it had that transformer lools oso.. Lets wait for da navara which on paper has the better numbers

• gaviny on Apr 30, 2015 at 4:41 pm

i foresee very quickly the face will be replaced with the face from the new outlander

• TritonGuy on Apr 30, 2015 at 5:07 pm

The plastic looks so much better than the one in their EVO. The door cards looks premium too, much better than their Lancer. Mitsubishi finally know how to make a car with premium feel.

• kelvin on Apr 30, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Somehow the front reminds me of those china branded trucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Ancient 4d56 on Apr 30, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Still using 30 years old 4d56 LOL.

• spongewai on Apr 30, 2015 at 5:48 pm

2nd gen like Storm Trooper face

but this new 3rd gen face is like what??!
    er, Dracula face or what?

• na bei on Apr 30, 2015 at 6:38 pm

i own a mitsuboshi grandis. Serioisly the after sales service sucks big time

• what happen to interior plastics, looks worse than previous model

• zeigler on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Triton??? Phew I thought it was FAW, chery or geely until I saw the title..the current design looks miles better.

• david koay on May 01, 2015 at 12:04 am

I’m upset why Mitsubishi Malaysia bring in this model with old engine on it & still run timing belt .

• Josh Ling on May 01, 2015 at 1:30 am

while the material might have been improved, i am just a bit frustrated by the oh-so-familiar steering wheel, the display unit, air-cond controls and gear knob, which can be found onn mirage and attrage. heck, even the engine start-stop button is the same. and the meter design on the old model is nicer too.

I don’t know, I just felt it should have been more unique , special, upmarket and rugged too. it’s a pick-up after all, and not a B-segment cheap-and-cheerful car.

• Still only a 5 speed? Time to update.

• Nathan Ferdinand on May 01, 2015 at 1:32 pm

5 spd? Goodbye.
    Say hello to same lorr’s hailat. It got 6 speeds both manual or auto, and it featured autonomous braking like Volvo does. Check wikipedia for info.

• truklover on May 02, 2015 at 1:39 am

I don’t like grill so shiny, oso the bonnet there got gap like forgeting to close, ori one nicer, not interesting.

• Jason Liew on May 03, 2015 at 1:16 am

The design looks like a curved frog with the front line design looks like a old lady humming her old wrinkle mouth with the lines lines out. The wrinkle front lines look terrible. Look so aging.

I don’t think this design will sell well. They need to uplift this design.

• albag on May 08, 2015 at 11:32 pm

that grill is the downfall of this model… those who say this truck is nice looking better have their eyes checked

• engineblock on May 13, 2015 at 8:03 am

i would say the peculiar headlamp with longer to sideway & foglamp out of it design proportion..somehow weird looking for a all new triton

• i also owner for triton vgt gs. i buy on jan 2015 but the car 2014. so sad!. thing twice if u want to buy triton. thats my opinion. 1st day got the car so horror.

yes i agreed with them after sale dealer so sad also. now im facing the problem everyday without any solution and just wait to sell the triton.