Groundworks for East Klang Valley Expressway (EKVE) start today in Ukay Perdana, Ampang

Map

Click to enlarge.

As we had reported earlier, the controversial East Klang Valley Expressway (EKVE) highway project had been given the go ahead, after being approved by the Ampang Jaya Municipal Council (MPAJ) back in August 12.

Now, according to the Malaysian Insider, groundworks for the EKVE at Jalan Ukay Perdana (UKP) in Ampang, Selangor, will commence today (September 1).

“The project will start with the widening of Jalan Ukay Perdana from two lanes to three lanes on the dual carriageway. During the project the concessionaire must ensure that there is no disruption to the traffic flow in the area,” said MPAJ president Abd Hamid Hussain.

Hamid told the publication that the road-widening project will be completed in 2017 while the entire EKVE will be completed in 2019. “The developer has submitted a new traffic impact assessment (TIA) report and the forest reserve has already been de-gazetted for the expressway. Work at the forest will commence once Jalan Ukay Perdana has been widened,” he said.

According to the publication, a representative from the Bukit Antarabangsa Resident Task Force, Dr Mohamed Rafick Khan is currently exploring its legal options.

Rafick believes that the Selangor Menteri Besar Mohamed Azmin Ali should not have approved this project from the start. “The decision should have been made on the basis of facts and not opinions of the privileged few that have an interest in the construction of the highway. MPAJ did not do an independent impact study of the highway on the local residences,” he said.

ekve1

Click to enlarge.

He went on to say “the highway design that was approved by MPAJ was based on this erroneous traffic impact assessment (TIA). We have shared Miros’s findings with the Malaysian Highway Authority, MPAJ and Azmin and yet they chose not to take note the serious implication for their actions.”

“It appeared that they preferred to listen to the corporation. Let the record showed that Azmin, who is Bukit Antarabangsa assemblyman, has not given us an opportunity to be heard directly, despite many monthly requests since November 2014,” he added.

He said that the Miros review stated that should Jalan UKP be integrated into the highway, there was an increased risk of accident and congestions on Jalan UKP and MRR2, not to mention the loss of LRT land reserve.

Rafick is suggesting, based on the task force’s analysis, that the EKVE alignment that begins at Bandar Sungai Long (leading to the SILK highway), should ultimately exit at Bukit Belacan (Ampang Interchange) to ensure direct connectivity to the SUKE.

“The SUKE then should be extended on an elevated platform on MRR2 all the way to Latar via UIA; this proposal will avoid the Ampang forest reserve as well as preserve the LRT lines and reduce congestion on MRR2. Jalan UKP, being a local road, deserves to be upgrade by the state or MPAJ as it is local authority road,” he said.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Heskey on Sep 01, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Say no to EKVE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Karipap on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Say Yes. Not that I stay there anymore. I recall there was a survey done on this new highway and I did participate in it. I fully support it knowing I am going to move away. Anyway, highway is good for connectivity. It helps to divert the traffic but I pity those who stay in UP and BA. For the next few years, it will be even more jam. God bless you motoring users who stay there :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • No To EKVE on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Highway may be good for connectivity, but not in the way that they designed it.

• CarmenTung on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Those live in BA can move anywhere they want meh coz their rich people got many or can buy any property. Also BA is not save area to live anyway, got lots of landslide pending to happen.

• reposting this:

Looking at the proposed alignment… The ‘penyuraian’ part is not quite there..
    i assume theey wish to take the load off mrr2 but the alignment appears to be to far out to make it worthwhile for motorists travelling beetween Northeast Kl (wangsa maju for example) to south east (Cheras leisure mall area) to make it worth while..
    City folks who wish to to visit other parts of the city may not find it feasible to use it as an alternative to jalan kuching or mrr2 .. it seems too far out ..great for those that live in soon to be busy ulu langat area and cheras dalam guys..but thats about it…
    expected a road that runs a similar route to mrr2 from gombak all the way to kajang/cheras dalam and beyond…
    Hmm hope they fine tune the path to bring it closer to the ‘actual’ KL…

On another note, It’s time Mrr2 is widened in sections where possible…

• allarethesame on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:51 pm

doesn’t matter who u vote, they are all the same, forest reserve can also de-gazetted ..whats the point of forest “reserve”?? MB’s backyards somemore…si tukang kutip toll juga untung…

#pokokpunkenebersih

• You forgot, if it benefits the ‘other’ side, kena Bersih kau-kau. If it benefits your side, kena support kau-kau. Any dissent will kena gag order or forced to makan satay kajang (via rear entry)

• east coast on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:54 pm

veri gud for those staying in kajang/bangi/semenyih to balik kampung in east coast states…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 8:58 pm

lol we care about the environment….following in my footsteps when i just tore down any forest i liked

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Very sad that our precious forests are sacrificed in the name of development.
    MB Azmin Ali, why ???

• WorldWillComeToEndEventually on Sep 02, 2015 at 6:57 am

Those road is a relief to link people from city to city as well establishing more real estate properties. Who care about environment or the f**king forest..like you don’t use your cars everyday producing tons of CO every minutes…the earth gonna come to its end anyway lah no matter how you want to preserve it…Forest are meant to be torn down for development and you CAN’T STOP progress !

• Tania on Sep 03, 2015 at 1:19 am

Say yes to EKVE highway it’s good for fastest to go to destination especially for working day ,
    Morning and evening after working hours the traffic is to slow
    I very hope after the highway come out the traffic it’s better then