VIDEO: Illegal motorcycle racing on Kesas ends badly

Currently circulating on Facebook are these videos of an illegal motorcycle race session that ended in carnage, said to have happened recently.

Uploaded by FB user Semut Gergasi, the videos show around six bikes speeding down the Kesas Highway, watched by hundreds of people on the side of the highway and under a bridge. Just like any other weekend night on certain stretches of highway, but this lumba haram ends in tragedy as one of the bikers slam into the back of a Proton Exora.

exora-mat-rempit-kesas-edThe damaged rear end of the Proton Exora that was hit by an illegal racer. Pic by FB user Semut Gergasi

Rider and bike were sent flying by the impact, and like a pack of dominoes, his fellow thrill seekers fall off their machines. Sparks fly and the crowd gasps in horror. A mob of what looked like hundreds of bikers then enter the screen, blocking the entire highway.

It is said that many of the riders involved in the crash were hurt, some seriously. We hope that the innocent motorist in the Exora, and his/her occupants survived the incident unharmed. It must have been a harrowing experience.

Sadly, scenes of young motorcyclists racing illegally and in an unruly manner are common in our country. What to do when you’re caught in such a situation? It’s best to slow down and let them pass. Pulling over to “sit out the storm” is a good option too, but if you choose to do this, be sure to check (and double check) your mirrors and signal as these bikers could be approaching at very high speeds, with or without lights.

It’s unwise to get into an altercation with a mob should the unfortunate happen. It doesn’t matter who’s right or wrong when the safety of the family is at stake. Stay safe and God bless us all.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 20years ago street racing famous in Federal Highway aka Motorola

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Jimmy on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:22 pm

What a coincidence for this to happen during the ‘school holidays’.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • mr1031 on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:23 pm

padan muka!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 4
  • And what the hell is the IGP doing to curb this menace to society?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
    • neutral on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:54 pm

I guess IGP will catch the exora owner

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 182 Thumb down 5
      • Jack Neo on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:17 pm

You are right…catch the car owner is easier….why catch the racer when end of the day they have to release them due to lack of evidence..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • 2ltr bottle on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:15 pm

IGP will catch Tun for making Exora.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 9
      • RempitUmggok on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Hmmm seems i understand something from this!
        Like who wanted to report to IGP end up being caught and banned by IGP
        Ooppssss!

• Penang playboy on Sep 22, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Nope. Paultan will be arrested for making this report

• Dr Dogter Heart-beat on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:24 pm

dangerous country to drive home safely…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • yap yw on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:24 pm

i think these motor-cyclists should be charged for manslaughter or at least causing hurt to neighbors (e.g. other road-users). They can endanger their own lives but they cannot simply endanger others. Angry!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • ibrahim on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:25 pm

as they can read in english. anyway, good essey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • kesas esso used to be car racing port …the gathering of vtecs n turbos….eh no cctv at kesas now?

• pakdin on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Imbecile…

• Don mok on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:38 pm

The best is to keep at your lane. Let them move pass you.

• It happens every week near kesas. I have no choice but to use Kesas when i finish work at night and i have to encounter them. I am actually having a huge smile on my face watching these videos. How does the police not taking action dealing it since its happening so frequently.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 1
    • Shirley on Sep 23, 2015 at 8:24 am

it happens in Sungai Dua, Penang Island as well. it happens so openly almost every night (that it does not rain), and is so obvious and noisy! there are just hundreds of bikes racing…and of cos the supporters who line the whole road. there’s a police station very close to this area, and NOTHING happens to these ppl. they disturb the peace and are racing illegally and driving on the wrong side of the road. and still they have “no proof”. i think everyone is afraid to go up against a mob of hundreds of motorcyclists. this is “integrity” and “courage” for you

• RempitUmggok on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Since IGP allowed this happen
    And even our sports and youth minister also support mat rempit
    Den pandan muka Malaysia having lower class of civil
    Red rally in action
    Becareful Malaysians !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • untong laa on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:53 pm

lucky them their father gave the motorcycle.

• RedShirtBiker on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:06 pm

I was forced to buy my own motorcycle just to make ends meet for the sake of my family. Thanks to Malaysian economy being plundered in red shirts and Malaysian drivers being dumb behind the wheel braking unnecessarily causing traffic standstills. These idiots got what they deserved.

• Satu Malaysia on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:00 pm

I’m happy to see them injured and die..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
  • I propose government authorize the use of sniper rifles for citizens if they ever come across illegal races like this.

It would be easier to kill these people off than to put them in prison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • kington on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:23 pm

I was once caught in the middle of a race with several bikes and a few Honda EG Civics at the same time!

I slowed down since i was in the middle lane, i couldn’t switch lanes coz there were bikes coming from both left and right. Suddenly one of the Civics ram into a slowing down car on the right lane and almost hit me too.

Enforcement is one thing, but if this government is prihatin in taking care of us they have to start big coz education and enforcement are 2 separate issues which require time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • so, did they dieded?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Cosmic Constant on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Duduk gerai jual burger ke sotong kangkung ke kan lg bagus. These youngster are sad case of garbage in garbage out in our society. We may not tackle them all at one go but personally I try to approach them one at a time whenever I can. As a mob, let them be and avoid at all cost, as individuals they are not beyond saving. Great article btw.

• AlphaDave on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Mati katak, LOL

• AlphaDave on Sep 22, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Mati Katak. LOL

• mampus tak…?puak jalang jalanan…padan muka menyusahkan orang awam…tak ada simpati langsung kalau mampus sekali pun

• subarusti on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Shit sia… once I was on that same hiway doing 160+, just letting the car purr and then boom! 7+ rempits and one ricer shoot past… mahai lucky never kena me. Our dear gov should use the 2.6b to catch these idiots la, do like stray dog/cat, catch, neuter and release to avoid breeding.

• Gambit on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:43 pm

I wish all of them are dead! Just another bunch of useless citizen and certainly a sampah to the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Gambit on Sep 22, 2015 at 5:45 pm

I wish they were all dead! Bunch of useless sampah.

• rempit hater on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:05 pm

They deserve it. Thats a taste of their own medicine. I pity d parents, they muz hav been devastated. Apart from causing danger to themself they r also causing danger to other motorist on the road. Stupid ppl who jz want to do all this for fun n neglecting other peoples safety.. deserve it..

• Jean Grey on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Before Bersih rally, there were roadblock every where…

• noreasonwhy on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:10 pm

mari mari, sama sama lari, sama sama mati

• Hidup Himpunan Rakyat Bersatu. Ah Jib is proud of u. Die baby die. Die for nation. Hidup hidup di neraka. Ah Jib will give you BR1M to your family on your behalf. Kalau x mati didunia, hidup kamu memang sia sia. Harap harap kamu mati tanpa mayat. Bodoh punya machai, bangang punya rempit.

• They deserved to die…pls go to hell

• Desdes on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:49 pm

If you are planning a suicide, please die further away from the good citizens. Bloody retards. Please die away. I have no pity for your worthless lives, worms.

• Aku Taiko on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Tak boleh tangkap. How can the police catch themselves? Remember KJ said these rempit can assist the police in fighting crime.

• marieta on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Got some info not sure reliable or not, 4 people died, sadly all of them are teenagers :-(

• zhyap on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:27 pm

As Minister said, there are enjoying their life!

• Metalsyia on Sep 22, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Pity their parents

• aku bukan bijan on Sep 22, 2015 at 9:17 pm

pm said they are the country’s future leader

where can catch them. must give more tongkat

• BLT_CLub on Sep 22, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Natural selection. Biar mampos lagi bagus.

• annoyed on Sep 22, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Every freaking weekend they are racing on the kesas, making so much of noise at odd hours. Its a weekly affair, and yet there is no action. Wonder what PDRM is waiting for? Someone innocent to die? Or is PDRM busy investigating the FBI?

• The best option is to let them pass. Dont drive in the middle lane when cruising like most of motorist did whdn the multi lane road. Just keep left.

• Road Less Travelled on Sep 23, 2015 at 12:42 am

No disrespect to anyone, but those mat rempits got balls.. The choose to live dangerously, get adrenaline rush.. while we’re here talking shit, pointing fingers..

• HateIllegalRaces on Sep 23, 2015 at 12:57 am

They didn’t die? What a disappointment and complete waste of country’s resources trying to prolong their miserable lives!