Volkswagen says number one spot no longer a priority

Volkswagen Jetta CKD 15

Volkswagen says that it is shifting its priority from being the top automaker by 2018, to regaining customer trust and confidence instead, CarAdvice reports. It comes as no surprise that the decision for the shift in priorities is due to the on-going dieselgate scandal.

Herbert Diess, Volkswagen CEO of passenger cars stated at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show that customer’s trust now takes precedence over vehicle sales. “This is not our first priority, our first priority is to regain the trust and confidence of our customers, and then later we will look at market share,” he said. This effectively confirms that Volkswagen’s Strategy 2018 has either been put on hold for now, or is no longer on the agenda.

He also noted that the American market itself was already posing as a challenge for the brand even before the dieselgate scandal came to light. “Our first priority is to really now to look at the customers, fix their problems, recover confidence and then we will look at what we are going to do in the American market, which is for sure our biggest challenge,” Diess explained.

VW jetta TDI US-spec

When asked whether the company would go to the extent of buying back affected cars, Diess expressed hopefulness that the issue could be fixed through a software update. “Buy backs are too early to say because at the moment that we are hopeful and we believe that we can fix. I think it’s too early to really consider all the options,” he said.

Diess noted however that the brand will only home-in on each and every fix by the end of the year. “We have different car types, engine types. We will finish evolutions before the end of the year and then we will be able to really determine which cars and what kind of fix. Most of the fleet, we are sure we can fix by software,” he reasoned.

The dieselgate scandal first broke out in late September, which lead to worldwide recalls, sackings and suspension of its top executives, including former CEO Winterkorn’s resignation. More recently, the brand has posted its first financial loss in 15 years – the catastrophe has allowed Toyota to regain its top spot as the world’s top automaker, a spot that Volkswagen had called home just months ago.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Preve “which means to prove or proof”

• No.1 always the first to crash-landing.

• timbuktu on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:45 pm

This what happens when you lie. This Dieselgate also, they lied for 1 full year before getting caught.

But VGM is still king of liars. They lied for 5 years saying DSG got no problems. Even until today they are lying saying if use mineral oil, DSG won’t give problem.

but the truth is, even until today in 2015, so many cars are towed to the SC because of DSG faults.

Stay away from liars. Once you lie, you will always lie. Don’t know what other lies are hidden waiting to come out.

Stay away from VW cars. You pay Rm200k for a problematic time bomb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rrrr on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Number one spot is just for Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok. It is EXACTLY SAME like the Global Small Car, Proton Hybrid, Export to Europe bla bla bla…

Talk, A LOT! Action, nothing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • General Motors. Once No.1 in the world, get’s into trouble, then says No.1 is no longer important.

Toyota. Once No.1 in the world, get’s into trouble, then says No.1 is no longer important.

Volkswagen. Once No.1 in the world, get’s into trouble, then says No.1 is no longer important.

So who’s next?

• Next car company trying for number 1 is Hyundai. Would they face the same problems? Only time will tell …

• kenny on Oct 30, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Keyboard warrior. Simply talk for self satisfaction. Toyota and GM never said No 1 is not important.

• I wonder if any info on VW car spec sheet is true on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Number 1? HAHAHAHAHA… Guys, dont be surprised if another VW scandal breaks out

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 30, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Sour grapes. Just like when courting a girl and she goes for another and console yourself by saying I never really like her anyway

• ben yap on Oct 30, 2015 at 4:56 pm

of course no. 1 spot is no more important.

to keep your company afloat is more important with those massive losses. VW is just waiting to be booted out from the car industry.

• ron9555555555 on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:44 pm

you must be new to the internet

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:03 pm

keeping the hot-hatch title is still VW’s no.1 priority. they can’t afford seeing the hottest hot-hatch crown goes to another manufacturer.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:03 pm

keeping the hot-hatch title is still VW’s no.1 priority. they can’t afford seeing the hottest hot-hatch crown goes to another manufacturer.