Proton not looking to build diesel engines, hints Tun M

Proton GDI TGDI Press Conference 1

Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has hinted the national carmaker is not looking at building diesel powertrains anytime soon, as Europe – once having an overwhelming preference for oil burners – is starting to reconsider the use of the technology in the wake of the Volkswagen “dieselgate” scandal.

When asked about whether the company was looking at building diesel engines, the former premier responded: “Diesels were the preferred engines in Europe, but now they have different ideas – you know what happened to the records of the performance of the diesel engines recently. So now, people have to rethink whether it is better to have diesel engines or petrol engines.”

The remark likely referenced VW’s emissions cheating controversy, in which Wolfsburg deceived lawmakers not once, but twice. In the United States, it was revealed that the company had installed “defeat devices” in its diesel cars which deliberately manipulated emissions control systems to pass strict emissions tests conducted by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), but turned them off outside of the labs.

As such, the diesel models had better performance and fuel efficiency in everyday driving than with the control systems switched on, but were producing as much as 40 times the permitted level of harmful nitrogen oxide (NOx) pollutants.

exhaust-smoke-a1

Shortly afterwards, VW admitted to a separate scandal, in which engineers doctored in-house fuel consumption and carbon dioxide emissions testing – including overinflating tyres and mixing diesel into the cars’ engine oil – to meet internal targets and obtain lower taxes imposed on its cars in Europe. Put them together and you can begin to see why Proton is hesitant about building diesel engines.

That’s not all – there has been a steady movement in Europe away from diesels, before the VW scandals even came to light. Customers have long been swayed by the low CO2 emissions and superior fuel efficiency of these powertrains, which suit the tax structures typical in countries in the continent, making diesel-powered vehicles cheaper both to buy and run.

But diesels generally produce higher NOx than equivalent petrol engines, and the push for oil burners in countries like the United Kingdom have seen emissions there soar to double the levels seen a decade ago – estimated to be contributing to thousands of deaths annually. As such, European regulators are clamping down on NOx and other emissions, such as particulate matter, linked to the combustion of diesel fuels.

The new Euro 6 emissions standard, which all new cars sold in Europe have had to comply with since last year, restricts diesel-powered vehicles to producing just 0.08 grams of NOx per kilometre, compared to 0.180 grams per kilometre for Euro 5. By contrast, the limit for petrol engines has stood at 0.06 grams per kilometre since Euro 5.

Proton Iriz EV 2

Legislators have also been promising incentives for owners to move away from diesel power, with France dangling €10,000 to switch to electric vehicles – something Proton has also been working on with the Iriz EV.

It has to be said, however, that while Proton may have ruled out building its own diesel engines in the foreseeable future, it might still be looking to acquire them from other carmakers – in 2014, chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa said that Proton is looking at sourcing diesel engines from foreign companies, although it is unclear whether this is still the case.

In any case, Proton appears to be sticking to its guns when it comes to petrol engines – it has recently announced a new range of direct-injected petrol engines in both naturally-aspirated (GDI) and turbocharged (TGDI) forms. The engines will meet the forthcoming Euro 6c standard coming into effect in 2018, and the company hopes it will propel its future models well beyond 2020.

“Believe me, petrol engines are going to be around for a long, long time – if not in Europe, at least in Asia,” concluded Mahathir.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Why so much news on proton. we know proton news here are monitored by drb staff in coe and all the like and dislikes are by them mainly. pls give news on pro[per car makers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 44
    • Dexter Morgan on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:54 pm

Agree. Sometimes it’s like a Proton newsletter here. Every small thing also report. Well, what to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Please use your brain when speaking. If Proton is not a “proper” car maker, then what constitutes a proper car maker? Proton is the only car MANUFACTURER in the region that does everything on its own. And now they’ve developed their own engines as well. They’re the only ones engaging the services of companies like Schuler for hot-stamping high-strength steel technology.

Just because you don’t like Proton, that doesn’t mean Proton isn’t a car manufacturer. Don’t read Proton news if you don’t like it. It’s just like if you don’t like to see the moon, it doesn’t mean the moon has to disappear for your sake. It’s still there whether you like it or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 83
      • Nonsense logic on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Better rebadge but reliable car than self-develop but problematic car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:01 am

Sendiri cakap Sendiri Syok. Everyone make junk, but only malaysia so advanced force ppl buy junk. These junk can’t even cross border to Thailand and Singapore. Now we see ppl proud of junk. I just can’t stop laughing

• Wahai BN Cybertrooper on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:54 pm

very suspicious. Whenever DonkeyKong aka John writes anything, immediately in 5 minutes got 30 likes. I guess BN Cyberpatrol is full swing, all agents are told to click LIKE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 31
      • Cium Buntot on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Never in my life seen a donkey licking the butt of another donkey (proton) like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
      • Wahai BN Cybertrooper on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:37 pm

Welcome Donkey, our new BN Cybertrooper aka John

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
        • DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Wow, I guess that makes you feel pretty intelligent? So, nobody must have a different opinion from you, if more than one person does, it must be just a single person impersonating as many? Wow, your lack of intelligence reminds me of why I’m glad my regional HQ is in Singapore and not in Malaysia, otherwise I dread interviewing small-minded morons like you for job positions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • DK bro. Looks like we riled up them RBAs real gud. If only KZM is more active here. We’ll wipe the floor with ’em

• Patutla on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:47 pm

That awkward moment. Right here. From now on we pronounce you DonkeyJohn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Is Proton looking to build anything at all??

Most interested in rebadging Susuki car only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:03 pm

Hot-stamped high-strength steel technology = rebadging? GDI and turbo GDI engines = rebadging? In-house design for the new models = rebadge? Besides Inspira and the older Wira, what other cars were rebadged? Even the new Perdana is not a rebadge as it’s only using the platform, but have totally different exterior and interior.

No, I don’t work for Proton. I’m not paid by Proton, and I’m not paid by UMNO, this is just my opinion as someone who can’t understand the intense hostility and arrogance shown by commenters, as if the chairman of Proton personally violated or molested you guys before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 49
      • Nonsense logic on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:40 pm

Pinjam platform Accord is not rebadge. He, he, he.

If it’s better than Accord then sell it similar price with Camry lah.

Let’s see how many macai brave enough to waste money on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • Guan yin maaaa on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:48 pm

All the technology proton acquired are copy from people. Did proton INVENT something new from ZERO ? etc 6 speed or 7 speed gearbox ? NO. See how Hyundai do their job , same age as proton, but they IN HOUSE developed their Dual Clutch gearbox. Proton is the main reason why our nation household debt increase every year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
      • Cium Buntot on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Every post since yesterday he has gone all out to defend his masters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • Open Letter to Proton on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Proton will never introduce Diesel. Why? Cause if you use diesel, your monthly petrol bills will be half!!!! Most diesel cars can half your monthly petrol bills. Any diesel car can easily give you 900 to 1000 KM on a full tank.

This will be bad for Petronas. then Petronas cannot sell as much petrol to the domestic market.

And guess who is the adviser and big man in Petronas too?
    Mahathir!!! He has one big office just for himself on the top floor.

So, conflict of interest here lah! But in Malaysia, semua boleh. Mahathir has advised Proton not to come out with diesel engines to protect his other baby, Petronas.

Who loses? You and me. We can have cars that give us 1000KM per full tank but because Mahathir says no way, too bad lah. You have to fill up full tank every 400KM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 42
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Do u even read the article?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 26
      • Belajar Inggeris la Bang on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:59 pm

It is “did you even read the article?” Uitm dan Mara ajar apa bang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
        • Pengguna Bijak on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Kemaluan besar itu pakcik Kzm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
        • kzm (Member) on Jan 20, 2016 at 7:24 am

This no skool..can get A por kolek sentence? If no I will use any way I like.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Another brainless comment by another illiterate third-world country moron

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 36
      • Cium Buntot on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:26 pm

everybody seems to be brainless except his paymaster BN who pays the Cybertrooper RM10k per month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • U always comment on other peoples illiteracy. Do u know why? Its because of songlapping

• DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:57 pm

No, it’s because of rampant illiteracy and absolute lack of simple language comprehension.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • powershot (Member) on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Realistically, the cost of ownership of diesel engine cars are much higher than petrol engine cars (price, running cost, maintenance, etc.).
      If you consider from fuel savings alone, it could take up more than 10 years to justify owning them over their petrol engine counterparts.

• Don like potong on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Well tuned Diesel engine is far better than proton engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
    • superman on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:07 pm

basically Proton does not know how to build engines after 30 years… diesel is out of question as it is alien technology for them same as hybrid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Well-tuned diesel engine is also better than petrol engines from Toyota, Honda, Suzuki, GM, Ford, etc. So, what’s your point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
      • Wahai BN Cybertrooper on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Our official BN Cybertrooper is upset

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Wow, can you introduce me to the so-called BN paymasters? I’d like to claim my RM10k per month instead of just being a chum looking down on all you cockroaches

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Patutla on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Marah marah je tu john

• Mr Fakta on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:54 pm

Why claim RM10k, it should be 2.6bil like your master did. Or even better, move your regional HQ from SG to Arab, get the donation done soon.

• LikeP1 on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:22 pm

Real tuning is welcome..but to doctored tuning performance

• alldisc on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:05 pm

Other advantages of diesel and the reason why European love them so much is …….. 1. Better low end pulling power especially if turbocharged……… 2. Better fuel consumption as shown by peugoet and BMW……. 3. Easier on maintenance and repair. No spark plug needed. No plug cable. No ignition coils… No distributor…… 4. Lower rpm means internal mechanical wear is less

• Mimau on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:24 pm

But there’s one big drawback. After some years the DPF will go kaputt. Due to strict emission regulations, you can’t just throw them away. Replacing them costs your leg. And if the driver is not careful on the engine, there’s high risk of having engine runaway. When that happens, bye-bye engine.

Only Europeans who are able to replace cars before their DPF go kaputt can buy diesels. If you can’t frequently change cars, better stick with petrols.

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Listen to Mahathir, he is the wisest dear leader that can make miracles. Look at KLCC, look at Sepang circuit, look at KL Sentral, look at KLIA, these are the monumental achievements that remind us about the greatness of Malaysia.

I believe in Dr. M, he is Proton saviour. Proton could turn the tide and sell 10 million car globally come 2018. When the 6 new GDi engines come into production, Proton sales will soar to dominate Malaysian roads again, just like the good old 90’s. This time, coupled with Suziki A segment car rebadge, Proton will totally wipe Perodua out of the market and regain the domestic dominance share in exceed of 90%!

Hyundai and Kia beware! Your days in Europe is over. Proton is the next big name to sweep the global automotive market by storm! Proton will be the greatest phoenix to rise from ashes, becoming the greatest car manufacturer in Asia. Pride of Malaysia! Pride of Asia! Hidup Proton! Hidup Dr. M!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
    • Nonsense logic on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Which bomoh you employed for that bold prediction?

• Guan yin maaaa on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:50 pm

How much proton paid you for this comment ? Europe ? Even with super high excise duty trade barrier to protect, Proton cant even stand with its own feet in own country want to enter EU market ? HAHAHA

• Day dream on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:41 pm

Hahahahahahahaa……..

• Ollie on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Imagine if VW was run by Merkel, Toyota was run by Shinzo Abe, Ferrari was run by Berlusconi, GM was run by Obama, etc etc

Only in this country can a blardy politician dictator autocrat run a car company?

Proton supporters, go bury your head la, bringing worldwide universal embarrassment to Malaysia. Good-for-nothing low-life goats.

If you want to reply, feel free to condemn my crude name-calling. But please focus also, respond on why a damn dictator Fascist is running your beloved car company?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • I bet you would be excited if DrM decided to be your company chairman. Please don’t lie.

• You just shot urself in the foot, bub. Ferrari WAS under Belusconi when he was PM albeit via Fiat. So now u can go 14th floor in shame.

• Patutla on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:56 pm

I believe you also post under this name ‘polis’ from time to time. Be afraid.

• Ollie on Jan 20, 2016 at 11:19 am

As expected, no Proton blind man can answer this. HAHA

• megavalve on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Instead of drawing VW dieselgate, better use “not enough funds” as proper excuses not to produce diesel engine. Rakyat faham.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Proton38 on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:10 pm

This is a bad NEWS.
    Proton shows his not widen politics and not profitable future view.

With this news, I can only say: Proton has no more chance to be a big player. Sorry man. Truth is hard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • This company has been cheating the rakyat for donkey years and people has been losing faith.They need to gain that back….and is not easy.

i wish to own one in the future which i will be proud of..

• MitchelJohn on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:48 pm

Well i guess that kinda killed the pick up truck concept

unless they wanna do it with the proton arena style.

• Jobless on Jan 20, 2016 at 7:57 am

Hahaha…try to blame vw for not buiding own engine so typical….lack of focus, losing pasar share ridly but sekejap want to build Supima and price it close to Top selling jap cars, no facelift for ugly preve, than decided to fight Mivi head on wit the Iriz, than after failed, want to takeover susuki easy way to rebadge fight wit Mivi…than always make announcements after announce,emts build ev la, jv la, blame bank approval la…the advertisement oao broken english “drive ot to beleieve ot” and recent “feel it” hahaha…can i charge p1 for tis advice? And the PerdAna is rebadge, use old platform. And same engine ans gearbox, just desigm bumper and lights to make it look different!

• fleur on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:08 pm

People complain your Campro makan minyak,so you should definitely make a diesel engine which is more frugal. Why you look at UK and those first world Euro country for export ???

Why cant you look at places like India which has a huge market for budget cars and not so stringent laws on emissions ?? If shitty cars like Datsun Go can survive there, you are telling us that Proton cannot make a car better than that ??? They just want something with a diesel engine and manual gearbox.

There used to be a Wira 2.0L diesel sourced from mitsubishi in our market before but the engine is terrible , alot of black smoke. Just make a better engine than that .