Jaguar XE debuts in Malaysia – 2.0, 3.0, from RM341k

2016-jaguar-xe-r-sport-launch-event-malaysia- 007

The new Jaguar XE has finally been launched in Malaysia. Here to rival the BMW 3 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class and Audi A4, the premium compact sedan is available in three variants. As listed below, prices, ranging from RM341k to RM582k, are OTR without insurance and inclusive of GST.

• Jaguar XE Prestige 2.0 – RM340,730
  • Jaguar XE R-Sport 2.0 – RM365,730
  • Jaguar XE S 3.0 – RM582,467

The compact XE’s arrival completes Jaguar Land Rover’s sedan range, joining the XF premium executive sedan and XJ limousine. It is also the first model to be underpinned by JLR’s new modular architecture, featuring an aluminium-intensive monocoque which allows the XE to shed weight whilst retaining a robust structure.

The car measures 4,672 mm long, 1,850 mm wide and 1,416 mm tall. Its wheelbase chimes in at 2,835 mm long. To help you put that in perspective, a F30 3 Series is 48 mm shorter, 39 mm narrower and 13 mm taller than the Jag, while giving away another 25 mm at its wheelbase.

2016-jaguar-xe-launch-event-malaysia- 019

Each of the three XE variants offer different levels of power output. At its base, the XE Prestige gets a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged Ford EcoBoost engine that’s rated at 200 PS at 5,500 rpm and 280 Nm of torque between 1,750 to 4,000 rpm. The mill allows the XE to complete a zero to 100 km/h sprint in 7.7 seconds, and have a top speed of 237 km/h. All variants feature a ZF-sourced eight-speed torque converter automatic transmission.

The mid-range XE R-Sport gets the same 1,999 cc four-pot turbo, but has its output increased to 240 PS at 5,500 rpm and 340 Nm from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm. The added power equated to a quicker 6.8-second century sprint and a top speed of 250 km/h. Note that this variant has a “25t” badge at its rear which signifies the 2.0 litre engine’s higher state of tune.

At the top of the range sits Jaguar’s 3.0 litre V6 twin-vortex supercharged engine, residing in the top-shelf XE S. The engine is good for 340 PS at 6,500 rpm and 450 Nm at 4,500 rpm, giving the range-topping XE a zero to 100 km/h time of 5.1 seconds, and a top speed of 250 km/h. Interestingly, the engine is also featured in the base-spec variant of the brand’s F-Type sports car.

Outside, the base Prestige variant offers bi-function HID xenon headlamps with LED daytime running lights and high-intensity LED tail lamps which have been inspired by the F-Type. It gets 17-inch “Turbine” 10-spoke sparkle silver alloy wheels as standard, and has its front radiator grille in black with a chrome surround.

The R-Sport variant adds slightly sportier looks, courtesy of the R-Sport body kit – this adds an R-Sport front bumper, body-coloured side sills, satin chrome side power vents and a rear spoiler. The variant also gets 18-inch “Star” five-spoke alloy wheels as standard. Note that the R-Sport pictured here is equipped with the optional 19-inch “Venom” five, twin-spoke alloys in black.

The XE S is by far the most aggressive variant in the line-up. On the outside, it features enlarged air intakes on the front bumper, side sill extensions, a rear spoiler, a gloss black rear valance and brake calipers painted in red. As standard, the S gets 18-inch “Templar” five, twin-spoke alloy wheels, but optionally, buyers may specify a set of 20-inch “Propeller” alloy wheels.

2016-jaguar-xe-r-sport-red-launch-event-malaysia- 062

Inside, the three variants feature very similar equipment and features – only trim and upholstery options appear to be different between them. A three-spoke multi-function steering wheel is standard across the board, while the centre console features a rising gear selector dial.

The InControl Touch infotainment system introduces an eight-inch touchscreen display with a new graphical interface. Media options range from USB and auxiliary sockets to iPod and Bluetooth connectivity.

As standard, all XE variants get a basic 80-watt, four-channel, six-speaker sound system. Optionally, buyers may spec-up the audio to a 380-watt Meridian sound system, specifically designed for the XE – audio reproduction here is via a greater 12-channel, 11-speaker system.

Moving towards specifics of each variant’s interior, the base Prestige 2.0 starts things off by offering Taurus leather upholstery with contrasting stitching – based on your preferred colour theme. The signature Jaguar Riva Hoop that spans across the door trim and dashboard is in brushed aluminium, while the steering wheel is wrapped in soft grain leather.

The R Sport adds to the above a set of Sport Perforation seats with Taurus leather upholstery and mesh fabric inserts. The Riva Hoop and door finishers are in etched aluminium, with additional “R-Sport” badges on the steering wheel and tread plates to remind you of your RM365k purchase.

The S variant’s cabin is the sportiest of them all. With suede cloth inserts on the Taurus leather seats, this variant also gets a generous serving of gloss black trim. The steering wheel and tread plates get “S” badges, and the Riva Hoop and door trim here feature a dark mesh aluminium material.

There’s a decent amount of driver assistance systems in the XE. The JaguarDrive Control allows you to switch the vehicle’s performance characteristics on the fly, offering Normal, Eco, Dynamic and Winter driving modes that modify the XE’s throttle and steering characteristics.

The XE is also the first Jaguar model to be offered with an electric-powered steering. Officially known as the Speed Proportional Electric Power Steering, the system claims to accurately optimise steering feel to match your demands. A Torque Vectoring by Braking system is also on deck, designed to mitigate understeer situations. Notably, only the R-Sport variant appears to feature a Sports-tuned suspension.

Another world debut for the brand is its All Surface Progress Control, which gets its first application in the XE. The traction management system functions similarly to a low-speed cruise control and gives the rear-wheel driven XE better all-weather capabilities. Typically used to optimise grip in the snow, the system functions between 3.6 km/h and 30 km/h and provides maximum take-off grip in slippery conditions – not that we’ll ever be driving in snow, anytime soon.

2016-jaguar-xe-r-sport-red-launch-event-malaysia- 002

For safety, the all XE variants get on nicely with six airbags as standard. Active safety features include Hill Launch Assist, Emergency Brake Assist, Dynamic Stability Control and Traction Control.

To recap, the Jaguar XE is priced from RM340k to RM580k, with three variants available. The prices include a five-year or 150,000 km warranty and three years roadside assistance. The Prestige 2.0 and R-Sport 2.0 variants come with a five-year or 80,000 km free scheduled maintenance package, while the S 3.0 variant gets the same deal under five-year or 65,000 km terms.

Early buyers will also get the XE Launch Accessories kit worth RM10,000 for free. The package includes illuminated tread plates up front, aluminium red-painted paddle shifters, a specially-designed gear selector with a premium dark leather top and a rubber bezel with a soft-touch grip and unique tyre valve caps which are available in four designs.

On top of this, there are also several items for buyers to add on, including a chrome front splitter (RM1,538), aluminium gearshift paddles (RM3,559), an iPad Mini holder (RM1,504) and a headrest-mounted coat hanger (RM337). For the full list of available options, check out our gallery below. Also, don’t forget to read our review of the Jaguar XE, here.

GALLERY: Jaguar XE R-Sport 2.0

GALLERY: Jaguar XE Prestige 2.0

GALLERY: Jaguar XE Launch Accessories

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• 369k i buy Ford Mondeo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • As prestige, classy, competitively-priced as Lexus IS200T.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • neutral on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:31 am

Sisma is even crazier than UMW lexus when it comes to their pricing strategy. *shakes head*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Went there today during dinner time Jag launch event, all they had was tiny food portion only fit for babies. BMW also same, call people for dinner time launch and they feed baby portion food. Many leave with anger and hunt for mamak food after the event.

Mercedes SuV launch was much much better – buffet style all you can eat food that fills the tummy easily. Even today, I feel like making a booking for Merc car just because of the food :)

• True what you said. These premium brands should know better than treat their potential customers shabbily. Premium brands should give premium treatment. Looks like Merc got the job done.

• Errr... on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:33 am

No. Only a die hard Brit (looking at you Auto Express UK) would claim that the Jaguar is better than the German fleet.

The rest of us prefers SauerKraut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • RM10k service - Warning! on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Buy this car and you will cry worse than a baby with their after sales. And everytime you service be prepared to fork out abt RM10k. Since they know no one else can service Jaguar properly, they hantam you gila gila

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Gracke on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:38 am

The car is damn good but…those pricing is a bit hard for me :-(

• Perlisian on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:41 am

exhaust tips too small. nampak pelik lah!

• Kodomo on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:41 am

Still can’t sprint as fast as a 328i or c250 at those prices. Tsk tsk.

• rchoo on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:44 am

Not worth it, I might as well buy Ford Mondeo with the same technology at almost half the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Pre Reg 520i - RM270k on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:13 pm

BMW Malaysia selling director use brand new proper D segment BMW 520i car for RM270k. Mileage only 2000 KM. Comes with 5 year warranty. Why should I buy this for RM350k?

Even if I wanted to buy this car, I better buy 1 year old. As with all Jaguars, in 1 year, their price of RM350k will drop to RM250k.

Jaguar is the King of RV Depreciation. Wait 1 year and buy this for RM250k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • Krishna on Jan 28, 2016 at 1:28 pm

That is not Director use la….if yes, how can mileage only 2000? Those are pre-registered cars….Sime Darby pre registers them to hit sales target. But I get your point, at this prices, pre registered BMWs are a lot more attractive

• Idiot.

The 520I is not a D segment car. It is an E Segment car.

• Great Car but Pariah Service on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:44 am

High class car with low class service. Only 1 place to service, Glenmarie. At the service centre, got no place to sit. You can stand and watch your car being serviced through a glass panel.

No coffee. No water also. Yes, I am not joking. Coffee machine got but rosak. Water also tak ada. Sometimes you get Hwa Tai biskut but most of the time, nothing.

This is what you call pariah company given the dealership.

One may argue it is for drivers to take their bosses cars in but come on, Jaguar owners like to be treated with some class I am sure and the bosses want to drive their car in for service.

Very very low class service. My advice to Jaguar UK, please withdraw your dealership and open yourself here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • UK -26,000 pounds - Najib Promise Where? on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:08 pm

In UK brand new RRP is 26,000 pounds. My friend says after bargaining, can get this car even at 23,000 pounds brand new. So, if UK dealership can sell at 23,000 pounds and still make untung, I think the cost price of this car will be about 20,000 pounds or less.

Let’s assume its 20,000 pounds. sisma will get it at country distributor price of say 17k or 18k pounds. That works up to RM120,000.

Here we pay RM340k. OTR, it will be RM360k

Where is Najib’s Promise to reduce car prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
  • old dog on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:47 am

price is e class rivals..

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:49 am

RM348k OTR with insurance. Most expensive in its C-segment category. Note E300 Bluetec Hybrid costs RM10k less and is D-segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • wilzc on Jan 30, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Correction, RM405K OTR all in with GST

Thats the list price during launching

• Rejeffwhilim on Feb 15, 2016 at 4:45 pm

You are wrong

This jaguar XE like the 3 series and C class is a D-Segment car.

The E class is an E segment car

• Sugantha krishanamathi Perumal on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:54 am

Ayo ayo so nice. I am buyung one for my bf. Red kaler nice. Where to booking ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Ahmad Mazlin Shuib Katib on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:56 am

Syukur dah ada jaguar ini. Abang nak perfi tengok dan test drive. Kalau takde halangan nak beli untuk bini i yang jauh tu.

• hello world on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:57 am

So… their plan is to rival the BMW 3 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class and Audi A4?

The price suggest its at the BMW 5 Series, Mercedes-Benz E-Class and Audi A6 range… …

Awkward.

• Hammond on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:58 am

2016 Car of the Year is here!

• AnisLabia on Jan 28, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Only a Brit or a Brit sucker would give this car a 2016 Car of The Year gong!

• omegle on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Needs to be cheaper by at least 60k to be interesting here, what a shame.

• Ugly design wtf….mercedes definitely looks better with a reasonable price….putting price until 580k….i rather collect and buy c63 amg

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Another model which is dead on arrival with that kind of pricing and who wants to spend that kind of money for a model with a Ford engine? You can get a new 520d after some dealer discount or even an E200. Top up a little bit more and the E300 BlueTec is yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • jinggo on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Harga kereta ini di Amerika Syarikat hanya USD34,900 (RM150,070) sahaja. Apa dosa rakyat Malaysia sampai kerajaan naikkan harga sehingga menjadi RM340k? Kepala bana betul!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • FlamingFox on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Good if you’re sick of BMW/Mercedes/Audi. But the price tag surely comes at a premium. It’s like buying a Mazda instead of the usual Toyota/Honda/Nissan.

• ivan fung on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Jaguar need to improve the service center in Malaysia. Even with emergency they will ask you to make an appointment to check the car and the Q is normally long. You will need to wait for a week!

• Aero (Member) on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:52 pm

I love all the new Jags, especially this newest XE… but at these prices, only a die-hard Jag fan would buy this over the far more affordable (and better ?) C-Class.

The XE is unbelievable expensive because it’s a CBU import from the U.K.. The Audi A4 is also a CBU-only model here. Both the C-Class and 3-Series currently consist of CKD models only.

Jaguar has announced that they plan to build an assembly plant in either Malaysia or Thailand, but that could still take time. What they should do instead, is contract assembly. Minimum investment and risk. They can ask Tan Chong Motor or even Naza to build Jags for our market. There is no point asking DRB-HICOM or Inokom/ Sime Darby, both have their own luxury brands (Mercedes and BMW). Naza is not the best choice (reputation wise), but they have a lot of unused production capacity as both of their main franchises, Kia and Peugeot are not doing so well currently. Tan Chong Motor is the obvious choice, but they may not want a second European franchise (they already have Renault). But as far as I know, TCM doesn’t import the ‘luxurious’ Renault models, let alone assemble them, so who knows.

Whatever it is, Jaguar will not go far in Malaysia or ASEAN (except Singapore) until they build their cars in an ASEAN member state. The same goes for Audi.

• Jonn Dol on Jan 28, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Considering that the entry level CBU Lexus IS200T & Audi A4 are all priced below RM 300K, it sounds ridicilous for Sisma to put the RM 340K price tag for the entry level Jag XE. Is it solely due to the exchange rate? I don’t think so. When looking at the competition..not sure if Jag would stand a chance. It’s a pity because in terms of package (looks & performance), this is the car that could seriously challenge the German compact executives (Lexus still fall a bit short).

• neutral on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:54 pm

CBU or not, 340k is freaking ridiculous for an entry level executive sedan. You can argue that 3 series and C Class are CKD, but even before CKD models were launched, CBU batches of C Class or 3 series did not exceed 340k even for the top of the line models (C250 AMG line and 328i). I thought UMW Lexus’ pricing for the new IS200T was ridiculous enough with the base model priced at almost 300k but JLR Malaysia takes the cake for dumb pricing strategy. Think about it, even Audi is selling A4 2.0 S-line at 311k with quattro and BnO sound system. Remember, C250, 328i/330i, A4 2.0 S-line competes with the XE R-sport (doesn’t even come with premium audio etc.), the price difference is staggering even when compared to A4 2.0 (almost full bells and whistles), almost 60k! This is not the first time, even Discovery Sport is also ridiculously priced. What next? XF at 480k?

• Pune Power on Jan 28, 2016 at 1:20 pm

The XE beats the 3 and even 4 series but only just lost out to the C Class. Don’t believe, just google Jaguar XE vs BMW vs Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • neutral on Jan 28, 2016 at 2:39 pm

really? wah u damn smart. better based on? space alone already worst in C-segment.

• Prestige Motoring on Jan 28, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Jaguar XE beats the 3series? But Jag itself being beaten by C class? That sounds like your dream

• shawal on Jan 28, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Good points
    – Exclusive, might be as rare as q50
    – distinct looks
    – Street creds…. its a jjjaagg…

weak points
    – old ford engines instead of the new ingenium ones, bmw is new, merc is new, lexus 200t is brand new…
    – practicality
    – 6 speakers… seriously….?
    – Pricey if compared to CKD rivals, and CBU japanese rivals…. ( japanese rivals has rep for reliability)

of coz u dunt buy into a jjjaggg with ur head but heart….

ur cash, ur choice,
    My comment box, my opinion lol….

again….another episode of driven to sort this rivalry

Xe, 3er, is200t, c250, q50, a4,

• alldisc on Jan 28, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Refer to an article published by paultan recently where Jaguar had the the highest increment in sales – from 30 units in 2014 to 90 units in 2015.

Wow. Sisma was lucky that sime darby stepped in to help.

No wonder the huge margin made per car to cover all costs.

• Black Dog on Jan 28, 2016 at 1:47 pm

They might have ambitious targets. Maybe 10 units a year!

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jan 28, 2016 at 3:36 pm

For a car wearing a Jaguar badge, it seriously lacks class. It’s interior seems Kia/Hyundai alike, though I admit it definitely has more gadgets in it, but Jaguar is suppose to be a gentleman’s car, with a design that shouts prestige. Perhaps they had finally downgraded themselves from rivaling Bently or Rolls-Royce, and is trying to find a footing in the BMW-Lexus range.

• the price.. out of this world.
    interior design.. boring.
    exterior front design.. ok.
    exterior rear design.. arrghhh ugly..

• Prestige Motoring on Jan 28, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Engine performance is inferior to best in class BMW 330i, but asking price is much higher. People who buy this car would be those who want to be different.

I reckon all Jaguar Land Rover products in Malaysia are overpriced in comparison to the competition.

Good try, but not good enough!

• Nice-looking car with unique tech that makes it one the best-handling and performing sports sedan. Sure the price is much higher than its nemesis the 3-series but I think Jag’s banking on the novelty factor. And also they are aiming for customers who don’t mind paying more to stand out from the 3-series crowd. Once they got traction here, we could see more competitively priced models.

• nighttrain on Feb 02, 2016 at 11:41 am

It’s only respectable rival will be Perdana, coz they look the same.. Mebbe can selotape Jag logo on top oso.

• Johnny on Feb 15, 2016 at 2:33 pm

A 3-series fighter at almost 2X the price of it? Mad pricing.

• rashid is smart on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:57 am

better buy bmw or merc has more service center than this jaguar shit , no ppl wanna repair this , nobody carry this parts,

in the end left workshop like in greenlane many jaguar hanging there