Mazda Malaysia vehicle prices hiked by up to RM6k

Back in November 2016, we reported that Bermaz will increase the prices of Mazda vehicles in Malaysia due to forex movements, and it looks like that time is finally upon us.

A posting on a local dealer’s Facebook page revealed that all 2017 Mazda cars will see a price hike of up to RM6,000. We checked with Bermaz themselves and yes folks, the increase is confirmed, and effective immediately.

Starting with the Mazda 2, all versions of the fully-imported (CBU) B-segment model, be it those fitted with halogen or LED headlamps in either hatchback or sedan body styles, will see RM2,000 added to its selling price.

Halogen models without the Soul Red exterior paint finish will now be priced at RM87k, whereas LED-equipped 2s are now RM96k. Those who want the premium colour will still need to top up an additional RM500 on top of both prices mentioned.

Next up, the locally-assembled (CKD) Mazda 3 also sees an increase of RM2,000, with the hatchback priced at RM123k, while the Mid and High spec sedan variants retail for RM108k and RM123k, respectively. These prices are for those that opt for a solid paint finish, with metallic options costing RM400 more.

The facelifted CX-5 SUV, another CKD model, is now RM2,500 more across the model range. The following 2WD variants are now priced as such: 2.0 Mid (RM131k), 2.0 High (RM167k) 2.5 (RM180k) and 2.2D (RM187k). As for the 2.5 4WD, the only all-paw offering, it can now be had for RM169k. Like the Mazda 3, the metalic paint will set you back an additional RM400.

Meanwhile, the CBU CX-3 is priced at RM134k and the Biante MPV is RM149k, both an increase of RM3,000. The D-segment Mazda 6 is now RM6,000 more for all variants, including the touring and diesel versions. For the petrol-powered 6, the 2.0 is now RM165k and the 2.5 is RM201k. As for the touring, it now costs RM205k, while the diesel 2.2 is RM209k.

Finally, the facelifted BT-50 pick-up truck is hiked by RM3,000, with prices now as such: 2.2MT Mid (RM90k), 2.2MT High (RM100k), 2.2AT (RM105k) and 3.2AT (RM117k). Keep in mind that all the prices mentioned here are on-the-road without insurance.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:11 pm

Wow 201k for a jap D segment model…never thought I will live to see this happening. Suddenly that all new top spec Passat with wet clutch n adaptive dampers seem like a steal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 4
    • 2008 honda accord 3.5 sold at 240k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • Operation Manager on Jan 09, 2017 at 7:38 pm

Congrats, Mazda 2017 still selling 2016 cars… then 2018 still selling 2016 cars… even Mercedes having more sales…

• Sam L0r on Jan 09, 2017 at 9:45 pm

Better RV for Mazda now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
          • Bodoh punye Sam Lor on Jan 10, 2017 at 7:45 am

Wher got la idiot? My fren 3 years full spec cx-5 bought at 165 years ago, now can sell at 85k oni…. U mulut cam babi aje… tak boleh pakai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • DPCraft on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:12 am

85k for a 165 years car? that means very good RV indeed.

• 85k for 3 years old car….typo dude!

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 10, 2017 at 7:25 am

Bermaz is a con company. If you see past reports, sometimes they blame USD and sometimes they blame Japanese Yen

So, which is it? Today they blame USD. 2 price hikes ago, they blame Japanese Yen

This is a beautiful gift given by our gomen. Minyak also naik 20 sen despite us being an oil producing country. Semua naik and now our Mazda also naik.

Whatever happened to our 30% car price reduction promise? It just keeps on going higher and higher and higher.

Whilst our leaders are jetsetting all over the world and leading luxurious lives, we Malaysians are suffering with higher prices of everything

What happened to our own resident PT Economist who said falling ringgit is very good for Malaysia and would increase our exports and benefit the country???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • Gomorrah on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:44 am

Bermaz full of rubbish tactics la. Bought a Mazda 2 DE in 2010, on delivery asked where is the spare key, told have to pay RM 800 to get spare key. Never heard of this before ever when buying a car. It took an official written complaint to Mazda Japan to get the key. Unbelievable that an RM 80000 car got no spare key. Who knows how many people got conned in to this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Pinky on Jan 09, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Cukurlah Malaysia masih aman …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Bmw316KatakRecond on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:08 pm

Better change to other japanese brand bang or buy a one year old 316 at 180k

• blackie on Jan 10, 2017 at 8:52 am

syabas najib! see what u have done to car prices?

• Seperti dijanjikan, harga kereta akan diturunkan secara berperingkat hingga 2017

• UMW price down, Bermaz price up, salah najib. Kahkahkah..

• Mr. Loba Loba on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:12 am

Ringgit will be 4.1 to dollar by Sept…

• john is otak batu on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:13 am

Can see Najib not live up to his campaign promises. Save your money & hold up your old cars.
        He can’t make it to the next PRU.

• Don't panic, Ringgit will bounce back on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:25 am

Jangan ambil hak rakyat. Wang ini hak rakyat. Apa jua kita lakukan demi rakyat. Projek-projek juga untuk rakyat.

• Prabanathan Muthalingam on Jan 10, 2017 at 1:48 pm

Buying a Toyota is the option in this world.Undeniably UMW providing hassle free sales and services for its consumers.Number one in the world with the best value for money.Don’t settle for anything cheap or less than number one.Appreciate your hard earned money,don’t waste on proton and Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • TongHoi on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Whatever lah….this year ur Salesman all resigned…..no business to do…congrats.
    Before increase the price ur volume already drop now still increas price again…good luck

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 1
    • camtakpro on Jan 09, 2017 at 9:27 pm

inb4 Mazda salesman says their cars RV has increased. lol

• Wolpe on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:22 pm

It would be ironic when the govt come out and say that they managed to slash car prices down by 30% and cite some questionable examples. haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • Mikey on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:40 pm

This is a forgone conclusion that most if not all car be it CBU or CKD will see an increase in price in 2017.

As long as we Do Not make/produce our own materials, we will have to import the materials or parts to assemble the cars which will effectively cost more.

With our currency shrinking by the month if not daily, I cannot see how the car price won’t increase let alone maintain it’s prices.

We do have a choice. To buy or NOT to. A wiser man will delay buying any new car but extend whatever car that is still in Good condition by servicing & maintaining your old dependable horses. Shalom & Cheers …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
    • Albert on Jan 09, 2017 at 7:21 pm

Mickey
      The writing is on the wall.
      CAR PRICES HAVE SHOT THRO THE ROOF.
      But some Malaysians still in dreamland.Still must have the new car smell.
      A wiser proposal would be the 500,000 used cars at a mouse click.Mind u ,some in still good drivable condition.
      Mazda have overtaken UMW as the premium price leader.
      REMEMBER,do not buy a new car just to boost MAA’s annual sales forcast.
      WE must control loans,not the other way round.
      This 2017,I dont see a turnaround yet.Infact…many businesses are still going bust.Some retrenched workers,are still jobless after 9 months.
      So where is the light at the end of the tunnel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 10, 2017 at 7:30 am

Car companies rely on this. They know Asians like to show off and keep up with the neighbour.

this is why BMW and Mercedes do well in Malaysia. In overseas, even millionaire also use just Ford focus.

Here, car companies thrive on the greed of Asians to prove to our neighbours we are doing well in life.

Only in Malaysia car is a status symbol

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:41 pm

What’s next? Magic EEV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Speechless on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:45 pm

Finally I get to see a vehicle value which will not depreciate over the years in Malaysia.

Buying a Mazda is not just buying a vehicle, but is an investment as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 56
    • 12yrsold on Jan 09, 2017 at 8:29 pm

WOW. I didn’t know buying a car & in this case Mazda can be an INVESTMENT. I’m Speechless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
      • contender on Jan 10, 2017 at 12:33 am

Yes an investment but a real bad investment buying Mazda cars …. coz price increase and when you sell is still gonna be bad resale value anyway. So just enjoy the Vroom … drive…. and make it back the loss in resale value in buying Bermaz listed co shares. LOL

• Its called sarcasm… and it’s now a better time to buy a pre reg 3 series, more than ever

• tokmoh. on Jan 09, 2017 at 7:34 pm

Maslan : GST patut turunkan harga… bingung.gif

• Honda price remain same.
      Toyota price same but up spec.
      Mazda pulak sendri up price.

U still say ini semua salah Gov?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
      • Hot dog on Jan 10, 2017 at 6:51 am

Car price should turun more..reduce the tax..bring more cbu car in..lets rakyat hv more choices to buy high spec car..

• applegreen on Jan 09, 2017 at 8:01 pm

mazDAMN it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • 100% Janji Capati on Jan 09, 2017 at 8:04 pm

before GE, somebody said and janji-capati rakyat that car prices will go down……now everything go up….even milk powder and baby diapers prices go up.

Good la esp. for those who voted the imbeciles…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Gov dun care, cuz they wan pipu use public transport instead.

• Hot dog on Jan 10, 2017 at 7:20 am

Listen….he did saying ” even milk powder and baby diapers price go up ‘ … ours public transport still very inconvenience right ?
        You know many johorian go to SG buying car spare part ? first its becos the part immediate available , second its becos convert to MY still cheap 30 % due to the parts in SG free tax…i m a importer too, i can tell you how ours kastam tax the goods, and the duration to declare ! …..Sometime same items i use SG custom side, its cheap and very convenience , the goods arrived i just need 1 day i can collect it.
        Gov dun care , course !!!

• Milk & diapers? How many babies there? 30 Mil?
          And public transport is a work in progress, but day by day its improving, right?

I dunno about ur business but if u parallel import w/o paying tax, lets hope u oso dun need to claim GST cuz Kastam will know. So b4 they do, pls conduct ur business ethically.

• Hot dog on Jan 10, 2017 at 12:52 pm

Tax is 25 % + 20% per items , so what we do , increase the price customers paid for it ? GST oso gone for comsumers right ? So rakyat burden lah !

• Hot dog on Jan 10, 2017 at 12:57 pm

Imported thru SG is for SG market , very simple !

• So if SG for SG and MY for MY, u cant compare the 2 and says SG is better! Both have their pros and cons. SG has less social net for B40. Deswai u can see old pipu still working at food courts!

• Don't panic on Jan 09, 2017 at 8:31 pm

It’s ok folks, don’t panic. This is what national carmakers are created for. Head to Proton and Perodua showrooms yaa.

Oh wait, Perodua also increase price? I thought it’s a “national carmaker”?

• Gaviny on Jan 09, 2017 at 8:47 pm

This is the first of many , no reason other car makers won’t do the same

• Wah price hike again? Last time the Mazda2 got a 3k increase. Now another 2k

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 09, 2017 at 8:50 pm

before anyone condemns the gov and weakening ringgit, please remember bermas is a listed company. its their duty to increase the profit year by year, hence an increase in prices is expected, and nothing to do with weakening ringgit

as ministers have pointed out, weakening ringgit helps promote the economy and making sure the rakyat gets more money in return, when gov collects more tax from increasing export. this is basic economy which we learn in school

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 91
    • Malaysian Driver on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:10 pm

Base on your logic, when Zimbabwe currency was on a free fall in 2008 (79,600,000,000% depreciation, one of the highest hyper inflation ever recorded in history) it must have done tremendous good and contribution for Zimbabwe. Based on your logic, Zimbabwe is now a super power economy because their super weaken currency must have done the following good to their nation:

1) promote economy
      2) making sure Zimbabweans get more money in return
      3) increase Zimbabwe export.

UMNO cybertroopers like you never ceased to amazed me, talk with logic that even a cow ass could have an been insult to fit your pea-sized brain, which is as dumb as your minister master.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
      • Faiz Roslan on Jan 10, 2017 at 8:53 am

I was looking forward to an intelligent rebuttal from an educated person with facts, figures and official gov statements, but what i get is a bunch of nonsense making irrelevant comparisons. try harder next time, bah kata melayu: jgn cakap angin saja. buang masa orang

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 47
        • Faiz Rosli on Jan 10, 2017 at 1:32 pm

bak kata pepatah orang putih…No matter how educated and talented are you, how you reply and your answer tells all…

• 12yrsold on Jan 10, 2017 at 3:13 pm

And that is Exactly what Malaysian Driver mean on “how educated & talented you are”

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 10, 2017 at 7:27 am

But you said falling ringgit will be good for Malaysia? I can’t believe you are running my country!

• john is otak batu on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:30 am

If he run this country will become Zimbabwe2

• MY economy still project growth, meanwhile SG will send their women to MY as maids.

• Gomorrah on Jan 10, 2017 at 3:52 pm

The feller talk big only. When all Malaysians pay tax equally with no dodging for various reasons then maybe can talk like this. So smart throwing pepatah around here is one for him – “empty vessel makes the most noise”.

• Hot dog on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:41 am

Can you tell me which school tat you learned the basic economy from there ?
      Your profesor tell you weakening currency can boost the economy ???
      Did you remember some years ago , when ringgit 3.80 up to 3.10….what Najib saying to rakyat ??? … I think now he himself shame to tell you . ( cos now 4.50 )

• It depends. It benefits nett exporter countries (ie MY), provided the total profit of exports outweighs the importation. Otherwise, ur importing more as ur exporting, making gains nil.

• Yawn mazda yawn. Their cars here never had competitive pricing to begin with, especially the mazda6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • jeffwhlim (Member) on Jan 09, 2017 at 9:02 pm

Learn from Mazda. Mazda RV will improve as a result. If you disagree with the Price hike, buy used and stop buying NEW lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Sgt Scoop on Jan 09, 2017 at 9:18 pm

The announce a price increase and advertise ‘carnival sales’ on the Oto as below it. We all know how this game works.

• mikhel on Jan 09, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Just dont buy then… teach them a lesson they wont forget.. :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Wise Guy on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:47 pm

Emm… price hiked again and again..dont buy la. Wait until ‘Tak laku’ then the price go down n down n down…

Better buy BMW or Merz..the mazda price almost same as continental cars…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 10, 2017 at 12:47 am

the case for a 318i seems even better than ever

• melted dashboard?

• they need $ to pay angpow to staff ^^

to those who want to buy mazda soon, please insist on checking your car is manufactured in 2017 as above shown.
    IF 2016 model, they have no right to charge the extra hike! :D

• thefact on Jan 10, 2017 at 8:59 am

again…mazda malaysia or japan never said they r chasing Toyota/Honda levels of sales anyways.

they think more on quality.
    and the latest CSI puts mazda behind toyota. only 3 points difference.

http://www.jdpower.com/press-releases/jd-power-2016-malaysia-customer-service-index-csi-study

• Ben Yap on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:58 am

so when RM strengthen later, price got go down or not?

Mazda already not selling well in malaysia, coupled by poor after sales service, i wonder how they survive.

• If I am not mistaken, Mazda did not increase the price across the board in 2016, while Honda and Toyata etc did.

• lantis on Jan 10, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Price adjust for upcoming 2017 year make, last year there were no price hike.

• Mazda moving upmarket worldwide, Malaysian market irrelevant no matter how much we rant here.They have stopped chasing volume.

People that want it will still buy it like iPhones and Samsung Galaxies. It sucks but that’s the reality.

• Ah Beng on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:34 am

What about MX-5??