Geely Holding delivered 2.178 million vehicles in 2019 – Proton sales grew by 55.7%; Volvo breaks 700k mark

Zhejiang Geely Holding Group (Geely Holding) has announced its 2019 full-year sales results across its three automotive subsidiary units – Geely Auto Group, Volvo Car Group and Geely New Energy Commercial Vehicle Group – which saw total of 2.178 million vehicles being delivered.

According to the company, new energy vehicles saw a significant growth in sales last year with 167,507 green passenger and commercial vehicles sold by its brands, representing a 50.6% increase from 2018.

Geely Auto Group, which includes Geely Auto, Lynk & Co, Geometry, Proton and Lotus, saw sales of electrified vehicles grow by 68.5% to 113,067 units. Around 50% of vehicles sold last year were SUVs and crossovers, while sedans and MPVs made up the rest.

Looking at the individual brands, Geely Auto delivered 1,361,560 units in 2019, which was less than the 1,500,838 units it managed in 2018. The figure also accounts for vehicles sold by its Lynk & Co and Geometry sub-brands, with the former delivering 128,606 units. Lynk & Co’s performance represents a year-on-year (YoY) increase of 6.4%, and the brand is set to officially enter the European market this year.

Meanwhile, Geometry introduced its first model – the Geometry A – in 2019, and will introduce a new pure electric model year, with their second model – codenamed GE13 (also known as the Geometry C) – set to debut in 2020. Lotus Cars also had a good 2019 with a 12% YoY increase in revenue, with Japan being its largest market with a sales growth of 4%, followed closely by the United Kingdom and the United States. Other key markets include Germany, Italy, the UAE and China.

As for Proton, the Malaysian car brand achieved a 55.7% YoY increase in sales to 100,821 units in 2019, spurred by the popularity of the X70 and their refreshed line-up. This year will see the debut CKD locally-assembled X70, with the press release also mentioning the launch of “new jointly developed models,” which likely includes the highly anticipated X50.

In 2019, Volvo Car Group managed to set a new sales record, breaking the 700,000-unit milestone for the first time since the company was found in 1927. Global sales rose by 9.8% to 705,452 units last year, with its hybrid models seeing a spike of 22.9% to 45,933 units.

Lastly, Geely New Energy Commercial Vehicle Group – established in 2016 – saw an expansion of its product line-up through its Farizon Auto and London Electric Vehicle Company (LEVC) brands, with the latter seeing sales nearly double from 2018 thanks to its range-extended EV TX taxi.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• lilytan on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:39 am

Gongxi2 geely Chinas! Xiexie Dr Li chunrong!!

• Roti john on Jan 24, 2020 at 1:58 pm

Such a Game-Changing carmaker! I hope Proton can learn a lot from Geely and become a Game-Changing national carmaker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Nasi goreng on Jan 24, 2020 at 2:38 pm

30 years of automotive experience, Proton is nothing but a Game Over carmaker. Worse, Proton makes us suffer just to bailout. Lucky China Geely saved Proton and lead Proton to the right path. If it weren’t for Geely’s Game-Changing guidance, Proton name would have become a history. So thank you China, Geely and Li Chunrong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Malam Jumaat on Jan 24, 2020 at 2:42 pm

Proton and even MAS must learn how to be productive. They seem to be only productive on Thursday only but in making money, they don’t seem to be productive at all

• alldisc on Jan 24, 2020 at 3:49 pm

Geely sales dropped by 300k units, down from 1.5mil to 1.2mil.

Geely must learn from Volvo how to make good cars and reached worldwide sky high all time record for Volvo – something that Geely will never achieve. Geely is jaguh kampung, just like Proton. Zero presence in Europe, North America, central America, South America, afrika and middle East. And zero in Japan as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Bossku Pun Ada Bossnya Sendiri on Jan 24, 2020 at 4:00 pm

Proton is doing well because Li Chunrong is a real man and tak takut bini.

The worst is a leader who takut bini and lets his wife run the company.

I hope others learn how to be a man like Li Chunrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Hard Work Really Pays on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:49 am

Geely only started in 1997. Proton started in 1985.

Yet Geely can make USD$30 billion in profit last year.

I wonder why Proton could not make it also when they also could have exported Proton cars to the China market and to the world market.

Geely only had the China market to market their cars in the past and that also they had to compete with so many local China car producers.

How come a younger company like Geely can do so well? Answer is hard work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Carfan on Jan 24, 2020 at 2:07 pm

Exactly, they are not like cronies in proton only know how to makan ikan bilis minum teh 8x sambil goyang kaki, that’s why we should make chinese and japanese as example that created game changing turbo engines and also dual VVTI tech instead of Campros that drink fuel like water

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • Campro Truth on Jan 24, 2020 at 3:15 pm

Campro engines drink petrol like 6750cc Bentley Mulsanne Turbo R engine la

• ImmaNo.1 P1Fanboi on Jan 24, 2020 at 3:22 pm

I know I shouldn’t feed the haters but it’s fun to poke on them.

No! you wrong! Proton is no.1 carmaker in msia! P1 > all. Campro is the best engine in the world. And what’s with you makan ikan bilis!!?? FAILED! You forgot to add Nasi Lemak Ikan Bilis and 10X teh tarik stupiiid!!

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 24, 2020 at 2:44 pm

Everybody in the business community is laughing. 20 years losing RM4 million per day and then, when new CEO comes in, suddenly can make profit within 6 months

• Messiah on Jan 24, 2020 at 3:37 pm

So shameful. Geely do all the work, give us the Boyue and X50 and then when sales improve, we say our car company better than Ferrari, Porsche or Lamborghini.

Padahal, all our products have failed big time

Even our Saga also use Hyundai AT transmission

• Hard Work Really Pays on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:51 am

Lucky China, Geely and Li Chunrong helped save Proton. We need more Mainland people into Malaysia to help run our GLCs more efficiently.

Look at TH, already needed RM10.3 bil bailout, if we have another Li Chunrong running it, he can turn it around and make it profitable like Proton

We should not syiok sendiri when China is doing all the work and have given the product buta buta to us ie the X70 and X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
    • Malam Jumaat on Jan 24, 2020 at 2:45 pm

For 20 years can lose RM4 million per day. On top of that can take about RM20 billion in bailouts the past 20 yrs. Then suddenly China CEO take over, fuhyooo…..can already start to make profit

• Malu Malu Malaysia on Jan 24, 2020 at 3:50 pm

MAS already need RM25 billion bailout for it to operate until 2025. Malu malu Malaysia

Tukar je kepada CEO China

• Dirgahayu on Jan 24, 2020 at 4:51 pm

Your statement bagai ada udang disebalik batu. Jangan berkias sangat saudara.

• Welcome Mainland People! on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:53 am

Well done Proton. Lucky China came and helped you. Li Chunrong and Geely, within 6 months could identify all the leakages Proton had, what local CEOs could not identify in 30 years.

This is why we need more foreign CEOs from Mainland to come into Malaysia to help run our GLCs and even Putrajaya. We will see a 10 fold increase in productivity and we will become FIRST World soon.

Already 2020, our vision to be FIRST world tak jadi, nevermind, never too late to get brains and intelligence from Mainland to help us achieve this goal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • Campro Truth on Jan 24, 2020 at 3:16 pm

The truth hurts. Cannot achieve Developed country status because of 20 yrs heavy duty corruption

• Dulu dan Kini on Jan 24, 2020 at 11:06 am

dulu ketawakan China, asking panggil pendatang dan balik tongsan. Sekarang, sudah malu ya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
  • vivizurianti on Jan 24, 2020 at 11:21 am

Syukur x1001, for Geely at China. Bringing hopes and development to vehicle companies, including P1

• Haji Babjee Sanusi on Jan 24, 2020 at 11:23 am

Local CEO 50,000 cars
    Foreign CEO 100,000 cars.

The figures speak for themselves

• Tahniah!

Too bad they ran out of space to fit in Mesidis & Aston Martin. But tahniah all the same.

• fudgemesideways on Jan 24, 2020 at 11:41 am

Puji la, nape tak puji…asyik nak kutuk proton je…

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 24, 2020 at 11:52 am

Should have sold Proton 20 years ago. How come Geely can turn it into profit?

This is clear evidence that abang2 don’t know how to do business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Sarcasm Haha on Jan 24, 2020 at 12:12 pm

Geely Auto alone sold 1,361,560 car in 2019. That would be 0.0949% out of 1.435bil population.
    While p2 sold 240,341 ij 2019. That would be 0.737% of 32.6mil population.
    If Msia population same as china 1.435bil and with 0.737% car sold 2019, p2 would sold 10,575,950 car.
    Clearly p2 is a huge winner here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Real LLort on Jan 24, 2020 at 3:18 pm

Yes yes true! That’s why msia X70 price is not same as China price. Imagine if X70 price is at 69K !! OMG!!

• Sarcasm Haha on Jan 24, 2020 at 12:17 pm

If all Geely Auto Group, Volvo Car Group and Geely New Energy Commercial Vehicle Group combine, 2.178mil car sold. That would be 0.1518% of 1.435bil population.
    Still p2 alone wins it all.

• Mr Visionary on Jan 24, 2020 at 12:33 pm

Always talk big for proton, but end up we all know who has been making game changing sales, it’s perodua, because most rakyat trust in the award winning dual VVTI tech rather than the turbo 3 cylinder engine that will prone to turbo bocor, dual clutch tech is also more unreliable comapared to old 4 speeders and CVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Lenny on Jan 24, 2020 at 1:40 pm

i dont get why the p2 fanboy say without geely p1 would bankrupt and such well without daihatsu p2 would cease to exist im not comparing but why the double standard

• Kuman di seberang laut boleh nampak, gajah di depan mata tak nampak.

• Chavez on Jan 24, 2020 at 4:41 pm

Because P2 fanboys are like the poormans version of Jap fanboys and all they do is tumpang glamour Japan.

• CurtainsShare on Jan 24, 2020 at 5:45 pm

I get the both side trying to outdo each other’s, good/bad/fake perceptions,
      Brought as realistically close to a true
      Moulded as a majority representation,
      even though the total incoming traffic’s here doesn’t reflected the other side of Readers.

If you yourself in stay in your Comfortzone and do nothing new,
      Others will slowly cornered you to the wall,

Let focus for the future, defend the lead
      And bring more values to the new products

As someone-ET/a neutralist, already said before,

I would be more shy if someone that I had laughed at in the past,
      Now fast catching up and soon will overtake me.

Adding to that,
      Imagine the ‘past’ that being refer to being in the same race, same budget segment ,
      soon will abandoned you and no longer benchmarking you as his competitor in sale.

Comingup with a Business Plans for export markets as
      Local TIV in decade keep hovering around at 600k annually.
      SEA Export TIV – Eating a bigger pie.

U may stay in the lower budget category for as long as u want, Volume for profit
      a good place to start however,
      but a bigger pie & profit per unit at the next cat – Medium & Upper Segment $70-100, $100-150k brackets,
      really was a long-term goals, a stepping up achievement. Business/Profit/ROI cycle.

Remember the Hare and the Tortoise? Remember who won the race?

Keep the head down,
      analyse what the market told you,
      those feedbacks & perceptions,
      Pls listen more and say less.

• transformer on Jan 24, 2020 at 4:08 pm

under Geely Group Y2019 :
    total Proton sold 100,821 units (+55.7%)
    total Volvo sold 705,452(+9.8%)

*total means globally(if any…)

• WesternStar2 on Jan 24, 2020 at 7:16 pm

As Sir.Gerard Lye written article above:

In 2019, Volvo Car Group managed to set a new sales record,

breaking the 700,000-unit milestone
      for the first time since the company
      was found in 1927.

(Global Sales) rose by 9.8% to 705,452 units
      last year,

with its hybrid models seeing a spike of 22.9% to 45,933 units.

• Real LLort on Jan 24, 2020 at 6:00 pm

And then you will see swarming comments of Proton bashing from one person with his dupes. The structure are all the same, “game-changing”, “thank you Dr. Li/Geely”, “mainland people”, “30 years of automotive”.. Lucky for you, some people so kesian to look at you replying to your ownself so they just comment to kawan2 you.. lol