2022 Proton Iriz, Persona facelift – why still no AEB?

One of the big questions on people’s minds during the launch of the facelifted 2022 Proton Iriz and Persona was why did they still not come with autonomous emergency braking. After all, even perennial laggard Perodua has bucked up and offered active safety features – including AEB – on its bread-and-butter Myvi, so the once-leading B-segment models are falling further and further behind the curve.

The discussion surrounding AEB on the Iriz and Persona is nothing new – even during the Iriz’s original launch back in 2014, Proton was already testing a prototype with LG’s Advanced Drive Assistance System (ADAS) camera, showing that there were clear plans to implement the technology. And yet still, seven years after, there’s no sign of it. Eyebrows were already raised when AEB was given a miss during the first facelift in 2019, but the omission is particularly glaring now.

We posed the question during last week’s roundtable interview with the cars’ vehicle programme executive Adzrai Aziz Ibrahim. He said that with the limited budget available for the project, the team had to prioritise the features that it thought customers would appreciate.

“We did a benchmark, the Japanese OEMs have all these high-spec ADAS features, and even the other competitor [Perodua] has some ADAS features that it has marketed. But we had a constraint – we didn’t want to increase the cost of the car so that we could maintain the selling price and give more value to the customer; we had to be careful about what we wanted to add to the car,” he said.

The Iriz was tested with ADAS as early as 2014

Adzrai added that the safety improvements were focused on improving crash protection, in order for the Iriz and Persona to retain their five-star rating in the ASEAN NCAP 2017-2020 protocol. “Firstly, we had to see if we could meet the latest ASEAN NCAP protocol. So we added side airbags to all variants, seat belt reminders, and this got us to achieve the latest standards – our protection in terms of occupant safety in a crash is good. We didn’t need these additional [ADAS] features to [get a five-star rating].

“So we [then] had to decide, do we want to put in [ADAS] or do we put other things that customers will eventually use? We balanced out our investments – we met the ASEAN NCAP 2020 [protocols], so we needed to spend our money on more useful things for the customer.”

Elaborating on the potential cost of adding ADAS features, Adzrai made a distinction between the Perodua’s simpler camera-based system (with collision warning and partial AEB) and a more advanced radar-based package that would add features like adaptive cruise control to the mix. We should point out that Perodua itself offers camera-based adaptive cruise control on the Ativa (as does Honda on the City and new Civic), so a radar isn’t strictly necessary for implementing additional features.

“There are two ways [to implement ADAS]. We have full ADAS, which is what Toyota and Honda are applying on their cars, and then there’s mid-level ADAS, which only gives you indicators and buzzers with a camera [to detect obstacles] and [offers] limited functionality.

“I cannot share with you the [total] cost of doing this, but full ADAS will definitely go beyond RM2,000 in terms of the [cost of] components to be added to the car. It also requires an update in the electrical and electronic architecture, because [the system] needs to communicate [with the car]. So that’s a big investment.

“For [mid-level ADAS] with a camera and warnings, that is doable, just like what Perodua is doing. But currently, we are still in the research phase. We are trying to determine what is the best solution in this segment, with the price that we want to sell and the additional cost we need to add to our cars. If we feel that these features are necessary in the future, we will introduce them.”

Adzrai said that while other software features like the expanded “Hi Proton” voice control function also required updates to the electrical architecture, they did not require a comprehensive revamp, reducing the cost required. “Things like voice control are independent; they do not require a redevelopment of the entire car, because they only operate in their own unit, so the cost of [upgrading] is not high.

“We were able to expand the functionality to the [driver’s] window and air-con because the ability to signal to [those components] is available in the unit. So we were able to apply these items without incurring a lot of investment and we could just tap into [the system] accordingly.”

Later, when asked if Proton will at least consider adding blind spot monitoring and rear cross traffic alert, Adzrai said, “We do [have plans]. We are looking at these two functions in particular, and when these items are more cost effective for us to apply to our cars, then we will implement them. Maybe they will be added in a future update; for sure, we will fit them to new models. But yes, we are looking at it – mainly these two functions – if we can apply them in the most cost-effective manner.”

Of course, you can make up your own mind on whether safety features like AEB are vital at this price range, and it’s true that Proton does not have an infinite amount of money to spend on these ageing vehicles – especially given the Iriz’s relatively low sales volumes.

There’s also the unavoidable fact that because the Iriz and Persona are homegrown products, Proton would have to develop an ADAS system in-house instead of pilfering from Geely’s parts bin, whereas Perodua can simply take plug-and-play parts directly from Daihatsu. Still, there’s no denying that even basic systems like the one in the Myvi not only save lives but also thousands of ringgit in accident repairs – you can’t put a price on that, no matter how Proton tries to spin it.

Even the Perodua Myvi 1.3 X, priced under RM47,000, is now available with AEB

And make no mistake, customers are sitting up and taking notice. You only have to look at Perodua expanding the availability of its Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) suite to even the cheaper 1.3 litre models of the Myvi to know how much buyers value their safety these days. An ASA-equipped Myvi can now be had for under RM47,000, so it’s not like AEB is only for the rich.

Ironically, Proton updating the Iriz and Persona to pass an ASEAN NCAP protocol that expired last year shows just how far it has lagged behind. It’s telling that the company rushed to crash test its cars a full eight months before actually putting them on sale, because it’s highly unlikely it would have retained a five-star rating under the 2021-2025 protocol (which places a greater emphasis on active safety).

Meanwhile, the Perodua Ativa – which offers AEB as standard – breezed through its crash test this year, becoming the first five-star car under the new protocol. Again, everyone is entitled to their opinion, but at least in terms of safety, we think Proton has missed the mark with the new Iriz and Persona.

GALLERY: 2022 Proton Iriz 1.6 Active

GALLERY: 2022 Proton Persona 1.6 Premium

Learn more: ,

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Understandable considering these are legacy models that are middling in sales volume, it will be unprofitable to proton, whatmore it is not a selling feature in malaysia, sadly.

In a way, proton was an early proponent of safety but it got burned when their focus on that did not turn into actual sales figures. In the end can’t really fault proton for giving what malaysian buyers really go for; nice & feature rich HU, sharp styling design, bigger wheels, LED lights, cheapish prices, good FC, when comes to safety features it ranks all the way down below those others mentioned. In business sense, anything that doesn’t translate into sales is an added cost, which is exactly what is faced by proton today.

While kudos to perodua for upping the safety today, it is not a selling feature for them. Reality is they will still sell a lot of cars with or without these features, because of our price sensitive market plus all those [nice & feature rich HU, sharp styling design, bigger wheels, LED lights, cheapish prices, good FC].

Really if safety were a concern to malaysian car buyers, there would not be a perodua 3-4 years back. Safety just doesn’t sell well here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
    • Aptly said. Business sense + Malaysian mentality put safety at the bottom list for Malaysians.

However this is where regulatory bodies play their role. We need higher standards. Make some of the safety features compulsory. AEB for example. If we let business and local mentality prevail, we wont go far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • longjaafar on Sep 07, 2021 at 11:05 pm

Elektronik car safety features ekceli veli cheap,

• Jeremy on Sep 08, 2021 at 12:37 pm

Have you tried buying a computer or GPU lately? The prices are murder, now they ask for both kidneys, legs & arms.

• konobe on Sep 07, 2021 at 6:48 pm

Letak Android auto & Apple car play pun ok dah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • 25yrsOld on Sep 07, 2021 at 6:49 pm

Buy a car without AEB?

#My next car must have AEB. So I don’t need day dreaming keep unsatisfying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • YB Albert on Sep 07, 2021 at 7:46 pm

Imagine for a motorcyclist..the crash helmet cant withstand a simple fall.Would you buy it?
      A car without AEB,is the perfect recipe for massive loss of limbs or lives in case the car spins out of control during emergency braking.Would you buy one to endanger yourself and loved ones?
      The gomen should make it mandatory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
      • You are absolutely right. Should also implement AEB for foreign middle cars like Vios, Almera, CRV, Civic, Xtrail too for safety.

• I thought AEB is for automatic emergency braking if the system detects the car going forward and no attempt to stop the car, then AEB is there to stop a potential collision? Car spin out of control, that’s more of a ABS/ESC/EBD thingy, no meh?

• jusknittin on Sep 08, 2021 at 8:10 am

That comparison between having and not having AEB you made is quite overrated. If AEB is really that crucial, why ASEAN NCAP granted them with 5 star anyway? Don’t get me wrong, having more safety features are a very good thing but I agree that if without one they still can get 5 star and at a cheaper cost, by all means.

• Tech Safety on Sep 08, 2021 at 11:12 am

Because that was the previous standard. That’s why proton rushed to meet the 2020 standard, they knew they would fail the 2021 standard for ASEAN NCAP. Moving forward ANCAP will make AEB a requirement. Which is something that Perodua has already passed easily.. 2k for full AEB is very very cheap. Can’t believe they are using cost as an excuse. Lol.. So their profit is more valuable than our lives!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • All car makers are doing it, why single out Proton? Can you say the auto industry is wrong when they spec in tiered safety gadgets based on segmentation with the most expensive getting all the safety bells & whistles? They are a business after all and business is all about profits.
            https://paultan.org/2016/12/05/perodua-unable-to-install-esc-on-current-models-except-the-bezza-new-model-due-out-in-2018/
            https://paultan.org/2020/10/23/video-mitsubishi-xpander-finally-reaches-malaysia-what-took-mmm-so-long-and-why-only-two-airbags/

Relating to ASEAN NCAP the new standard would only dock 1 star at most, majority of Malaysian cars sold in reality are worth 3-4 stars as their lower spec variants comes with less safety gadgets vs those tested. Proton meanwhile use their base variant for these tests.

• jusknittin on Sep 08, 2021 at 2:51 pm

I doubt that the latest standard with AEB requirement will “fail” the car entirely. Question is, why does AEB exists since more than a decade ago but only currently being considered as requirement for ANCAP (as you said)? Isn’t it just an automated version of ABS?

• Avenger on Sep 08, 2021 at 11:05 pm

Read carefully again:
            (I cannot share with you the [total] cost of doing this, but full ADAS will definitely go beyond RM2,000 in terms of the [cost of] components to be added to the car. It also requires an update in the electrical and electronic architecture, because [the system] needs to communicate [with the car]. So that’s a big investment.)
            It goes way above 2k.

• AEB tech have been in existence for 20-30 years but EU still not yet make it mandatory to be equipped on all cars sold as of date.

• Truth on Sep 07, 2021 at 7:43 pm

what a shame

• RyanT on Sep 07, 2021 at 7:44 pm

Stupid question…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • jinggo on Sep 07, 2021 at 8:45 pm

the AEB will be available on next facelift MC3.. coming soon..

• kenot on Sep 07, 2021 at 9:15 pm

i understand if proton cannot offer AEB for this legacy model. however, what i don’t understand is some premium brands from europe still offer basic safety spec in our market. Even no AEB for rm200k+ car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • It is also safer to implement AEB for foreign middle cars like Vios, Almera, CRV, Civic, XTrail, etc too.

• Reg hi proton voice command, Adzrai said:
    “we were able to expand the functionality to the [driver’s] window and air-con because the ability to signal to [those components] is available in the unit. So we were able to apply these items without incurring a lot of investment and we could just tap into [the system] accordingly.”
    so Perodua or directly more to daihatsu, beat that, equip voice command feature ‘hi Ativa or hi myvi’ in your fleets of vehicles asap.

• Izhar on Sep 08, 2021 at 7:11 am

Hatchback Dacia Sandero kini menjadi model terlaris di Eropah, walaupun hanya memiliki penarafan dua bintang Euro NCAP disebabkan ketiadaan sistem brek kecemasan autonomi (AEB) berbanding pesaingnya.

“Di Dacia, kami tidak mengejar bintang Euro NCAP – ia bukan falsafah kami. Namun begitu, keselamatan pelanggan merupakan matlamat utama kami, dan disebabkan itu jugalah kenderaan kami mempunyai aspek keselamatan yang dipertingkatkan.

“Lima bintang Euro NCAP bermakna sesebuah kenderaan mempunyai pelbagai jenis kelengkapan elektronik, radar, kamera – kesemua perkara yang tidak diminta oleh pelanggan kami. Kereta dengan penarafan lima bintang Euro NCAP kini terlalu rumit, sehinggakan pelanggan tidak memahami fungsi dan kegunaannya,” tambah beliau.

• 30 year old car also got ABS. Aku Brake Sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • newuser on Sep 08, 2021 at 12:01 pm

IRIZ don’t need AEB, they just rely on voice command” Proton please stop the car when you about to hit the car in front” hahaha…voice command is comprehensive enough for safety….so funny…they don’t compromise the cost for safety…more about all the gadget thing which make excitement in the car and expose to the accident risk…

• Malaysians don’t care about safety features when buying a car. Like 10 years ago, they prefer to buy a Perodua without ABS and airbags.

• Ben Yap on Sep 08, 2021 at 5:47 pm

Proton is trying to say that crash prevention is not as important as protection during a crash. It’s like saying that cure is better than prevention.

• Brian on Sep 08, 2021 at 7:15 pm

Then why new City did not get AEB on all variants? Only RM100k HEV get all that stuff what about the S & E?