2024 Toyota Crown Hybrid spotted in Malaysia – are we really getting this weird sedan/SUV crossover?

We’ve not received the Toyota Crown in at least several decades, but now that the 16th-generation model is a global model, we might just be on the cusp of getting one again. Yours truly spotted one on the Federal Highway this afternoon undisguised and wearing Selangor trade plates, on its way to Glenmarie.

The latest Crown is a pretty odd vehicle – the iconic Japanese sedan has morphed into a sort of crossover, still with a discrete boot, bringing to mind cars like the short-lived Volvo S60 Cross Country. Adding to the weirdness are the abnormally wide lower grille, separated boot/rear end design and, on the car you see here, a flamboyant two-tone colour scheme.

All variants are powered by a hybrid powertrain, as denoted by the Hybrid Synergy Drive badge on the boot lid. This pairs a 186 PS/221 Nm 2.5 litre A25A-FXS naturally-aspirated engine with an electric motor to produce a total system output of 234 PS. There’s also a more powerful Dual Boost version available that swaps the NA engine for a 272 PS/460 Nm 2.4 litre T24A-FTS turbo mill, bumping total power to 349 PS.

Could UMW Toyota Motor be testing this bizarre sedan/SUV crossover for an eventual local launch? Well, the company has said that it wants to add more hybrid models to its lineup, but we’re not sure this was what it meant. It has already shown us a thinly-veiled hint of what it plans to bring in at the recent Beyond Zero event, and that is the Camry and Alphard/Vellfire Hybrid.

Those two vehicles stand a better chance at appealing to the typical Malaysian buyer than the Crown, which is a niche curiosity at best and an almost certain sales flop at worst.

After all, the Crown isn’t selling well in the US, another sedan-biased market slowly moving towards SUVs, so it doesn’t bode well for a potential Malaysian launch. On the other hand, Japanese-market Toyotas have sold reasonably well here before. Just ask the Harrier – and now that that car is set to be discontinued, perhaps the Crown could swoop in to take its place.

But we’re getting ahead of ourselves here. If you look closely at the front end, you’ll be able to spot the Crown badge instead of the regular Toyota oval found on international models. This points to the car being a Japanese-spec unit – a Crossover G “Leather Package”, in case you were curious.

As such, this unit is likely a grey import or, at most, an evaluation unit and no more. In fact, a quick perusal on a few classifieds websites revealed quite a few reconditioned Crowns on sale, priced between RM320,000 to RM470,000.

So, the Crown is probably not for us, then. But hey, doesn’t hurt to dream, right?

GALLERY: Toyota Crown Crossover

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Peppa on Mar 04, 2024 at 8:14 pm

Considering that plate, i suspect this will come here if not soon. You have no idea many Malaysians actually love this car. I have seen it three times in Klang. Much better looking in person

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Susukotak on Mar 04, 2024 at 8:15 pm

Cheaper yet way more powerful 349PS than the same segment Ferrari purosangue. Take my money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • I was thinking vw arteon. But the car is so low, scraping the bottom at slopes and bumps is a hassle. A higher riding saloon is not a bad idea for our roads. .

• Sohai on Mar 04, 2024 at 9:31 pm

As much as many like this car, it would not sell well because the pricing won’t make sense.
    Come or don’t come won’t matter that much.
    Unless the government again gives duty free to the hybrid.

• I bet this car is going to Singapore and sell it.

• The previous crown is one hell of a sexy machine. This one? Doesn’t look as luxurious or as classy as the previous one, but it does grab attention. Heard a few units on the road running around sold by recond dealers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Peppa on Mar 05, 2024 at 10:13 am

This gen Crown has four variants. The sedan variant is still based on rwd platform and look much better.

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 05, 2024 at 8:32 am

mimpi yang sempurna

• The crown sport Z spec might do much better if brought in. 2.5L hybrid engine with looks of Purosangue in red

• bersyukur on Mar 05, 2024 at 8:54 am

shud be 350k above.. LOL

• newme on Mar 05, 2024 at 8:54 am

Oh, this is weird. But if funny models like Good cat, Neta
    , Atto/Dolphine or Omoda, then the design is revolutionary?

• dumas on Mar 05, 2024 at 9:01 am

Tak payah lah kalau limpas tangan UMW Malaysia. dah nampak dah sales untuk Harrier, Alphard, Velfire, Estima…. tak laku pun. spec pun selalunya early adapter yg rugi.
    Biar je la kedai recond yang jual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Peppa on Mar 05, 2024 at 4:23 pm

Bro you have no idea regarding the backlog orders for Harrier, Alphard and Vellfire in Malaysia. The waiting times for these are almost a year. Jangan palatao please!

• dumas on Mar 05, 2024 at 4:47 pm

don’t bro me. I’d highly recommend u to check real data first, BRO. not just headlines or backlogs, PT-warrior. why the wise crack tho? no need for that palatao. for all that we know, ur just a ratty young kid acting smart behind the keyboard. what a dim.

• Peppa on Mar 05, 2024 at 9:20 pm

I have inside information coming directly from ASSB IQH(Toyota Malaysia logistic) itself. Again dont be palatao. If i cant bro you then what should i call you? A bitch? Alrighty

• Ex VGM staff on Mar 06, 2024 at 5:06 pm

Mana ada UMW lagi. SIme Darby dah ambil alih Toyota dan Perodua.

• Haidi on Mar 05, 2024 at 10:17 am

Is that “B5330A” belongs to Toyota Malaysia? Or is a grey?

• Haidi on Mar 05, 2024 at 10:18 am

Hell yea! I am so ready! I want the Sport (the big hatchback) not this one.

• 4GR-FSE on Mar 05, 2024 at 11:43 am

this is an interesting product.
    Just wondering of its market position in Malaysia. If it is CBU, it will be right up there competing with 5-series, E-class, X5, GLE, RX350. I doubt this will be CKD due to lack of economy of scale as Malaysian luxury car buyers are pretty brand conscious, the only Toyotas that are acceptable at the 250k and above mark are Alphard, Vellfire, and maybe Harrier. While Supra and Land Cruiser are very niche as well.

Crown will be a very niche product that appeal to a smaller group of buyers who want to stand out from the rest.

• Elizabeth on Mar 05, 2024 at 8:08 pm

a TNGA-Beast.
    3000mm wheelbase long Sedan with magic carpet ride.

• Jon Doe on Mar 08, 2024 at 9:27 pm

Crown sport MUCH BETTER!!