Chery Omoda 5 axle issue – vehicle being inspected and investigated, recall for small batch of customers

Chery Malaysia has issued an official statement following the circulation of a social media post regarding a customer’s Omoda 5 that apparently had its rear axle detach from the vehicle.

UPDATE: Chery Malaysia has issued a precautionary safety recall for 600 units of the Omoda 5. Follow-up statement here.

The owner of the vehicle involved alleges that the rear axle of the Omoda 5 had broken whilst being driven, without hitting any bumps or potholes, nor being involved in any accident.

This is the second case of a customer-unit Omoda 5 that had been publicised in viral social media content, the prior case being an alleged brake issue, for which Chery Malaysia issued an official statement earlier this month.

Statement by Chery Malaysia:

29 April 2024

OFFICIAL STATEMENT

Chery Auto Malaysia is committed to providing safe and reliable transportation solutions, and we are dedicated to ensuring that all our vehicles meet the highest safety standards.

We wish to provide an update on the recent matter regarding the axle of an OMODA 5 vehicle. Chery Auto Malaysia has contacted and is in communication with the customer. The vehicle has been brought to our service centre for a thorough inspection and investigation.

As a proactive measure and in line with our safety protocols, Chery Auto Malaysia is currently reaching out to the affected customers. For additional peace of mind, all customers who are concerned can book an appointment at their nearest service centre for a thorough inspection, all inspected vehicles will receive a full report.

In addition, and for added assurance to all Chery and OMODA customers who may have questions, the Chery Malaysia Customer Careline can be contacted at +603- 2771 7070.

Our sincere thanks to our customers and followers for your patience. We are committed to transparency and assure you of our unwavering dedication to quality and satisfaction.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• He Long Must on Apr 29, 2024 at 3:09 pm

God bless that lady she wasn’t driving fast or else…..

So guys, still wanna pro-PRC? Chery better hire qualified and experienced welders

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 18
    • Cherry Law on Apr 29, 2024 at 3:29 pm

And bossku’s legal team. Class action lawsuits coming to chery’s way

• Dah Menang Semua on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:51 pm

Lucky the driver didn’t
      travel hway 110km/h &
      those follow behind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • What a twisted logic you have there. If we criticise Daihatsu for the safety scandal, we automatically labelled as anti-Japan? When we say good things about Omoda or other Chinese brands, we become pro-China? Dont involve countries and their people when discussing about companies screw‐ups.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 23
    • Chery - We break cars without any brakes on Apr 30, 2024 at 3:27 am

Rear axle BREAK (Like)
      No working BRAKE (Dislike)

• suomynona on Apr 30, 2024 at 11:07 am

Proton’s ‘R&D’ & QC better avoid this from potentially happening, otherwise no other markets other than ours could save them

• Pussykom (busy counting money) on Apr 29, 2024 at 3:10 pm

We checked, no problem, it’s the driver’s problem

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 12
    • 4GR-FSE on Apr 29, 2024 at 3:41 pm

oh dear.. I think Puspakom is only able to check the basic stuff but not structural integrity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Puspakom, SIRIM, etc. in Bolehland… confidence-inspiring :hehe:

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Dah Menang Semua on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:47 pm

Never in life this would
      happen to Toyota/Honda
      throughout Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
      • Ramee on Apr 29, 2024 at 11:02 pm

Never in life this would
        happen to Proton/Perodua
        throughout Malaysia

• My wife just argued with me that no one wants to buy Japanese cars nowadays. Everyone shifted their preferences on China’s brands . Not only much cheaper but also comes loaded with features that Japanese brands are unable to offer.

Now I have the last laugh and continue teasing her of Chery Omada ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Shud tell ur wife, wat u pay wat u get else no ppl buy lexus RX or NX model ady looo

• What say you when Myvi had a similar problem many years ago??
          Daihatsu is under investigation for falsifying safety report in Japan???

• Wumao on Apr 29, 2024 at 9:01 pm

nice try prc wumao

• Not pro-PRC anymore on Apr 29, 2024 at 3:15 pm

Crucial suspension parts such as arms and axles should be casted as 1 single piece. Not welded by some 3 year old kid. Chery very blatantly cutting corners. PRC property developers are dead, their car manufacturers are next.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 15
    • Bob Mal on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:14 pm

China will say well that is the power of cronies company CKD in Malaysia.

Well can’t wait for what Puspabluff gonna say about this since they are so busy with kissing Chery while the Proton X70 engine burned in their eyes back in Oct23 until today also no news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • FireAce on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:55 pm

Bro, you are partially right. Welding can be used to join 2 pieces of metals together and it can be extremely strong and durable. You can see welding in all sort of industries and applications, from automotive industry to ship buildings to undersea piping carrying natural gas.
      However, the type of welding must be correct for the application and must be done correctly.

In this case, I suspect the axle didn’t complete the welding process, the few spots of welding as mentioned by the car owner is probably just the first step of welding to keep the 2 pieces in proper place before it gone through the whole process. In another words, it’s an incomplete axle that ends up on assembly line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
      • President Xi on Apr 29, 2024 at 10:33 pm

You think too far. I just wanna copy Iran’s kamikaze drones

• Advance Tech on Apr 30, 2024 at 9:34 am

It is the type of steel material quality used that can be seen breaking or testing into 2 pieces like laminar tearing instead of dented or twisted.

Carbon content for these car parts manufactured from communist China is not up to acceptable value .

Communist China should follow and give Malaysia buyers world standard quality not the TOFU communist China standard please.

Most mandarin educated Malaysian would be Pro Communist China buyers. Irrespective of quality, safety and durability

English or Western educated Malaysian will refuse or reluctant or doubtful or scare to buy any communist China products till the products are proven , safe and durable to use over time at the asking price.

Communist. China products mostly are Communist standard and not world standard compliance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Mudahlupa Wuhan on Apr 29, 2024 at 3:28 pm

“Axle issue” ? hahahha. It’s a crisis lah! cina/MY laser focused on latrine issues in India but can’t focus on making proper cars that would last longer than my Tamiya. ccp big bro loves you lmao!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Bat eating communists on Apr 29, 2024 at 10:36 pm

We didn’t achieve enough deaths by spreading Wuhan virus so now we activated Project Torsion Beam

• Mamin on Apr 29, 2024 at 3:28 pm

First brake issue and now axle issue? Maybe that lady should’ve bought an X50 or HRV instead of Omoda 5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Why not Corolla cross? X50 makan minyak, gearbox tersengguk2. HRV steering rack masala pusing kanan dia pigi kiri

• Next step, send the car to Puspakom to get a report.

• Jarod on Apr 29, 2024 at 3:48 pm

Well, people want cheap cars, there must be some corner-cutting to bring costs down although in this case, it’s dumb to cut corners to critical parts such as brakes or axles.

I’ve been working with PRC suppliers for quite some years… PRC can have very high quality stuffs coming out, just that are Malaysians willing to pay a price premium to get premium and high quality products instead of the proverbial “cheap nice beautiful” requirement to suppliers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • I told those B40s if they’re poor don’t buy imitation or copied products. Work hard safe enough then plunge your hard earned money into ORIGINAL products. Yet, they don’t listen. Keep buying substandard fake imitation products. Never learn

• Agreed. You get what you pay for. Don’t be fooled into thinking you’re getting good quality at a low price.

• Alex Yeo on May 01, 2024 at 2:11 am

The company I used to work OEM PRC components. My boss showed me how the components were actually superior than the German counterpart which they copied from. Indeed every perceivable parameters were beefed up and they cause less problem compared to the German originals.

And then he gave me a wisdom I’d remember for life. “Never haggle with the Chinese. They’ll reduce to your desired price but don’t take less profit. Instead they reduce the quality proportionally.”

• Sohai on Apr 29, 2024 at 3:57 pm

Need to recall and add more elephant glue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • newme on Apr 29, 2024 at 3:57 pm

People don’t call middle kingdom products a tofu-dreg for no reason.

• madein_china on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:02 pm

crappy china car broke down near chansowlin midea, also maker of crap china appliances.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • We investigated ourselves and found that we have done nothing wrong

• Keith on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:22 pm

Didn’t turn into a lemon for sure. Maybe, a cherry tomato.

• Bye Chery on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:23 pm

Chery never learn… Many years ago, when they came to Malaysia, it was quality issues. Now years later, still quality issues! If I’m Chery salesperson, I would be very afraid and jump ship now cause no one would wanna buy Chery soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Chery salesman on Apr 29, 2024 at 8:01 pm

I would jump down from my PPR flat bcoz the souls of my poor customers come back to haunt me for product pushing and mis-selling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Ben Yap on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:28 pm

Chery should just buy back the car and give additional monetary compensation.

• Yeahsure on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:30 pm

What a death trap this is… Ccp ftw!

• Lala Land on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:37 pm

This is one mistake that will be so damaging to the brand. Good luck to recover from it.

• Proton Oh Proton on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:43 pm

China Car Reliability and Safety doubtful

• potential buyers who see this news, would 99% cancel I assume. how will chery deal with this ? even lower price, the danger is a put-off

• Painful experience on Apr 29, 2024 at 5:00 pm

This brand reputation down the drain ady, still got people dare to buy a rm120k car with safety issues? Even existing owners will be regretful and thinking of selling off at low price.

• Katheryne Wong on Apr 29, 2024 at 5:00 pm

Dont buy Cherry cars, it was designed for profits, not from car enthusiasts (e.g. VW, Audi, BMW,Merc, Honda, Toyota etc).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • President Xi on Apr 29, 2024 at 9:39 pm

You wrong. Chery is owned by the CCP gomen. Chery cars were build for kamikaze not profit

• Nissan van owner on Apr 30, 2024 at 7:01 am

True ma’am my nissan van run well in 5 years

• suomynona on Apr 30, 2024 at 11:04 am

As Clarkson said, ‘Made by Corporations who want to make money’..like the Kelisa

• Bieight8 on Apr 29, 2024 at 5:12 pm

She should have buy tiggo 8 with independent rear suspension…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Sisix6 on Apr 29, 2024 at 10:28 pm

She should asked her bank why approved her hire purchase

• DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2024 at 11:42 pm

Chery independent multi-link rear suspension layout = more broken joints and linkages from tofu dreg sheet metal and spot welds

• how much time need to replace axle on May 02, 2024 at 1:29 pm

Engineers from Lowyat School of Automotive said 1 Week

I tot monkey can works faster than that?

• Mastermind on Apr 29, 2024 at 5:19 pm

Is my eyes broken or it look like spot welding only? Old time we call proton and perodua tin milo, this one may be zip tie connection

• Slavefart on Apr 29, 2024 at 10:29 pm

This one made from paper cups

• WeeWee on Apr 30, 2024 at 1:25 pm

is probably a multistage process.
      The spot welding is to fix it on the right spot, for the subsequent processes to weld it properly and apply anti rusting etc.

This looks like a batch that didnt go through the whole process and slipped the QC. I am interested to know the part is locally supplied, or is China import.

• Penguin on Apr 29, 2024 at 5:22 pm

all the problem starts to emerge. im laughing at those who bash other brands thinking they bought a good car. fancy features + extravagant design doesnt equal to quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • China cytro on Apr 29, 2024 at 9:45 pm

Even pro-palestine who is pejuang tegar CCP, BYD and PRC is no where to be seen now. He no come out sapot us anymore. SEDIH!

• Chery broke again on Apr 29, 2024 at 5:29 pm

Aiyo, I would rather buy toyota over cherry fruit ah

• Puspakom trick dah guna. What’s next?

Does these car brands IATF or at least ISO certified?

• Darvinraj on Apr 29, 2024 at 5:56 pm

Had plan to consider jaecoo but still want to hold on .

• Cherry Law on Apr 29, 2024 at 9:33 pm

For your life, we urge you to consider other brands. Don’t risk your life

• Sam Seng Song on Apr 29, 2024 at 6:15 pm

Seems like the welding crack, rusted and broke.
    The welding barely penetrated the bushing boss.
    Maybe welding crack, then rust started in the cracks and then the part broke.
    Looks like the designer and production didn’t consider the welding process correctly.
    Even Proton designed axle fabricated by local vendor also doesn’t have this problem….I think.
    Btw, usually only high end cars use casting arms because it’s expensive, and single piece subframes/axles is even more expensive .. gigacasting is very costly.

• He Long Must on Apr 29, 2024 at 9:50 pm

Good things don’t come cheap
      Cheap things don’t come good
      M3 SR – RM181k, LR – RM210k & Performance – RM242k
      Prices commensurate with quality, performance & most importantly peace of mind
      Drive my cars knowing you’ll arrive at your destination safe
      Not like some fruit brand you drive you scared you end up in an ambulance or worst in a hearse

• Nix nuru on Apr 30, 2024 at 1:10 am

Makes you wonder how long can it withstand the rigors of use, and our road conditions in the years ahead? As long as dont come out after inspection say ‘this is driver/road condition fault, not our car’

• Herdoh on Apr 30, 2024 at 12:15 pm

Did they weld on the painted steel?

• Jelly QQ on Apr 29, 2024 at 6:22 pm

Come on lah… 2 reported incidents only mah. Proton lagi byk…ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Itachi on Apr 29, 2024 at 8:12 pm

Ye proton byk tpi kena dgn hrga ni hrga ratus ribu safety like kangkong

• Anasonic on Apr 29, 2024 at 9:52 pm

Hellooo, proton is national price we can turn a blind eye. Chery is CCP pride we must kondem & boikot

• Cherry law on Apr 29, 2024 at 6:30 pm

You still dare to drive these defective vehicles after the torsion beams are rewelded or ask for a full refund + interest paid on your hire purchase?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • First, brake issues. Many die hard fans commented that that lady does not know how to apply the brake. Second, axle issue, what else can the die hard fans say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Hong Yee Hong on Apr 29, 2024 at 7:07 pm

Oh, only small batch of cars are affected. I am sure all #Omoda5 owners feel ease now.

• Nirvana on Apr 29, 2024 at 10:01 pm

I believe the owners can see their lives flashing before their eyes whenever they get into their vehicles

• JPJ should issue a stop operation order to all omakan modal 5 owners and ban these vehicles from the road until buah ceri fixed each and every unit. Unless JPJ wanna see omakan modal 5s flipping over and turning turtle on our highways and roads

• Durian China on Apr 29, 2024 at 7:14 pm

Early demise to buah ceri? President Xi not gonna be happy about this

• Xi is more related to Geely ( Proton owner ), his wife is the sister of Geely boss wife.

• Never learned your lesson. Told you many times don’t buy china cars don’t wanna listen. Sekarang siapa susah? Market value dah turun. Insurance cover tak cukup. Eksiden ke total loss ke korang nak topup bank? Nanti banyak yg bankrap muflis meroyan la korang nanti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Ketua pemuda terpaling nabi on Apr 29, 2024 at 7:31 pm

Kalo aku bulih buat kepci tutup lebih 100 kedai kat mesia, buah ceri ni senang je aku nak suruh orang boikot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Minah meroyan on Apr 29, 2024 at 7:56 pm

Hari tu aku meroyan brake tak makan korang hentam aku. Korang tengok la. Buah ceri nak ambik nyawa orang ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Frankc on Apr 29, 2024 at 8:26 pm

Do we have national transport safety board to look into these two complaints? Is it under transport ministry purview?
    In my opinion a relevant body must move in now and not let the vendor investigate in isolation. If there’s real case, then should issue stop work order to address under quality work. Unfit vehicle should not be on the road. Equally important is car assembled locally that hv shown poor quality that affect roadworthiness of vehicles

• Yes? You asking me? Kita akan pantau dari jauh dulu. PRK KKB lagi penting. Aku nak kempen untuk amoi dulu

• Kea Was on Apr 30, 2024 at 9:23 am

No worries because according to our investment man he mention that APs will come and save the day by having APs we will be guaranteed to have guaranteed safety in EV cars.

• Gomorrah on May 02, 2024 at 11:21 am

Shhhhhhh…we cannot afford to offend superpower maaa…east or west, we just distract the rakyat with BS instead of actually looking after them. SOP since 1981

• Jorgensen Kan Tek Su at Golden Sun Auto Acc on Apr 29, 2024 at 8:53 pm

Apa lagi tunggu tunggu BoyCot saja la. I selling good Japanese half cut at Kepong look for me I give special price

• Cherry Tomato on Apr 29, 2024 at 9:51 pm

Actually this axle issue not only happened on chery, BYD and other cina brand also having similar problems.Cina quality….. it is normal…..

• how come no one point to the local car assembler of the omoda 5? there has no responsibility? where’s the QC?

• Malaysians MALAP are a disgrace on Apr 29, 2024 at 10:58 pm

Isnt that model Made in MALAYSIA?
    Inokom Kedah a Great company of SimeDarby

• idiot on Apr 30, 2024 at 1:18 am

the car is cheap for a reason lah you think a big company that earn billion per year in revenue will be so kind give you that give you this at a fraction of the cost compare to other you get what you pay nothing more. i rather be an idiot buy ‘overpriced’ and ‘outdated’ toyota/honda.

• Chery broke again on Apr 30, 2024 at 6:59 am

Goes I would choose toyota over cherry fruit

• At the bolehland, with this type of defect which is extreme danger… only recall small batch and volunteer inspection? Wow… make me think 10x to buy

• Safety First on Apr 30, 2024 at 8:55 am

We need a pause. MoT must prioritise safety of Malaysians. The victim could be you, your family, your friend. It is a product that is highly dangerous without safety and quality built.

It takes years of pain and experience to design, and build a safer car, and by no means it is 100% assured if along the fabicating and assembly processes, something wrong could happen. Even with refutable brands, we do hear recalls on and off.

When many Chinese EVs startup rushed making BEVs, I am worried about the safety of their cars.

• Panjang on Apr 30, 2024 at 9:14 am

Not enough ‘heat’ in welding process. Can clearly see the weld is only on the surface and did not ‘penetrate’.
    Wonder which area suffer from similar issue.
    If u ask me, this is a critical flaw which should ‘grounded’ all similar models which undergo that flawed process. Having the axle snap off at any speed is a disaster.

• Had my mind set to buy the EV…but it’s a big no now, not taking risk killing myself and people around me along the way.
    If this issue caused an accident..you think Chery will take responsibility for it?..

• Alex Wong on Apr 30, 2024 at 10:38 am

QC mana? QC Mana! Beautiful design but problem with assembly. Is Cherry going to recall every car to check the rear axle for incomplete welding? How about all the other welding of the car? Remove everything for inspection?

• Later chery gonna sue the customer

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Apr 30, 2024 at 2:37 pm

Very soon all Omoda owners will be screaming OMODA…!!! OH MOTHER…!!! :slaps forehead:

• Later everyone can enjoy cheap omoda 5 and the 2nd hand omoda 5 will be dirt cheap too. We’ll done chery. U shud work more and take quality seriously especially automobile. Else dun enter Malaysia market.

• James KWON on Apr 30, 2024 at 3:42 pm

can check on youtube all the videos that people manage to send out of China since western social media is not allowed there. see how much problem with Chinese brands, BYD, XIOMI SU7, GWM, etc.. customers are angry and not happy with them they. you notice all Chinese cars interior is almost same as they copy each other. respected brands like XPENG, NIO joining forces with VW and Mercedes to protect themselves. its really unfortunate that cheap substandard Chinese cars are flooding to ASEAN and people buy them because they are cheap and not because they are good cars. In China itself almost all middle class and up go for overseas proper brands.

• ROTI CANAI on May 05, 2024 at 1:34 pm

CKD done at sime darby inokom plant at kulim. please investigate sime darby for sabotage.

• Saiful on May 17, 2024 at 4:11 pm

I think this like sabotage thingy because Im as a chery user, It is been 8 years Im using chery sedan model but so far dont have any problem.