Honda Civic Concept Mugen 2.0 Limited Edition

mugencivicconcept2.jpg

Honda Malaysia has announced the availability of a limited edition Honda Civic Concept Mugen, a 90 unit run of the Honda Civic 2.0S equipped with a MUGEN bodykit which consists of a front and rear lip, side skirts and a rear wing, and MUGEN GP 17 inch wheels which comes in either gunmetal or bronze. On the interior, the serial number of the car will be displayed on a plague on the dashboard for bragging rights ;)

Out of the 90 units, 50 will come with bronze wheels while the remaining 40 will have the gunmetal version. Done up in a nice Neutron Blue color, the Honda Civic Concept Mugen was developed to commemorate Honda’s 4 consecutive years of outstanding performance in the MME Class A race, as well as a recently achieved milestone of 100,000 registered cars on the road. Of course, the Honda Civic 2.0S also won the Autocar Asean Overall Car of the Year 2006 and the Midsize sedan/hatch 2006 category.

The Honda Civic Concept Mugen will be available in Honda dealers from 22nd November 2006 onwards, and will retail at RM141,800.00 inclusive of road tax and insurance. More photos after the jump. (Updated!)

mugencivicconcept3.jpg

mugencivicconcept1.jpg

mugencivicconcept4.jpg

mugencivicconcept5.jpg

mugencivicconcept6.jpg

civicshowroom.jpg

civicshowroom2.jpg

civicshowroom4.jpg

civicshowroom5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 11:25 pm

Wow, nice design and look but the price of RM 141K is a deterrent.

• alamak (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 11:25 pm

Wah damn ONS!! I want 2!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 11:54 pm

Wonder why they mixed same body colour but TWO different wheel colours? So the car is basic 2.0 Sedan with:

a) Mugen Aero Kit

b) Mugen Wheels

c) Interior plaque?

I suggest they add Mugen pedals, Mugen brake line kit, Mugen Airbox, Mugen slotted brake disc, Mugen Suspension, etc. Anyway better than not having a Type R, and I'm sure Honda fans will snap up the 90 units in no time.

• Mb_321 (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 12:03 am

haha.. 1st Honda launched the RX for their MME title.. then R3 launched the MME edition to contra n now Honda fight back wth Mugen Edition.. Good..! :-)

• i'm run (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 12:07 am

I think the car looks better in red though.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 12:12 am

The original RX 1.7 was in 2003. Next up, RX 2.0. Followed up with a few others with Enkei wheels (no special badging) and now this Mugen Civic. But fans want the real thing … a real 220PS 6MT Type R.

• superman (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 12:24 am

maibatsu_thunder said,

November 14, 2006 @ 3:54 pm

I suggest they add Mugen pedals, Mugen brake line kit, Mugen Airbox, Mugen slotted brake disc, Mugen Suspension, etc.

By the time all that is added, plus installation, the car will be priced TOO high.

Anyway the base car is an Auto. Doubt the Auto buyers would appreciate the performance parts you listed.

It's more cosmetics job though I must say them Mugen wheels look very good.

All in all considering it's FACTORY FITTED and Approved plus ORIGINAL Mugen parts RM141k+ is Good value.

If I were in the market for a RM 120-150k Jap 4-door family sedan with "sporting" looks I'd buy one.

Sure beats a "Nismo" Sentra anyday.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 12:30 am

This car will definitely be a nice show off item as it is limited and fully kitted. But to be honest performance add ons will be the stuff Honda purists look for. If they at least slapped in the twin loop exhaust, sport intake, lowering kits, sport ecu and sorts this thing will fly.

The car not just have to look good, it has to sing (the vtec song) good too lol..

Aside from that, the wheel design is very suitable for this car IMO.

• Xoomie (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 12:53 am

Blue car + Bronze wheels is so "Impreza"ish

Why dont Honda paint it white, red or even black. It would be more delicious

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 1:04 am

It's a good bargain car if imported from Japan as CBU. Again, most of us can't afford one due to dump taxing scheme.. damp.

• drM (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 1:15 am

this is good. but at about RM18-20K higher compared to the one Honda Malaysia got here, I think its a big problem. has anyone ever plonk in the Mugen accs on their Civic separately? berbaloi kah?

but cheers to the special edition. it is fantastic and MAYBE worth to own.

ps- Mugen dont touch the engine aah?

• KL-ATR (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 1:22 am

Very nice blue! Mugen kits are always yummy but the rims are a little plain looking… for my taste. I think they should have another run with performance bits included, like those Wald units. Those sold pretty well so there is a market for kitted out cars. A step in the right direction, Honda. Now give us the Type-R!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 1:36 am

Sorry, I don't like this Metalic Blue. Please change to Red or Orange or Silver or Black that's will be a better choice for me.

Also, I don't like GOLD color Rims, take it off please.

• J (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 1:41 am

wow ! exciting news ! I thought this is too quick..

usually car makers will only make a so called "Limited Edition" when their product is going "end of life".

but as we know waiting list for Civic 2.0 is about 5 months, yet they offer another hot item.

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 7:12 am

Nice looking car but it's just bodykit and rims, would be nice if they throw in performance bits too.

• cyborgx (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 8:20 am

limited edition no performance part meh? adui

• engtaokia (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 8:21 am

nice upgrade afterall, but abit dissapointed they not upgrade engine performance :(

• BobMarley (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 10:11 am

Need some power to back up the sportier looks.

****PAUL****

…I saw on another site that nissan released the new skyline in Japan? Just wondering if your gonna post anything on it. I would like to see what people on this site think about it (since i am very dissapointed with it).

thanks

• labuan_world (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 3:53 pm

…the body colour with gold rims color not really match to me…….want to beat mit evo exterior design ?……….

• kington (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 4:43 pm

I think the spoiler's too Beng for the new Civic. To me, this new Civic has a very elegant and futuristic blend of curves and styling cues to make it a more attractive mid exec car and hence, i'm ok with that spoiler on an EG or an EK or even the ES but this one's quite out of place, to me at least.

I'd rtaher have it with a lower spoiler, darker tints, HID fog lamps and Honda, PLEASE…. give us a manual box …. with some basic performance enhancement parts… more like a Type S to make it an easier car for everyday use….

• siacw (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 4:44 pm

some bodykit and 17 inch tyre that's all? For additional 15K? Thanks, but no thanks for me.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 4:54 pm

If it jsut the bodykit and upgraded tyres/wheels..that premium seems a bit off. If it has some uprated suspension and brakes, I can call it resonable (aiks…can't believe I just called a 140k car..resonable)

However, this so called limited "sports" model missed out one one design flaw of the new civic. It desperately needed wider tyres to fill the wheelwells. Not sure if other people notice it, but the front tyres sit to far inside the body.

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 4:55 pm

17inch tyre? that 17" rubber is sitting on mugen forged alloy rims, super strong, super lightweight, and they cost almost RM10,000. and the rims are not gold, they're bronze, or gunmetal, which is a common colour for civic wheels, for example, volk racing TE37's which come in the same colours and are common on civics.

some bodykit? maybe you should go check on the price of an original mugen bodykit.

its pricey, but i think the biggest advantage is, everything is factory fitted. this should be the car for those who can afford it, and dont want the hassle of sourcing everything themselves, and are probably matured boyracers who dont need too much power anymore.

• Dogster (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 5:06 pm

141k kenot la. stupid g. 41k CAN!

• Igloo (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 5:23 pm

So it's about 13k additional for genuine MUGEN parts, based on RM10,000 for the rims, only 3k is charged for front and rear lips, side skirts and rear wing? Is Honda Malaysia not earning profit? I am sure they do get more value from MUGEN but only in bulk purchasing.. if you are into MUGEN, then this is for you. To me, i think the colour is outstanding, different from the usual black, silver, bronze, red & bluish silver civic you see on the road. But the others – rims and rear wing… you even see some civic is carrying it.

• transformer (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 5:29 pm

"a recently achieved milestone of 100,000 registered cars on the road."

Dear, Paul

Do you mean 100k Civic sold in M'sia or global volume ?

• 007 (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 10:23 pm

I dont like the blue color, it made it like a "Impreza STi copy cat"

I thought the Silverstone Metalic represent the "Mugen color" ??

If it come with some performance parts such like the exhaust , airbox to enchance the power that will be even more yummy rather than just the look.

• 007 (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 10:32 pm

I dont like the blue color, its like a "Subaru Impreza STi COPY CAT" , I thought the Silverstone Metalic represent the Mugen color ???

If it come with some performance part such like a full set of exhaust system from the extractor till the muffler & the airbox to enchance the power that will be even more yummy, rather than just having the sporty look..

• damion (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 11:01 pm

a little update on the specs from Paul's initial one..

– Mugen Rear Wing

– Mugen Rear Under Spoiler

– Mugen Side Spoiler

– Mugen Front Under Spoiler

– Mugen 17" GP rims w/ Michelin Pilot Preceda 215/45 tyres

– Mugen wheel nut & lock set (lightweight)

Seen the car in flesh during the soft launch..

pictures may say a thousand words but seeing it in details is another..

tremendously handsome especially with the Neutron Blue.. looks nothing like the STi i assure you…

igloo, that's why it's limited to 90 units only…

its a commemoration model, not mass produced…

price factor affects a big portion to why they didn't fit in performance parts..

the offset would be too great and i don't think with all the performance parts such as airbox, extractor, complete exhaust system, sports suspensions and a price tag of RM160K(let's say) would appeal to you?

or any sane buyers…

you would be complaining then that the performance parts costs too much and you can do it cheaper at sunway or any other parts of the world you're modifying it…

007, waja look like lancers n bora.. juara looks like a loaf of bread..

i dont see people complaining..

ok, except maybe for the juara part… :D

• foreverunited (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 12:15 am

mamamia….**drooling**

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 1:43 am

still look shy

• nangkel (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 3:46 am

dear paul,

any pictures from inside, outside look nice

• nangkel (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 3:46 am

he he nice

• kakimotor (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 4:25 am

Rm141k for a facelift mugen looks tolong la. If the price include mugen tuned engine its a fair bargain. The 1.8 cost only 116K, so would you spend another 30k for the mugen facelift body kit. If we bought the bodykit ourself the most is 10k plus.

• ak03 (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 4:31 am

nice.. but the 17" looks small on the car.. and the bronze color not nice either..

• sloth (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 5:56 am

Add RM3-4k to RM141k can get a Mazda6 2.0 (now comes with 5 speed auto) hehehe…

ps: this facelifted Mazda6 is still made in Japan (i.e. CBU) right?

• RM (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 7:05 am

RM141k is a lot of dough to cough up to have an aesthetically improved Civic 2.0. Buy it if you love it but mind you soon we’ll be seeing local replica kits for a fraction of the price thus diluting the “so called” exclusivity. Replica Mugen wheels made somewhere else is already in the market. Point is, if you’re buying because you only want to be “exclusive” than think again. If it’s for the love of the ride then go shopping first.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 7:08 am

I thought honda has an optional mugen kit for around 6k right?

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 7:23 am

Oh you here at last… hehe

• Initial D (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 8:11 am

ooooooooo…………..nice nice………external………but ……..still lack of any perfomance parts is one of the mugen upgrade drawbck, although the price is the main factor…………….anyway, stil a vry gd looking car.

Cheers!!!!!

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 5:19 pm

some people can live with "replica" bodykits and rims, but others can't. end of the day, you pay for what you get.

These 17" forged alloy rims weigh the same as most 15" rims. They are also very strong. try getting that in a replica.

i wouldnt call it exclusive, i think peace of mind is a better word, knowing that your rims are what they are, and the bodykit is what they are. these things cost a whole lot more for a reason other than just looks.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 8:05 pm

Hmmm, but in hindsight … can't I just buy a used DC5 Integra Type R for around 150k or even less these days!!?

• cyber (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 9:57 pm

Anyone knows whether the civic 2.0 gearshift will auto blib when doing a down shift?

TQ

• cyber (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 10:00 pm

Anyone knows whether the civic 2.0 gearshift will auto blib when doing a downshift? In addition, is it using the same gearbox as the one in the Stream?

• cyber (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 10:04 pm

A bit off topic, anyone knows whether the civic 2.0 gearshift will auto blip the rev when doing a downshift? Or is it using the same gearbox with the Stream?

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 11:26 pm

no "autoblip", its an automatic gearbox with a torque convertor. its not an automated manual in the mold of AMT, Selespeed, SMG..etc.

• offroader manix (Member) on Nov 23, 2006 at 11:51 pm

btw any manual transmission ?

• Brutalized (Member) on Nov 23, 2006 at 11:57 pm

This is a sleek thing n is a colective item i was in honda plant on 18th Nov on my visit REALLY FALL FOR IT

only the rims gonna cost more then $10k

All orignal mugen products are expensive the cheapest goes at $500 like oil fuel cap, padle and visor so i think the price is resonable

• w_lighter (Member) on Nov 24, 2006 at 7:30 am

I doesnt look very nice in the actual pictures.

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 7:19 am

gonna be a fight for the gunmetal coloured versions then.

if its CBU from japan its worth it. if its CBU from thai then get something else. its a good car already. just that if you got the money to cough up for a top spec civic. then u most likely can afford something else one class higher for the same price.

for entry level cars from toyota or honda they usually just do the cosmetic upgrades. which may still be worth it since its factory fitted and also parts from mugen. the picture would change though if it was some proton plus some slap on performance cosmetics and they called it special mme edition.

i must say the championship white ones still look better. maybe the ones in us and japan are selling well thats why they also doing it here.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 11:27 am

How sure are you that those are japan made bodykit? But I like the Civic, it's a great family car.

All mAzda6 are still CBu from Japan. They do not have an assembly line for the 6 in Thailand, but they do have one in phillipines.

I rather the new Mazda6 then an Ah Beng-nized Civic.

I remember one report in CBt claiming that the car's IP is so modern. Well, if it is so high tech and modern, how come it cannot inform you how many km can you go before the tank runs dry? Even the stupid Gen2 has that DTE (Distance to Empty) function.

• offroader manix (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 9:06 am

UGLY…….only one words.

At this price who the hell wants it ?

141K………those can afford already into Camry and Accord.

• ic3johan (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:37 am

WAH NO BASHING???

i wonder why when proton only do costemic change ppl bash like no tomorow but when honda do it? all say good good worth it bla bla..

be reasanable next time.. for our own good also :)

• owaief (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 12:41 am

civic=ugly

• ck (Member) on Dec 19, 2006 at 6:06 pm

The car is damn cool. Looking at the pictures and the REAL thing is totaly different especially the dashboard. Must by 4D or Toto tommorow…

Anyway, Camry and Accord is a different class to compare with the sporty Civic.

If you are a family man, Camry or Accord would be more suitable as it's more classy. However, a young executive – I bet Civic will be the choice (provided that he had the money).

• act (Member) on Jan 08, 2007 at 5:00 am

Its really cool! Only limited people can afford it and that's why it is called Limited Edition of Civic Mugen. Without Mugen suspension & others Mugen accessories also it can be considered as one of finest car developed by Honda!

Ps: Can't wait to own 1 by end of this month!

• mutt (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 5:54 pm

paint, spoiler, rims, all can do below RM20k

• Malu tp Mau on Oct 24, 2009 at 1:26 am

Guys..need advise here…

Where the best place to do conversion to all these Mugen things?

What the Best price I would get?

Materials would be factor I think..heard from my fren ABS is the best material..

any opinion?

Cheers..

• fknbz on Nov 22, 2009 at 1:00 am

the tyres is 215/50 17, so its look small =)

• what about the fuel consumption for this new model Honda 2.0 auto is it fuel economy? if compare with camry 2.0? I’m heard that, this type of Civic for the fuel is not economy or in other words same as Proton Perdana v6..