Honda Civic Mugen RR – with circuit lap video!

Mugen has put it’s tuning touches on the Honda Civic Type-R sedan, which reduces it’s weight by 10kg and boosts power output of the high revving 2.0 litre i-VTEC engine to 240 horsepower at 8,000rpm – a boost of 15 horsepower. Peak torque of 217Nm is achieved at a high rev range of 7,000rpm.

Other upgraded features include a new Mugen bodykit, upgraded brakes, a new suspension kit, new wheels and tires and Mugen-badged Recaro bucket seats.

The Honda Civic Mugen RR has a limited edition production run – only 300 units will produced, finished in the Milan Red paint you see in these photos.

More photos and a video of the Honda Civic Mugen RR doing a lap around Japan’s Tsukuba circuit after the jump.

Video: Honda Civic Mugen RR

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nyawere (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 11:28 pm

waa………….

This is a car i dont mind having, but come to think of it additional 15 horses only …?? how much more do we need to fork out…?

I would go fot the standard 4 door civic type-r, I dont know how much is the difference, but form what i know about the prices of the mugen parts, it's not going to be worth it.

Still, a fantastic car..!!!!! 240 horses from a n NA 2 litre engine..!!!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 11:45 pm

the one from honda already has everything upgraded from the uk civic type r which in person doesnt look that good. good choice for girl honda type r fans though.

just wish they removed the mugen badges off the seat and car. looks like a cheap logo even though its expensive parts.

this japan model replaces the integra type r so we can expect more from the new ITR. and please give us a new engine. at least 2.4 litre.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 11:48 pm

ppeerrggghhh…nice…but still gt other choice instead of buying dis car..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 11:56 pm

Well.. better stick my money on the VW golf GTi, evo 10 or impreza WRX STI.. This car will cost a lot man.. With a mugen name on it, i think cost more then 30-50% of the original price..

• jonnyblaze (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 12:03 am

There's rumour that we may get the CTR next year.

How much will a CTR and CTRR cost?

• Infinitt (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 12:19 am

Wow..i like it !! Very nice.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 12:53 am

nice new bodykit design….with that milan red…whoo! sweet ride…those rims are the bom! blacks the future man!

• nmh (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 12:55 am

Weight reduce only 10 kg! Can we feel the difference or just the 'feel'. Just like their NSX using whatever advance material to replace the leather part under the gearknob to save a few microgram. Its ridiculous for mugen to talk bout weight saving i think. Next time rid at about 100kg, then mugen can say bout weight saving. But overall is demn hot.

• I my (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:22 am

Love those Vtec w/ high REV!!….

• exodust (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:26 am

240hp and 217Nm/159lb-ft of torque.. Sounds just like the specs of a Honda s2000, except in a 4-door front wheel drive car. Still, its impressive for a N/A and I love how it looks. Cheers for Mugen for another brilliant car!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:45 am

nice bodykit, nice specs, the diffuser, the pipes, the red paint, really great!!But still can't beat my Evo…. (no offense)

Available in Malaysia?????

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:49 am

ya, btw, where is the paddle shifter??

• Paul Tan on Jul 03, 2007 at 2:10 am

it is manual, what paddle shifter?

• armandd (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:06 am

sweet, they managed to squeeze out 240hp from a 2.0l motor! i wonder how long the engine will last though =p. the bodykit is marvellous

• szw (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:25 am

i like the twin exhaust design .

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:28 am

Wow, I like this car. May I have one please? Expensive to own one, perhaps have to buy Jackpot, win money and buy this car.. (Just kidding). I really like the Mugen bodykit fitted in this car.

• KidDie (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:42 am

cantikknyeee

• ab (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:53 am

anyone who read evo magazine will know that honda's new type r civic is not that good, but that is the less power no lsd uk hatch version, lets hope this is much better…maybe like the old dc2 intergra type-r?

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:14 am

This ain't the dominator, yet it's as close as it can get. Absolutely hot though. But just 10kg?. Hm…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:16 am

wow, I would like to have that!

• transformer (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:00 am

try check this 1.6L NA from Nissan
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_SR_engine

SR16VE – 175PS 161Nm

SR16VE N1 – 200PS 181Nm

K20A 2.0L – 240PS 217Nm

change mind ?

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 6:00 am

BTw forgot to type dis….the led brake liht rocks! really looks like it came from a FI car…

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 8:22 am

i very like the small led light at the bottom behind. cool f1 style!!!

• king (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 8:44 am

what a great looking bodykit. if honda brings dis model to malaysia…it will surely boost the sales of the standard civic.

sigh…….drool…..:)~~~~~~

• king (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 8:44 am

what a great looking bodykit. if honda brings dis model to malaysia…it will surely boost the image and sales of the civic.

sigh…….drool…..:)~~~~~~

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:54 pm

This is not a proper track car. With the assumed price range it's gonna be in, we're better off with an Impreza Sti

• exodust (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:45 pm

It will most likely still be cheaper than a STi, and being a Honda at least we know build quality guaranteed will be pretty good (since its not produced in the Thai factory). Plus, no Impreza, WRX or STi looks half as good as this Civic. Subaru designs are at the most just alright

• viceice (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:06 pm

A Paddle shift with it's TC would never do such a sweet engine justice. I mean, I'm by no means a seasoned driver, yet I think the lag between the time you pull on the paddle shift and when the shift actually happens is so long, I bet I could shift faster with a clutch and a stick.

my 2 sen.

• sacker85 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 6:38 pm

… another beauty release from mugen, looks great, but i don like it, yeah, with a mugen badge and 10+hp and some mugen bodykits cost too high, too xpansive, this is jus a cv and i don know what a cv can do, maybe u can drive this car to tackle gals gua? a sport sedan? i don think so, maybe a SPORT FAMILY SEDAN GUA?hehe…yeah! i do agree with u mitlanevo.mit-evolution is much more better than this car la, 4wd,s-ayc… bla bla bla. these already state that mitsu is not dreaming like what honda dreams( THE POWER OF DREAM). mitsu is making evolution and more powerful cars instead of just adding some bdkit and 10-20hp more output for a type -r model… guys plz wait for the evo10 .

evo, sti,, european's bullet -VW GTi-R, new C4, clio v6,180R,opc…ect would be a better choice .

• droll (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 7:10 pm

there are merits to a NA car vs a FI car. both have good and bad points. for people who have been playing a long time with turbo engines, they know the problems those suffer. so a NA can be an attractive option in our hot weather.

yes, CTR FD2 will be coming to m'sia this year. but limited edition units only just like the civic with the mugen bodykit that is sold. i guess price around 200 to 220k?

it's a pity though..this is a really fun car to drive. ask yourself deep down inside what you are looking for. if you want comfort and something easier to mod then go pick something like the rabbit. a turbo engine is easier to mod with just some boost increase. hell, just put in a APR or Unichip and you get some easy access to horsies.

but modding a NA 2.0L to squeeze out some extra power isn't easy. i'm quite sure we will never see the lights of this car in our shores so a more viable option is to buy the CTR JDM and find out what mugen's mods are and retrofit it. honestly though, 220PS out of the K20A is a damn awesome drive already.

in stock form, i dare bet this car will smoke a regular Golf GTI MarkV both on the straight and on the corners. plus, more importantly, it's a stick. :) you just can't replace the feeling of pressing on the clutch with your left foot and dropping gears as you power out of a corner.

sweeeet!

• droll (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 7:15 pm

if you just wan pure power, there are many other cars you can buy. evo rm280k for example.

but damn man….how many places in KL you get to fully utilize your fully modded evo with some ridiculous hp output like 400bhp or a skyline gtr vspec with some mad 600bhp?

the CTR JDM is a car you can live with and drive on a daily basis and it looks decent – not too ah beng-ish. try sitting in a car that does 0-100 in 6.5s and you will find that the power is damn fun already. you can be king of the road most of the time. hahahahaha. it's not all about who's faster but about what puts a smile in your face when you get into the car and rocket away!

• HenryChang (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 7:31 pm

The Unicons said,

July 2, 2007 @ 7:28 pm

Hei dude Jackpot has been won by other liao la!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As suggestion DREAM FOR IT………

Mugen done a very good job on this mobile…..overall this mobile look sharp!!

If in white colour i think it will be more COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 8:25 pm

some of you forget that the civic type R should already be lighter than the standard civic. so with 10kg less on this mugen version, its definitely an improvement.

with 10kg, you will still feel the difference.

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 9:32 pm

Someone mentioned the JDM CTR being a daily driver and easy to live with. I don't think so. It is very hardcore and very much a track animal. And this Mugen version will be even more so.

About smoking a Golf GTi. On a track maybe. In normal conditions, the Golf will seem to be faster and less annoying simply because of the better low to mid range grunt. The very nature of the CTRs engine deems that you be in the right revs (very high) to have power. In other words, you have to drive the CTR very hard to enjoy it. You don't have to with a GTi.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 10:12 pm

silverfish, honda type-R's today are no longer like the peaky, screaming B16, and B18 of yesteryear. They have a better torque spread, and are definitely more driveable today.. In fact, even in the DC5, you can hardly feel or hear the vtec changeover as compared to the older engines.

1.06 for a road car in tsukuba is really fast.

i remember watching a timeattack special EVO track car doing a 1.00+ in tsukuba.

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 10:33 pm

See this >> http://paultan.org/archives/2007/03/30/2007-honda…

215Nm @ 6100RPM..

but this only 217Nm @ 7000RPM…

So if racing in short distance..the previous Civic Type R can smoke this away man!

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 10:34 pm

by the way..

This bodykit is much more nicer the previous one .. haha

=)

• moha774 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 10:59 pm

Its just Mugen kind of telling their British counterpart, what they did for their type -R is good but they can do it better. Anyway British model and Japanese model are not the same cosmetically and this one looks better. Just cant wait for this year MME, since this year's Honda entries got the help from Mugen to tune up the car to give Lotus RR a fight for overall champion..

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 11:11 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop (nice nick); I was speaking relatively. Obviously the CTR is going to have a whole lot more torque than my pathetic little car, for example. Against the turbocharged 4 pots in most of its current rivals, the CTR is found wanting. In almost all group tests, the CTR (Europe version, so slightly less powerful compared to the JDM but still almost the same) is found wanting for grunt againsts its rivals.

• mmcwei (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 11:31 pm

nice nice nice! like the new honda civic very much…look at its bodykit…rear dual exhaust pipe…and of course the engine…thats awesome!

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 5:52 am

look all good comments! im a happy person today!!

• droll (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 5:38 pm

silverfish: i beg to differ. i think the CTR will still smoke the Golf GTI despite what the torque graph shows. when doing 0-100, the CTR will already have the revs high up. on paper alone it's 0-100 in 6.5s with a stick shift. the GTI only does it in 6.9s.

couple that with the stiff suspension on the CTR, i'm sure it will also smoke the GTI on the twisties. i've test driven a GTI twice and i used to own a MINI. the GTI is setup for a mix between comfort and performance. so the suspension is considered "soft" by performance-car standards.

but if you consider mod potential then i think the GTI wins easily. a simple APR ecu upgrade can boost the power to 250bhp. add a CAI, TBE, and you could easily be looking at above 260bhp…..but power figures isn't everything. :)

the reason i said the CTR is a liveable-everyday car is because

1. it has 4 doors

2. decent boot space you can use at the wet market on a sunday morning

3. you don't always have to drive it at the VTEC points!

4. yes, it's manual. people complain about traffic jams. but as my friend once said "what if no traffic jam??? then you let it loose lah!"

5. the car doesn't look too ah beng-ish both externally and internally.

well, just my 2sen.

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 7:04 pm

droll, with all due respect to your personal experiences, I meant in normal driving conditions, the Golf would seem faster and do it more effortlessly. 0-100, quarter miles, time attack, regardless or whether you do it legally on a track or elsewhere is considered racing and the track biased setup of the CTR will give it an advantage.

The thing is, on a casual bash down a winding piece of tarmac with a friend perhaps, you'd probably struggle to separate the 2 cars, they'd be closely matched. Which is kind of my point.

As for daily driving, the Golf GTi offers a far better proposition than the CTR, as I'm sure you'll agree. Depending on personal tolerance levels, yes the CTR can still pass off as a daily driver.

• droll (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 11:36 pm

silverfish: well said. yes, agree with that point, the GTI is a more rounded character that can be used for performance and for everyday use.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 3:03 am

Isn't Mugen Honda had an F1 team not long ago?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 4:07 am

To HenryChang. The jackpot going to get bigger again. Anyway, as I said just kidding. This is because I'm wondering whether this car really worth to buy? For me, the car really looks fantastic but some part of the car still more like just average. Besides, are we really going to enjoy with this ride?

So if win jackpot, this car can be like free gift + balance sum of money for you to save. Pay the petrol, insurance and road tax no problem until this car condamn. Bank and other investment also got interest.

Well, just saying. not the typical 4D buyer or gambler. Hahaha….

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 8:09 pm

the new 7th generation civic 3dr type-r is better…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 9:44 am

the best civic . the type-r looks so sissy

• Alan pan on Mar 02, 2009 at 12:57 am

i like its “wild” …its sporty and its performance.
    haha, if can i also want to own one…

• nor amalina on Jul 14, 2011 at 2:03 pm

kerata cantik