First clear shots of 5-door MINI Clubman

MINI’s new Clubman will be making it’s debut at the 2007 Frankfurt Motor Show in September, but here are three teaser images of the new 5-door MINI shot by professional photographers for the press kit. It shows the front, rear, and the new enlarged boot space of the new MINI Clubman variant clearly.

Although the Clubman is a 5-door, it’s 5 doors aren’t in the usual space you’d expect. You have 1 on the driver’s side, 2 on the passenger’s side, and 2 more at the rear because the boot opens refrigerator style, with two doors split in the middle hinged on both sides of the car. The badge on the rear of the Clubman says Cooper S, which probably means this new variant will still be called the Cooper and Cooper S but with an additional Clubman prefix or suffix tagged on.

Engine options are similiar to the 3-door variants – a 120 horsepower naturally aspirated inline-4 for the Cooper and a turbocharged version with 175 horsepower for the Cooper S. There will also be a Cooper D Clubman using a 1.6 litre turbodiesel with 110hp.

More shots after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 7:26 am

Still look adorable. Sigh, the rear wiper remind me of those from Kancil + Kenari each. :-))

• badsoulfly (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 8:41 am

nice concept from Cooper…sometime look like 4WD model..it’s long and high..and have a big storage..suitable bring to the beach…SURF

• ab (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 8:53 am

how can they call this a mini? it’s as big as a volvo estate!

• rosdi (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:14 am

fugly!

• kimmy (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 10:10 am

Looks alright actually. Raise the ride height a bit, 4wd, chunky off road tires and I’d buy one!!

• szw (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 10:25 am

i still like the ori cooper when it comes with JCW , it rocks !

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 10:55 am

this variant is acceptable i think since the old cooper has its wagon too, just that this with extended wheelbase,

but wipers irritate me.

• wong (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 12:18 pm

i thought it looked retro..like the old mini stationwagon my uncle has for his laundry shop..a new old concept actually..not bad

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 4:54 pm

the door opening somewhat reminds u of a hearse, but good effort though

they should just have it with a conventional door opening

• mzfnd (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 5:26 pm

If that was the back end of a Kenari or Juara, you might have laughed your heart out. But since it’s a Mini, you think it’s cool. Unfair.

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 7:17 pm

the rear of tis car looks so ugly to me!!!

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 8:39 pm

they really come out with something thats unique in their design and it looks good too. the front is tad too similar to the current mini doncha think?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:38 pm

why would anyone want to open half of the boot of a already small car? Makes no sense to me

• transformer (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:57 pm

NO THANKS !

TOO FUGLY FOR ME!

• nmh (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 12:00 am

This kind of car called shootin brake rite?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 1:18 am

http://www.oldclassiccar.co.uk/classic-car-images/clubmans.jpg

• kazai (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 5:17 am

come on.this is MINI..whatever design they did people still think its cool.i think maybe because of the badge.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 12:53 pm

this falls in a uniquely designed car with a history reason behind it and it s happened that its was designed to look like that, which carried through over decades,
    old mini is designed to tacle the energy crisi and supposedly for economy,(…and remember cooper D)

while the beetle is designed to strong with its curveture shell and durable low maintanence engine air cooled engine, and rear engine rear drive means traction, its a go anywhere car, even in war situation,

well im not saying kenari is not cool, savvy is not cool, infact i think savvy is an interestingly unique formed, and kenari with move kit is not bad although im not a fan of japanese bodywork,

well i did own the old beetle last time, at that time i dont care people driving camry, latest hyunday, newly released naza,
    my beetle is the best, its look, its straight foward engineering, decend ride, its cool, when u loves car ,it surpass everything

for this mini just for the sake of comment,
    although the essence is more of a style now, still the spirit of mini lives on, this SW is an interesting variant which it is within its domain if its own history, and could be even batter than its own history,

do i like mini?-leave it to mini fan, id rather to go for beetle,
    and for here id say savvy have the potential to be an interesting small car, since it unique too,

• neveraproton (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 2:41 pm

The sensibility of having 2 rear doors is to ensure practicality when opening the door; too big a door would hinder opening as well as access when you’re reversed parked against a wall. I know because I own a Nissan Cube3 which has a large side-opening rear door.

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 10:51 pm

I’m not going to say ugly, but it does look terribly awkward.

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 11:47 pm

Funny how the back row of seats still have cramped leg space; the car sure is big. Not really nice, but unique.

• sureshn (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 1:07 am

lots of romping space!

• dr_blur (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 10:08 am

i not sure u shud call this a 5-door or a 6-door..
    hehehe….

but looks good to me.
    i like it!
    black better still!!!

• philippecr (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 12:36 pm

lol. i think i saw a face on it. the back of the car is smiling at u. XD