Leaked 2009 BMW 7-Series Official Product Photos

2009 BMW 7 Series

These are supposed to be leaked promotional shots of the 2009 BMW 7-Series due to be unveiled sometime this month. They were found on a random flickr account.

The whole Bangle design language seems to have stabilized somewhat, you can see this car taking cues from both the facelifted 5-Series (overall body shape and butterfly-wing rear lamps) and the X6, and the humongous hog-like kidney grille nostrils from the BMW CS Concept. The rear sports integrated exhaust tailpipes in the bumper.

On the interior you get to see a preview of the new iDrive interface. The iDrive screen seems to show a Google search page, which seems to indicate iDrive could now have a web browser. The iDrive knob is now placed next to the gear shifter. The gear shifter itself is the new shift-by-wire shifter first introduced in the X5, and is no longer mounted on the steering column.

Ten more photos after the jump.

2009 BMW 7 Series

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jie (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 9:15 pm

Very pretty! But of course this is beyond me. Have to earn at least 20k a month to be able to afford this.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 9:28 pm

I guess it look slightly more masculine especially the back.
    Worth the facelift.

• knight_templar (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 9:34 pm

based on the product life cycle, this should be all new not a facelift. I think its all new with the latest f-model designation. The design is bad. The front looks like it was alright and then someone slammed into a wall and flattened it to enlarge the grille. Weird. The taillamps look a bit like the Tiguans. It doesnt gel with rear. This car has to go up against the new S-class and the Merc has always beaten Bimmer in this segment. While the Merc looks just OK, this one is bad. If Bimmer wants to beat the S-class, its gotta do it in the tech department, if this is the finalised exterior design. Round 1 goes to the Merc, hands down.

• DrA (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 9:49 pm

Looks like the new citreon C5

• jehutyz (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 9:56 pm

BMW as usual…. is very nice.
    Now the 7-Series alr out……
    The next one is 5-Series.

• kimmy (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 9:59 pm

Now this is more like it….
    Looks great, sure it drives well too…

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 10:48 pm

Sorry BMW.. I will still go for S-Class if i want a luxury car…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 11:32 pm

agreed with knight_templar… grille really ugly but who care? i can’t afford it anyway..

• fab_4 (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 12:01 am

Is it me or the new 7-series looks a bit like the corolla altis when viewed from side?

• fab_4 (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 12:05 am

but no doubt the interior is very well-laid out….and might have to agree to knight_templar. no way would this car win with the looks alone.

• AlexKhoo (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 12:40 am

Sweet-looking car! Will definitely buy one if i had the money. or ask my dad to replace his ’95 S320L into this.

• analyzer (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 12:43 am

looks like they took design cues from the LS 460 at the rear..

• csv (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 12:45 am

yeah, new front looks takes some getting used to, nose bigger than eyes. like a pig. lol.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 6:44 am

I notice some VW styling cues in this new 7-series.

• abtm (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 7:43 am

not sure about the front grill, looks like a car with a bad flue

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 10:14 am

The integrated exhaust seems to be the in thing now. Everyone’s doing it!

• alcool31 (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 11:53 am

Ugly is as ugly does….the front looks like all current BMWs, with bigger kidneys (to carry the weight and ego of a typical well-fed BMW driver), and over-sized rear light clusters (Kia and Hyundai, you now have new a design challenger). And if you look closely, the slopes at the side of the rear bumper mimic those of the latest C-class. The interior is same old-same old, which now looks more like a stretched 3 series. Suddenly, I miss Mr Bangle.

• artyca (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 1:54 pm

The front has a very prominent grille but I believe it has to do with latest pedestrian impact protection legislations.

• crasher7 (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 3:17 pm

Looks lot better than the current one

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 3:33 pm

FINALLY, A NICE CAR IN THE LARGE LUXURY SALOON CATEGORY, CAN MAKE THOSE PEOPLE WITH THAT NASTY OBESE S-KLASSE RE-CON FROM JAPAN SHUT UP

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 3:50 pm

what? is this a joke?

the current 7-series (pre-facelifted) looks better lah, especially with white paint….

• Cire (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 6:55 pm

Obviously, this car is made for chauffeur driven. This explains the lazy design of the dash etc..very minimalistic.
    The front of the car looked so dated..and boring. I guess what it lacks of, it tried to make it back with huge gigantic wheels.
    The rear have a hint of the Lexus.. no originality..
    I think this time around, the S-class is more sophisticated and prestige looking.
    I thought they would have start integrating some Maybach features in it..like a reclining rear seat..looks absent here.
    The gear shift looks very out of place. Angling it make it worst.

• Paul Tan on Jul 04, 2008 at 6:57 pm

Franky I think the problem with the kidney grille is that it is recessed instead of protruding.

Compared to Autobild’s artist’s impression from back in 2006 which sported an equally humongous kidney grille, the Autobild version looks much better.

http://images.paultan.org/uploads/2006/06/autobild_7.jpg

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 05, 2008 at 6:42 am

It looks a lot like Meseratti Quatruporte. Look at the grill, reminds of that car

• fit5505 (Member) on Jul 05, 2008 at 12:26 pm

look more better than the old 1…

• 599 (Member) on Jul 05, 2008 at 2:50 pm

disappointed with the rear light design..