Toyota Auris gets new Toyota 1NR-FE 1.33L Dual VVT-i engine in UK line-up

Toyota 1NR-FE

Toyota has replaced the 1.4 litre VVT-i engine (4ZZ-FE) in the Toyota Auris with a new 1.33 litre Dual VVT-i engine (1NR-FE) that produces more power, more torque, more mileage, less CO2 emissions, yet has a smaller displacement and also weighs 13kg less despite having a more complicated Dual VVT-i drivetrain, thanks to pistons that are 36% lighter among other improvements. It’s also more compact, and Toyota claims it is the same size as the inline-3 1.0 litre VVT-i engine.

The new engine also has stop-start capability, which automatically stops the engine when the car is stationary, the transmission is in neutral and the driver’s foot is off the clutch pedal. When the driver presses the clutch, the engine is restarted, and Toyota claims a potential fuel savings and CO2 reduction of up to 15% thanks to this.

For a smoother restart, Toyota says this new engine is 9dB quieter and 0.3 seconds quicker to start compared to the outgoing 1.4 litre engine.

The following is a comparison table between the two engines.

1.33L Dual VVT-i 1.4L VVT-i
Engine Code 1NR-FE 4ZZ-FE
Displacement 1,329cc 1,398cc
Power 101hp @ 6,000rpm 97hp @ 6,000
Torque 132Nm @ 3,800rpm 130Nm @ 4,400rpm
Bore 72.5mm 79.0mm
Stroke 80.5mm 71.3mm
Compression 11.5:1 10.5:1
Combined economy 48.7mpg 40.9mpg
CO2 emissions 135g/km 163g/km

With the new engine also comes a new 6-speed manual transmission with ratios to match the new torque curve. Both the 5th and 6th gear are overdrive gears for a reduced cruising engine RPM during highway driving. Toyota says this new transmission can handle more torque than the outgoing 5-speed unit and is 11% smaller and has 15% less components despite having one extra gear ratio.

All these improvements come with a price of course. The new Auris 1.33 litre models are on average about £200 more expensive than the outgoing 1.4 litre models.

Toyota Auris

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DRC (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 7:50 am

Wish Toyota treat us like Western countries by offering better equipped cars.

• m4xspeed (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 7:54 am

good engineering from toyota..

• voyager86 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:37 am

1.33L Engine with 101hp of power and 132nm of torque…….
    really impressive…….

wanna change my campro 1.3 IAFM to this engine……haha …. :D

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:01 am

GOOD JOB!!!

• myviRS (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:05 am

Love this engine.. but why pronounce it 1.33 instead of just 1.3? Weirdo..

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:55 am

THE EMIsSions are nothing to shout about

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:56 am

myviRS said,

November 19, 2008 @ 9:05 am

Love this engine.. but why pronounce it 1.33 instead of just 1.3? Weirdo..

……………………

that is ‘displacement’ of the engine…the volume swept out by the piston in moving from one of the cylinder to the other…considering some parameters like length of con-rod, bore and stroke…with some complex calculation, u can design whatever capactity engine u want..not weird..just physics

can see at 1.3 n 1.6 of campro
    (pls corect me if im wrong)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:27 am

If i not mistaken the 1.3L campro is almost the same cc (1332cc) as this toyota new engine but we are lacking on the Dual-VVT-i.

The 1.3L myvi is just around 1294cc if i not mistaken. So next time proton should put 1.33L for it’s Gen.2.

anyway even a 1.33L engine can get 6-speed manual!! When can our local car manufacturer get this? 6-speed manual have been proven to cut emission and save more FC! If you know how to drive it..

• denfire (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:28 am

In Toyota, that is what we called R&D and improvement. But these kind of improved engine will need a very long time before it reach our shore. Maybe there is one day we receive this engine, but I guess it might be 5 or 10 years later. By that time, they already had other more improved engine. Thank you to our beloved G.

• onzetool (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:49 am

How would they introduce the tech in M’sia when our fuel quality is from the history. May be our lawmakers lung are tough enough, that’s why they can still puff lots of smokes at parliament lobby.
    Anyway, that’s should also be the reason why M’sia are not getting BMW’s 2.0l 168hp/210nm engine.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 11:02 am

we’re still in 3rd world country btw. we can continue dreaming as long got cronies sucking tax money at the borders. we’re in 21st century, others already venture into hybrid and some already in productions, take a look at our own, majority on the road..zzzz…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 11:11 am

toyota pushes hard in europe, and they need to offer more to compete with the other car makes there.. but still, they’re not doing as well as they would like over there. likewise honda.

in asia, they can pretty much sell anything.. so they probably dont bother much.

another thing i dont get is why people continue to claim that we do not have high tech cars in malaysia? you can already buy hybrids, cars with mangnesium alloy heads, direct injection petrols, night vision, twin clutch gearboxes, 6sp manual, 7 sp auto etc. etc. etc.
    they’re expensive yes, but AVAILABLE. its not because we have bad fuel or cronies, or whatever.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 11:20 am

yup expensive is the word im looking for, hence the majority on the road…zzz…

• droll (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 11:46 am

now this is what i call progress!

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 1:28 pm

Toyota just simply don’t care what they offer here in Malaysia.
    There’s more than 100,000 stupid Malaysians buy their trash which recycled from trash bin every year.

• realALPINAowner (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 1:51 pm

my bro IsaacVky…don’t say like that loh..that’s people choice.they work hard what, to buy their dream car..and recycling is good for our environment too.

• pirate (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 2:32 pm

New facelift Vios 1.3J manual in 2010 from UMWT perhaps? :)

• jamsbong (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 2:39 pm

looking at the engine specs. the new engine has a longer stroke, nearly 13% longer. That improves the torque and improves fuel efficiency.

Impressively, it still rev to the same 6000rpm, although i suspect it will not be as willing as the 1.4.

Overall, the trend of going back to long stroke/high efficient engine is a good thing. More torque = easier drive.

• goguncas71 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 3:08 pm

Toyota is all high tech except for the stuff it sells to the brown natives of south east asia. Note that only the new 2008 Altis is Euro 4 compliant when Proton Gen-2 and Personas has been Euro 4 compliant for years…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 3:27 pm

But the problem is our local Proton cars are EURO 4 engine? I did remember seeing that, they just add in additional catalyst converter (2-stage) and tune a bit, but the number of hp will be reduce…

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 3:56 pm

Campro is a EURO 4 engine, if not we wont be able to sell our cars in UK, Australia and so on…

Cheers!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 4:02 pm

If our own made Proton is EURO 4 engine, does our own land fuel station produce EURO 4 standard fuel or diesel? Hmm…

Anyway, if Proton engine is so good. Why still get a lot of negative comments about engine refinement.. Hmm… “most expensive cheap car in the UK market” where i heard this line before… Hmm… Sorry no offence.. But is just that i am piss off about the fuel price in Malaysia, fuel price now tax, but imported car price is still not world price… !@#$@!#

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 4:24 pm

LittleFire85, if nt happy with the fuel price, i cant help u with that. The local Campro engine is a Euro 2 spec engine because as u said, the fuel is low quality. No point in using a ‘clean’ engine if the fuel is ‘dirty’. Again, P! got nothing to do with the local fuel quality. We only adapt to what we have here. UK people are always not happy about everything, because they think they r the best. When they think they r the best, they tend to condem everything else, especially anything from Asia. In proton case, they forgot, the Campro was jointly developed with their people (Lotus) itself. But all the blame comes to P1. I personally think, the Brits are unhappy with a Asian company owning an European (British) Sports Car Company, which was their pride once upon a time! Now its OURS to exploit!

Cheers!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 4:35 pm

I have friends in Brits, they dont care who bought over their companies. But if they dont produce good quality cars, they will just condemn them..

You can see MG rover bought over by china ppl, but did they complain much now? Land rover to Tata, complains? I heard MG even success in China! So it just depend on the quality and the people who manage it. Even BMW bought over Mini, they really evolves and success… Anyway Lotus manage to earn a profit this quarter and i am quite happy for that as we are not losing money.. Sorry no offence, just that if we really so good is time not to be a babe and be an adult..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 4:58 pm

si-fu said,

November 19, 2008 @ 3:56 pm

Campro is a EURO 4 engine, if not we wont be able to sell our cars in UK, Australia and so on…

Cheers!

———————————————————–

One of the complains of Proton cars in Australia is they tuned to run on Ron95(Premium fuel for them).I hope proton engines in the future will run on cheaper Ron92 to help the people and gain sales outside.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 6:47 pm

1.33 ?????????? sounds funny but gud !!!!!!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 7:09 pm

maybe they should make a 1.337l engine:P then again, maybe not

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 7:12 pm

MisterBenjo said,

November 19, 2008 @ 4:58 pm

It doesn’t matter what is the RON of the fuel. Modern ECU can adapt to different RON of fuel and change the ignition timing which result in lower/higher horsepower. For example, BMW E39 530i can use a wide range of RON91~RON98 petrol with no side effect but only affecting the power.

• mct (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:06 pm

issac,dun always said toyota only bring thing form trash for our country
    volvo and saab also take thing from trash also
    and for your information
    these two are selling their car with high price in malaysia :rf:

• madmarzio (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:52 pm

genius.. compact little machine and very neat. as usual, this will be p1 basher’s idea again..

(gasp)..long way to go, my dear p1..

• awak (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:12 pm

madmarizio,we understand, we need to aquire it fast, not concurrently but everything for the future should had been in the blueprint,

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:36 pm

mystvearn,

lol, 1337 engine eh?

si-fu n littlefire85

there are some truth from both camps. Yes, the british dun rly like to see their brands in the hands of foreigners. I think they do care abt their brand deep inside them. They’ve been suffering too much lost for God knows what they’ve been doing. Banning fox hunting, putting speed camera, implementing bus lanes, ban smoking at pubs, attacking Jeremy Clarkson for offending lorry drivers n prostitute, too much health & safety talks to name a few that I know. They’ve lost too much, it was good news for them when they can finally call an Aston Martin a British car (now owned by Prodrive). And Lewis Hamilton a world champion. That said, fuck u glock n toyota! Giving cockshit excuse, cakap je la yg korg sebenarnya xnk kasi massa menang world champion.

I once heard a quote somewhere, “the opposite of love, is not hatred. It’s apathy”. So if the British dun love their brand, they wouldn’t be making remarks that reeks of jealousy :P It may appear that they dun care, but let’s just say every single british brand say, M&S, tesco, British Airways, Harrod’s, waitrose, etc are sold to foreigners, where are they going to get job? Will they get treated at work fairly or will they feel like they’re tenants in their own land? So amidst their complaints n critiques of how quality is more important than “British pride”, it is the latter that they didn’t want to lose.

The problem today is the British politicians are probably the second stupidest politicians in the world after ours. They reckon getting Jeremy Clarkson to apologise to prostitutes is more important than getting back their glory. This would be the perfect opportunity for us to catch up with them. Except that we’re not. Changing road names, banning yoga for muslims are more important for our politicians than to improve basic infrastructures. sigh…..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 11:45 pm

IsaacVky said,

November 19, 2008 @ 7:12 pm

It doesn’t matter what is the RON of the fuel. Modern ECU can adapt to different RON of fuel and change the ignition timing which result in lower/higher horsepower. For example, BMW E39 530i can use a wide range of RON91~RON98 petrol with no side effect but only affecting the power.

————————————————————–

Isaac you are refering knocking sensor that only some High End model have it.
    I am refering to lower end cars that proton produce.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 11:49 pm

Oh, I forgot, why do they appear to think quality is more important than “British pride”? Well, that’s freedom of expression. Here, if u do the same, prepare for ISA raid ur house…..

• csv (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 12:29 am

wah, impressive.

if only they offer it here ah.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 2:13 am

mct said,

November 19, 2008 @ 8:06 pm

Go compare S40 and Camry 2.4L
    Swedish CBU & Tomyam made

• mct (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 3:49 am

can’t compare them
    not in the same class
    volvo sell as premium brands but toyota not
    although you can buy a volvo s40 with camry 2.4 price
    space is small if compare to camry
    but cannot denied that camry are overprice and and low quality if compare to s40

• isfufushah (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:39 am

Oh, now there’s Dual VVTi.

Does this mean the DVVT in our P2 don’t have the (i) in it that stand for Intelligence… But, what so intelligence in that engine… its not that it can give u answer of 2×2… LOL.~

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 10:51 am

MisterBenjo, ALL Campro engines HAVE KNOCK SENSOR. ALL MODERN ECU CONTROLLED ENGINES MUST HAVE IT! Please dont simply give out statements!

Cheers!

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 12:03 pm

Hai,

Here we go again… haha. Our cyber parliament is rolling again. I do read the title for this discussion as “Toyota Auris gets new Toyota 1NR-FE 1.33L Dual VVT-i engine…”. But somehow halfway in between the debate, there’s this tendency for Paul.Tan’s visitors to detour from topic. I guess Perodua will never be able to get rid of its Toyota and Daihatsu’s DNA. Same goes to Proton with its very own Lotus’s DNA.

Anyways, I hope Proton will somehow willing to change its market strategy by applying CPS engine as standards on all of its car models. Perodua is able to supply all of its car models with DVVT which is a really good marketing strategy to lure more buyers. With the new Dual DVVT making its way up, Proton should abandon its CamPro IAFM for lower-end makings only (such as Proton Saga taxis or B-Line model). As for M-Line, H-Line, SE models, Proton should apply the CPS engines as standards. They will have to come out with another good engine with at least 5-speed automatic transmission to follow the world’s trend (which is currently predominated by the Japanese manufacturer).

Owh yeah, just out of curios, is it suitable to buy manual gear car if you’re staying in a jam pack city such as KL? Many people prefer to drive automatic cars cause its sickening to flex their muscles only on the left side of the body (left hand shifting gear, left leg shifting clutch-pedal). I’m just wondering if any bloggers can share their opinions as well. Thanks! :)

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 2:22 pm

si-fu said,

November 20, 2008 @ 10:51 am

MisterBenjo, ALL Campro engines HAVE KNOCK SENSOR. ALL MODERN ECU CONTROLLED ENGINES MUST HAVE IT! Please dont simply give out statements!

Cheers!

—————————————————————

Are you sure about your statement? so all Campro engine can use RON92 no problem?no knocking at all?If yes then ask proton to lower its requirement in the manual….PUT MINIMUM RON 92 instead of RON95!.

• neurra (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 3:55 pm

hahah wondering the same thing.. why not just 1.3.. heck lot of other cars out there are not exactly one decimal on the dot dude.. doens’t mean a 2.0 car is 2000cc exactly..
    and yes all modern engines have knock sensors.. it’s part of the control system in running of the engine..
    do u even know why there’s a requirement of the Relative Octane Number dude? for the proper running of the engine at the specified air-fuel ratio and compression ratio.. if u see a high compression ratio car eg. 13.8:1, it even requires RON99 fuel.. a higher octane rating fuel can resist self-ignition better hence reducing knock because higher compression ratio means more knocking can occur..
    i salute toyota for still improving the gasoline engine dramatically.. look at that torque at that displacement man.. and it’s a consumer car mind you

• torque (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 4:05 pm

Incredible tech from Toyota!! Loved the 6 speed ratio being offered too. Wait for 10-15 years then you see Toyota release this high tech and complicated Dual VVT-i drivetrain to P2 for their Myvi…who knows right?! Then, maybe…maybe everyone here can have a taste of it. We’ll just have to wait and see….

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 4:11 pm

MisterBenjo, I am VERY SURE of my statement! First of all doesn’t mean that u have knock sensor, u can use any RON fuel. Everything has a limit! Like for the Campro, the Domestic version will be able to go down to RON95. Thats the limit that the engine can take before it starts knocking! If u go below then that, the knock sensor wont be able to help u anymore to resist knocking, but it will warn u that ur engine is knocking by illuminating the engine check light. For RON95 and lower, the ECU spark ignition have to be recalibrated by advancing or retarding the spark timing. It requires quite high level of skill to tune for lower RON fuel. Like for the indonesia market, our Campro can use the RON88 fuel. This is due to changes made in the ECU since the knock sensor can’t compensate the difference anymore. So these INDON engines will have a different range of RON fuels that can be used. Regarding why the local engines are not tuned to RON92, our local RON92 is very low quality and dirty. Its not about the knocking but the fuel quality since its almost becoming obsolete in M’sia, so definetely u don’t want ur engine to start failing prematurely right? Using a lower RON fuel also will reduce the power and torque of the engine but not that significant la…knock sensor is one of the on board diagnostic system (OBD) of the engine, if its not there, ur engine might be in trouble because low frequency knocking constatly happens in any engine, its the knock sensor which senses it and corrects it real time. If the knock sensor not there, the engine wont work properly!

Cheers!

• torque (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 4:16 pm

tokmoh said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 9:36 pm

“And Lewis Hamilton a world champion. That said, fuck u glock n toyota! Giving cockshit excuse, cakap je la yg korg sebenarnya xnk kasi massa menang world champion.”

Aisey bro, don’t la mad like that! I’m driving a Toyota but me too wanna see Massa win as world champion giving credit to his dedication on the final race. And yeah…f*ck u GLOCK!!! @$$wipe driver!! Again, don’t say bad about Toyota la bro…well, on second thought…maybe on their ‘dugong’ can lar…I don’t mind….hehehe!! Cheers! :-)

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 5:07 pm

Thanks Mr sifu for explaining…but please do read my first statement. I said i hope proton will tune to RON92.So what the heck of knock sensor if we have to buy RON97 in the first place since we dont have RON95.so INDON fuel RON88 are cleaner than us RON92? LOL :-) .Engine that tuned for RON92 will not gain benefit if we put higher ron “IF” the amount of fuel addictive formulation is the same for both.Eg Caltex GOLD and Silver with techron.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 6:06 pm

***fuel addictive****

MisterBenjo, correction for u can ar?

fuel additive…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 6:10 pm

and… i think they put the 1.33 instead of 1.3 is just a method for ppl to aware of their new engine….

if say 1.3 only… some ppl will think about their old engine… so, remembering a figure is easier than remembering a new name…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 6:41 pm

autojohndoe said,

November 20, 2008 @ 6:06 pm

***fuel addictive****

MisterBenjo, correction for u can ar?

fuel additive…

———————————-

wahahaha ya lar thanks..

• awak (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 6:48 pm

i feel letter L a testimony of sport,
    in malaysia no L offered at UMW,

the L one is dump in the Exige S,

anyway campro have CPS – thats the L (lift)

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 10:39 pm

torque,

I have another reason to hate toyota. Their F1 team n driver just added fuel to the fire.

To find out why I hate them, google “toyota labour practice”. Also, remember remember Akihabara massacre. 7 stabbed dead, another 5 injured.

Humans, are not machines. If being green and saving as many 2nd hand value as possible mean to abuse the people to the point of running amok and “karoshi”, then they are no different than those racist bigots robbing from us rakyat at the drop of a hat. I think, hurting mother nature a little more, and suffering worse 2nd hand value for buying non-toyota cars are better than causing grief n trauma to those 7 victims’ families n frens. And some more.

I wonder how many more “karoshi”-ed in the making of this new engine……

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 12:13 am

si-fu,

“don’t want ur engine to start failing prematurely”, hm….very interesting. Apparently, a veteran motor journalist reckon using RON92 is better so that u can save enuf for a plate of breakfast weekly. Thanks to RON97, I think I know why my 17-year-old saga is still going strong.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:56 am

a honda civic, ford focus, opel astra, volkswagen golf, fiat bravo, renault megane, peugeot 308, audi a3, bmw 1er, seat leon makes a much more sensible purchase than this

• torque (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 11:12 am

What da heck happen to my reply man…shit…lazy to type again lah…. :-(

• Wonder on May 19, 2023 at 10:47 pm

Can I replace my 4zz with 1Nr.