Iacocca Silver Mustang celebrates 45th anniversary

Silver Mustang

Lee Iacocca’s name may pop up more frequently these days in Chrysler-related matters, but it’s clear his heart still lies with the other one-third of the Detroit Three – Ford. Iacocca, designer Michael Leone and California-based coachbuilder Gaffoglio Family Metalcrafters have came up with this Iacocca Silver Mustang, limited to a 45 unit production run.

At first sight you may notice a ilttle difference – this is more than just a kitted up Mustang. Its actually a whole new custom made body installed ontop of the 2010 Mustang chassis. It’s the most obvious from the side profile – the roofline is alot more like a fastback, rather than the 2010 Mustang’s rear section which has a more prominent boot.

Two engine options are available – a 320hp 4.6 litre V8 (up 20 horses from the standard V8 Mustang, let’s not talk about the V6 Mustang), or a supercharged version of the same engine putting out 400 horsepower. The engines are available exclusively with a 5-speed manual for these cars.

And why a Mustang? He was deeply involved in the production of the first Ford Mustang, which was launched in 1964. It so happens that 1964 is also the same year he became president of Ford’s Ford Division (yes it sounds weird, but as opposed to Ford’s other brands) after joining Ford way earlier in 1946.

Look after the jump for more pix of the Iacocca Mustang.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=342]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proud2bemalaysian on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:22 am

1st….

another american muscle…..

simple and sweet looking….

• greencar on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:38 am

wow…cool! reminds me of the classic mustang in movie "Gone is 60 seconds"

• Christopher Tan on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:48 am

Wow.Power.Like a robot

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 23, 2009 at 1:49 pm

Only 45 units? Car makers nowadays seem to compete in making exclusive availability in smaller and smaller quantity.

Aston Martin one-77 only 77 units are made, Ferrari FXX only 29 units and the most exclusive so far are the Lambo Reventon, at merely 20 units.

I might missed others but those are that i can remember.

• I like it. If I had the excess money and if it were right hand drive, I'd buy it in an instant. Then I'd upgrade those puny brake rotors and add a knight rider ahbeng slider light. LOL

• This is one gorgeous machine… evergreen design and almost perfect in every way.

• Jonny Wilson on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:17 pm

I love Mustang… i saw one here.. blue color.. left hand drive… its a cool ride

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:20 pm

320hp out from 4.6 engine?

Nothing to shout about.. such a waste.

bmw M6 can get 500hp from 5.0 engine!

even the M3 deliver 400++ hp from 4.0 engine.

but.. it's mustang…. the Brand sell.

• i wish on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:27 pm

IIUM Mustangs…

• nighttrain on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:34 pm

Classic American muscle, she's a beauty I'll give you that. Extremely underpowered for a 4.6. I bet this car will slide off a cliff just like any other American sports car. That's why the new fast and furious is a hoax. But don't say anything bad about Chip Foose, that guy I like.

• Alifz on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Takdo kojo punya orang..

• Wak Rempit on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:05 pm

Hot car but knowing its American turned me down… since their car is always impractical… only good for a wheel spins with the big torques.

• azrai on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:09 pm

I'm impress. Simple yet very nice. Like Mies Van de Rohe says, less is more.

• roti naan1 on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Looks bulky, esp from the profile…

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:56 pm

Weird, this thing has Foose' name all over it but not done by Foose.

Looks very much like a Modern interpretation of the 69 MK1 fastback coupe. Nice as it is, I guess they could have tried to do something more unique though, like perhaps the modern interpretation of the limited run Mach1 fastback.

• Tiadaid on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:00 pm

Calvin De La Rosa said,

June 23, 2009 @ 5:49 am

Only 45 units? Car makers nowadays seem to compete in making exclusive availability in smaller and smaller quantity.

Aston Martin one-77 only 77 units are made, Ferrari FXX only 29 units and the most exclusive so far are the Lambo Reventon, at merely 20 units.

———————————————————-

Proton Cabriolet, 1 unit…

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:07 pm

bmpower said,

June 23, 2009 @ 9:20 am

320hp out from 4.6 engine?

Nothing to shout about.. such a waste.

bmw M6 can get 500hp from 5.0 engine!

even the M3 deliver 400++ hp from 4.0 engine.

but.. it’s mustang…. the Brand sell.

its not all about specific peak HPs. I tell you, you have to drive one to appreciate it. The Euro monsters and the American muscle are completely different animals (same goes to the high RPM Japanese 4 and turbo monsters).

Able to spin your rear tyres going at 120kmh in 3rd sure makes your heart skip faster. Nothing short of a highly tuned force fed engine will give you that low rpm "anytime-ready-to-smoke-yer-tires-chassis-twisting-torque" better than American iron. As a toy it is fun, but it gets old quick.

The V10 and V8 BMW engine cost magnitudes more than the simple ford. More so even the old small Block GMs.

Thats why these are so popular, big power with small budget. Of course you do throw refinement out the window. Tuners actually prefer the old "Five Oh" more than the new modular V8s.

But I agree, as a Mustang, its sold on image of glorious days past..

• hardrisk on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:11 pm

halimah jonggang design.. lagi best.

• hardrisk on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:13 pm

halimah jonggang design.. lagi best. hahaha

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:46 pm

4G63T DSM said,

June 23, 2009 @ 11:07 am

..bla bla bla

Seems. you fighting me in every topic i'ved reply now.. well.

If HP is not important.. so let this mustang only 100hp loooo.. because you said so huh!..

the engine is apart of technology. taht was included hp and torque..

the torque output from M3 (or any others) are also better than this 4.6l.

beside of hp itself..

low cc high hp are related matter with FC itself, even so .. we didn't ever talk FC on 'supecar', because it sound stupid right?

from the styling itself.. hermm.. not that much new.. nothing new actually.

just 'simple-tune-it', keep the same front look with little enhancement (well, i still like it). and.. the same back. the curve also remain the same.

this also the same 'design' league as camaro, and dodge…

but.. is still think it sell because the Brand of Mustang itself.

• aksMs on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:48 pm

"Jonny Wilson said,

June 23, 2009 @ 9:17 am

I love Mustang… i saw one here.. blue color.. left hand drive… its a cool ride"

Do you live in Puchong? I saw one too….in Puchong Prima to be exact.

• michibata on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:53 pm

wonder how much it will cost over the "unlimited" edition.. is it the right car to produce in the mean time? strengthen ford's image while punching a hole in their own pocket

• mohdjiman on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Just love the car…

• Lavardo on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:51 pm

not so much great about this sport car. seem like to cover up from bankrupt..guess what..

• painsama on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:13 am

One word. Awesome.

• nighttrain on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:32 am

Could it ba a 1971 Mach 1 Fastback I saw sometime ago in Bangi? Blue with the standard stripes.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:11 am

BMpower, if those are the best "points" you can mount up then its quite difficult to respond. I'm not quite sure what point you are trying to make.

You will understand what I mean once you have driven a small block. Until then, its an act of futility trying to reason, not unlike with a brick wall. Besides, I didn't say HP isn't important, just where the power is made in the rev band it is made adds to the characteristic of the car. Then, you have the exhaust note of a small block. All these characteristics of the engine makes the car what it is.

You wont call a Mustang a Mustang, or Corvette a Corvette etc when you fit it with a Turbo 4 even making 500hp, now would you? Ford failed big time when they fitted thier early 80's Fox bodied Mustangs with a 4 pot, even when factory forcefed. Buyers didn't accept it.

Like I said, these "pony" cars are cheap, powerful, simple and crude. For a matter of perspective a V8 Mustang cost 1/3 that of your M5. No doubt that the M5 is the "better" car. Better can be subjective, but begs the question, is it 3x better? How do you even quantify "better" when they are not even competing in the same market segment?

—-

nighttrain said,

June 23, 2009 @ 4:32 pm

Could it ba a 1971 Mach 1 Fastback I saw sometime ago in Bangi? Blue with the standard stripes.

There's a MACH 1 fastback in Malaysia? Those were quite rare. I'm impressed. There were select few optioned with a 428…now that a crazy car to drive.

• sixspeed on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:39 am

lol so funny to hear some of these local "experts" on american muscle cars who have obviously never driven one.

you guys should listen to 4g63t, he is writing the truth.

• ago87 on Jun 24, 2009 at 4:54 am

the shape from the back side reminds me of Bently…

• bmpower on Jun 24, 2009 at 10:50 am

sixspeed said,

June 23, 2009 @ 5:39 pm

lol so funny to hear some of these local “experts” on american muscle cars who have obviously never driven one.

you guys should listen to 4g63t, he is writing the truth.

====

so you better go die with him.

• sixspeed on Jun 24, 2009 at 10:12 pm

lol! I guess you didnt have your nap today little boy. Be quiet now, grownups are talking about cars.

• BabyPowder on Jun 24, 2009 at 11:32 pm

For me mustang is a good car, but not good enough I think… I believe they can do better.

• gilekuasa on Jun 25, 2009 at 12:15 am

lol!! (i wanna join too).. but have to agree with bmwpower.. he talks about SIMPLE power comparison to begin with..

• aku nak beli bahagian depan jek… hahaha…

• matt adams on Jun 25, 2009 at 11:43 pm

so…some may have seen the mustang in m'sia eh? same with me…. i saw one pre facelift 2010 model in shah alam. it was blue with white stripes on it. it was a looker dude.. i dont see the owner coz it was park at the side of the road. such a breath taking moment to see an american muscle here in m'sia…

• Cross Polo on Jun 26, 2009 at 8:30 pm

i think it like this as make it simple. U all know that American Muscle mean for big & powerfull. so the concept are there. For German car it base on luxury & performance, so the concept also there. I also aggre that bmw M6 can get 500hp from 5.0 engine! even the M3 deliver 400++ hp from 4.0 engine. but for 320hp out from 4.6 engine it a raw power coz it not the supercharge mean that the mustang must be the wild stallion. BMW as we know always come with turbo charge.. so it performance. Mustang are sport car. so much diffranceses..

• alpha0201 on Jun 27, 2009 at 6:24 pm

Calvin De La Rosa said,

June 23, 2009 @ 5:49 am

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/06/23/iacocca-si…

At least when you bought it, you can keep it at home.

Ferrari wont let u keep the FXX unless if you want to drive on a race track, then brought it back afterwards. 599XX even worse. Wont let the car out of the factory even paid for it.

Paint it in Gunmetal silver, slap black stripes & you have Eleanor.

• comarezzi on Jul 04, 2009 at 9:15 pm

i thought i saw a blue mustang at kota damansara last week… but no camera phone … damn… hope to see it again..

• SixthGear on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:31 am

Guys, watch this video. Just click the link;

==> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL2MYm1bjto