New Satria Replacement Model Spyshots

The SRM24, or Satria Replacement Model. What’s the 24 supposed to stand for? If I’m not mistaken, the original Satria based on the Mirage Cyborg’s codename is M24 and the Proton Putra is M21?

Click the thumbnails for the full version.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• surfnux on Mar 30, 2005 at 7:36 pm

nice back. almost resemble the back of Lexus Rx latest series. :p

• only this is much smaller -_-"""

• I dont think all these new Protons are based on Mitsubishi anymore. As I heard from rumours, the srm is completely derived from gen.2 chassis. Mitsubishi is gone and in the future, Proton will try to replace all aging Mitsubishi engines with its own cam-pro engines. 4G1XP series engines are so old and used to power cars that are over 20yrs old of age.HaHa….

• If you think the 4G1x engines in the Wiras and Satrias are old, check out the 4G13 used in the new Saga. Still running carburettors… absolutely disasterous!

• wow…nice car.im glad to drive such car.

• levin on May 27, 2005 at 7:51 pm

who stole my car?isnt it mine.hahaha

• hey paul do you think your good at it?you comment based on what?based on your own coconut is it?you seems to know everything about car.better you send a resume to proton or produa.let see what you can do to improve the malaysian automobil industry.rather than giving a stupid comment.hehehe.easier said than done rite?

• kas: Seems like you are jealous because I am good :)

• kas: What can u do to improve the malaysian automobil then? Besides that, I dont think so comments given by Paul are stupid.What he said are all based of facts? How abt u? Don't be a sour grape then.

• Potong on Jun 05, 2005 at 1:38 am

lets just face it, all it has is the looks. The new generation of proton cars will have the same problems- cheap plastics that will have cracking sound after a few years, power windows that require u to open the door to get the toll tickets, engine that underperforms and parts that are easily breakable(and the PROTON service center will tell u that the windows cannot be used oftenly, the door panel must be opened gently……), also not to mention it is expensive to replace. The only reason to buy it is because it is artificially cheaper than other cars.

• joh cena on Jun 07, 2005 at 7:46 pm

nice car, i like it

• Jacque Villnauve on Jun 09, 2005 at 11:39 pm

The most problematic issue with proton's is the power windows, regardless previous or latest model. Each models got same old problem that seems unsolveable by the manufacturer. Maybe Proton should have a power windows R&D department…

• saiful on Jun 09, 2005 at 11:41 pm

yeah..real men wear and drive black!!

• Wonderer on Jun 14, 2005 at 6:05 am

kas:u think ur great? i'm glad someone do appreciate about cars…He's talk about fact not coconut.Are u in the car industry,mybe our national car manufacturer….If u are Let me remind u we have the right to comment !!!!!!!!!!

• looking forward on Jun 14, 2005 at 6:45 pm

first of all, thanks Paul for all your contribution and comments – it does benefit lots of auto fans. and i must say most of your commments and pic are true.

some of you have rightly guessed – Proton plans to phase out all Mitsubishi (MMC) based engine – for branding and cost reasons. Proton is paying very high loyalty fees to MMC (a lot!) now you know why Proton has to breakaway from MMC and buy up Lotus. Some of you may know VW is now working with Proton to CKD cars in Proton Tanjung Malim – wait patiencely for 2006… you will see more VW ads on the paper…

SRM looks much better if the camouflage is removed, superb ride and handling, prefect for young couple (w/o kids!). I have drove the car before…

i heard they will launch they car about 2~3 mths later.

Disclaimer: i am no Proton staffs.

• Nice car …. But?? How about its performance? Good improvement by proton … support our local car PROTON

• Paul, thanks for the picture and for 'no proton staff', I am eagerly waiting the Proton product's with a blend of Euro-courtesy of VW, perhaps Proton should learn from its mistake from previous MMC based model. Increase the QC standard true to TVU pfalz and of course less politics towards the vendor. The vendor weaknessess will just bring Proton down for sure.

• Gavan Chua on Jun 15, 2005 at 1:28 am

Well, as i know, so far, the Gen2 follows mazda 3. the design of the rear and the front is really similar. im not 100% sure about this but as i surf about the mazda site, the gen2 looks just like the gen3. please visit this site to check it out…

http://www.mazda.com.sg/mazda3/3rd/gallery1.html

• zerofighter on Jun 18, 2005 at 9:56 am

the srm24 look good, but is the engine we should worry about. if 4g13 better don't lah. where is "engine EO1" that we oledi have few years ago?

• Yusri on Jun 20, 2005 at 11:01 pm

Another two door…

proton better upgrade its quality instead of upgrading its name.

we had enough. yes yes, cheap for we malaysians but being in the industry for years, proton is no more an infant. we expect to see its tiger fang and not its tiger butt.

come you proton, where is your quality, your engine power? you (proton) are no where near to toyota, hyundai, honda and even nissan. you should be ashame.

• why government have all this kind of people don't no how to do a thing o some thing my b our government all r same people that what people say when say stupid there don't 1 but there 1 do a stupid thing is like 1 of the kind.dont no what 2 do but also 1 to do cos used our income Tex to play a fool! 2 spend off

• Look at the Gen2's side mirror on the SRM. The rear bumper derived from the new Perdana V6. I think it's gonna cheaper than Gen2 around RM2k coz by the missing rear 2 doors. Have you ever noticed this spyshots photo's SRM using KL's plate number.:)

• i just noticed one thing. they put 147 on the number plate. wishing it will be an Alfa 147 killer? :P

• kavindran on Jul 05, 2005 at 9:28 pm

proton is a good produt

please keep it up

• viper on Jul 11, 2005 at 8:57 pm

Superb exterior design..congrat to Proton!.Just curious about the interior…hope that the interior will be superb as exterior…no cheap plastic steering and dashboard please!…and the colour scheme as well ya!…Proton can go far than they expects…..Go Proton!…

• Hmm, the front lights do look too similar to current Gen.2

Where were these photos taken? Someplace snowy, say Germany?

• i'm aman from johor bahru, juz wan to giv all of u a info 'bout satria club. we are CYBORGs, first johore satria owner's club wanna invited u to joint our club.. for more info, i'm @ [email protected]. see ya.. thanx

• proton on right track at last. hope SRM is a success.

• z'man on Sep 05, 2005 at 6:04 pm

why it's look same as savvi model?

• Not bad car… when izit goin for sale???

• katam on Oct 15, 2005 at 1:23 am

macam sial!!!!!!!!!!!!lawa lg kete lembu

• satria srm is a nice car.Why should we people,{malaysians} think negatif about proton!!!

• jason on Oct 20, 2005 at 8:12 am

ya nice car…hope it'll save proton…if i hv cash sure buy it….I support u proton

• well… was just wondering how much its gonna cost …

any idea ?

• Raymond T on Dec 07, 2005 at 9:20 am

Hmm looks nice, better than the previous proton models, but the side of the car seems like doesn't match the tyres, if you know what i mean.

• I really hope that proton has 5 doors version….hopely the performance same as Peugeout 206 that very success model in UK

• diana on Dec 27, 2005 at 10:19 am

nicely done.eager to get one!!!!!! but cn u gif me personal comment on gen-2 limited edition…thanx!!!!!

• chery (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 4:01 am

saw a SRM in Cameron Highlands yesteday, manage to get some blurr shots

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/9797/1002944me… http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/2327/1002945me…

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:27 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.

• iblisz_petaka (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 4:35 pm

i don't know what actually happen at PROTON. they have all the money, the expertise and the resources that they can get. yet they only produce the same old car with a new version of facelift. is there no one at PROTON have the idea what the people at Malaysia need? always face lift the old model car. use the money given by the government in the appropriate way. as u can see, the facelift of Satria, its not bad but its look lame and bored. why dont you make it 4 doors rather than make it 2 doors only.

haiya, its true what our PM said. and the board of directors at PROTON, jangan makan gaji buta sahaja. think the ways to live up the image of PROTON. u all asyik makan, tidur, lepak and then tidur. makan gaji buta sahaja.

From me who loves PROTON

• carimakan (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 6:05 am

aku dah cuba try test bawak kereta ni….memang totally different dari model2 proton sebelum ni. better ride & handling, powerfull, sleek, stability at cornering…fuuuuh….mengancam. design…not bad …TAHNIAH untuk designer2 & engineer2 proton. 2 pintu? memang la satria ni keta segmen dua pintu….kalau nak pakai 4 pintu, beli kancil. Satria ada market group dia. Bukan semua orang guna Satria. Kalau semua orang pakai Satria, sapa pulak nak beli Merc….jadi tak payah la nak kutuk2 kereta2 proton ni. Anda ada pilihan, kalau tak suka…jangan beli. Belilah kereta yang anda suka dan MAMPU. Kereta SRM ni setanding dengan Peugeot 206 walaupun harganya tak setanding dgn keta tu…

Kalau setakat kutuk je tapi pakai pun tak mampu….tak payah la…… dok diam lagi bagus….Syabas Proton!!!