Myvi News on Daihatsu Website

Check it out here.

Some quotes from the article.

Daihatsu Motor Co., Ltd. (“Daihatsu”) and Perodua, Daihatsu’s joint venture corporate group in Malaysia, today announced the launch of the Myvi that is being added to the current lineup. On the evening of May 25, Daihatsu and Perodua held a launching event for the Myvi in Kuala Lumpur, with Malaysia’s Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and Daihatsu President Takaya Yamada attending.

Daihatsu has made three of Perodua’s manufacturing companies into its subsidiaries and is proceeding to strengthen the competitiveness of the group including its suppliers in terms of cost and quality.

Daihatsu is the parent company of the groups three manufacturing-related companies: Perodua Auto Corporation Sdn. Bhd., the manufacturing-related holding company; Perodua Manufacturing Sdn. Bhd., an automobile manufacturer; and Perodua Engine Manufacturing Sdn. Bhd., an engine manufacturer.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Leong on Jul 04, 2005 at 2:40 am

Its actually cool because daihatsu website is viewed all over the world..

• started seeing few myvi on the road now. have already booked myvi. start to think maybe the power not enough for me. anyone has tried the max speed please comment…

• THOMAS on Jul 04, 2005 at 5:03 pm

actually DAIHATSU owned PERODUA 51%, owned PERODUA ENGINE MAFG 100%, therefore MYVI is a DAIHATSU instead of PERODUA, PERODUA not a nasional car.

• narrowband on Jul 04, 2005 at 6:44 pm

my family booked one too.

top speed not sure, but should be good enough for urban travel.

get around town, myvi not too bad wad. heh.

savvy on the other hand, boasts a top speed of "170km/h", and from KL go singapore in about "30 mins"!!

• Pual…. u are 40 days late, I read this website on the week myvi was launch.

I am expecting my car within 2 weeks time, while I book a week before launch, ie 15th Mei.

I read a fellow forum(er), he received the car 1.3EZ Standard (same as my order) where he book in Jun 10th.

A bit dissappointed with Perodua delivery.

• maybe it is the color that is in stock. hope the car is good for highway, at least top speed 160 km/h la. what color you think is best. I keep changing my mind about the color to chose. i put mocca grey, now i want to change to red.

• Clauz on Jul 05, 2005 at 6:57 am

EDW,

I'm will only get my car on this Wednesday due to colour. My one is 1.3Ezi in Silver colour with car number W** 8**0. Order Black earlier but change my mind to Silver. I think beside the reds colour and mocha silver, others 5 color look greats.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Jul 06, 2005 at 1:58 am

ramai lagi yag tak sedar diri ka perodua bukan kereta malaysia?

duhh.. memalukan..

sejak tahun lepas lagi..

kalau tak kerana daihatsu dah ambil alih..

jangan mimpi laa dia nak bagi teknologi baru dia senang2 kat perodua..

so = we still have NOTHING!.. istead berbangga dengan KERETA YANG DINAMAKAN SEMULA!..

stupit..

• KING KONG on Jul 06, 2005 at 9:34 pm

who cares if a malaysia car or not……as a long as it is value for money we bought….BRANDING diffrentiate one car from other model car…..other part of car actually same la….

• no doubts everybody is looking for quality ..if national car need to excel its brand …it shd show quality with its product ..not always depend on protection or subsidies…

• yusmady on Jul 07, 2005 at 9:00 pm

i'm soooooo frust.. i book myvi end of april till now – hampehhh. ezi premium is too hot in market. is't? paul – comment plz about p2 late of delevery.

• yusmady: i heard perodua has this thing about taking care of it's own branches delivery first before bothering about dealers. did you book from a branch or a dealer?

• Ask someone in Savvy to go at 170km/h

The owner will sure cry~!!!

On one of the car test drive from KL to Kuantan~!!!

A driver really floor on the acclerator up to 170~!!!

Quess what happen~???

The engine blow~!!!

Luckily noone is injured~!!!

• Tuning_Professional on Oct 31, 2005 at 1:32 am

Dear mitsu_galant_2000, don't be a stupid moron! You're the one who is STUPID! Perodua is part of Daihatsu, that is why the Perodua vehicles looks similar to the once popular Daihatsus. Perodua have the RIGHT to reproduce these cars, and they produced based on our country's specs.

If you take a look at the Acura RSX and the Honda Integra DC5, you'll find that both designs are the same. However, since Acura is part of Honda, they used the DC5 Integra as the base model for their RSX. As for you, you condemn Perodua just because of having the same vehicle design as the Daihatsus.

If you're here just because you want to satisfy yourself by condemning Perodua, then GET THE HELL OUTTA HERE!!!

• SADAM on Oct 31, 2005 at 7:32 am

Stupit KEPALA HOTAK KAU mitsu_galant_2000!!! Perodua is NOT stupid but you are. Since when the Daihatsu cars renamed itself to Perodua!? Engkau tu yang tak sedar diri! Kau ni belajar kat sekolah exam selalu dapat 'F' ke? Patutnya bersyukur ada Perodua. Lagipun nak import kereta CBU bukan senang tau! Kalau kau datang sini nak posting benda yang berunsur FITNAH, lebih baik GET LOST!

• ANTI_mitsu_galant_20 on Oct 31, 2005 at 11:58 pm

Pegi MAMPUS saja mitsu_galant_2000! I'm getting sick with your filthy slanders in here!

• Tuning_Professional on Nov 07, 2005 at 5:07 am

Dear mitsu_galant_2000, why would you prefer to condemn Perodua just because of being owned by Daihatsu? You should be VERY mindful before sending your EVIL comments. We Malaysians, although supported Perodua, are NOT stupid! Stupid people like you only support anti-Malaysians.

If you say that we Malaysians were proud of the so-called KERETA YANG DINAMAKAN SEMULA, you only proud to be an anti-Malaysian. You're truly a COWARD! Now read this saying- Cowards show their strengths by insulting, slandering and condemning brave people. Meaning? you think about it.

And to everyone in here, NEVER support mitsu_galant_2000. He's trying to spread an anti-Malaysia propaganda. and to mitsu_galant_2000, GO TO HELL!!!

• S15_Silvia on Nov 08, 2005 at 9:45 pm

Note to all (sorry because this is out of the topic)- Be mindful before sending your comments here. I've seen ANTI_mitsu_galant_2000's comment that indicates he's EXTREMELY ANGRY with mitsu_galant_2000, saying that he (mitsu_galant_2000) is slandering Perodua. You should know that slandering ONCE would cost 500 paybacks from the person who was slandered, and that means you're gonna get a serious beating from that person, and sometimes can be LIFE THREATENING. So please, be VERY careful and mindful before sending your comments here. And to mitsu_galant_2000, it's best if you stop slandering our car companies before the whole people in Malaysia point their fingers towards YOU, the cause of these car companies' bankruptcy. And to my best frien Paul Tan, I would like to apologise if what I gave is scarring another people's heart.