Perodua revs up Myvi production

For those that are wondering where on earth your Perodua Myvi is, this latest move by Perodua should be able to get your eager hands on your brand new car’s steering wheel faster.

Perodua has has 52,000 bookings for the Myvi compact car so far since it’s launch in May but has only delivered 10,000 units so far.

To solve this problem the company is ramping up production at it’s Rawang plant to 180 units a day from 150 units a day currently and targets 200 units a day by year-end.

Perodua currently has 970,000 cars on the road. Looks like it will touch 1 million cars very soon.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Curious on Aug 22, 2005 at 2:07 am

By contrast, Proton Savvy unsold units are 52,000 with yearly output about 150 per month. OK OK bad joke!!! It never happened!!! Proton to shy to disclose actual figure of Savvy sales??? Proton got to list out 52,000 Dalil Mengapa Savvy Tak Boleh Jadi Preferred Model (also PM ler..) compare to MyVI!!! Whatever it is, Savvy vs Myvi is inevitable, viewed as benchmark from public opinion.

• Curious on Aug 22, 2005 at 2:09 am

Some error, sorry. 150 yearly output, not monthly.

By contrast, Proton Savvy unsold units are 52,000 with yearly output about 150 units. OK OK bad joke!!! It never happened!!! Proton to shy to disclose actual figure of Savvy sales??? Proton got to list out 52,000 Dalil Mengapa Savvy Tak Boleh Jadi Preferred Model (also PM ler..) compare to MyVI!!! Whatever it is, Savvy vs Myvi is inevitable, viewed as benchmark from public opinion.

• stupid rafidah on Aug 22, 2005 at 2:13 am

kudos to p2 for bringing such a nice car

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 22, 2005 at 2:39 am

Although Myvi is not pure National car but it really the best choice at the moment. Lucky lah Pro2! Good timing and good selection by TOYOTA group, Like chinese said "Ada ONG" lah this year…anyway too bad to Potong.

• sinleong on Aug 22, 2005 at 2:40 am

I may produce more cars.. In the end, Salesman can say "Your car ah? You get in July next year".

• well the current production of 150 cars per day…if push up to 180 per days means the production is increased by 30 units. Of the 150 units produced, already around 30 units are so called 'problematic' which may needs you to go back to perodua few times only to settle these defects. A push of extra 30 units….is it mean that another 60 – 90 units of MyVi going to be a 'problematic' 1 which we will see these owners queued up at pero2 just to get the manufactured defects solved??

Bad jokes…bad jokes…

• Curious on Aug 22, 2005 at 5:17 am

Dats ok, all faith goes to myvi….But what happened to 52,000 Savvy queed up unsold???

OK…even badder jokes…badder jokes…

• xpyre on Aug 22, 2005 at 5:32 am

it's good news, but also makes me nervous: i hope the built quality does not suffer from ramped-up production…

• Mellissa on Aug 22, 2005 at 6:18 am

tee hee, i was wondering why that photo looks so familiar :P *smacks pauly*

• Why you smack me! I tell your father! :P

• Mellissa on Aug 22, 2005 at 6:24 am

ROFL, not funny wei -_-"

• akari on Aug 22, 2005 at 6:51 am

hope is increase production by more line, no rush pls… slowly nvm lol

• naruto on Aug 22, 2005 at 8:22 am

it will sound like myvi is getting too common on the road then onwards

• although a lot of people are dismissing Savvy just for the looks and specs, there's really no head-to-head full review yet.

• he he h a ha :)

I took my car MyVi already…. been driving for a month now. I have seen a lot of MyVi on the road already.

It is worth the wait, it is a great car. :)

Problem ? what problem ? The car is trouble free for me till now. Visit the workshop twice, 1st. number plate noise, 2nd to do 1000km service. Plan to take the car for a long drive sometime next month.

Meet other MyVi owner there, no complain till now, everyone is happy with the car.

• Sylanea on Aug 22, 2005 at 6:00 pm

my friends myvis all no prob oso, if got oso minor ones unlike potong

• Marmitecrab on Aug 22, 2005 at 7:56 pm

What really irked me awhile back was a motoring journalist from a local newspaper who said that it is not fair to compare Sawi with Myvi simply because the dimensions are too dissimilar. The Myvi being an "incredible" 100mm bigger (longer or taller, I can't remember) than the Sawi. What in the world is this fella talking about? Was he bought by Proton? The two cars are similar and comparisons don't have to be down to an exact dimension. I have seen foreign car mags compare mini cars to supercars and sometimes the smaller ones win (case in point – evo mag awhile back compared a range of cars and the Mazda MX5 beat the Lambo Murcielago in terms of handling). Dear local motoring journalists, don't make it so obvious Proton bought you and just do the comparisons as this is what the public wants.

• congratulation to perodua, keep up the good works

…not a fan, though..

• yeah congrat 2 p2, going fr strength to strength since 51% ownership by Daihatsu Japan- from kelisa (car of the year), avanza (assembly only) and myvi

sadly, proton not so……

• Well plotong sawi is suffering the blow as a result of MyVi's launch…thats obvious. coz it does not really have anything which outstanding than myvi besides that so called "My First Lotus"…those stupid quotes. Thats why they are trying to bring up plotong sawi's image coz p2 is working closely with Daihatsu and our great plotong has refused help from VW ~~~

Another bad bad jokes….yucks!

• rafreez on Aug 22, 2005 at 11:09 pm

p2 is good but I still hate the SOGGY rear bumper of Myvi….hehehehe…sorry to all p2 fans…

• adrian on Aug 22, 2005 at 11:49 pm

i wonder if the inreased in production rate could result in compromising in its quality? Alot of praises has been said about Myvi but how are the Savvy doing? i know by comments, it will never level up to Myvi but im totally curious as to how good Savvy is.i mean, comments from real owners or friends who owns Savvy.

• bakar on Aug 23, 2005 at 12:15 am

hmm… Perodua rushing jobs happend again…

• rush up o double up on volume productions is good s long the quality control is high then ever.

hope it really a batter car value for money in time been in our market now .

• I haven't received mine yet. :( Ordered a week after launch.Anyone has any idea when will it arrives???

• Sounds like a lot of comment has been praising MyVi and I really hope its a nice car…of coz minimum of 'minor' problem would be great! As my brother's girlfriend has just 'switched' her mind to buy a MyVi than a Sawi…She has initially ordered Sawi as it can be delivered fast…but after compare, MyVi still possessed more pros than Sawi (esp. the automatic transmission!!)

• Jake said,

August 22, 2005 @ 1:03 pm

yeah congrat 2 p2, going fr strength to strength since 51% ownership by Daihatsu Japan- from kelisa (car of the year), avanza (assembly only) and myvi

sadly, proton not so……

—-> Pathetic rite? If VW has got the 51% and control the production with injection of VW's strategy and resources….why cant they match the world's reknown car manufacturer? atlease can fight rover :D to shut the top crew's big mouth.

Not going to see that happen…until potong hits a new low in the local market (as they had for this year…drop of 17%)

• Stingray on Aug 24, 2005 at 4:35 am

Ok. To compare the two…. From personal opinion. I got nothing against P2, I support locally made. This is just a question of taste, that I can't stand the Myvi look. Reminds me of Fiat Multipla. You know that one, the ugliest frog-eye light, frankenstein car in the world?

The Savvy is nice. Looks like a baby Land Rover from the front- looks like a spaceship from the back. Classy & cute.

Unfortuantely, the finishing inside is more like tough & basic, compared to Myvi luxury… but I still like the Savvy drive feeling much btter. Again, from personal experience; the Savvy is really comfortable on long-haul drive; both front and back seats. I was in the car 5 hours and didn't get that feeling of muscles cramping up or need to shift position all the time to get comfortable… even in some bigger cars I have to do that all the time.

• Agree with stingray. Thumbs up to savvy.

Myvi- So-so only lah. Quite boring.

• And just as a reminder for those considering Myvi. You can own a full spec Wira 1.5 auto brand new for RM 48.917.26. So think twice before you rush and book your Myvi! Trust me. I am a proud Wira owner. Car is now 3 years still no problem.

• can myvi lover tell me why choose myvi over avanza?

• adrian on Aug 24, 2005 at 6:24 pm

mmm…..just about to throw that question also.

• FiveElements on Aug 26, 2005 at 12:55 am

QOUTE:

Stingray said,

August 23, 2005 @ 8:35 pm

Ok. To compare the two…. From personal opinion. I got nothing against P2, I support locally made. This is just a question of taste, that I can’t stand the Myvi look. Reminds me of Fiat Multipla. You know that one, the ugliest frog-eye light, frankenstein car in the world?

The Savvy is nice. Looks like a baby Land Rover from the front- looks like a spaceship from the back. Classy & cute.

Unfortuantely, the finishing inside is more like tough & basic, compared to Myvi luxury… but I still like the Savvy drive feeling much btter. Again, from personal experience; the Savvy is really comfortable on long-haul drive; both front and back seats. I was in the car 5 hours and didn’t get that feeling of muscles cramping up or need to shift position all the time to get comfortable… even in some bigger cars I have to do that all the time.

The SAWI is one of the ugliest car that i ever seen!!!!. It looks like a TURTLE!!!! Seriouly i can't differentiate the front and the back. Well not sure if you have seen some reviews about our SAWI from overseas critics. It goes like this " PROTON CLAIMS THEY OWN LOTUS, JUST LOOK AT THE DESIGN. i THINK IT IS MADE IN THE JUNGLE!!!!

As a Malaysian i'm very insulted by this comment. But sadly that is the fact. What is wrong with the designer at POTONG???? Sorry to the WAJA owner out there, when i first saw our WAJA in Australia i almost THROW UP!!!! IT is so DAMN UGLY!!!!

Sigh…..

• pinky on Aug 26, 2005 at 4:07 am

can i know the different between myvi and picanto?

• Alantris on Nov 29, 2005 at 10:54 pm

No difference between a myVi and picanto i think, both goes to the mini mpv segment, but picanto is Korean, 1.0 , no special features on the engine, also got abs,airbags, al n all, with price of 42, full spec, its a good value, but again its a kia… if its a hyundai picanto or ford picanto maybe will be nicer (malaysian are so brand minded, even at choosing clothes hehehe levis vs diesel, they'd rather buy clone Levis than buy original diesel) savvy falls on different segment, perhaps superminis or k car, its designed to give good handling out of the box, but the myVi, if u mod until up to par with the savvy, the cost will be closer to low 50k, savvy comes with good handling and the price is 39000, 42888 is OTR price, and 45k for the AMT.lets just say, myVi is a rebadged Toyota/daihatsu just like clone levis, but savvy is like diesel or snail, no brand presence like levis but original and unique.