New Mitsubishi Storm

The new Mitsubishi L200 truck was launched in Thailand yesterday, where it is known as the Mitsubishi Triton.

The truck doesn’t look as aggressive as before, taking on some more futuristic design cues, with the new Mitsubishi corporate look nose.

It’s expected that a CBU model from Thailand will be brought in by Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia before the end of this year. Otherwise we’ll have to wait for CKDs next year.

The interior has a totally redesigned with a look that says sedan car more than truck.

According to Autoworld, the new Storm comes with 4 engine choices, with 3 of them being 2.5 litre turbodiesels and another 3.2 litre, likely to be a petrol. The turbodiesels employ common-rail injection technology. Power outputs range from 66 kW/90 ps and 196 Nm to 121 kW/165 ps and 321 Nm.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• stupid rafidah on Aug 26, 2005 at 11:12 pm

yay im the first to post comment

fulamak damn futuristic man the back so round one pik up

the front look so lancerish(if buy must put evo bumper on)

wah if hilux and this will buy this one

haha see price first but still souped!!!

• stupid rafidah on Aug 26, 2005 at 11:14 pm

eh eh one more thing i notice tyre not fit lah so small

• hfrshah on Aug 27, 2005 at 12:00 am

holy crap! what a weird design!!

• Dominik on Aug 27, 2005 at 12:13 am

That's one ugly beast.

• rafreez on Aug 27, 2005 at 12:15 am

weird design…looks like a truck for cheerleader, or pickup for sissy boy, or truck design by ballet dancers….aren't 4wd truck supposed to look tough like Nissan Frontera, abit roudish but still boxy to state that I'm tough…My dad drive a storm and I think the older one is 10000X more masculine…what a disapointment…

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Aug 27, 2005 at 2:13 am

bullshiX..

do 4wd's must look KOTAK KOTAK? like the landrover askar mah?

so go back to 60's lar.. buy the kotak2 landrover one..

curvy, sexy shape for me..

kamon larr..

this is a superb design.. innovation at least for 4wd world.. later gonna be follow by another maker..

standard tyre noermally small.. almost owner gonna change to the big one later..

the best part is the COCKPIT!.. nice design and look..

• hfrshah on Aug 27, 2005 at 3:45 am

the dashboard is cool yea but so is the new Hilux's. the Hilux is curvy, stylish AND tough. thats innovation, but this? the back deck doesnt intergrate well with the front cab.

a similar front styling looked awesome on the Shogun/Pajero Evo concept. that car had a much more aggessive stance, butch detailings. but that was a concept and this is a mainstream model so its not a fair comparison. nonetheless why does it have to look this weird? plus the rear tyres, why the 'jacked-up' look?

• hfrshah on Aug 27, 2005 at 3:55 am

and the whole front cab part is displaced to one side.. whats up wit that? and those rims are 17"s.. they look puny

• Jason on Aug 27, 2005 at 5:23 am

Looks good to me. Like dashboard alot.

• athlon64 on Aug 27, 2005 at 5:31 am

interior is ok but exterior look yak "WEIRD"

• narrowband on Aug 27, 2005 at 6:19 am

exterior is almost disastrously designed.

hilux is still my fav!

• The look…oh~~~~~ugly!

• xpernah nampak kat japan,huduh! except kabin interior

• Mikael_Bonaparte on Aug 27, 2005 at 8:03 am

Stupid MMC go put the Lancer front on a Storm, like dat mana boleh.

• they do that because they want sort of like a similarity between their models. The Lancer grill theme can be found across their range and is referred to as their 'company grill' (e.g Evo VIII, Colt, etc).

I might add that that design was initially penned by ex-Maybach designer Frenchman Oliver Boulay (who also designed the Peugoet 206).

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 4:12 pm

Did you all see that!!!! Did you see what I see???

What an awesome PICK UP! The exterior is 80 points and interior 80 points out of 100 points, if you ask me the grade. Shape like STAR WARS ship.

Now driving a TRUNK (It use to be used only for "LORRY LOH" or Trunk driver) also can be Smart looking like driving a sports car.

I remember old days My mom always said "DON'T GO DATING WITH LORRY LOH (Trunk driver)" cause they are low class. BUT now I will tell my mom back that the trend had be changed, I believed more and more Malaysian will drive a Pick up trunk to go for Dating soon. Cause it is tall enough to go anywhere and the back can make a small bed when you need it during emergency time. Of course only MITSUBISHI cars can!

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 4:19 pm

Sorry correction of mistake……it is "TRUCK" not TRUNK. Okay!

• This Mitsubishi's exterior seems very feminine. While the interior is bit masculine.

Some people just does'nt know the difference between feminine design and futuristic design. I think this is not a honest design because it looks like spaceship or something. Come onlah, a truck sholud looks like a truck not spaceship.

I agree with rafreez. This truck is made just to fulfill some buyers which has 'cheap shallow Asian taste' and don't know how to appreciate the values of practicality and honesty.

The best truck manufacturers are still the American like Ford one, I suppose.

• I wonder the gender of DOG THE WAN, male or female? Because to me most truck drivers are man not woman.

• SEE FU on Aug 27, 2005 at 9:38 pm

Hei afif ar!

DOG THE WAN is a man I guess cause No girls like to On-line in the morning. It is Sleeping time mah! MO KAU CHOU….LEI!!

• SEE FU on Aug 27, 2005 at 9:40 pm

Where is Hokkien Lang??? Still selling PISANG goreng ar!!

Business should be damm good cause today is Saturday. I WANT to order one! CAN ar??? YAU MO KAU ……CHOU!!

• New Storm - Just lik on Aug 27, 2005 at 10:23 pm

New Storm too GIRLISH for a pick-up..,maybe Mitsu try to attract more lady driver to drive big pick up truck!!! Or attract more lady become lady bully to counter those road bullies. But still look tough n macho…think off Vin Diesel wearing super-mini skirt….Yeah!!!

Anyway good job Mitsu! This is Pajero Evo & Lancer Evo put together into a Storm Evo muahaha! Launch it soon in Msia before new pickup from Chevrolet Silverado n new Nissan Frontier coming soon!!

HILUX Salesman dont be too proud lah….your real lawan just around the corner kahkahkah!!! Hopefully Mitsu will not introduce any stupid limited edition like Mazda Fighter Borneo edition—–insult product to East Malaysia market only, Mazda think guys there still driving pick-up with orang utan kah??? Bad mistake Mazda, stupid idea!!!!!!!! Hopeless Mazda!!

Wonder if Hilux launch limited edition: Hilux Taliban limited edition, perfect for terrorist launching RPG from the truckbed like the Osama friends used to do in Kabul n proudly display it during Taliban national day parade alongside T-52 soviet tanks. RPG will be optional accessories from Toyota though, hahaha!

Congrat Mitsu, its long time since Storm ready to BANZAI!!!!!!

• armandd on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:25 pm

it looks damn ugly!

• marlboro on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:50 pm

wow pajero evo

• jedi knight on Aug 28, 2005 at 7:40 am

Looks like a Star Wars "Storm" Trooper… maybe intentional hence the name?

Mitsubishi Storm, Trooper edition.

haha

• Wah Lan eh…thats all i can say when i first saw the pix…moon truck or space voyager??

• rafreez on Aug 29, 2005 at 8:18 pm

mitsu_galant_2000…its obvious, majority agree with me…but as what people always said, beauty is subjective….

• oopsss on Aug 31, 2005 at 10:57 am

Its good to hear that one of the blog member touch a bit discrimination on east malaysia along side the borno mazda edition.. well at least it was something people can afford…. I bet this guy has asilly thought on our geografical diferent frend… nobody perfect as long as anyone form sabah had their own view… Use your brain when posting some idea.. mind people feelings….

• Mostly, all of us like new things…say about our Malaysian 4WD market, the new MMC Storm (Triton) is one of the newcomer!, conguratulation!. But, sincerely there is unsatisfactory looking for the said 4WD…the design of the rear door was look…UGLY! and make it looks unstreamlined. Then, there is no any bumper at the rear end. The price of this 4WD believed truly expensive, and to mount the bumper next will cost us more…unfriendly for our pockets. Why don't do like Ford, most their recent double cabs equipped with the said bumper that make them look better, even the standard models…and their prices are still reacheable. Hope MMC can look foward for all that above said…Mitsubishi is one of the favorite models in the country, don't make the fans upset with the weird appearance of the new model. New model should shows the best 'nice' lookings. TQ.

• Cars! on Oct 05, 2005 at 7:09 pm

Front light not so NICE lar!!! But its face cool like MITSUBISHI LANCER

Inside DASH Board looks like Harrier .Hilux's/Vigo dash board not as attractive as Storm.Rear light enhance the modern look .Its simple and looks like a FUTURE CAR.Wonder the rear seat NARROW a not !!!!

• terryhendra on Oct 12, 2005 at 1:16 am

Saw this in thailand…One word "UGLY!"….

• err…looks funny, the old storm looks better, although i like the fact that there will be a 3.2L engine. but still, nissan frontier looks much more "jantan", too bad Nissan didn't bring in the V6 variant.

mr. paul, do you know of any nissan plans to bring in the V6 frontier??

• storm UK edition on Nov 26, 2005 at 9:33 pm

hellow there, firstly i just wanna u all to know that there are not so many thing perfect in the world, for e.g if someone throw an engine and metal sure u will bend it to the shape u want, imagine that sometimes when people wanna to decrease cost of design there will surely be add-on to it, for e.g when u have old ford hilux that look like lorry, u can spend money to mack-up and convert it to the tuff and gangster 4wd, that depend on your pocket money, have money u can convert anything from weird to beauty, just look at the UK edition L200 here, then u can comment, as they uses other bumper compare to thailand edition, maybe thailand people like curvy bumper? take a good look at this link http://www.mitsubishi-cars.co.uk/newl200/

• Madison on Nov 27, 2005 at 8:27 pm

I agree 100% with what storm UK edition said. That is what we call a truck, almost like a soup up hot rod. Sleek design, macho exterior and interior space superb! AWESOME Triton Warrior!!!

All the pictures shown on the internet are the basic ones without any accessories, except on the UK Mitsubishi web page. Those so called "girly" pictures we were seeing taken during launching for Thailand exclusively and thats the reason why its so bare.

I really wish if USF could bring in this Triton with accessories such as the UK version. Its just nice. C'mmon USF you can do it. Driving Mitsubishi 4wd since day one, this is like a dream come true. The sad part is we have to wait until 2nd quarter next year. AWESOME!!!!

• Stevo443 (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 4:35 pm

Wow, this must be the new attempt at world domination, aiming to burn peoples eyes out with supreme ugliness

• Stevo443 (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 4:40 pm

this must be mitsubishis new attempt at world domination, to burn everyones eyes out with a hanus looking vehicle