Naza to make Peugeot 206 1.4

Naza and Automobiles Peugeot signed an agreement today to produce a locally manufactured and branded version of the Peugeot 206 car for local and regional export markets.

Naza will be manufacturing a Peugeot 206 branded under the Naza brand, and it will come with a 1.4 litre engine. This car will be manufactured at Naza’s assembly plant in Gurun, Kedah and may shift to Naza’s 2nd plant in Penang in 2007.

Target export markets for the Naza-branded Peugeot 206 1.4 litre are Thailand and Indonesia. Cycle and Carriage Automobiles will be providing the after-sales service in Malaysia.

Source: Dow Jones Newswire

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• michly on Sep 07, 2005 at 10:54 pm

Will the car become cheaper ? since its assemble locally.. i hope the local man tighten the screw harder..

• cameljoe on Sep 07, 2005 at 11:09 pm

I think it will be Myvi and Savvy price. So, the two Ps' better buckup before market share is lost. Anyway, looks like Naza getting aggresive, more cars please.

• Biothing on Sep 07, 2005 at 11:13 pm

Will this be given a 'national car' status? Maybe not. Anyway, it'll make no gddm difference. We'll still pay through the nose. Isn't Naza chipping in to become Proton competitor, besides Perodua?

• michly on Sep 07, 2005 at 11:34 pm

Guys.. ask urselve.. if same price.. which one you prefer.. hahahahahaha.. i think the Potong and Pro will make noise to government.

• Wilfred on Sep 07, 2005 at 11:49 pm

no cheap stuff i guess….

as from top gear….cheap and nasty…..cheerful and expensive…

get them clear….

Can't wait to see how it will look alike then…

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 07, 2005 at 11:56 pm

"Target export markets for the Naza-branded Peugeot 206 1.4 liter are Thailand and Indonesia."

Does it means NAZI will export French design car to Indo and Thai??? Peugeot Brand car Tak ada di Indo dan Thai KaH??

Also, Wonder how many percent of Local contains will be in this car? Maybe will compete with POTONG soon?? What is "G" planing to do?? Paul tahukah??!!

ANYbody knows???…….Big Brain or Small Brain not important,….important is LOGIC comments!! Please share us some!!

• Sylanea on Sep 08, 2005 at 1:00 am

TDM and Mr. Nasi sudah kamching la. National car status shouldnt be a prob.

• E-Nabill on Sep 08, 2005 at 2:06 am

i tink it wil be 50 to 60k,wish it was the 1.6 though,i dont tink the 1.4 that lively,specially if its mated to the auto box,we all now how peugeot auto box are,jerky and change up b down like no bodys biz!

i jus hope thy wont compromise the quality,bcos frankly speaking,the original peugeot from france ,specially the 206,is nt that great….went to the show room in jln ampang n saw….i tink it will end the wira(Finally) if its price about 50k..bt the interior is not that spacious specially the back

• HANG JEBAT on Sep 08, 2005 at 2:12 am

hmm always fond to continental cars as most of my family own it.. my big bro 306 still doing well, hope the 206 will be priced as wira so i & many more M'sian can own it..

• HANG JEBAT on Sep 08, 2005 at 2:15 am

hmm.. 1.4 is not that bad considering the 206 body is loosely a compact size car… just hope the quality is good & decent, that's all what we need for the time being…

• itu spare parts ada cheap ka?..dun be like my former citroen (tiara)..car cheap…spare parts..mak datuk! mahal!…peugeot & citroen, adik beradik ler..jawabnya!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 08, 2005 at 3:08 am

If it'd be priced at 60k maybe I'll regret getting my Myvi later. Hahaha!

But hey , if its 60k I bet Myvi owners like the future me would cry maybe , Price Unjust!

I'd expect a price within 65-75k..That sounds realistic enough. As for 1.6 models.. I'd think it'd be priced with the Civic to be realistic , Around 80k I'd say for the 1.6.

• maybe around Hyundai Getz price ….

• intermilan on Sep 08, 2005 at 6:49 am

anybody have opinion on the 2nd hand value of the real 206 (either the 1.4 or 1.6 model) after this?

hopefully this deal will become the real thing. have heard news about locally assembled 206 for years now, without it materialised.

• akari on Sep 08, 2005 at 7:29 am

eRis-Aeir4s : this naza 206 have abs/airbag or not? full spec myvi at 51k n if this 206 have the same thing, just 1000cc engine different n selling 60k i guess will still have ppl go for myvi.

btw how about naza's quality? never drive naza b4, is it better than P1 n P2?

• pojot on Sep 08, 2005 at 12:36 pm

2003 peugeot 1.4 with less then 30km would cost around 65-70k

now with naza selling the rebranded peugeot, let's say around 65k, i say the 2nd hand price would go way down lah…hopefully. been eyeing one for quite some time now..naza rebranded one won't be the same with peugeot own handsome "lion" badge

• Biothing on Sep 08, 2005 at 4:13 pm

So TDM abandon proton and now kamcheng with NAZA, he wants to get paid as Advisor to NAZA lah!! Proton doesn't pay him. Expect NAZA cars on his doorstep soon.. i.e. pojot and kia

Always about Proton bal bla bla, so TDM care about Proton.. NOT!! that's bullshit!!

• wooz2002 on Sep 08, 2005 at 4:42 pm

Repost: ”The cars will have local component content of 40%,” Nasimuddin said, adding that Naza was considering sourcing the balance of the parts from China, among other countries.

Translates: 60% components from China and other countries, guess who’s raking in the cash from Malaysian consumers?

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 08, 2005 at 5:58 pm

Eekz..Dr.Mahathir is my idol leh..

Well let's see in the meantime.. And my guess is the 1.6 will have airbags and extras while the 1.4's won't.

• Paul…. when will we expect to see the first car come out of the Naza plant. when will they start taking booking.

time to change my wira

• the 206 is not in the same class as the myvvi or savvy. the price will definitely be higher, my guess is it will be in the 65-70k bracket.

for the compact car class, peuqeot has the 107.

year 2000 206 1.4 is going for around RM60-65k for 2nd hand. brand new, it was near the high RM80k+ if i remember correctly.

spare parts are not expensive, but not cheap either. but the car has its share of horror stories as well.

• AlexC on Sep 08, 2005 at 10:20 pm

So would the 206 comes with convertibles too??? We can only make a guess of how much its gonna be… how would the logo look like??? hopefully something cool to complement the car… and what engine??? anyone have any idea??? engines from naza are well known to be very heavy in fuel consumption, and not a good idea when the petrol prices are still going up… quality wise, i think at least they have a touch of quality to their interior… just my opinion…

• hfrshah on Sep 08, 2005 at 11:33 pm

the obvious choice would be the Peugeot 1.4 engine.

Engine: 1361cc 8V in-line four

Max Power: 75bhp at 5500rpm

Max Torque: 120Nm at 2800rpm

pretty old tech, in comparison Mvvi 1.3 pushes 87bhp@6000rpm and 116Nm@3200rpm.. but its said to be adequate for spirited driving around town.. Europeans seem to say that 206 cabin quality is below par.. how that compares to our local cars is not known.

the Naza Ria fuel consumption is quoted at 12.4 litres per 100 kilometres.. quite reasonable counting in the near-1900kg weight and big(gish) engine-2.5litre.

Naza Citra on the other hand is relatively impressive at 8.1 litres per 100 kilometres..

• hfrshah on Sep 08, 2005 at 11:56 pm

Naza usually opts for one-version-per-model line-up.. so most probably theres gonna be only one variant-1.4 4-door. i dont think Naza is gonna assemble niche models like the 206cc.. demand too low to make it profitable. Peugeot already sells the 206cc here anyways(RM149k)

• With all the skrting on this babe, it will become cool stuff… like WRC car… outlook only…

just to share if u r boring & want to see some clips this is a good site,
    www.dumpalink.com

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:37 am

Thanks for sharing dude , sharing is caring hahaha.

The Naza cars … Hmm.. I'm not so energetic about them, considering the woodgrain in the Naza Ria actually well…sucks IMO.

What name it'd be given hahaha. Naza Dua-Kosong-Enam? xD

• stupid rafidah on Sep 09, 2005 at 5:48 am

hmm…. if new one oledi >>100k

what would a rebadge naza be?

i think would be 70-75k,dunno lah,this car doesn't sound impressive

but its in nfs udg2 oh yeah can mod

hahhaa

• aji mohd fadhilah on Sep 09, 2005 at 6:39 pm

congratulation to Tan Sri Nassiumuddin because very agressive in providing malaysia as a center for automotive manufacturing and giving us more choice and lower down the car price.I hope naza will maintain the quality of this car.As i know that this 206 is has won many award in world rally and we must proud because french car maker give us licence to assamble this car.

• Biothing on Sep 09, 2005 at 8:03 pm

OK going political are we tuan haji,

But AP King Tan Sri's NAZA should also team up with Proton and Perodua to improve our (Malaysian) already massive investement in the auto industry. Don't think about NAZA only!

Even if he couldn't get the control of DRB-Hicom, it is really time to consolidate with Proton. Our combined entities Proton, Perodua, NAZA whatever is still PUNY when compared to global giant.

Wouldn't it be better if we form 'Malaysia Auto Corporation – MAC' to be in control Proton, NAZA, DRB-Hicom etc. instead of Khazanah?

The philosophy is about co-existence, between 'national car status' and other cars (ASEAN or global). Then this irrelevant competition can be reduced, as the one who suffers are concumers who spend their life savings on car loans.

Car are tools, but it dictates our lives, lifestyle and livelihood (if we let them).

Tan Sri NAZA can ahh?

• gogochaiyo on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:28 am

Yo biothing.. i'm not defending NAZA nor Tan Sri….

But i dont think a big corporation will do us good anyway.

Remember few years ago when some people come up with an idea to

team up all the mini-bus owner and come up with only one bus operator

in KL? The INTRA…. one? what happen? the company suffer loss and they have to be reorganised again to become what we see now as Rapi…

Anyhow.. we can only hope for the best

• For the pricing, let's make a simple calculation. 1.6 CKD Spectra is RM68k OTR. That's RM25k less than other marques except Waja in the same class.The Citra at RM82k, compare to Carens RM92k. Less RM10k. Will the 206 price around RM60k? Think so…RM55+k rasanya. Okla.Continental engine, not a favourite among Malaysian. Will become another 'kereta sejuk' (according to 2nd hand dealers) like Tiara, Savvy, Spectra, Peagout, Renault…

• Burhanuddin on Sep 13, 2005 at 2:57 am

The new 1.4 Kia Rio….fuyoooooo….have a look and you'll know that how far the korean has gone up to…why wait for the Naza Pijot 206? Need a basic lesson on how to design and market yur car…hmmm…proton…? Seek some help from the korean please! Smpi bila nak minta tolong TS Mahathir?…he is not immortal anyway…heh..heh…hehhhh

• Captain Grind on Dec 02, 2005 at 5:51 pm

With CKD parts from Europe, I think the price won't be so cheap. Nevertheless can give Hyundai Getz, Chevy Aveo, Jazz a run for its money.

• sacker85 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 10:44 pm

i jus bought a naza 206, it seems reliable for me, cause price 64k really worth for a car like this. the 1.4 liters tu engine produce about err…. i guess maybe 60++ hp (on the road)NOT ON FLY WHEEL(70++)HP

still can accept la, for a car around rm60k with two a-bag, abs break and good handling really worth.this car (naza206) accually is same with peugeot 206, just change those logo, rims,and yah steering wheel and u'll get a real peugeot. just like import model, haha!

FOR ME,yeah, just my opinion, if naza could rebadge for 206rc that's perfect.!!!

p/s:the maintain… cost also cheap, i don think this european base model-ckd model would cause too much problem.