Revised Road Tax Rates

The government will be revising it’s road tax rates on September 12 2005.

• Engine capacities below 1000cc will only pay RM30 a year
  • Engine capacities from 1001cc to 1600cc will pay 50% less road tax
  • Commercial vehicles will get a 25% road tax reduction

The government also announced it would delay any further fuel price hikes until next year. We should still be able to breath freely on RM1.62 a litre for RON97 for the time being.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• michly on Sep 08, 2005 at 5:07 am

if this is real , ill vote barisan again……..

• ReadyCompanies on Sep 08, 2005 at 5:34 am

Confirmed by Bernama
    http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news.php?id=154…
    Vehicles' Road Tax Down Between 25 And 80 Pct

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 7 (Bernama) — Road tax on vehicles will be reduced between 25 and 80 per cent effective this Monday, in an immediate measure to cushion the impact of the oil price hike, the government announced Wednesday.

In a statement here, the Prime Minister's Office said the road tax on school buses would be reduced to RM2 from RM10 a year while owners of private vehicles of below 1,000 cc need to only pay RM30 a year.

For private vehicles of between 1,000 cc and 1,600 cc, the road tax has been cut by 50 per cent and a similar reduction will be enjoyed by owners of motorcycles of between 151 cc and 250 cc.

At present, no tax is imposed on motorcycles below 150 cc.

To reduce the cost of doing business, the road tax on all types of commercial vehicles will be reduced by 25 per cent.

The government said it had no plans to raise the price of petrol, diesel and cooking gas up till the end of the year and decided that toll rates on all highways would not be raised this year and next year.

"The government hopes the road tax reduction and the decision to maintain the present toll rates would benefit not only operators but also consumers," the statement said.

The Prime Minister's Office also said it would increase aid to the elderly and the needy through the Welfare Services Department so that they would enjoy some comfort.

Aid to children who are orphans, poor or the less unfortunate, particularly those whose family have lost their source of income, sick, handicapped or are suffering from certain diseases, will also be raised.

The statement said further measures to ease the burden of the rakyat would be announced in the 2006 Budget to be presented on Sept 30.

The government also warned traders from taking advantage of the situation by increasing the prices of goods.

More enforcement officers would be deployed and a more integrated action among relevant agencies would be taken to prevent unscrupulous traders from profiteering.

It said that although the oil price in Malaysia was not as high as that on the international market given that it is subsidised by the government, the prices of goods in the country had risen.

The Consumer Price Index (CPI), which measures inflation, rose 2.8 per cent during the six months of this year, and three per cent in July, and the increase might have reduced the purchasing power of the consumers, it noted.

The government also warned that it would withdraw the licence of any trader found to be repeatedly increasing the prices of goods sold.

The PM's office also said the government was aware of the impact of the world's oil price which had soared to US$71 (RM267) a barrel on Aug 30 on the people.

So far, the government provides subsidy on petroleum and sales tax exemption on petroleum products.

"Without the subsidy and tax exemption, the price of petrol, diesel and cooking gas would be twice the current price," the statement said.

In 2003, the government had to bear the cost of subsidy and incur a loss in revenue totalling RM6.6 billion and the amount had increased to RM11.9 billion last year.

This year, the amount is estimated to have increased to RM16 billion, that is RM1.4 billion more from the estimates made during the oil price hike on July 31.

The Prime Minister's Office also said that although the government had increased the oil price aimed at reducing the cost of subsidy, the latter had actually been increasing as a result of the rising oil price in the world market.

— BERNAMA

• Pentan Sakua... on Sep 08, 2005 at 5:47 am

Aiyya…How about vehocle above 1600cc and below 2000cc?

• ReadyCompanies on Sep 08, 2005 at 5:50 am

i think Paul should request the PM's Department to extend the rebate to all vehicle owners.

• hfrshah on Sep 08, 2005 at 5:55 am

now thats good news indeed!! The Gov isnt doing it all wrong, right? way to go!!

• accord on Sep 08, 2005 at 6:18 am

zzzzz… doesnt benefit me at all . Shd juz lower the price of petrol

• accord on Sep 08, 2005 at 6:19 am

no votes from me for barisan

• HANG JEBAT on Sep 08, 2005 at 6:35 am

whoaaa… and all the sudden we should be very thankfull to the gov… hmm reduce this, hike that… what's the point? so what if the gov isnt doing it all wrong… in the end, fuel price will still go up like hell, remember, even 1 cent will make a very significant effect, & the chain reaction will be catostraphy… only time can tell, & for those who still wanna vote this kind of gov, i just wanna say thank u very f**kin' much.. keep up the good work…

• moo_t on Sep 08, 2005 at 6:36 am

michly say, "if this is real , ill vote barisan again…….."

ROFL. You are really sarcastic. ;)

Pretty close to uncle Lim Kit Siang request for many years : If you want to make TOL road, don't charge the road tax….

Wait….. will this open pandora box to TOL ALL ROAD in Malaysia ? Omg. omg… I will cycle. ;)

• Ah….that post is a sight for sore eyes….Made my day!

• karheng on Sep 08, 2005 at 7:35 am

Doesn't really help higher end imported cars does it?

Again, you can see that the govt is doing this to protect the local car industry ….Yet again…

!#%!@$

• E-Nabill on Sep 08, 2005 at 8:26 am

Kudos to the government! i tink this is a first step tward the new auto policy,atleast thy r listening to the rakyat,bt fuel price will definatly go up after the budget,to compensate….bt i tink its a good move….

• for my op – that reduced road tax is only for small/compact/mini sedan vehicle owner. err…. how about road tax for between 1600cc-2000cc car? anyone know about that?

• colbert on Sep 08, 2005 at 9:11 am

so that means a Kenari's road tax is Rm30 since its less than 1000cc in the specs

• colbert on Sep 08, 2005 at 9:11 am

a Kenari's displacement is 989cc

• If only Malaysians can think deeper and not be so shallow…

It doesn't matter whether do you vote for BN or any other party. It doesn't make a difference if any other government is running Malaysia. Peak oil is here! If you don't know what is peak oil – maybe it's time to do some reading.

While crude oil prices have fallen slightly, it still going to stay firmly above the USD50 – USD60 levels. No government and no economy in this world can sustain it. Not even the Arabs…and they know it damn well, high oil prices is like killing the goose laying the golden egg – global economy grinds to a halt.

• AsapMan on Sep 08, 2005 at 10:38 am

for ppl who keep complaining about oil hikes,

its happening all around the world, its INEVITABLE.

and oh yeah , pls remember oil is what makes this world go round. if prices of oil go up, everything goes up.

just my 2 cents, trying to make the obvious, obvious to some ^_^

• armandd on Sep 08, 2005 at 11:30 am

HANG JEBAT said,

September 7, 2005 @ 10:35 pm

whoaaa… and all the sudden we should be very thankfull to the gov… hmm reduce this, hike that… what’s the point? so what if the gov isnt doing it all wrong… in the end, fuel price will still go up like hell, remember, even 1 cent will make a very significant effect, & the chain reaction will be catostraphy… only time can tell, & for those who still wanna vote this kind of gov, i just wanna say thank u very f**kin’ much.. keep up the good work…

*at least be thankful… if u want all things to be cheap, etc etc… then go and create your own country lah… do u think it's that easy to run the govt?

• cameljoe on Sep 08, 2005 at 4:12 pm

ok la, at least the gov is giving the rakyat a little break till next year when the fuel will go up………road tax on the 1.0L – 1.6L range is cheap so reduction does not impact much when fuel price goes up.

• hfrshah on Sep 08, 2005 at 4:16 pm

the government is trying all they can to lessen the effect of higher fuel prices to people with low income.. if they dont do anything, these people are gonna be the ones suffering the most.. to avoid that, they do this. so whats not to like?

as for cars with engines bigger than 1.6litres, they are assuming people driving these cars can cope with the change..

the oil price is going up up up, you want fuel prices to go down??

• nah…this price of petrol you pay more…..even tax reduce only little..

i mean if one year you paying extra RM60(per week)x 52weeks=3120

deduce rm30…or less..really mean nothing…espcially for people invovle in travelling one….from penang- kl trip rm100…per day…

do the math

• gim: you said it before me.

voting for BN just because they reduce 50% of your road tax (which is.. oh, probably 1% of your annual expenditure) is shallow and ignorant.

You forget, the government will probably take the reduction in road taxes collected from somewhere else. Reducing schools, reducing teachers, charge more tolls.

Jeff Ooi was correct: some of the rakyat not too bright. So damn easy to get their votes.

• kenit on Sep 08, 2005 at 5:06 pm

Engine capa 1000cc till 1600cc will pay less 50% roadtax, ermm at least can less my burden. Hope this situation is will be the same and no more increase for fuel price even after end of this year .

I think much better indeed, if we pay less 50% for insurance quit expensive lor. Can help rakyat savings and use the money for others benefit : ).Only my opinion : ).

Whatever, thank to gov.they still thinking about us

• AlexC on Sep 08, 2005 at 5:27 pm

Reduce the road tax or what, i still think they should change the tax system for vehicles… shouldnt be based on the capacity of the car in the first place… should take in factors like hybrid cars be exempted, something like the one implemented in UK… at least, this is some cushion for the increasing petrol, but that doesnt mean that this would be used to calibre our thoughts on who we vote… overall is what we citizens are looking at, including toll for roads and brides…

• Streamyx User on Sep 08, 2005 at 5:52 pm

I'd like my insurance to drop 50% :(

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 08, 2005 at 6:06 pm

It's positive. Who wouldn't want a tax decrease?

However we Malaysians as I found out sometimes go too deep, Like what you guys said at the beginning , 'Just another method to gather votes'. But really , about politics , who else would we vote? I'd go for BN definitely. No way I'm going for PAS. Never , EVER in my life I would vote for them. Now don't get me wrong , it's not racial but rather not my way.

DAP seems a wise choice somehow..Enough about politics =/

I'm quite thankful for having fuel prices still subsidied by the Govt. at least till the end of this year. Well this may be a plot to protect Proton again but who knows… At least my Myvi will benefit from it ^^.

Good day.

• dear Streamyx User

i am insurance agent, I will give you 55%. :)

but condition, u renew your next 5 years insurance with me, and no claim/accident within this 5 years, then I will give you 5% more then the 50% u ask for…..he he haha :)

• dear everyone reader here,

take away $$$$$$ from you and give u back $, and you are still happy.

I drive a 1.3cc car, my road tax is RM180 yearly, with this move by the government, I would have save RM90.00

I am in sales line, where I need to travel a lot, my average monthly fuel is RM400 before the price increase (RM1.52).

With this price hike, I would had paid RM315.00 more in petrol over the year.

So, the government take RM315.00 from me, and give me back RM90.00 , and all you guys out there say it is a good move.

• Dear eRis-Aeir4s

have you collect your MyVi ??

I drive my MyVi 1.3EZ standard for the last 6 weeks and done the 1st service already,

BUT I still think my fuel consumption is too high, I got 10km/liter town driving only, FYI, I am NOT in KL trafic jams.

• ?Confused? on Sep 08, 2005 at 6:58 pm

Does anyone knows the formula for road tax calculation? if 1600-2000cc is paying 0.35 per cc currently (as stated in : http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20… i would have been paying RM600+ for my 1997cc car.. but i'm only paying about RM395 currently.. something is missing here…

• rafreez on Sep 08, 2005 at 7:01 pm

ok guys, please remember gov is not our parents, and even our parent doesnt support us till we grow up…correct? so think of this reduction as freedom (now u can come back up till 12night rather than b4 10pm) ur mom n dad give u and the increase in fuel as an increase rent u have to pay due to useage of streamyx 24 caused the electricity bill increase. Please lah u guys, 1.6 and above shouldnt get any reduction bcos if u can afford that amount of money to buy expensive cars meaning u have money to pay the fuel….simple as that….so rich people always said 'dont let life pushes u around, deal with it'

• FiveElements on Sep 08, 2005 at 7:06 pm

GUYS,

If i have not mistaken, the government said no change in price for TOLL and FUEL until end of 2006. Correct me if wrong.

Dont be too happy about it. You can be assured that they are going to increase it on 2007 to cover it back for 2006.

So it serves no difference. They just pushing it backwards. SMART

• FiveElements on Sep 08, 2005 at 7:12 pm

To RAFREEZ,

Its not that who drives big car/small car or expensive/cheap cars. Its about the concept of reasoning.

If we are paying for toll everywhere we go, then basically we shouldnt have to pay for roadtax at all.

If you want to increase this and that….make sure you increase our wages too. Set a minimum wage. The RAKYAT would be happy about it. Of course you dont set the minimum wages at rm500 permth.

• marquis on Sep 08, 2005 at 7:15 pm

no price increase till end of the year? come on, now is already september. 3 more months left for u guys to enjoy.

• reducing the road tax doesn't help much because when the fuel price increases, other things will start to increase…it's a chain reaction.

i would be grateful to the government IF they REALLY ENFORCE law to prevent traders and business people from taking advantage of the fuel price hike. Because all this while, they only know how to talk, no action. They do not do what they say. I still see those people doing business taking advantage of the fuel price hike….where are the authorities?

besides, i don't understand why car owners of 1800cc and above are not benefited by this reduction of road tax?? Why we are exempted? Government says they want to come up with such new ruling to help the rakyats….but they are not helping all the rakyats.

to me, this kind of "reduction in road tax" is just a gimmick.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 08, 2005 at 7:30 pm

I think this ROAD TAX reduction is JUST A SHOW not really can helps us. It is not enough at all! I believed it was only to PANCING UNDI!!

Why??

1) Do you know why only apply for Low CC engine?? Because these low CC engine OWNER ROAD TAX is much lower than Big CC OWNER. The "G" can still pay it…..small money only!! Can WIN ppl HEART! (one STONE kills TEN birls)

2) Do you all agreed that BIG CC engine owner MUST be a RICH man?? Not always true, example: Salesman he has to trave allow sometime from NORTH to SOUTH, EAST to WEST many times a months. Do you think is safe to drive SAGA or KANCIL?? These ppl will have to buy Big CC engine car as a matter of facts Safety and comfort. These ppl will be the victims soon if Fuel price rise up…..like hell! But No support from the "G"

3) Toll Tak naik sekarang nanti you mesti TAHUlah!! Mesti TRIPLE pay later! JUST after the ELECTION.

4) The "G" will charge us somewhere just another form of BILL. Wait and seelah Kawan. Tunggu Newspapers news soon.

I think the best way to fight with OIL PRICE UP is this way only:

Rakyat semua JALAN KAKI SAHAJA or guna BASIKAL or BIKE to work baru bolehlah.

Company cannot complaint workers late to work and go back early. Like CHINA!!

Worst case I think WE all have to use HONDA KAP to work soon!! KUAk…kuak..kuak

• Biothing on Sep 08, 2005 at 7:35 pm

Yes a few months only. we dunno what it'll be next year!! horrendous.

PEAK OIL! It's really coming, to your neighbourhood….

Let us get rid of petrol engine, and go for HYBRID cars (temporarily). then we make sure we don't have to travel so long distance to work.

Houses and other form of accommodations (should be plenty of this) must be available within 20minutes walk form work place. IDEAL!! I hate driving one hour to work, watse of time. Unless you are in logistics whatever. If only makan gaji like me, stay in the place 9-6 every day, what's the car doing in the heat of the sun (parking pun susah)

We only drive away at weekend for 'domestic tourism' even to Thailand or Singapore (or Penang).

Yes Proton does hybrid now, and Govmnt allow other hybrid on the road.

No import duties for hybrid, road tax should be the same whatever the CC. Everyone use the same road right?

DREAM DREAM DREAM

WE WANT HYBRID!! (repeat many times)

• nuggyn on Sep 08, 2005 at 7:35 pm

remember when everytime the fuel price increases, the authorities would make a big hoo haa and give warning to business people and traders so that they would not increase the price of their products…saying that it's against the law, and if anyone of them caught taking advantage, they will be fine lah, this lah, that lah.

remember??

I still see people taking advantage…so, are they really enforcing this law? or it's just another hangat2 tahi ayam thingy. No action, talk only

• michly said,

September 7, 2005 @ 9:07 pm

if this is real , ill vote barisan again……..

—> Michael you are too naive…thats why barisan still rulez today becoz of the 'sweets' they given b4 the election…

• rafreez on Sep 08, 2005 at 8:00 pm

FiveElements, as I said 'dont let life pushes u around' now oil is pushing us so we have to deal with it. how? its up to you to decide…go ofc, BIKE (no road tax), go to meeting then use ur big cc cars (need to show off), travel on business, drive ur big cc cars and dont tell me you cant claim for the milage (safe there)…so everything is up to you, dont always blame on thing. if road has no toll, dont blame me if ur big cc cars stuck trafic jammed due to no highway (u think gov/anyone want to give u a nice highway for free). even the normal road, everyone will start cursing if there is huge pot hole so do u think to repair it dont need money?….I bet u who ever rules the country, they will do the same and if not I think we are going to be like Indon where the gap between the rich and the poor is very very huge…so THINK ABOUT IT

sorry FiveElements if my words are to harsh…

• Apai_Mau on Sep 08, 2005 at 8:00 pm

Reduced road tax = I pay half the amount of road tax for my new car yippie!! :-D

Fuel consumption? No problem. Seldom use car as I work offshore.

• rafreez on Sep 08, 2005 at 8:04 pm

u guys didnt watch bersama mu…all the subsidise fuel 16bil give 1 bil to poor makes me happy enough, even if i have to ride kapchai to work

• Ir Entau on Sep 08, 2005 at 8:20 pm

The problem is always there, the fuel price will still keep on going increasing (all america's fault where they shouldn't wage war on iraq and i still remember they said the fuel price will go down without the regime in power) Now what the fuel price today is USD 65 per barrel. Our country should find alternative of pwer source. It seems logical enough that our country climate is destined to be sometimes hot and sometimes rainy and some more we are surrounded sea. Why dont we tap into mother's nature power, even though the cost could be initially high at start, but surely one day it will benefits all of us one day when the oil runs dry.

• nuggyn said,

September 8, 2005 @ 11:35 am

remember when everytime the fuel price increases, the authorities would make a big hoo haa and give warning to business people and traders so that they would not increase the price of their products…

—-> Who would wanna make a loss out of their business…its always a chain reaction that government refuses to admit. If i were to make that margin of profit to sustain my living, I have to maintain that % when my cost is rised. If i oni make that peanut not enuff to support my livings, might wise juz gulung tikar and balik tidur! Remember our Hal-Ehwal Minister who made a hoo-haa when he heard that 1 nasi lemak selling at RM2.00…c'monla encik, u ppl at that level would really concern if a nasi lemak selling at RM2.00??? wat do gonna do?? sabo the nasi lemak and take it back to ur dept and share with ur colleagues?? or put nasi lemak as one of controlled item?? tok kok no. 1 la…that barisan minister..besides our glamourous rafidah

Barisan?? sigh*

• hfrshah on Sep 08, 2005 at 8:26 pm

as said before, fuel price going up is totally inevitable.. its impossible to avoid, since crude oil price is going sky high.. agree?

ok then what can the Gov do? MINIMIZE the effect. thats exactly what theyre doing.. in hope of oil prices going down again in the near future, they delay the increase in fuel price and toll.. when, or if, oil prices returns to a reasonable level, theyll revert back to the current system..

as for the engine size thingy, think, the majority of road users come from the lower-income bracket. with these people, increase in fuel prices have a very much larger impact on their overall budget, when compared to us middle and upper class earners.. sure, to us its a "ai, MORE money needs to be spent" situation but at the end of it, we CAN afford it. so maybe itll delay your plan to buy a new house, or go on a big holiday cruise, but guys, these things are luxuries that we can live without(or can wait a bit).. as for the unfortunate lower income earners, they'll have to cut back on ESSENTIALS! get the picture here? we can live with the increase, but what about them? its not always about us, have to look at the big picture also

• Hey hey guys…ppl like rafreez and FiveElements, its not the matter whether you drive your big cc cars or kapchai. The matter here is…after all this, are you going to pay less for your wan-tan mee? chicken rice? or other thing u bought in the supermarket? its 'theoritically' reduce ur burdenla…but physically you are paying 50 sen extra for your wan-tan-mee…chicken rice or even like our so call minister said…RM2.00 for a nasi lemak!

Its just to relax ur tension abit…after some bad jokes from the government on their policies.

• Ezmil on Sep 08, 2005 at 8:46 pm

The only hybrid vehicle in our country is the Honda Civic Hybrid.. But the price is way too pricey (around RM114k if i'm not mistaken)

• hfrshah on Sep 08, 2005 at 8:56 pm

Civic Hybrid is available for RM 118,888. not that much difference with Honda Civic 1.7L VTEC( RM110,000)..

running cost is definitely lower, the fuel consumption is far far better.. and road tax is lower also (1.3 vs 1.7, magnified by this revision).. as for maintenance, for the first 7-8 years it would be just like a conventional cars’, but after that the battery might need replacing and that is very expensive. plus second hand value is lower coz its not well known.

in the long run its more expensive… UK and US have tax breaks to compensate for the extra cost.. we dont have

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 08, 2005 at 9:05 pm

what a pancing udi aa?

mengundi lambat lagilah.

dont be a lousy citizen..

do you think all the thing of gov is sucks hah?

besyukurlah.. hanks to good..

no other country give THIS to their citizen.. only malaysia..

so dont be lan-si kind of person lah..

lepas nih = ada laa tokey2 buat seludup minyak lagi ke thailand.. .. bodoh! mau untung saja..!

• FiveElements on Sep 08, 2005 at 9:22 pm

RAFEEZ,

No offense. This is not about life. This is about POLITICS and ECONOMICS.

If what you said is true, then why the BUMI wants special rights. Just like NEP its POLITICS and also ECONOMIC gains. Mate, should we start to go around and tell the BUMIs "DONT LET LIFE PUSH YOU AROUND!!!" "FORGET ABOUT THE NEP" ?

Can we do that? I believe yes if you can fend of HISHAMUDDIN's KERIS.

So my conclusion is, YES WE HAVE TO ADJUST TO THE ENVIRONMENT BUT ONLY IF ITS FAIR!!!

DONT ACCEPT BLINDLY!!!

Come to think about it….THERE IS NOTHING FAIR HERE!!!!!!

Sorry mate if this sounds a bit harsh to you. ITs just my opinion, you are free to put it into the bin.

• FiveElements on Sep 08, 2005 at 9:26 pm

ABU,

Totally agree with you!!!

• i don't know how the discussion went from road tax to NEP and Bumi rights.

• rafreez on Sep 08, 2005 at 9:48 pm

Agree with you paul….I better stop here before something else arise….

• Look guys…its not about rising anything or why from point A it jumps to point B. We all have a point to make here…the government is simply not doing enough!!!! as long as u are driving…be it kapchai or big CC cars…you are suffer from the policies! FiveElements did proved a point which is:

– The deduction of road tax. It has been raised when the so called 'quota' of diesel is implemented. And was from that bunch of cinaman from the transportation association. Did any of our so call minister listened to that? nah…they rather bz seeing who got stored any extra diesel oni.

It is related anyway…but just dont make it a typical issue out of this which suffers everyone be it cinaman, malayu or india.

A little opinion ~

• Pentak Sakua..... on Sep 08, 2005 at 9:59 pm

How much can you really save on 80% road tax or 50% road tax per year compare to the amount of petrol used per year? I still prefer if the Gomen cut down the car tax to at least 20 or 30%. Then we can see substantial amount of cost saving as we per lower monthly installment.

Saving rm100 plus or rm200 plus per year is kacang putih to majority of us. It is not going to contribute anything at all. They give you a few hundred ringgit per year saving and talk like they saved the rakyat from paying a few hundred thousand. It is not that I don't appreciate, but if the Gomen is sincere, then they should reduced more…not pittance.

• accord kia on Sep 08, 2005 at 10:07 pm

how much for 2.4L road tax?

• cameljoe on Sep 08, 2005 at 10:39 pm

Eh, no increase in toll but can reduce toll price and reduce the number of tolls to ease jams, burn less fuel in grid lock and save a little more.

• napps on Sep 08, 2005 at 11:15 pm

THIS ROAD TAX REDUCTION IS ANOTHER GOVT SCAM. HOW OFTEN U PAY FOR ROAD TAX? RIGHT, ONCE A YEAR. HOW OFTEN U PAY FOR PETROL? AT LEAST ONCE A WEEK. IF PETROL PRICE GO UP TO RM2.00, HOW QUICK DOES THE SAVINGS FROM LOWER ROAD TAX IS USED UP? F**KING QUICK, I'D SAY. AND THAT'S ASSUMING OIL PETROL PUMP PRICE GOES TO RM2.00. WHAT IF THE PETROL PRICES ARE FLOATED FREELY ACCORDING TO MARKET DEMAND? NO LESS THAN THE HIGHLY ESTEEMED GOVT SQUAWKMEISTER NST IS SAYING THE EX-SUBSIDY PRICE IS RM3.20. OK, THE GOVT SAYS THEY WON"T RAISE PETROL PRICE AND TOLLS THIS YEAR. I ALSO BELIEVE THAT SANTA CLAUS AND THE TOOTH FAIRY ARE REAL. WHAT'S STOPPING THEM FROM BACKTRACKING? EVEN IF THEY DID KEEP THEIR WORD, WHAT ABOUT NEXT YEAR? REMEMBER, WE WILL ALSO HAVE THE GST IN 2007. WHAT IF GST IS IMPOSED ON PETROL & DIESEL SALES?

• E-Nabill on Sep 08, 2005 at 11:22 pm

another example of dono wat,very typical,last time say road tax high,thn wen got redcution,ppl stil complain….its jus so ypical….believe me..even if it is totally abolished,alot wil stil make noice about insuarance,interest rates,bla bla bla….guys..be realastic,ur not gonna get at u want,if u can get 10% of wat we want fm the government,thn jus be grateful……im not sure y ur expectations are jus so high….jus be relastic,compare to our nieghbouring countries,how many have reduced their road tax??thats wat i mean,always compare to wat the real world has to offer,NOT to wat u dream about n wish for….jus my opinion….

• napps on Sep 08, 2005 at 11:33 pm

WHY IN THE WORLD SHOULD WE BE GRATEFUL? THE GOVT IS BEHOLDEN TO US, NOT WE THEM! WE VOTED FOR THEM AND U HAVE THE CHEEK TO SAY THAT WE HAVE TO BE GRATEFUL TO THEM? WE'RE THE BOSSES 'ERE, WE KEEP 'EM ON THEIR TOES! IF THE GOVT IS REALLY LOOKING AFTER OUR INTERESTS AND NOT BL**DY LINING UP THEIR POCKETS WITH TAX-PAYERS' MONEY, THEN THEY SHOULD HAVE BUILT A WORLD-CLASS PUBLIC TRANSPORT NETWORK, BOTH INTER-CITY AND INTRA-CITY! LOOK AT EUROPE OR JAPAN OR EVEN TAIWAN AND S. KOREA. ALTHOUGH THE JAPANESE AND KOREANS DO MAKE CARS, THEY NEVER NEGLECTED THEIR PUBLIC TRANSPORT! AND WE, A COUNTRY OF 25 MLN, HAVE 12.5 MLN PRIVATE VEHICLES BUT ONLY 770,000 PUBLIC VEHICLES! IT'S HORRENDOUSLY MIND-BOGGLING! LOOK AT THE PUBLIC TRANSPORT IN KL. U CAN'T EVEN GO BY WITH ONE TICKETING SYSTEM!

• hfrshah on Sep 08, 2005 at 11:46 pm

napps bro, come on, be realistic here man. in a true no-holds-barred democratic country, the public is the boss. but Malaysia makes do with controlled-democracy system(which in my op. better suits us). on paper we are the boss, but realistically, are we? nope… since we cant make the Gov listen to everything we want, we should appreciate the next best thing, such as this.

• napps on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:04 am

WHAT I AM TICKED OFF IS THAT PEOPLE SHOULD BE "GRATEFUL" TO THE GOVT. THE NOTION IS IDIOTICALLY INSANE. THAT'S WHY MALAYSIANS ARE ALWAYS GETTING THE SHORT END OF THE DEAL. I HAVE ALREADY POSED A QUESTION: HOW FAST WILL THE SAVINGS FROM LOWER ROAD TAX WILL BE GONE? PRETTY DAMNED QUICK, I'D SAY. AND A FREEZE ON HIKES IN FUEL AND TOLL DOES NOT MEAN IT IS SHELEVED INDEFINITELY. IT WILL BE THERE NEXT YEAR, IF NOT THIS YEAR (WHICH IS MORE LIKELY, DESPITE THE GOVT YAKKING "NOT SO!"). DON"T FORGET THE GST WILL START IN 2007! DO U SEE WHY WE MUST NOT BE "GRATEFUL" NOW?!

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:07 am

Why not BOLEHLAND TRansportation system as good as RICH Countries?

What a Good questions!!……Bagi 1 markah kepada anda!!

Answer: If the "G" made a better Public transportation system like JAPAN, then POTONG and P2 will not success. Because "G" thought POTONG and P2 demand can be affected if they do that! They wanna to PROTECT their babes too. Therefore, built more highway and TOLLs to force you all to drivelah and toll out your money slowly. Another ONE stone kills TEN birds formula apply here!!. …..KUAK…kuak..kuak

• E-Nabill on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:13 am

u can moan about this and that,bt u wont get anyting.so wats the point,again ur nt being realistic….the fact of the mater is that U WONT GET WAT U WANT,so wateva u get is a bonus really…again its that too much expectancy that is basless…..u guys comparing with europ n japan…u cant be serious r u….y r u comparing with thm?thy r 1st world countires,we r thirs world countries…dasts wat i mean wen i say,ur comparing wrongly,nexpected to get things that nations of higher class r geting..anyway…alot dont seem to get it,insisting on bashing……jus my opinion…

• SEE FU on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:17 am

Hei KAWAN2, See SAKAI armandd is BACK!!!

What did SAKAI said ARR/???? HELOOO…..LOUDER!! PLSSSS!!

armandd said,

September 8, 2005 @ 3:30 am

*at least be thankful… if u want all things to be cheap, etc etc… then go and create your own country lah… do u think it’s that easy to run the govt?

Hei! SAKAI, it seems that you know many about Ruling the COUNTRY lei!! I guess ROLLING the country only lah!! Sakai where CAN, HOW CAN????

You should go back to TANAH MALU.YOU!! ……SOo HAI!!! Maybe this Sakai from one of AP king links so happy will BN lei!!!………YAU MO KAU…….CHOR!!!

• hfrshah on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:21 am

again, this move is not a solution to the rising problem, it is just a counter-measure to minimize the effect.. the fact that something is actually done is something of a revelation concerning Malaysia. in the past, a lot of things/problems have came up with no actions whatsoever taken to handle them.. ie. "oil price goes up, fuel price goes up. What can we do?-Gov"

point is, this move, tho very minimalist, should not be overlooked as just another political stunt to get votes, instead it should be taken as a sign that the Gov is starting to come to its senses-to a certain degree of course!

• napps on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:26 am

apologies to all for my outburst. but really, i just can't stand it when some people say that we should be grateful to the govt. of course we have to respect our eleders, but they in turn need to earn our respect and i have yet to see anything the govt that commands due respect. we must stop our docile submissive attitude for all the crumbs the ruling party throws at us proletariat.

"let them eat cake!"– Marie Antoinette, 18th century Queen of France, consort of King Louis, when told the poor masses of Paris have no bread to eat. She was beheaded by the revolting mob in the French Revolution a few months after saying these famous words.

• hfrshah on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:48 am

napps yes that it truly agreeable.

but please, 'medio tutissimus ibis' – You will go safest in the middle (Moderation in all things).. complains should be voiced with their true light, not with baseless protests..

hey thanks for the history fact.. very amusing… nice

• dando on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:51 am

"take away $$$$$$ from you and give u back $, and you are still happy.

I drive a 1.3cc car, my road tax is RM180 yearly, with this move by the government, I would have save RM90.00

I am in sales line, where I need to travel a lot, my average monthly fuel is RM400 before the price increase (RM1.52).

With this price hike, I would had paid RM315.00 more in petrol over the year.

So, the government take RM315.00 from me, and give me back RM90.00 , and all you guys out there say it is a good move. ""

haiyoo edw…. if the gov abolish the road tax alltogether…. that means the gov take rm315 from u and give u back rm180… still u r on the loosing side isn't it??

• marquis on Sep 09, 2005 at 1:03 am

No road tax reduction for my Camry 2.4? anyway, it doesnt make any difference since the reduction is not even enough for the full tank. MALAYSIA BOLEH !

• napps…we can understand your frustration. in fact anyone who paid their tax can…what are we benefit from all this? Hear this: Government is spending 95 millions just to have 2 astronauts wear batik, eat roti canai (why not bahkuteh?) and swinging our flag and shouting boleh….wat da f*** is that???? you ake me TO BE GRATEFUL WITH THAT????????? oops…heated up pulak..thats wat we, as a malaysian could not understand. Govnt said they kenot afford to subsize the petrol allowance but on the other hand they can allow money to spread for showing off purpose…knnccb!!

"let them eat the cake"…famous ya? its famous here too…but let me re-phrase a little:

"let them eat 30% of your cake…dont care whether you likes it"

Keris power ~~~~

• And SEE FU…why are wasting your crinsom energy for a sakai again? u are seefu!! a master…keep your composure (like the seefu in the wushu advertisement) "Yes, it still can fly…but it cant breed anymore" wuahahahahaha save ur breath instead of taking some brianless comment into your heart and spoil your health.

With petrol price hiked, medicine oso became expensive ooo…keep your composure…keep your composure

• WHO IS THIS SEE FU???????????

YO PAUL, HOW CAN YOU LET THIS KIND OF PPL (IS HE ?) DEGRADE OTHER PPL AS HE WISH?

EVEN THE 'SAKAI' THAT WAS USED BELONG TO OUR COUNTRY ONE OF MANY RACES!!!!!!!!

PLS BE FAIR PAUL…i plead to you…..

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 09, 2005 at 2:31 am

aiyaa.. typically malaysian…. haha

come-on meeen.. we are matured already..

dont so emo.. this is just blog.. and opinion.

ignore those stupid too much.. let them down silently.. :)

how much per barrel oil today hah?

heard increased twice.! whooo.. f**k america ..

just because of their country.. everybody turnin bad..

that's because all money in the world depends on USD.. sh*t

• Jason on Sep 09, 2005 at 2:45 am

Wow, sounds like a bunch of kids la. They dont care what is happening around, as long as they want their thing. Oil price is not controlled by Malaysia, so how can the govt give cheaper petrol la? Sit down and think about it. RM16 billion is not cheap.

Btw, i drive daily and i am a student, i know your pinch when petrol price goes up but blaming it on the govt is wrong. Ofcourse govt not perfect, i am still forking pissed off with Proton, hope will die soon so that we can afford better quality cars.

• *headache*

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:07 am

* giving paul a bottle of panadol soluble :D

• E-Nabill on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:08 am

a kindergardet,with 100 uncontrolable kids,n one post graduate teacher!! dats how it feels……! apa la….relax u all,its jus a simple topic to discuss,a mater of onions,no nd to get all tensed up…..alets all talked about how england lost to nrthern ireland!!!

• armandd on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:14 am

DOG THE WAN said,

September 8, 2005 @ 4:07 pm

Why not BOLEHLAND TRansportation system as good as RICH Countries?

What a Good questions!!……Bagi 1 markah kepada anda!!

Answer: If the “G” made a better Public transportation system like JAPAN, then POTONG and P2 will not success. Because “G” thought POTONG and P2 demand can be affected if they do that! They wanna to PROTECT their babes too. Therefore, built more highway and TOLLs to force you all to drivelah and toll out your money slowly. Another ONE stone kills TEN birds formula apply here!!. …..KUAK…kuak..kuak

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

*dude, how can u be so sure bout this? any proof? don't just speculate…

• bLeedingGumS on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:15 am

i dont' know what to say. When the petrol price went up.. people blamed the government.. but her petrol price went up like.. everywhere? Now the government lessens the burden by shaving the cost of road tax.. and people sad that it doesn't justify the petrol price hike.. i mean.. this is like the typical 'give calf want thigh'

• armandd on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:18 am

hey SEE FU and abu… you kids are ungrateful and unpatriotic. why not u just pack your things and migrate to mainland china or hong kong… hahaha…

• Mivec Gti on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:26 am

walao … C Z B .. my cefiro 3.0cc no discount lah.. aiyo 10% also happy mah. :þ

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:29 am

I ignored the above meaningless posts. GO BACK TO THE POINT GUYS!

Situation :

1. Oil prices Hike. Not our fault , can't do anything bout it.

2. Govt give road tax discount , People complain?! WTH?!

3. EXTRA – Who doesn't want the decrease in road tax price should just pay me the remaining balance after the decrease.

Enough? Now shut up about other shit and concentrate on the topic.

Bad day.

• sinleong on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:30 am

And all of a sudden, everyone is bashing each other!! Can't blame you all since the petrol price rise and our salary don't!!!!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 09, 2005 at 6:00 am

I ain't bashing no one but the one who brought up NEP and Rights. DAMN.

And I ain't no Malay so I'm not upholding who's right and who's not. Neutral guys!

Good day.

• Pentan Sakua... on Sep 09, 2005 at 6:13 am

TIPAH TERTIPU OLEH PAK LAH……TIPAH TERTIPU, TIPAH TERTIPU……

• SEE FU on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:27 pm

Abu you are right! After I have a beer at BANGSAR last night and thought it deeply until 3:00am. Really nei, I found my health has affected………maybe talk too much to this "SAKAI" and damaged my "YUEN CHI". Just last weekend I when I sang "K" that time, voice a bit changed!! Even ANDY Lau songs also a bit difficult for me! Don't know Why that time, now I knew!

Okay! I will change not to TALK to these …..SAKAI anymore!

Patient…patient…focus…focus….now I will YAN..YAN>…..YAn….YAN>…Yann……..Until Tak boleh tahan, I will send this Sakai to TANAH MALU.YOU!! YAHOOOO!!

Paul, *headache* !!!! SORRY lah my friends, I just cannot TAHAN lah sometime you knows lah..##$$$“@@@lah..lah………….Pls forgive me!! I just wanna to help to clean the rubbish out of our BLOG!! SORRRI AR!!! Smile!!! Smile……he he….he…oKay Paul Smile already!!! Semua orang TEPUK tangan Okay!! Back to normal!

• armandd said,

September 8, 2005 @ 7:18 pm

hey SEE FU and abu… you kids are ungrateful and unpatriotic. why not u just pack your things and migrate to mainland china or hong kong… hahaha…

—-> well we are ungrateful of wat our govt done and tat doesnt mean we are unpatriotic. I need not pack my bags to anywhere as i born here. If all ppl are 'grateful' like u even being treated unfairly (obviously not u). Then this country will grow juz like your national car potong..facing the wrath of some sux management. Be grateful larr becoz of ppl like us working to keep the country running!!!

• SEE FU on Sep 09, 2005 at 7:20 pm

abu ARR!! stop Talking with this Sakailah!!

I think your "YUEN CHI" had gone half now, please come to my office! We can sing "K" too. Sing….. Malaysia Sudah Berjaya!! not Tanah MALU.YOU Berjaya!!….CAN arr!!

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 09, 2005 at 8:14 pm

We all sitting in the same BOAT, called BOLEHLAND boat, rights? Who wish this boat to be sunk?? We should do something to make it FASTER to reach our destination! What we are comments in this blog sometime is just RELEASE you unhappiness about something…Not REALLY angry and act it! 50% Talk GUess/maybe/I think>>>?? If you all know the fact, then why still discuss it??

Example: when I put "KUAk..kuak..kuak" on my comment means it is a jokes!! no need to takes it SERIOUSLY!

Anyway, I still like this BLOG. There is no place that you can have 100% agreed or 100% reject of any issue. Hope I have asked someone questions here!

• nuggyn on Sep 09, 2005 at 8:32 pm

mitsu_galant_2000 said,

September 9, 2005 @ 11:40 am

at least almost r lucky in Malayu land.. whatever ur race is..

>> in a way, yes…we are all lucky. But when you mentioned "whatever ur race", i guess you know, i know.

*F*ck* Off, i’m feel to going hate this blog now… seem it gonna be Cinamen-anti-malaygov-blog..

>> what to do, some of us here are treated like a second-class citizens. what to do, what to do.

• FiveElements on Sep 09, 2005 at 11:30 pm

MITSU,

If you dont like it as i said, you can turn off your computer. Go do something else and STOP Sulking. You know what is freedom of speech????

sigh…..

• rafreez on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:27 am

FREEDOM HAS ITS LIMITS N THAT IS WHY WE HAVE A RULES, RELIGION AND LAWS…SO BETTER WATCH OUT THAT WORDS OF YOURS….

• FiveElements on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:48 am

RAFREEZ,

YOU ARE MAKING ME VERY PENING. I SAID FREEDOM OF SPEECH NOT FREEDOM TO GO AROUND AND KILL EVERYONE.

DONT MISINTERPRATE AND MAKE ISSUE OUT OF IT. DONT MAKE IT LIKE BN AND DAP OVER THE STUPID CHIN PENG ISSUE. RIGHT???

• rafreez on Sep 10, 2005 at 2:04 am

same goes for freedom of speech lah…i'm not twisting it, straight forward…if u say f**k off in front of someone n if that guy want to bring it to court, who will win? so there is a law n u cant freely say something that can hurt people feelings….so lets put everything behind us n lets share our intrest in CARS!!

Paul can we end this today…n hope everyone can be friends again.

• hauzi on Sep 10, 2005 at 4:38 am

dogthewan u are the man..

i agree that,if we know everything,its needless to discuss it anymore,it juz spend your time without use it wisely…

btw.the new road tax rate juz mean nth to lots of pple,y? giv u such money and suck your whole body blood,somemore said gamsiah to u..

i wonder if there is someone who extremely happy by this new road tax rate…

• harry on Sep 10, 2005 at 5:39 am

BN still sucks big time…what the fork are we sending man to the space for…

you guys should read on how the government waste our money on submarines in lumut… road tax cut is peanuts!!!!

• gegaoff on Sep 10, 2005 at 5:44 am

just confuse… yes, even what govt done now is just help a little… but still help… especially no increament till this year ( even is 3month) for petrol price… but… is still help, right?

put it in simple: u want to die fast/ealry or u want to die later with some hope?

may be u will ask what hope? of coz hope for the petrol price down lo, yes, i know is little chances… but we cannot say totally no chances, right?

when govt do something, u guys say only little; do nothing, u say govt eat shit, talk only… confusing…

1800cc above cars… no tax reduction, y? think it nicely u wil know: becoz it cost much if reduce… where the govt to find income to cover this hole? ask the toll to increase price somemore? no different liao, right?

govt need income to work around with the country, ok? make your eyes big enough to c this. yes, i know sometime the govt also like to talk talk only. i also c a road hole outside my house. but u get the points? at least the govt do a small step forwards, not only talk talk, ok?

• armandd on Sep 10, 2005 at 9:02 am

come on guys, don't just simply complain and critisize everything. look at the fuel prices in other countries. in UK fuel price surged to more than RM6.00 per litre! our government is expected to spend RM16 billion this year in fuel subsidy. RM16 billion is not a small amount… don't just say the government sucks etc etc… u need to give proof! don't just believe what people say and all the 'kedai kopi' politics talk…

when the government announced the tax reduction u are still not satisfied… and u still want all things to be cheap… govt need income to work around with the country.

don't be too selfish… ask not what your country can do for you, but ask what you can do for your country…

• Just food for thought

Yes the gov spent 16b on fuel subsidy and our fuel price is one of the lowest in this region BUT what about the tax collected from all the oil companies??? Petronas' after tax profit amounted to 56b ( about there ) a year. How about Shell, BP, Exxon……!!!

An insider was telling me how the ministry couldnt figure it out that the tax collected from the oil companies equal 3 times the amount of fuel subsidy. But when asked the answer was " Err,.. the the tax collected is profit but the fuel subsidy is expenses". DUUHHHHH….. so as usual rakyat have to pay.

• armandd on Sep 10, 2005 at 11:45 am

we have been spoilt with the subsidy mentality and failure to understand how the pricing works, including ridiculous arguments like why we can't have cheaper petrol/diesel because we have the raw materials in our backyard…

• armandd on Sep 10, 2005 at 11:47 am

oil supply and demand are worldwide dictated, not locally at our pumps..

• Babadaniel on Sep 10, 2005 at 8:49 pm

another racial tension in another blog. why you guys wanna use this medium to bash one another. talk face to face lah. no balls is it? i think that's what Malaysians are, no balls to speak in front of one another, always hiding under the blankie. very pretensious in front but full of hatred at the back. It will never end, Bangsa Malaysia will never happen. it's stupid, just like Proton.

• Revised road tax doesn't make any good… all the groceries price are keep on increasing… another thing is… Perodua will boost their selling like kacang putih after this…

Quote from somebody:

Katakanlah kereta saya berkuasa 1,200 cc bermakna berdasarkan kadar cukai jalan yang baru ini saya cuma akan dikenakan cukai sebanyak RM90.00 berbanding RM180.00 sebelum ini. Iaitu penjimatan sebanyak RM90.00 setahun (kononnya).

Akan tetapi hasil dari kenaikan itu juga bermakna saya kerugian RM507.60 sen setahun kiranya saya mengisi purata RM10.00 sehari petrol.

• ada udang di sebalik batu….. bahaya …. harga minyak confirm naik….

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 12, 2005 at 7:28 pm

DOG THE WAN said,

September 8, 2005 @ 11:30 am

Remember I said it before "Worst case I think WE all have to use HONDA KAP to work soon!! KUAk…kuak..kuak"

No joking man, Read The Star paper today: http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…

• L@nf3ar on Sep 28, 2005 at 12:19 am

My 2 cents:

Commodities are up to market sentiments. Not the Government. The fact that crude oil prices has already gone up by 100% within the past 1 year, but how much has YOUR petrol gone up? Be thankful that the Government subsidizes your fuel. I believe that the Government is trying it’s best to make the country a better place, amid all the corruption and stupid ppl around who makes noise but takes no action, or takes actions to ‘enrich’ themselves only. I can see a lot of them here. They make noise when their BIG bungalow has to pay higher quit rent, they complain when their BIG car has to pay more for fuel, and they complain this and complain that. WHY? Drive a smaller car, live in a smaller house, walk, cycle. The damn choice is YOURS. You want convenience, PAY for it! Dun like the country, GO MIGRATE and get the HELL out of here. Dun let this stupid Government take 28% of your money! GO to United States or UK and get taxed 40%, and pay for those who don’t work and yet get daily allowance from the welfare! The damn choice is still YOURS! Why do you choose to stay here and complain? Coz you got no guts to do any shit! Run for politician and make this place a better country? You cannot? Or you don’t dare!! Quit complaining and do better things with your time. Ppl who complains but dun do anything are LOSERS. Malaysia has first world infrastructures, but cannot advance due to third world mentalities like you fellas. Sucks man!

• kijang hijau(4wd own on Oct 19, 2005 at 4:45 pm

turun road tax kenderaan petrol berapa sangat. Contoh Kancil 660 dari RM100 kepada RM30. Tak de apa sangat…nothing. Compare dengan harga petrol yang terus meningkat. Lainlah kalau roadtax RM1000 lebih, turun 50% pun dah agak banyak.