Buy A Proton, Win A Holiday!

Hansraj Hulaschand and Company and Bhudeo in association with Air Nepal International and Nabil Bank is running a promotion in Nepal where you can win a free four-day and two-night holiday for two to Malaysia if you buy a Proton vehicle.

Proton dealers seem to be running promotions in every country. The promotion by the bank also includes special interest rates and a 95% loan. Over here in our tanahair we can see free two months installments being offered.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yhtan on Sep 17, 2005 at 10:24 am

aiyo…proton hav no choice already.see their result for the quarter almost let us @_@(loss).So,they plan to hav this market plan to increase their sales

• Sales up..no profit?

• E-Nabill on Sep 17, 2005 at 3:42 pm

wen u enter a new market,profit is not a must,u need to creat a brand first,n public awarness,only wen the public creat a good response to the new brandonlt thn u concentrate to make a profit…

• rafreez on Sep 17, 2005 at 3:50 pm

Agree with e-nabil, normally to enter a new market loss is un avoidable…even my company 1st trying to enter M'sia market in POS terminal, we slashed the price almost half just to get a few thousand terminals to be sold to banks…so we gain profit in other ways, svc…hehehe n I think proton will just do that…give a lot of problem so gain profit in spare parts…hahahaha…bad jokes sorry potong…

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 17, 2005 at 4:12 pm

It said you can WIN……if you win only!! you get the Free Holiday!

This promotion only encourage people to visit Malaysia, not sure the sales will go up!! I think it is better to promote people that the car quality had improved and new technologies REAL CAMPRO had installed and give better SERVICES to customers will helps the sales up.

• hauzi on Sep 17, 2005 at 4:22 pm

is this is the only that proton can do..

haha

• michael lee on Sep 17, 2005 at 9:44 pm

Support D the W – solve the key issues first – and restore confidence and pride – that will be money well spent – is the new CEO listening ? arrr … any news of the new CEO ???

• Apai_Mau on Sep 17, 2005 at 11:23 pm

Woohoo! Lelong! Lelong! Plotong murah! Plotong murah! Nah….

Anyway, on the positive side, good la. Easy to mod later on. I want to mod a Satria into a WRC vehicle (yeah rite…)

But on the downside, got people still want to buy plotong ka? Especially for everyday use. (not counting the modders)

• Point–> Proton production have to keep running.. they don't invest millions and hire thousand of workers just to sit there….

And we do aware that the piling protons cars across malaysia as well.

DOG THE WAN,

I think from Proton's view, main reason is to export more protons overseas.

We just finshed promoting Malaysia. I think Torism Malaysia need time to re-gain their energy too…

If you may know, starting from next month till Mar, it's the peak season to visit nepal. And Air Nepal would be glad if they can fill up the cabin for Nepal to Malaysia route in order to maximise their profit if any.

• Proton needs to think other way. Subsidising will jeopardising their marque.Kereta murah.That's how Malaysian sees Proton, perhaps the others in the world.So, for over 20years we still struggle in the new market?Illelogical.I think we should try what the Mitsubishi done with its Pajero and Lancer,Subaru to their Impreza, and Volvo for its stationwgon.Racing…the answer to the promotion.Mitsubishi's Lancer and Pajero is so famous due to its involvement in rally. So does the Impreza for Subaru.Meanwhile, Volvo participation in TOCA uplift the stationwagon image or its estate mode.Can you imagine if Fast and Furious using Proton?Maybe Proton should supply some cars for such production in near future.Tha's what I call marketing and improving image.Not jualan murah.The effect is temporary.Diri sendiri yang rugi.Menag jadi arang,kalah jadi abu.Karam Singh Walia.:-)

• Proton has long involve in rally scenes, but their driver Karamjit 'the flying sikhs' use evo 3.Even Proton sent their team PERT to join BTCC using the improved version of Waja. Actually much more can be done by Proton. The problem is sponsorship. The rally itself needs around 1 million per season. So Proton 'kedekut' about the sponsorship…same goes to proton T-bikes team..finish…

• michael lee on Sep 18, 2005 at 4:46 pm

1 million riggit is more money than most of us will ever see in a lifetime, but it is a very2 small amount if you look at e.g. 5 million ringgit farewell parties – sadly, quite often it is the WILL that is not there, not the MEANS.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 19, 2005 at 4:25 pm

Honestly, Will you buy a car just because you WISH to WIN a Free Holidays prize? No way!!….This promotion does not helps SALES up!!…Only Fools ppl might do that!

• FiveElements on Sep 19, 2005 at 5:38 pm

Well it sounds like

BUY A PROTON, GET A HOLIDAY, AND GET A HEADACHE WHEN U COME BACK.

• DOG THE WAN said,

September 19, 2005 @ 8:25 am

Honestly, Will you buy a car just because you WISH to WIN a Free Holidays prize? No way!!….This promotion does not helps SALES up!!…Only Fools ppl might do that!

—-> Hey bro…the are 'numb' (dumb) ppl around…dun underestimate the purchasing power of these 'numb' (dumb) :p

• FiveElements on Sep 19, 2005 at 11:04 pm

Its a dumb effort…..a very dumb move!!!

Holiday mana??? If around the world…mmm you catch my attention….

If cuti-cuti Malaysia just forget about it.

• you buy a car thats cheap…and you want to get a trip around the world…..sooo much for intelligence…..

• Lyanna on Sep 26, 2005 at 9:28 pm

There's actually a RM3k (Wira Aeroback 1.5aSE) and RM3.5k (Gen 2) discount until end Oct. I'm driving kelisa, looking for more stable car with comfortable cabin. Was thinking of Gen 2, but surprised to see Wira for sale ( thought they're supposed to be phased off but the salesman said it wont be, true ah?) so would anyone actually advice me to take advantage of the discount and get a wira or gen 2? Actually i think wira's cabin is better, bigger and more comfy.. anyone agree with me or i'm the only one who thinks so..

Is anyone worried that it's 20yr old tech?? after all, so long already, all the probs should be solved oredi right….

• The proton car quality so poor la!! even a new car also having problemss !! improve the quality la… Is the quality that matter!!