2006 Subaru Impreza

Fuji Heavy Industries Ltd showcased it’s 2006 Subaru Impreza WRC prototype at the Frankfurt MOtor Show this month.

The car features the new Subaru corporate grille and comes with a revised All-Wheel Drive system. The new corporate grille which somehow looks like an inverted Alfa Romeo grille was first seen on the Subaru B9 Tribeca.

The 2.0 boxer engine has been upgraded to a 2.5 litre turbocharged boxer than makes 230hp and 235lb-ft of torque.

They actually had two cars on showcase, one is the standard Subaru Impreza WRX and one of their 2006 Subaru Impreza WRC prototype to be used for the 2006 World Rally Championship.

Subaru Impreza WRC 2006 Prototype

2006 Subaru Impreza WRX

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• akari on Sep 19, 2005 at 9:40 am

the old 1 look better…….

• i understand that you have been criticising our national car in those

area…..

1) Ruang sempit…? Yes i understand..but first u shd look into the

target market first…who..? middle range age… proton ceo had

mentioned WAJA is meant for family car…whereas GEN.2 is meant for

sporty…have u ever come accross sports car which is spacious..? i

reckon NO..

2) Glovebox is there..they just reposition it between the the front

seats…r u aware of this..? it is just the revolution in design that's

all..

3) ABS (with Electronic Brake Force Distribution) and air-bag (actually

dual SRS airbag)…? they do incorporate this in 1.6E model….

of course the price will be slightly higher….they purposely release it

in two version…it's up to customer to choose…they just want to make

it affordable to large range of income earner…

4)Cam Profile Switching(CPS) or Non-CPS…? this is again up to customer

to choose…it simply to say to choose between Turbo and

Naturally-Aspirated (Non-Turbo) car

5)horsepower…? just to inform u that..the CamPro prototype engine

which was unveiled back in 1998 can produce more than

200bhp…they even tested the engine on Sepang track car (Satria

GTI)..since 1999 ….they were also mentioned that for the

purpose of road use..the HP will be trimmed down….it was purposely

done..!

6)Reliabillity…? yes i admit reliability is utterly important…but

this engine has undergone series of post-prototype development and

testing for more than 7 years through collaboration with Sauber

Petronas Engineering (SPE)…in fact the prototype itself was

design by SPE…isn't this enough to convince u…?

BTW..the engine was design to give less vibration…therefore vibration

is not the issue here…

7)Expection..? how can u compare orange and apple….u can't compare

ours and Japanese…they are miles ahead of us in term of

technology….of course they r better furthermore they have

enjoyed Economies Of Scale for some time in their operation but we

haven't….we need to spend more on R&D to explore technology u

must remember WE START FROM SCRATCH….i'm sick of japanese who made

malaysia as their dumping area of old technology….just remember we

have been living under that situation for almost 20 years..and yet u

want to support japanese car….? We aware of this..that's is why we

took over Lotus…we don't want to be overly dependant to

Japanese….remember this is just the turning point for us to

move forward and be independant…

I can't believe we as Malaysian made such a depriving comment on our

locally produced car…If Malaysian doesn't want to support

their own car…who will…

• yalo. sucks leh… the fella who did this was alfa romeo's previous designer… dont quite like what they did to the fore and hind lights… the front just takes out the subaru look, and the back, gosh, just stick to the old lights lah… whalao, ugly leh… den the front vents there how come got 3 parts already one…

looks like impreza isnt really that "impressive" anymore.

• shah: why are you commenting about all this in my Subaru Impreza post? who are you referring to? and i believe you are confusing campro with the petronas e01.

• Lee Wye Jon on Sep 19, 2005 at 11:30 am

hmm… the new impreza looks so… unexciting :P

• armandd on Sep 19, 2005 at 11:47 am

it looks like proton wira to me…

• the headlamps reminds me of bmw

• armandd on Sep 19, 2005 at 2:33 pm

still looks very much like proton wira, except the headlamps, ;)

• nalie on Sep 19, 2005 at 3:59 pm

subaru has been experimenting on the new head of their cars lately.. the new ones does bring a resemblance of alfas but then i'm expecting them to change again soon.

but i don't agree that the wrx looks similar to the proton wira (the earlier models till version 6 might be.. but definately not the gdb and above). uhh.. perhaps these people need a new pair of glasses or they're proton wira fetishes?

this subaru wrx is definately not a wira look-a-like (y don't u call it a lancer look-a-like as the wira copied the mitsubishi lancer in the 1st place). period.

looks aside (beauty is in the eye of the beholder), i believe the subaru wrx is the perfect family car for me.. being a turbo, 4wd & 4-doors.. besides the ever so common mitsubishi lancer evolution series. personally i'd prefer the subaru as the evo is all to common, even driven by ah bengs (not counting the wira evolution posers.. their the worst kind of ah bengs u can find!)

the 2006 subaru wrx with 2.5L boxer and 230hp.. wonder what the STI version will be like.. turns me on just thinkin bout it!! :)

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 19, 2005 at 4:20 pm

I still prefer Mitsubishi WRC models and the New Sportback will be the next WRC…..WOW!!……Can wait to SEE It!!

• the rear wing looks like some ikea furniture…

• Johnson on Sep 19, 2005 at 4:52 pm

If Malaysian cannot, why Hyundai (Korean) can? We both start off nearly at the same era, used the same technology (Mitsubitshi) and what happen 20 years later?

• say goodbye to machoness and hello to feminine looks.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 19, 2005 at 5:22 pm

I have a better Website for YOU GUYS to VOICE UP your Political issue and forgot your UNHAPPiness!! check this OUT: Leader of the WORLDs

NO regret!!! CLICK IT NOW!!!…..3,2,1….let's MR. MELSON MOO helps you.

Leave your comments too!! Ranking from 1~100/100 points! for each Joke!

Paul, pls enjoys it!!

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 19, 2005 at 5:24 pm

Click this: http://360.yahoo.com/profile-yVOn1fo_fqojYlhj5ASl…

• karheng on Sep 19, 2005 at 5:55 pm

I wonder why any of the Proton issue is being brought up here. This is a post about Subaru Impreza. If you cannot read properly, please, go back to Nursery and learn. If the campro is really that good, why does my standard (unmodified) 14 year old 1.8 engine still outrun the campro as if it's child's play?

Now, whoever who thinks that the Impreza 2006 with the new nose looks like the Proton Wira definitely needs their eyes checked. I highly doubt that Subaru would even bother copying Proton's Gen 2 in terms of design. The headlamps of this Impreza looks pretty similar to the Gen2's but I think it is pretty much a refined version of the older Gdb model. Reminds me a bit of the Merc S class headlamps.

Sure there are hints of typical Japanese sports sedan design in it, but that's where it all ends doesn't it? The body of the Impreza has not been modified much, only the facial aspects and certain details. I'm sure that drivability has been enhanced and that the power from throttling would have increased significantly from a 2.0 T to a 2.5 T. Question is…could you really compare a Subaru Impreza WRX with a Proton Wira? I doubt it. Even Evos aren't as fun to drive compared to the Imprezas…

The Wira is really the old version of the 4 door lancer from 20 years ago, while the Putra is the 2 door version. In Australia, the old Lancer coupes look exactly like the Putra. Or should I put it the other way around?

The headlamps of this Impreza is pretty much a refined version of the older Gdb model. Reminds me a bit of the Merc S class headlamps.

Oh btw, Shah, I hope you understand what a glovebox is. It isn't that thing which you have in between your two front seats. It's the one in front of the passengers seat.

Also,

) Ruang sempit…? Yes i understand..but first u shd look into the

target market first…who..? middle range age… proton ceo had

mentioned WAJA is meant for family car…whereas GEN.2 is meant for

sporty…have u ever come accross sports car which is spacious..? i

reckon NO..

I believe, there's no such thing as the middle range age…There is however a middle age range, and this isn't the car for them…cars targeted to the middle age dudes are sedans. This Gen 2 is more for Yuppies, so get your facts right.

"6)Reliabillity…? yes i admit reliability is utterly important…but

this engine has undergone series of post-prototype development and

testing for more than 7 years through collaboration with Sauber

Petronas Engineering (SPE)…in fact the prototype itself was

design by SPE…isn’t this enough to convince u…?"

So what if it has undergone 7 years of testing? It's still unreliable…and the final product is what is important

"I can’t believe we as Malaysian made such a depriving comment on our

locally produced car…If Malaysian doesn’t want to support

their own car…who will… "

Finally, it's not that we don't want to support our own national car. That's because we don't do things blindly. If it's a bad car, it's a bad car. Kapish? no one in the right mind will call a lousy car superb. Get it?

• karheng on Sep 19, 2005 at 5:58 pm

Sorry about the small repetition. I have seen sporty cars which have loads of space. And that's the Subaru Impreza, Mitsu Evolution, Holden Monaro, Nissan Skyline…the list is endless…hahahaah

• hfrshah on Sep 19, 2005 at 6:02 pm

why are we talking about proton here may i ask?

about the impreza, love the new look, certainly more characterful than the past models..

• Jared on Sep 19, 2005 at 6:04 pm

Encik Shah a.k.a Belia4B..

First, u posted in the wrong blog, second u talked about CamPro but MISTAKENLY gave engine output of Petronas E101.. what lar…

If I'm not mistaken, campro is based on lotus AVT (Active Valvetrain Technology) which is variable valve timing in nature. Of coz the power output should be there in the same league as that of E101, but proton are years behind offering that kind of technology. The only manufacturer to have used the AVT is Porsche, but me not sure for which models. So, the current campro engines found in proton are just in name only.. nothing special… very peaky (torque-wise) engine and not very good for stop-go traffic in Malaysia…

Wat? u r sick of the Japanese dumping the cheap cars? When we talk of dumping, there's only one thing that comes to my mind.. that government wants to control the local industry so that the price remains competetive (i.e. expensive for local industry to fairly compete) .. Too bad for us la, proton will ask the gov to stop the dumping so that they can sell theirs at artificially higher price, when in actual fact those cars protons are selling are much much cheaper).. so go figure la who are at the receiving end.. To those who are still proud of this, there is a malay word to describe it…"BANGGA BODOH"

Airbags and EBD are no longer for customers to choose in other european countries,… they come as standard mainly because of stiff competition from different manufacturers.

Proton is not about malaysian, not about being patriotic.. proton is a PLC… so the Board of Directors of Proton are scratching their heads everyday not to make malaysian proud, but to make bigger profit for their shareholders.. are u one of the major shareholders?

Of coz proton pay tax… but they also get 50% tax discount in return. Other assemblers pay full tax…

Sorry, but to me (and to me only) Proton is an ill-conceived idea, coming out of blurred vision of "Malaysia Boleh" It is pride of a nation, but a burden to the people.

Jared

• Marmitecrab on Sep 19, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Our car industry is going through what Japan did many years ago when their industry first started and Korea most recently. A lot of reverse engineering and and transfer of technology was made between those who knew how to and those who were willing to pay for it. In the end, the japanese cars were better made than their western counterparts and now, the Koreans are catching up. In that span of time, a lot of innovation went in to their products and quality was important. Hyundai admitted that when they first started exporting cars to the US, their quality was not up to mark but they have improved on it based on customers feedback. The question we should be asking is, what is Proton doing abolut their quality? If the Japanese and Koreans can make world-class cars in a short period of time, why not Proton? Bearing in mind, Proton has a lot of help from big brother right now. R&D costs are heavily subsidised. Lotus is at their beck and call. The result? Savvy….need I say more?

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 19, 2005 at 6:18 pm

Supports the whole idea above by Sifu's karheng and Jared.

Good points , too bad in the wrong topic , haha.

• I agreed….. Well most of us support Perodua huh??

Does this make sense we are not biased??

People don't cin chai cin chai compliant one… must have reasons

Seems everybody is equip with machine gun wherever the sensitive word "proton" posted…..

Proton–> Last time i hate you and love you at the same time.

But now my love to you become lesser and lesser….

• rafreez on Sep 19, 2005 at 8:38 pm

now I'm confuse…we r talking about SUBARU or PROTON or P2…I dont know what to comment already

• for the subaru part, yeah I still prefer the previous looks..

but or the proton thing? what the heck? even got it wrong for the engine prototype.. that was no campro, it was petronas E01, the engine that proton thrashed in favouring to Campro for their new lineup… and yes Petronas has developed a vvt engine back in 1998…

the thing is you're in the wrong topic dude…

• campro is based on lotus' AVT? Lotus build engine meh? If so, why they use toyota engines for the elise? Just to make my comment relevant to this blog and avoid being seen as an idiot like shah, The new EVO, eh, Impreza … kicks ass.

• singth on Sep 19, 2005 at 9:59 pm

commenting about how good is our national car in a post about subaru impreza? are u dumb, or u dun read english? *shake head

• FiveElements on Sep 19, 2005 at 9:59 pm

KAR HENG, JARED………u guys are definately rite……

SHAH…wake up wake up!!! still asleep??? its noon already…

• Shaun on Sep 19, 2005 at 10:03 pm

The new corporate nose for subaru is supposed to look like an 'aeroplane' coming at you, so i have read. But i disagree about Impreza's being more fun to drive than Evos at the limit. To me the Evo is still the ultimate track weapon but having said that, there is no other exhaust which sounds as sweet as the Impreza's boxer throb.

• Shaun on Sep 19, 2005 at 10:31 pm

As for proton. i don't think they will ever give a shit about customer feedback and service because all they want is to make a profit, a quick buck. For proton to really change, they need to change the work attitude within the organisation not just the cars per se. Only then will everything fall into place. Just have a look at the work ethic at Perodua and see the difference it makes.

The reason why we are all complaining and criticising proton now is because we have had enough. Proton has already been given more than enough time and protection to improve itself and become on par at least with the koreans. It disappoints me that Proton has always prided itself on its world-class R&D, but what has it got to show for after all this time?

Constructive criticism is always welcome to better ourselves. There is a BIG difference with that and sledging without reasons to back up like "proton is shit – fullstop"

How can i support a car company when that very company doesn't give a shit about me except my hard earned money? Hardly what i call unpatriotic.

You say we can't compare proton with the Japanese because it's akin to comparing apple and oranges. Well we can. Do you want to know why? Because proton told us to. With bold statements like the Waja is "the BMW of asia" (hardly).

Reliability is a question of a car as a whole. Not just the engine, not just the windows, not just the electrical systems, but everything. It's no use having an engine that is vibration free when my windows don't work, my wheels aren't fitted on straight and my interior falls to bits. Get my point?

• Jason on Sep 19, 2005 at 10:41 pm

Looks pretty good to me. Looks less feminine than the current model.

• Johnny Boy on Sep 20, 2005 at 12:17 am

Front grille looks like Alfa ??? Which model…..looks more like a Seat to me…..

My pref ( WRC only k ):

Drivability – EVO

Sounds – WRX

Skim cepat menang – P 206

Hehehe…..

• SaDdNesZ.jc on Sep 20, 2005 at 1:14 am

Shah,

I don't understand why you're trying so hard to protect Proton. The citizens of Malaysia has only Proton to thank for messing up the entire economy. Don't you realise that the entire car industry in Malaysia is dictated by Proton? Price of cars are determined by how much profit Proton needs to make from their cars. So whatever the price proton needs to survive, the consumer will have to pay that price (and more, if the consumer goes for an imported brand)

Why can Hyundai produce a car that equals the Wira and export it at a good 20-40% lower in price than the Wira, and still make a profit? Can't you see that we are made to pay a higher price simply because Proton cannot lower their manufacturing costs? And the price of cars are driving the good citizens of Malaysia to the ground!

Let's face it. If you're working in KL, you can't function without a car. Taking public transport would simply mean 4 hours of travelling a day. Buying a car for most people would mean taking a 30% chip off thier monthly income. And cars are depreciative assets. No one can buy a car and earn a sum.

Because of Proton, we do not have a freedom of choice. How come Hyundai can produce a car that is of better quality than Proton, and sell them to us at a lower price? If it wasn't for the government control, Proton would've died a thousand deaths.

• 'The citizens of Malaysia has only Proton to thank for messing up the entire economy', 'Don’t you realise that the entire car industry in Malaysia is dictated by Proton'…wahhh…….proton so powerful…i never know..so proton rule malaysia?

'Because of Proton, we do not have a freedom of choice'….perodua got what..tuk..tuk..tuk…myvi..myvi…remember? (or kancil..anyone?)

• can definitely mod the proton's wira to look like this

;-)

• Does anyone think that the new Subaru triple segment grill on the B9, R2, WRX all resemble Daewoo's grills.. like the Nubira (Optra) etc. ?

• karheng on Sep 20, 2005 at 3:42 am

yup a little…

• just because of this proton at the end potong your own kind.

if we protect proton it just like a baggier that always bagging s long u all still 1 to give that a Malaysian industry attitude problem, dont like people to say there r stupid but there like to do a stupid thing dont u all think that.

so, why dont u give me money do u 1, if u dont 1 why we give money to proton n get back a lousy thing, Because of Proton, we do not have a freedom of choice’. no need have to say much no wonder world never gone get pics cause have this kind of people never understand what good o not n improve fast com pair whit other country type of people .

by the way Subaru the killer is the best technology's that ever have, boxer engine like porches. this Subaru not a really a concept car , the 1 will coming soon much more batter.

• stupid rafidah on Sep 20, 2005 at 7:31 am

suck the grille suck

man too not for sports thats the only down side of this car looks the stupid front grille

nice lights looks futuristic

• narrowband on Sep 20, 2005 at 9:08 am

I have to admit that the nose is ugly.

I also have to admit that that WRC Prototype looks GOOD!

Could do better with a nicer grille though.

And as for Proton, all who have commented score points. Shah has no point. And boy, this is the best OOT commentary I've ever come across. Most commentors commented on both SUBARU and PROTON! Like myself.. tee-wee-hee.

• stupid rafidah on Sep 20, 2005 at 6:43 pm

proton suck big time still mad they dumped away the eo1 and opted for campro

by the way whats the point of producing alang alang sports car like srm,i wanna come out like that the price better be rite 30-40k that would be nice

if the price is 90-100k,well f proton,a standard civic ek dohcvtec second hand only 40k and will have lotsa money more for modification

stupid people pricing the proton

i like the concept of the wrx an air scoop and an air vent on the hood

the front grille still suck big time if i get this car i will gergaji it away

haha shah have no more comment

• stupid rafidah on Sep 20, 2005 at 6:43 pm

one more thing how come front grille give me a bit of the mustang feeling

• Marmitecrab on Sep 20, 2005 at 7:43 pm

Now that Mitsu is locally represented, I'd take the Evo anytime, man. If I could afford it, that is….hehe!

• December on Sep 20, 2005 at 10:20 pm

What a pandemonium…proton topic on chaos in subaru's post..i can see the connection…Shah envies good car, proton suck.Period

Its not the matter of patriotism, its about quality, if you gonna relate proton and patriotism, banging into a divider as u drive a proton, and you die, can that be considered as 'that dude is awesome, died in a proton, he died for the country'

allrite, im shitting

• Jared on Sep 21, 2005 at 3:00 am

Ermm… btw.. Shah.. where are u? Your teacher must be proud of you.

For the sake of being relevant to the topic, i think this scooby needs a little getting used to; not that it's ugly like a Savvy which u either like it or laugh at it. Much better than the bug-eyed version. EVO9s also look ugly.. I think the manufacturers now tend to go soft with the design, discarding the old-school "garang" look. May be they are targetting the mid-30s to mid-40s age group. Makes sense though, coz no matter how much I hate or like it, a young and poor chap like me can never afford it brand new… second hand (10-year-old may be can lar). Anyway, boxer engines really love to sing, and they sing it loudly.. So do V6s, V8s and V10s..

• this car look a men. is cool, cool whit a technology. the engine sound like no other u can get the same, like Harley Davidson (R) for the sound that come out from exhaust.

• dondon on Sep 21, 2005 at 3:40 am

lolz… this post is crazy lar, making me confused! at first i saw a sweet subaru, but after scrolling down i saw fire gun events. this is totally crazy. but now, i don care a dame wad u ppl wanna say bout proton, perodua, or any bullshit. i'm gonna talk with paul bout this sub wrx!

hey, paul, that subaru's new headlamp, sure looks a lil' like gen2 hor. but the nose part, reminds me of the merz s, the one used as safety cars in f1, correct? mayb i'm a lil' out dated with tat, soli har! :)

the car ar, don look really fierce, but hey, the old version also not that fierce wad (*to me lar), but i stil find it aggresive. the only part that i don like is the back. y subaru don wanna change the design of the backlamp, stil the similar style ler as the old 1. and the wrc's spoiler, valy ugly ar. i would say that the "plain" wrx's spoiler of the subaru is better (*for me lar).

eh, did u notice, the rims for the imprezza, they're always bronze or gold, sth like tat lar, y ar? but dame, they actually looks nice though! :P

but i stil like this new subaru, my taste, give the same feel like the evo8. hihi~

• all references to alfa grills…

possibly bcos subie's current chief of design = Andreas Zapatinas used to work at alfa?

the front grill is meant to bring the wrx in line with a consistent design for all subaru models. it was first used in the B9. the design is apparently based on an aircraft's fuselage. this is a tribute to subie's heritage – as a part of Fuji Heavy Industries, a manufacturer of airplanes.

the new wrx has a small rear spoiler on the top of the rear window.

i reckon the huge rear wing will only be available on the STi model, consistent with earlier and current wrx models.

not a bad car la. but it has very unusual and striking lines along the side.

• There's something wrong with this car..

• wafiess on Nov 12, 2005 at 9:48 am

I luv subies for the rest of my life lol .. doesnt matter what u guys critisise .. and i still luving it

• K-Rol on Nov 15, 2005 at 10:51 pm

look more elit than soprty…