Daihatsu D-Compact 4X4

The Daihatsu D-Compact 4×4 is what they call their ‘proposal’ for a new compact SUV style of look. It looks very much like the Toyota RAV4. Though that’s not a crime, they are owned by Toyota after all.

UPDATE: Perodua has announced that a new Kembara will be launched in mid-2008. It is expected that the new Perodua Kembara replacement will be based on the Daihatsu Bego/Toyota Rush. Click here for more details.

UPDATE: New Kembara replacement Perodua SUV spotted on Malaysian roads!

I would love to see the Daihatsu Terios be refreshed with this model and subsequently introduced into our local market as a Perodua Kembara as with the previous Terios.

As with all modern car designs, wheelbase is long and overhangs over the front and rear are kept at a minimum. This positions the tyres at the 4 edges of the vehicle creating a large interior room.

The D-Compact 4X4 gets a newly developed 1.5 DVVT DOHC engine and it comes with full time 4WD with a center differential lock. This engine produces 105hp at 6000rpm and 140Nm of torque at 4400rpm. The car weighs 1230kg. Fuel consumption is rated at 8.6 litres per 100km. The concept model shown uses 18 inch alloy rims with 235/55/R18 tyres.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• armandd on Sep 20, 2005 at 7:28 am

if this is what the new kembara will look like, it will surely have a long waiting list!

• stupid rafidah on Sep 20, 2005 at 7:40 am

yup tis the new kembara

doubt will have 1.5 cc in m'sia

look at the fuel consumption damn high for this car

siao eh

i bet will be like 60-70k if launch in msia

• izudeen on Sep 20, 2005 at 8:07 am

wow…

9liter per 100km with 18" wheels…

that is super fuel efficient engine (no doubt it just 1500cc)

i wonder when can our local car manufacturer produce/acquire engine that efficient…

• Pentan Sakua.... on Sep 20, 2005 at 8:32 am

Paul,

It is really not good of you to make us drool and wet all over with the latest cars. You know, in Malaysia a car that actual cost is RM30000.00 is being sold at RM120000.00. You know that most of us cannot afford because of the high tax. Pls don't show to us la…..I am having wet dreams every night after reading your blog talking about the latest model…..You no GOOD la….Now I am thinking of using diapers…..

Basic day to day car in other country is being sold here in Malaysia as the LUXURY model …Really not FAIR la…..

• akari on Sep 20, 2005 at 8:56 am

lol we must look at other's car… if not we will totally outdated coz our big brother who got his way to monopolize m'sia market still selling 10+years old model, or for japanese it's around 20years old model?

• narrowband on Sep 20, 2005 at 9:21 am

shit, if this is gonna be P2's next (or future) release… their sales will eclipse proton's sales big time!

• Wiraone on Sep 20, 2005 at 9:42 am

The new Trios is based on the outgoing RAV4 platform .. hence much bigger than the current Trios.. I guess if Perodua introduces a new Kembara based on this Trios .. it will become the best selling 4×4 model in M'sia.

• E-Nabill on Sep 20, 2005 at 9:47 am

cabin stil looks cramped …

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 20, 2005 at 3:30 pm

I think the size is closed to KEMBARA, some modify and copy from RAV4!! But It is better looks than KEMBARA lei! Good works!!…..BUT I don't like 4×4 FULL TIME 4WD!! hope Optional selection between 4WD and 2WD version will be introduced too.

• ijas_Eng.Camp on Sep 20, 2005 at 4:11 pm

A'ah..nanti keluar le plak Kembara fesyen baru plakk…NEw KeMbara..Just wait n See..

• cameljoe on Sep 20, 2005 at 4:16 pm

Yum, yum…i want one! Daihatsu said that it is bigger than the current Terios and it will have all the fun and economics without the problems of a 4×4. How come the 1.5L can only manage 105bhp while the Vios 1.5L does 109bhp?

• Sad Malaysia Driver on Sep 20, 2005 at 4:36 pm

New kembara? That'll be years away… Maybe not ever? btw, any news on the new taxes said to be announced during september??? What's the new pricing for myvi???

• Michly on Sep 20, 2005 at 5:43 pm

Under Daihatsu.. its a solid car… when come to P2.. become fragile liau ..

• napps on Sep 20, 2005 at 6:42 pm

mbm resources said that the kembara replacement should be out by 2007.

• ijas_Eng.Camp on Sep 20, 2005 at 7:26 pm

KebArambuTAn…

• Marmitecrab on Sep 20, 2005 at 7:34 pm

I have a Kembara now and I loves it. With this new one coming out, you can bet I'll be the first in line. P2 quality is light years ahead of P1 and that's why they are winning in terms of sales. Anyone can think of a reason why we should support P1 when P2 is so good?

• rafreez on Sep 20, 2005 at 8:27 pm

mmmmm….when p1 going to release a 4×4…maybe then we can found out which is better…as we all know Savvy has gone way ahead of Myvi…hehehehe…

• aha…something to look forward to when considering a new 4×4(mini)…perodua is gonna have a hit model again after the myvi…too bad for proton who has yet to do come up with something with a competitive edge..proton matilah kau kali ini..

refreez:pls explain what you mean by savvy has gone way ahead of myvi?thanx

• rafreez said,

September 20, 2005 @ 12:27 pm

mmmmm….when p1 going to release a 4×4…maybe then we can found out which is better…as we all know Savvy has gone way ahead of Myvi…hehehehe…

—-> Sawi gone way ahead of Myvi? in wat sense? mind sharing? sales or wat? P1 is also "ahead" of P2 juz because its known as "P1"…kindly dun make us guessing…and start laughing if you please :D

• looks abit crampy inside heh.

• hfrshah on Sep 21, 2005 at 2:45 am

i think that was a sarcastic remark..

• this will b a good mini 4×4 car. there will b like our myvi size room n more long well best then myvi i think.

• gegaoff on Sep 21, 2005 at 3:57 am

don't pull POTONG inside this post. too much of it… sian…

i guess this car wil come as KEMBARA replacement in future. since myVi is so HOT here, guess daihatsu will not lose this chance to grab more market share over here… emm… yummy..

in fact, guess that time P2 will have better capacity to produce more car, so ppl will not have to wait so long… right? hehehe

• Sirion – Passo, Xenia – Avanza, now this D-Compac – Rav4.

Slowly but surely, Daihatsu is losing their uniqueness…

Wonder what's going to happen to the Mira and Charade?

well that's not such bad news if Perodua…

now Perodua has that 333 vision…

next it will be the 111 vision…

• wow! love it very much.when they will be sell in Japan huh? i wonder when they will reach here

• Selvenz on Sep 21, 2005 at 5:10 pm

Perodua will eventually become No1 national car maker. All the models that have been sold by them has been selling really well, unlike Proton where sales of some models is not doing to well. I think Proton should just pack it up and stick to selling their bikes or let foreign management change the outcome of proton. Anyways this kembara is awesome.

• WajaTME on Sep 21, 2005 at 5:47 pm

hell. 4 thumbs up!

• Hopefully they price it rights and this wil be hits, ideal replacement for my current 1st hand problematic Wira.

• amouse on Sep 22, 2005 at 1:01 am

hey, abit like rev4 tho.. nice looking car. inside is nice too.. i love it.. rank it 7/10

• sinleong on Sep 22, 2005 at 4:11 am

Quick!!!! built this under Perodua brand!!!

• Paul,do u have the picture of similar model for Toyota? They usually make same mode with similar appearance such as Terios,Avanza n Passo

• apex: this is still a concept, this concept will be further developed, then only become a production model.

for example audi pikes peak shown as concept first, then later further refined and produced as audi q7.

• This surely will become the next Kembara. The re cent Kembara really needs replacement.

• oh,tq.u right Paul

• Insider on Sep 25, 2005 at 10:59 pm

FYI,

RAV4 is originally designed by DAIHATSU!

• insider on Sep 27, 2005 at 9:29 pm

The name of this new SUV is BEEGO for Daihatsu and RUSH for Toyota.

• demio121 on Oct 10, 2005 at 9:19 am

Looking at the Daihatsu website, the D-Compact is about 185mm longer, 190mm wider and 45mm higher compared to Kembara. Its much shorter than CRV (535mm shorter) but only 40mm narrower than CRV. Difference in wheelbase is just 45mm.

from those number, i don't think D-Compact will be cramp like Kembara. From the look, it look very close to production car. Nothing really overly fancy about the D-Compact. Some concept car have fancy design that make no sense for mass production. the interior also look close to production. Probably won't take long for D-Compact to appear in showroom in Japan. give it about a year so it'll be somewhere end Q3/early Q4 2006. give it another year to reach MY (if P2 have plan to replace Kembara) so it'll be toward end 2007.

I use to drive a Kembara and really enjoy it. One thing i hope Daihatsu improve is the engine. the K3-VE in Kembara (even with DVVT) is very thirsty.

• benunited on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:02 pm

6.5/10

• benunited on Oct 14, 2005 at 8:04 pm

6.7/10

• Herry on Nov 09, 2005 at 9:36 pm

Wow…i like the style…Can i know morw about it n how much it cost at Malaysia'n…??

• rania on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:57 pm

WOw….impressive,

i drive a kembara now and i just love it….i cannot wait for this one!!! it looks absolutely darling…!!!

time fly please!! where can we get more details about this one?

• C.pon on Dec 14, 2005 at 2:01 am

i think they should change a side panel,cause still look like myvi la.i really like at head lamp.how much aaa?

• Al Barrs on Dec 19, 2005 at 10:50 am

DEC 18, 2005

Are these 4×4 vehicle available in the USA? Southestern USA? Do they have traction-lock differentials?

Thanks,

Al

• I really love to have this new kembara. I hope it will be the next kembara.

• henry (Member) on Jan 21, 2008 at 1:55 am

more best than proton saga new blm because proton still two power window viva already have 4 power window