2008 Volkswagen Scirocco Coupe

Volkswagen is developing a new coupe to be released in 2008.

The coupe will be a 2+2 based on the Volkswagen Golf chassis and will use the same 1.4 litre twin-charged (SuperTurbo) engine as the Volkswagen Golf GT.

BTW, the original Volkswagen Scirocco released in the 1980s looks like this…

Source: Auto Motor Und Sport

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 29, 2005 at 3:54 pm

Looks very GARANG lah!!

• stupid rafidah on Sep 29, 2005 at 4:38 pm

souped

a coupe from vw nice shit

wont this car be heavier than the golf

same engine lagi wont it be less powerful than the golf?

• It's look like that one mercedes coupe…

• i dun think it would significant less power than golf, because of twin turbo, VW may tuned the engine to fit this cool coupe.

• aksMS on Sep 29, 2005 at 6:29 pm

Uhh…1.4? They are kidding, arent they? I hope they do. It looks so mean and meaty and they wanna put a little pony to pull it? Just what a turbo can do to 1.4? Even the tiny C2 gets a 1.6 litres. Heh, 1.6 sounds even better. It should be 1.8 at least, sharing the Golf GTi engine or give it R32. That's more like it. I'll be drooling all over it! :p

• Cehhh… looks like GEN2 coupe ley…. the headlight…

• aksMS: i linked in my blog post to specifications of the 1.4 engine. it makes 168hp and 240Nm torque.

• Streamyx User on Sep 29, 2005 at 7:28 pm

Back, and middle side look like Merc CLK ler.

• cbljkkkj on Sep 29, 2005 at 8:03 pm

The car looks great but it doesnt fit the description of 1.4 Twin charged Superturbo. It looks like it packs a 4.3 or 5 litre motor. One things for sure, it has the looks no doubt about it. Definitely one of the most interesting concept design to come out of VW yet.

Gonna jump out of the topic for a moment. Guys do you think that they should put the latest VW R32 3.2L turbo engine in this car???

• cbljkkkj: the golf chassis can put 4.3 or 5 liter motor meh? i think the 3.2 v6 is a tight fit already. i think that concept photo which i posted is a bit deceptive on the size of the car. i don't think it's as big as the 6-series.

btw the 3.2 v6 is normally aspirated… no turbo.

• Verne on Sep 29, 2005 at 8:41 pm

Looks absolutely yummy man!

• aksMS on Sep 29, 2005 at 8:49 pm

TQ Paul. That's an awesome figure for a 1.4 litre, even more pony than my C5! LOL! But still, it will be impressive if the production model around the size of a Golf. If it's bigger, haiyo, bad mpg la. I think, from the look of this car it should go head on with the 3 series and SLK.

• karheng on Sep 30, 2005 at 12:59 am

aksMS: This 1.4 litre super turbo is one of a kind. you get the low end power of the supercharger and high end boost of the turbo. What a combo!

• To have a feel what 160hp and 240Nm is …. try imagine fitting a 2.4 VVTi toyota camry engine into a small car like that . And Toyota Camry's acceleration and top speed is not poor to begin with.

• cbljkkj on Sep 30, 2005 at 1:06 pm

Sorry Paul. Didn't read the print on it being a Golf chassis. The car just looks like a 4 point something litre. Looks like a bonafide supercar in a way. Sorry bout the 3.2 L Turbo, kinda forgot that the R32 was an NA. My bad

• bassaq on Oct 10, 2005 at 8:57 pm

heh boys,

i've VW Scirocco MK2 with 1.8 16V 140PS and 900Kg… does this new rocco can beat me up? i dont think so :P

anyway… nice car from VW

• Tracie on Oct 20, 2005 at 10:29 am

The new scirocco will also come in a V6 3.2L with all wheel drive. im excited, so are both my 1988 16vs :-)

• Ignacio Barragan on Nov 12, 2005 at 7:35 pm

You guys don't remember the Honda F1 car of the eighties. It was 1.3L or 1.5 L and made over 1000 HP! I prefer bigger motors but if done right, a turbo can be pretty awesome. I like the car except for the chrome grill.

• hendrik on Nov 17, 2005 at 12:59 am

just fyi: thats not the original scirocco, that's the scirocco II. the original scirocco dates back to 1973.. ;-)

• Could of posted a nicer pic like a 16v '88 rocco??

Geez…

• James on Dec 15, 2005 at 11:39 pm

WOW!!!!! If this is really being produced by VW, then I hope it's going to be brought into Malaysia. I'm starting to save now – I need it to keep my 1983 MarkII Scirocco Gti company;-)

• Jorge (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 7:45 am

Definitely that IS NOT the original SCIROCCO, the first one came out in 1974, it was the MK1 designed by Giorgetto Guigiaro of Ital Design, the one shown [mk2] was designed in house by vw, the ORIGINAL MK1 was light and nimble, a joy to drive and surprisingly quick, compact body with lots of space, a sweet little coupe, young folks today would love to trade their Hondas and Mazdas for this timeless machine, can you imagine, it came out when Pintos, Hornets and huge monsters ruled the roads, very well conceived and ahead of its time, today with a few mods it can be as satisfying as a Mini.

The new coupe shown has a very boring front end, cookie cutter facia, should really be more like the original mk1!

Jørge