Myvi break-even sooner than expected

Perodua has revised it’s break-even timeline to 2 years and 3 months instead of the original 3 years for the Perodua Myvi’s investment of RM210 million based on overwhelming sales.

Perodua’s managing director Hafiz Syed Abu Bakar said booking for it’s 1.3 litre Perodua Myvi have reached 60,000 as of yesterday morning. He did not quote the 1.0 litre sales figures. He also mentioned there are about 19,000 Myvis delivered and currently on the road.

To meet the overwhelming sales, production capacity has been increased from 220 units a day to 280 units a day.

Things are looking very optimistic from Perodua. The company has predicted sales will increase another 7-8% next year. To keep up with the sales, it is currently planning to invest another RM150 million in plant and equipment including a new paint shop, body shop and production line, pending results of market studies.

It’s Serendah plant in Selangor currently utilizes about 80ha of land for it’s production plant and head office and it still has another 56ha of land for expansion.

Source: The Edge Daily

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wilfred on Oct 05, 2005 at 11:35 pm

excellent…..but don put out new model dat soon….

or else those long-waiting ppl can cancel booking…

then ur stat not accurate anymore….

• travis on Oct 05, 2005 at 11:42 pm

brilliant, now they extending to 280 units per day!!!

yeah i hope i wont wait for my baby any longer!!!!

bravo perodua, n this is good news to UMWT!!!!

• Streamyx User on Oct 06, 2005 at 12:19 am

Now let's see how Savvy is doing :P

• Selipar on Oct 06, 2005 at 12:27 am

totally beating up savvy production & sales..

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 06, 2005 at 1:39 am

Who cares about Savvy? GIVE ME MY CAR NOW YOU P2 A$$E$. It's been 4 months now~

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 06, 2005 at 1:42 am

soon…

even you park Savvy without locking it,nobody will even look at it..

lol…

• Proton is going way way down…

Perodua can only be stronger with toyota's backing!

Cheerz Mate

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 06, 2005 at 4:38 am

Don't be mistake , I love the Savvy , and it have good reviews as well. But it doesn't suit me so I opted for the Myvi , as I had no further budget for the Vios/City either. So my choice is the Myvi. But if you'd give me a Savvy I'd grab for it.

NOW WHERE IS MY CAR P2? I NEED MY CAR NOW. AND I HOPE THOSE PEOPLE THAT JUMP QUEUES GET SLAMMED TO HELL.

• From the time savvy was introduced in my place i think i only saw about 3 or 4.

In myvi case i think about 1 in every 10 cars (maybe more, im just saying)

bb Proton your in deep shit now.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 06, 2005 at 4:34 pm

see that paul? ..

every topic for p2.. they all keep bashing proton ekspecially savvy..

aiyaa.. out of topic laa..

// and thats fanatic.. ;)

• aksMs on Oct 06, 2005 at 4:37 pm

280 cars per day, aye? I hope P2 didn't sacrifice too much on QC. Or else a lot of Myvi passenger kene standby umbrella inside the car. LOL.

So, where does P1 stand now? Playing catch up again???

(I think Savvy looks having more muscles than Myvi. Is it the tyres? Or there's something wrong with my eyes? Gotta have 'em checked!)

• KL Lim on Oct 06, 2005 at 5:19 pm

Those who compared the Myvi and Savvy is apparently ermmmm… it not at the same class at all.. it is a compact car..

• rainbow7j on Oct 06, 2005 at 6:19 pm

it is possible to compare Savvy to MyVi, however the larger passenger space for MyVi is much too obvious advantage for the Asian Culture, we are not like the europeans where majority don't like to have children.

Personally I like Savvy but don't like the fact of old Clio engine and a poor rear design. I guess this is what pple care ….

I think my dad's MyVi don't leak, (phew lucky, if not i might have to wear raincoat inside)

Engine noise, on road feeling, and engine performance are all very satisfactory up to date. Just the suspension is set little too hard, haha can feel the slightest of bump, don't know it is good or not….

• Jason on Oct 06, 2005 at 7:08 pm

I'm waiting for my MyVi auto black too. :( It's been 2 months now…

• HumanSanzz on Oct 06, 2005 at 7:47 pm

Even the proton dealers have way to get Myvi fast leh.Why don't u ask them,may be they can help u out.Hehe! Jump QUEUES won't die de lar.

• kanasai on Oct 06, 2005 at 9:26 pm

anyone own savvy? can u pls check on your manual book for maintainance. I heard from proton sales man that every 3 times service, many things in savvy req to change and this will cause the user RM 800 ++ for every 3rd time service. According to this sales man, it cost very high to maintain Savvy. Pls someone verify this statement as i do not want to spred lies. how about Myvi? how is the cost like ? pls share it to us.

Thx

• Streamyx User on Oct 06, 2005 at 9:36 pm

A spareparts dealer said if gearbox kong, costs RM17000 to replace new one.

• Streamyx User on Oct 06, 2005 at 9:36 pm

^^ BTW donnow true or not.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 06, 2005 at 10:40 pm

jangan buat cerita sendiri lah!

aku pun boleh buat cerita..

my friend use myvi.. gear box oso broken.. go to workshop guna duit RM 19000 woo mahu repair!..

isnt that sound stupid? ..

kalau gearbox saja dah 17000, enjin takda harga ke? .. huh!.. what aaaa..

• KL Lim on Oct 06, 2005 at 11:22 pm

LOL ….

it not only sound stupid.. the look also stupid … 17K… u thought what…

golden plated huh ?

• adamc on Oct 07, 2005 at 12:12 am

hey, i changed my mind about taking my booked myvi on july one, anyone wants to take over ka… earlier man..

call me 0122640930.

i am thinkin o f using the old car to save cost la. bad financial situation suddenly la..

• rainbow7j on Oct 07, 2005 at 12:22 am

an Audi gear box cost easily 50K RM and that is true….

if for the case of MyVi, if manual would not be too expensive, auto would cost slightly more. In case of Savvy, it is continental design, it should be more delicate and therefore should cost more, but I dont believe it wold cost 17000RM. Moreover, Savvy has been just launched, all still under guarantee, there is no need to be scared now…. if after 3 years, would be hard to say….

but one thing for sure, the mass amount of MyVi on road would means the availability of cheaper spare parts due to the mass production, on the other hand, would Savvy able to command such market ? low volume means higher cost … in term of tooling and assembly cost, this will drive the spare cost up, and worst things is when the supplier decides to EOL the part, then that would be horrible……..

:(

• Nameless on Oct 07, 2005 at 12:31 am

A good justice news to justify how bad is Proton Savvy sales. Shame of Proton, never as good as Perodua, eventough abng dan adik

• jason_chee on Oct 07, 2005 at 1:24 am

wow… couldn't believe this Myvi has so many booking. Its good. hopefully the money p2 earn will be use as R&D expenses for new model. maybe after 2 / 3 year they launch another car which can give us the "valuable" feel.

btw, proton is moving forward but in a slow pace. not to bash proton. just hope they get some good partner to push them moving forward fast just like p2. i'm looking forward for SRM launch but this is their final chance. p1 shouldn't disappoint us anymore. :)

• driver on Oct 07, 2005 at 1:29 am

gearbox is the most expensive part in any car esp the auto one. anyway, why bother when its on warranty?

• nissanier on Oct 07, 2005 at 8:04 am

stremyx is stupid lah..

he a little kid.. donno anything about waranty.. i think..

• poor eRis-Aeir4s, have not got your MyVi !! he he ha ha :) I got my car, been driving for 3 months already, but I book the car in mid April, so I waited the same duration.

I just been called up by PSSB for an interview section on the Myvi, meet with a Japanese guy, just show the commitment of P2 on their cars.

Generally I have not much complain on the car, everything is good. One major complain only….. (cannot say, P2 will sue me). :)

• wahh so cheap myvi's development cost at RM210 million (proton's new model as high as RM1,000 million or RM1 billion); this, i supposed the benefit of joint collaboration with parents daihatsu and toyota; anyway,we all know myvi the rebadge of sirion and passo!

the question is, if the cost so low (compare to proton and other automakers; volks reportedly need US1 billion for new spec) why sell 1.0, 1.3 myvi so expensive at RM40k to RM54K? p2 really sucking the malaysians' blood dry to pays for its japanese masters' sushi!

enjoy your myvi!

;-)

• jebat on Oct 12, 2005 at 11:48 pm

lantak lah korang nak cite apa pun….aku dah tunggu dari jun sampai arini…tak dapat2…no. plat JJJ aku pun dah nak kuar dah…silap2 lepas raya baru dpy MyVi aku…rase nak tenyeh2 jek muka salesman p2 tu…

• Thats why Proton dare to promote like crazy, zero payment, less interest, ready stock. They really know when to steal the market just by losing in short term period, but winning the long term period. Anyone bought proton in promotion fest will be tied to 9 years to finance co. Dunno to what extent it will affect Myvi sales.

• got my new myvi on wednesday

1. After 1/2 hour drive air con on and off by it self.

2. Steering alignment out.

3. Water leaking from top during rain.

4. Back door power window stuck wont go down.

Complained to Salesman, told to go service centre. So what is the hoo haa about myvi ? Hopefully no problem arise when I balik kampong next week.