Toyota may set up hybrid plant in ASEAN

Toyota Motor Corp Katsuaki Watanabe said Toyota may consider setting up hybrid vehicle plants somewhere in the ASEAN region if there is sufficient demand for hybrid vehicles in the region.

Although Toyota already has a big presence in the Thai automotive industry, it could also choose Malaysia as it’s hybrid manufacturing hub. Watanabe said it depends on where the demand is coming from. There are no immediately plans, and hybrid vehicle manufacturing requires sophisticated machines.

Toyota plans accumulated sales of 1 million hybrid vehicles, running on the road by 2010. It is already half way there, with sales of 470,000 so far since the introduction of the Toyota Prius in 1997.

Source: StarBiz

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MutantTomato on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:29 am

Hmmmm… hopefully they will set up the plant here… But then again, with our "wonderful" MITI and all the protection being offered here, methinks either two things will happen:

1. Toyota hybrids will become ridiculously expensive

2. Due to protection, we will not get the full benefit of something like this.

• gegaoff on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:35 am

doesn't that important whether they produce for local market at this stage, most important is to attract them to setup plant over here, for export purpose, then slowly produce for local market. grab them here then utilize them later. ^_^

but i wonder the MITI so smart to think this?

emm.. is that mean i smart? giss… hahaha

cheers…

• Resurrected on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:14 am

If it provides jobs and possible business for suppliers here or attract suppliers to set-up plants here, I don't see why it won't be approved. Hybrid is still a niche and it's not a direct threat to the local car manufacturers.

Does anyone know if the Civic hybrid will be launched in Malaysia? It's on the website but no announcements and pricing.

• babybio on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:39 am

ccivic nybrid already in msia. ask AP King no 2, westar motorsport etc. not as efficient as Toyota Prius though. interested, www.hybridcar.com

yes, it's time!!

• biothing on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:40 am

we want hybrid!! we want it now… even if it costs a bit more. in US its abour 20K (USD)

• MutantTomato on Oct 27, 2005 at 2:30 pm

resurrected: you are right la bro, but you know la the fellas in MITI and the other "proton symphatizers." They will amazingly manage to prove that some 1.3-1.8 hybrid that Toyota possibly makes is detrimental to Proton's cars/ ruining the petrol industry/ undermining our national car projects/ causing a loss of revenue/ etc. in other words, they will cook up a fresh batch of bullshit to justify making things hard for Toyota.

• carlos on Oct 27, 2005 at 4:10 pm

ask toyota to buy proton shares and open the bussiness in malaysian…… use the tanjung malim plant….. the N of the day everybody sleep well…..

• Lucent on Oct 27, 2005 at 4:16 pm

I don't think easy provided our gov support on this move.

Any if hybirds come NGV sure can close shop.

What you guys think?

• emisaidi on Oct 27, 2005 at 4:22 pm

Please, please, please, pretty please … witha cherry on top!… can we please have the Prius over here!

• SEE FU on Oct 27, 2005 at 5:20 pm

Analysis reports from Tooyota Corperation (Mr. Watanaabe):

Where the plant should be located:

1) Thailand: Good location, low labors cost, best entertainment (Nigth Shows and ladies), land middle low, Low tax, local suppliers getting better, quality so so or average, local demand very low. G no control on technologies transfer to ppl.

2) Bolehland: Good location, Middle labors cost but still okay, So so entertainment, land expensive, Tax depend on MITI, local suppliers good, quality good, local demand HIGHEST in Asean. but the G kakacaucau.

3) Singapore: No land, Sorry OUT.

4) Indonesia: Good location, VERY LOW labors cost but NO skills and under average, Many entertaiment and cheap (RM1 one night show), Cheap land, Tax not sure should be lower than Thailand and malaysia, Local supplier GAMBLING, Quality Gambling, local demand NO too poor. Politic problems is the BIGGEST problems, Not safe and no protection from G. KIKI gu KIKI.

5) Filipine: Bad location too far, Very low and lowest labors cost in ASEAn and skills so so but quick learning cause they are super labor in the world, Many entertainment and low price, Cheap land but trouble on transportation too many islands, Tax not sure might be highed, local suppliers skill like a Banji jump and better than gambling, Quality Not sure still glambling, local demad poor, Politic issue High corruption and no protection of business from G all DIY services.

6) Vietnam: What's going on now? no sure but just Weak up from long sleep.

7) Myammar: Never promote any Automaker to come for investment, better stay away from it.

Now left Thailand and Bolehland, 50-50 chances….but Bolehland got POTONG and Dr. M…..manyak Kacau…..kakacaucau caucaukaka and bising…………so 51% goes to Thailand!! Make the cars in Thailand and send it to Malaysia by ROAD not ships or plane wah this is great and best option from WATANABE-san.

Therefore BOLEHland lost to Thailand……..reported by TakBernama

YAU MO KAU……CHOU!!! ….

Remarks: All the information given above is not correct and you can not trust it. If you do take your own risks and don't complaints!! cheers :)

• Wilfred on Oct 27, 2005 at 5:33 pm

haha……

that's wat i expected….

then after 5 years….may b i ll switch to one…

• alansm on Oct 27, 2005 at 5:33 pm

Hybrid car?!? Our petronas can't even support the taxi driver.Lot of gas in our land but most of them u can smell it form the backside of our G. Lot of bull#### talk about alternative fuel by our G. But the reality is, they are dragging their S to improve the delivery system to the people. It is a mirror reflection of our "Tak Nak" campaign. Lot of talk, millions spent & in the end "tak apalah" kita kena jaga keperluan and kepelitaan penanan tempatan. Dream on lah

• ah LIM on Oct 27, 2005 at 5:56 pm

susah susah aje…….. naik basikal hibrid la woiiii……. if u wan 2 KAYUH, just KAYUH laaa…. if u become tired just switch on the electric mode…… easy….. no need to bring your kredit card…. just bring your AAA bateries only…… if u want to balik kampung, just KONVOI with yours family….. can u imagine, KONVOI with yours family on the highway…….(penang 2 JB)…… ahak. ahak ahak……. no more serious accident….. no more MAT REMPIK….. N the police N JPJ can sleep well……… ahak ahak ahak…….. the best thing is NO MORE PROTON…….

• MyBoy on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:10 pm

Im not going to count on this hybrid dreams too much.

• Michael Chua on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:21 pm

Hopefully if Toyota does produce its hybrids cars like the Prius in Malaysia, they would price it lower for sale in Singapore. Its Made-in-Japan version costs much more than its regular petrol Corolla Altis Made in Thailand.

• rafreez on Oct 27, 2005 at 7:11 pm

I hope they will set this up here and I hope when Toyota do this Proton will wake up spend all their money on developing/R&D on hybrid so in the end everyone wins…I do love P1 but seems like they have problem catching up with others…others already flying towords Mars but we still trying to catch the moon…

• Paul…. how much $$$ will this car be ?

do Malaysia have the demand, the question is do we have a price to consider this car.

If you ask me, would I buy a hybrid car, the answer is yes, but if the price is way way above the standard petrol car, no is the answer.

SO, HOW MUCH THIS CAR WILL COST ON MALAYSIAN ROAD ????

• kanasai on Oct 27, 2005 at 9:10 pm

sorry guys… the worst news is that this car will sell way above 100k. if it meet all the rules selling at around 80 k also, the demand will be high. so the car prices will also go up up. no way the G going to let this car take over proton.. that's facts.

• xprezzy on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:21 pm

ah LIM: wakakakakak very funny……ride bicycle with family…..let me imagine for a while……what will happen if we all malaysian only ride bicycle….there will be bicylimo….tricy-hatchback……bicy-long-cle (long-vehicle la) wahahah and the most funny want u said "no more proton but actually proton have design and selling their own bicyle. much more expensive than motocycle……each price more than RM5000(not include battery and motor) even my yamaha 100sports only cost me RM2500 second hand…..

wahakakakakakakak bicycle ride from penang to jb? we here in sarawak also can go from kuching to miri or limbang or lawas or even sabah….. very cheap…..but one thing …….must apply for leave one or two before christmas or raya or any…… sekali jalan pegi almost 3 weeks sambut raya 2minggu balik rumah 5 minggu sebab perut buncit….rehat di rumah 3 minggu…. sekali cuti mok 6 bulan…… wakakakakaka

lawok lawok lawok……wakakakakak

• travis on Oct 27, 2005 at 11:06 pm

Well if the prius is assemble din mysia it will be slighty cheaper, just slighty only will do.

But imagine if UMW toyota assembles the prius in perodua plant, perodua may benefit by learning how to manufacture a hybrid engine n we can see hybrid peroduas soon!!!!

• MvirtualBoleh on Oct 28, 2005 at 12:26 am

i believe plant will located at Thailand….just like as See Fu said….what to do….G always kaka cau cau……soon. thailand will be over bolehland (or virtual bolehland)..hahahahaha

• E-nabill on Oct 28, 2005 at 12:31 am

i dont tink thr wil demand for this , til nt marketed properly in southeast asia..it diff in europ n US wer thy r alot more environmentally conscious…plz la..ppl here stil removing their cat convertor from their cars….!

i tik it wil take a long time…beside there r no insentive for manufactures yet to go hyprid nt like UK lets say,wer road tax is lower for a hybrid

• Toyol minyak on Oct 28, 2005 at 4:00 am

mother nature works in mysterious ways. oil will regenerate itself juz like in the past million years. so dun rush out and buy this silly looking hybrid just yet.

• yhtan on Oct 28, 2005 at 4:41 am

Politic~~~

Malaysia-Government interfere a lot of this issue

Thailand-Government don't interfere too much

Malaysia advantage is can export car very easy,because the convinient of port Klang…

anyway let the CEO decide lol

• gegaoff on Oct 28, 2005 at 5:30 am

but now thailand so many bom, may be now is 51% to bolehland ma.

• peter on Oct 28, 2005 at 1:09 pm

Most likely it will be Thailand.

Honda might also have plans to build the Civic Hybrid there. At least they are thinking about it. I think Thailand is the most logical choice for Toyota also. Camry is already built there, and to very high standards. Even if the interest in the car isn't there, Thailand can export to Malaysia, Singapore and even as far as Australia. So they don't even have to rely on a local customer base for sales at all.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 28, 2005 at 3:52 pm

Wah ha…ah..haa…..SEE FU your comment is good lei I respect as Man Sui man sui man…man sui!!

I really agreed with SEE FU said..G is toooooooo KA KA CAU CAU……….CAU KA CAU KA …….KA CAU…KA CAU….until rojak jadi jakRO…….and become SHIT.

Who wants to be here???? :)

• SEE FU you are right. Thailand oreadi have the toyota assembly plant there…but do take note of the southern thai's turbulance between govnt and the islamic extremist…therefore Bolehland got the edge on the stabilities side. However, if we dun stop this sweet father and daughter's stupid soap opera, not stop the darkforce "AP" (dun forget Toyota here was pissed off when Naza imported the WISH and the Aussie spec Camry)…i doubt they will consider this piece of bolehland to be their destined plant.

YOU MOU KAO….L*N……..CHOU!!!!!!!!!!!! :P

• there is still chance we get the investment: the timing of this announcement and our NAP is not a coincidence wright?

• Jake said,

October 28, 2005 @ 12:58 pm

there is still chance we get the investment: the timing of this announcement and our NAP is not a coincidence wright?

—> pren..thats juz a smoke screen to "blur" our focus on AP…thats juz see wats up next. Not really confident govnt will do something good to kill they golden goose

• eMalaysian on Oct 29, 2005 at 2:07 am

What does hybrid car run on? Palm oil?

• MyBoy on Oct 29, 2005 at 6:15 pm

eMalaysian: If u mean diesel hybrid, then the answer is yes it will because in some parts of the world, some diesel engines do run on B100 which is 100% bio oil.

• eMalaysian on Oct 30, 2005 at 11:53 pm

Myboy,

Yes. I mean diesel hybrid with palm. I was looking for that term.

Malaysia is full of them. In fact, palm industry is so big in malaysia that we don't have enough land to work on. We even venture to indonesia. The cost per litre should be cheaper than oil and if the hybrid is as efficient than normal petrol then why not? I am no expert in tech stuff but I do know when I get value for money

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 31, 2005 at 4:46 pm

Anybody wanna to know HOW MUCH fuel comsuption between Hybrid and non Hybrid models??

Hope you all will understand the differences, Just an EXAMPLE of Toyota Harrier:

Normal harrier 3000cc (Non-hybrid version): 7km/l (average) to Max. 8km/l)

Hybrid harrier 3000cc: 11km/l (average) to Max.12km/l

If you use 100 l/month means you can drive 700km/month compare to 1100km/month, about 400km extra millage and paid the same. But If you use less, let said 20l/month: means 140km/month and 220km/month, difference is only 80km. The more you use the more you safe on Hybrid models.

Not finish yet, don't forget to pay your HYBRID models BATTERY cost! No cheap at all (About few Thousand RM after 5 years usage).

So, please do your math carefully before decided to BUY Hybrid or not.

For me, FUEL CELL car still the best, I hope it will be available soon!!

:)

• Sexythang on Nov 03, 2005 at 7:32 am

a simply calculation would be to take a normal corolla. and times the distance travelled by two for the same amount of petrol.

• Facts on Dec 13, 2005 at 8:43 pm

I believe Toyota does not make a Harrier Hybrid with a 3000cc engine.

And the Hybrid gets more than 12km/L

So your post is incorrect Dog the Wan.

• Jeffrey on Dec 28, 2005 at 7:14 am

possibility of hybrid plant in ASEAN mostly will at thailand..bcoz no one will make a big business at a country where just give u hold ur own company stake in 51%, the rest 49% to feed the usefullness company..So the 51% of stake made them just open a small plant to fill up the demand on local ONLY, no export..the japanese wont so stupid to give away their 49% of profit to anyone who just provide land, equipment only…

in thai they can hold up to 90% of stake, so y they must think to build hybrid plant at m'sia?

• TheHybridCarsReview on Apr 18, 2011 at 1:51 am

i think hybrid car is solution for global warming guys… :)