1996-1998 Audi A4 1.8T

Does anyone have any experience or comments about this German car? Share your experiences if you don’t mind :)

Looking for the recently launched B8 Audi A4 1.8T?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SEE FU on Nov 17, 2005 at 9:20 pm

Again, Who wanna to buy it ??

This is better lah: http://wongseefu.blogspot.com/2005/11/spy-audi-s8…

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! buy this is better AUDI S8 V10 super saloon Sportcar of the YEAR!!

• I once dragged this car in Subang, it was my friend's brother's car which we sneaked out once he was asleep. Really nice car, stable with a lot of power. Vohschprung duch technich!

• psycho on Nov 17, 2005 at 9:38 pm

The A4 made Car and Driver magazine's Ten Best list for 1996 through 1998

• Xoomie on Nov 17, 2005 at 10:03 pm

That car got no resale value..

But i did test drove the latest Audi 2.0 TFSI

Now, that car have changed my perspective about Audi.

I even "think" that this car is better that 3 series

Just my 2 cents

• buaya69 on Nov 17, 2005 at 10:34 pm

the A4 1.8T is ok coz of that turbo but the A6 2.0 is underpowered. if you want an A6 from tat period, get the 2.5 instead. be prepared to fork out $$$$ for repairs though, and they ain't cheap. if you are really looking for an audi, best speak to mechanics that specialises in audi repairs and maintenance. i reckon if you buy a 2nd hand audi, you won't be going to euromobil or tan chong for service, rite? i think i can source for you one of these guys from my friend who drives 2 audi's, a 1998 A6 2.0 and a 2004 A4 2.0

• Can you suggest a reliable meachanic for my audi A4 1996 model?

• wiraone on Nov 17, 2005 at 11:41 pm

Based on Audi 80 .. Better get the > 2001 model :)

• ShaolinTiger on Nov 18, 2005 at 12:05 am

Very nice car, would be kinda expensive to maintain over here though.

It is reliable however, nice car for long drives, very stable with adequate power.

• macdude on Nov 18, 2005 at 2:04 am

Hey Paul!

Check out www.clubaudimalaysia.com

CHeers!

macdude

• Based on A4 1.8 (NA)

My aunty in Malacca bought one and she returned it to Audi (KL) for repair after 8,000KM. No authorised service centre in Malacca at that time-1997. (Not sure bout today tho…) The gear box has some ratling sound and not able to start the car. Sent the car to KL bout 3 times, we gave up. Problem still there. Sold the car and lost a lot on the car value.

Not sure bout the T version but I believe the core system i.e. gear box should be the same.

• I have a couple of friends who drive this car and it's good value. Yes, Audi's from this era and before tended to depreciate a fair bit. But for the 2nd hand car buyer, this can only be good news. As for spare parts, there are quite a number of sources available and priced reasonably.

Furthermore, because it has a turbo engine, you can have lots of fun tuning it up. For example with a simple chip upgrade from APR you can go from the stock 150hp to 200hp whilst retaining factory smoothness. Surprisingly with a good chip upgrade you get better fuel economy at the same time. Another thing I would change from is the stock suspension which can be a little soft.

We have a regular meeting of Audi drivers so feel free to contact me if you want to meet up.

• Twoxer Hayzen on Nov 18, 2005 at 4:20 am

We owned one between 1996 to 2004, the 1.8 Auto.

This car was challenging the 3-Series when it was launched, and in Malaysia it did give the Beemer a run for it's mobey. It was around RM155k I think when we bought it.

It was a dependable car, and the engine was powerful enough. Great interior, especiallt the dials at night.

One major complaint (across the globe too) was the short rear seats.

HAndling wise it was good for a standard driver like me, but at high speeds cornering was quite unstable, although it never felt as unsafe as a standard Iswara la…

We were happy with the car, and yes, and that point Audi's were under Auto Dunia so resale value was poor.

But it served us really well, and parting with the dark green car was a bit tough, but it had to be done.

These days Audi is EON-backed, so it's more reliable, but prices today are astronomical.

Why do you want to know anyway Paul?

• Thinking of getting one.

• deutsche volks on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:51 am

heii xman..

its-Vorsprung durch Technik!

• wow paul … an AUDI ?? better prepare your pocket for it , maintenance is not cheap . Why not get yourself a used honda accord and swap in a H22A instead . Offers almost the same power , bigger space , but of cos i have to say the continentals offers a better ride .

• Steve on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:32 am

The A4 is a reasonably good car, if you put it into perspective.

It's a cheaper alternative to the Merc and Bmw, offering good quality, but not the image. The problem with the turbo is offcourse the turbo, but if well maintaned and not to expensive you will enjoy the quality of the interior, the silence when driving etc.. Just remember it's a front wheel drive, and due to it's higher wheels the cornering isn't perfect. Just depends on whether you want luxury, or race it around, cause for racing it would be a bad choice, you will however go fast on the highways.

• Steve: tired of racing around actually.

H22A: looking at the SV4s as well.

• Steve on Nov 18, 2005 at 2:34 pm

Well,

Then look at the price first, and perhaps as estimation of the resale value. I don't know anything about that in Malaysia.

In my country people get companycars, and the A4 is the most popular, allwys has been, but the one your looking at is allready 8 years old, could be the electronics may have problems.

To be honnest you would be better of with a newer Honda, or a Mazda6 !

• 4G63T on Nov 18, 2005 at 4:10 pm

I had a 1997 A4 2.8 v6 Quattro for 2 months when I was in North America.

NOt very impressive. Its a heavy car good for highway use, but even with the 2.8L, it feel sluggish and underpowered. Heard from owner, its been a mess with the electrical system and engine management since new. The 2.8V6 isn't even very smooth. The A4 1.8T is the same, originally they only came with 150hp (later 170hp), and coupled with a autobox and quattro, it barely moves.

But as a perspective,

I used to own a 300hp modded VR4 powered 92 Eclipse Turbo AWD. So when you are used to that, every other car seems a little weak)

• Another Honda Driver on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:32 pm

even my mechanic friend also cannot "tahan" about his A4 maintenance, he sold it & get a second hand BMW 328, think twice Paul

• karheng on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:07 pm

Audis from this time are very computer reliant. They were also finding a balance between good programming back then for the car. It is also one of my favourites as it has a turbocarged 1.8, not too hefty on the pocket with the availability of a turbocharger for overtaking and speeding up whenever necessary.

It is a good car and often it is undervalued and undermined by the typical Malaysian business market simply because they do not understand the technology put into the car. It gives the BMW a run for it's money. However, Audi's are not known for their handling, so be careful if ur a handling-biased person.

IMHO, i think it's better off to get a second hand 5 series from 97/98 period , E34/39 as it has received awards for many years from the day it was produced. Quoting Jeremy Clarkson, "If you want a foolproof purchase without testing, get a BMW" (or something like that…+) Have Fun!

• DAvid F on Nov 19, 2005 at 1:28 pm

Is their anyway to possibly put a turbo into an a4 2.8 2000 ????

• lolz… if course every1 wants a continental , but for young professionals , its not that easy to maintain . Cost of purchase is one thing , then you have to look at the maintenance and resale value . Its much more cheaper to maintain a japanese counterpart .

Why is the audi commands a low 2nd hand value anyway ? so does many high displacement cars . Fuel Consuption and maintenance play a major role.

Paul ; the SV4 basically has little problems , served me well this few years , but the Fuel Consumption is a little on the high side . I am a heavy footer , and average about 20sen/km . 50%highway 50%town driving .

Another option is the Nissan Cefiro . Offers quite a nice ride too.

• 1.8T has coil pack issue. When one of the coil pack fails, it goes into limp mode with check engine light on. Other than that, the engine is pretty indestrutable. Friends' passats holds the same engine, both 150hp and 170hp variants and they hold up real well over 100k miles. But I think there are issue with electronic, starter. Check out audiworld.com forum for B5 A4. Getting a quattro should warrant more neutral driving fun.. Good luck. Great car with timeless design if it did not get all dinged out by typical inconsiderate Malaysians..

• Audi A4 1996 – RM48000

BMW 318 E36 1996 – RM55000

Audi – maintenance high price spare part

BMW – maintenance nowadays kedai potong also got

So i think better go for BMW lah paul and get the sensation of rear wheel drive that any front wheel drive car can not give…

• You sure BMW's maintenance isn't as bad as the Audi? I had the impression the Beemer was worse.

• Yup coz i got some friends who're using beemers. But i forgot to tell u, it is our consensus that to buy a 2nd hand beemer, we have to prepare a few thousand to change all the worn parts. But after that, usually the car will feel like new bro…

And i too have a friend who bought 2nd hand audi A6. It's from him that i started to know that when in 1997 the car is worth rm140,000 but in 2003 it's worth only Rm48K…dunno why. And he also told me that spare part price for audi is very xpensive and he's a police ASP!

I dunno paul, up to u. Anyway keep up the website work, it's wonderful!

• Hi paul, i am in the same position as you are. I am recently looking for a 97' 1.8T as well. I have done loads of research, and i am here to share it with you.

Audi A4 (B5)s; scared off Malaysians, because "their-friends-drove-one" and because "i-never-bought-one". Ok, i'll go with the maintenance part where its a major gripe for many buyers "who-thought-its-expensive".

A4 B5s archilles heels:

1. Front Arm

2. Tie Rod Ends

3. Electronic Starters.

4. Arm rest plastics and cup holder plastics dont last.

Thats it. Hence check whether the previous owner did any maintenance, push all four corners down and look for squeeky sounds to check if the Arms and TREs are ok. Other than that, change Timing Belts every 60k-100k km, frequently check on rollers, tensioners, oil leakage. Nothing else. (Or maybe we can keep in touch and we can sama sama go for a maintenance shop then ask for cheaper prices if we change the same parts. lol ! )

I actually drove an A4 years back (not mine, dad's). But i swore to myself i will get one back once i can afford my own car. I dont want to spend RM50-60k buying some crappy Waja, which definitely i'd die looking at it every morning and thinking i'd have to pay for installments for this piece of metal for the next few years.

Originally, i went looking for A4 1.8, which we can get a 96 for around RM45k. I thought of modding it to become something astounding. BUT THEN…. i stumbled across a 97 1.8T, and after i drove it, i'm willing to fetch out the extra RM15-17k for it. Why?? The gearbox. Typical B5 owners will know that 1.8 (na) gearbox had that stupid grumpy temper to not change the gear of we dont floor the pedal, or lift it! They stay on that RPM and produces bad grunts when normal Jap cars have already switch gears without you knowing it. However 1.8T utilizes a different gearbox and this one's GREEAT ! FYI, 1.8T's Turbo was electronically controlled and is limited to 150hp (23 less than a 2.4 Camry) but once chipped, it goes to around 190hp directly, and is capable of modding to around 300+ without the need of switching gearboxes or whatsoever.

Too much talking i guess, look forward to see yours and hopefully, i'd get my load approval soon so that i can post some pics.

Good Luck and regards,

Bobby

Vorsprung Durch Technik

• sirah on May 15, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Hi….
      Just need your advice.I just bought used Audi A4 ’99/00 recently and find out difficult to start the car and sound noisy. I live in Seremban n do you have an idea where should I send my car to repair at a reasonably cost. Most people saying the highest maintenance cost on repairing that car, so a bit scared cos this is my first time trying driving conti cars and hopefully this is not a nightmares. Thanks

• Karl Anwar on Nov 24, 2005 at 1:53 am

Just like you Paul. I love B5 since mid 90s and now after had enough money, did research, asked many Audi owners, Euromobil guys, l must admit that A4 is too dear to maintain unlike BMW and Mercedes. Get the 1.8T and 1.8T Avant if possible. Convert to S4 grille and bumpers.

1.8 NA especially Tan Chong's assembled CKD is too bad, just look at A4 dashboard, worse than Japanese datsun 120Y!

BTW, A4 still affordable, but l rather prefer A6 2.4 '99 or above and "dress" it to imitate S6.

• honda_driver on Nov 24, 2005 at 2:17 am

best way is to find out yourself paul ;)

i have a friend who hates his 1 year old E46. problems galore, and very bad service from auto bavaria according to him. the 1st time he took the car out for a "spirited" drive up genting, the car promptly broke its steering rack bushes. he has since given up driving fast with the car.

another friend of mine has an A4, likes the car though, but says its expensive to maintain. he has had to change the alloy suspension arms twice, coz of damage from potholes.

but its only from 2 people i know. i'm pretty sure there are also many out there with no problems with their cars?

• The problem with A4 B5s are the Control Arms, Tie End Rods. Timing Belts needs extra attention too. Thats it i guess. I'm willing to take a bet on A4 1.8T. The normal aspirated A4 had one of the worst fuzzy logic transmissions. 1.8T is different thou. hmmm i wonder anyone in Malaysia owns an A4 1.8T Quattro B5 …. how nice would that be. :)

• In reply to Karl Anwar:

Have you found a suitable candidate from Audi's staples? A4 1.8T , then you, me and Paul can meet up some time to go purchase spare parts so that we can get it in bulk, discounted price. LOL~

By the way, to all people here thinking Audi/BMWs spare parts are expensive. Sometimes spare parts are expensive because that particular model is rare. Such as….. errmmm Honda HRV, Fiat Multipla, Alfa Romeo Spider etc etc etc. And from what i know, currently (except Ferrari Bentley all those exotics) most expensive parts awards goes to Fiat and Alfa Romeo if i'm not wrong.

But i dont care, if i have RM80k now, i wont go Vios, i'd go for a year 2001 Alfa Romeo 156 ! Its stunning !!! Is Vios or City stunning? Ha! Thats where our higher maintenance goes.

• MrMarlboro on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:52 am

A 1997 Wira 1.5M has been my loyal workhorse for the past 4 years and I feel it's time to change a car. Tired of the incessnant rattling and constant changing of parts. And fuel consumption is getting really bad,i'm only getting RM10=60km.

I've always wanted to drive a continental car. Having driven a new Wira before I think the feel is somewhat comparable or similiar to a Japanese made car.Afterall Wira also uses a Jap made Mistsubishi engine. I feel it's now time to try out a continental car. Any comments on what makes I should consider? My budget is 80k nia. :(

I can't afford a BMW thats for sure. Unless a really old one like 95 or 96, so I thought of getting an Audi instead. Somehow,I always liked the conservative look of an Audi. Nothing to fancy but classy and regal.

What kind of Audi can I get with RM80k? Anyone know any good used car shops in Penang or the northern region specializing in Audis? Or even better, any of you selling one?

Thanks guys!!!

Regards,

MrMarlboro

Penang Island

• Around RM80k … i guess you can get urself a 99' A4. Or an 98' A6. But i would recommend A4 1.8T cos it porvides more driving pleasure than an A6, had better gearbox, drivetrain than A4 1.8 (NA). Drawbacks? A4 had less leg room than ur Wira. — If you want an Audi.

RM80,000; if u are open for other options (Europeans of course) would certainly be year 2000/2001 Alfa Romeo 156s.

These are excellent cars, excellent performance; and there are quite a number of Alfa/Fiat special workshops out there since taking these cars to distributor's workshops means bankruptcy; hence no fear of getting 'POTONG' by workshops. Lucky enough you can get a 2001 within the range of RM73,000. Good luck MR Marlboro from penang.

• sorry i meant, within the range of RM73,000 to RM78,000

• Greets,

Any rough ideas what an Audi 1997 1.8T a4 wagon worth these days, especially one that is well mantained by the owner ?

Regards.

:-)

• no idea, Avants are very rare in Malaysia.

• MrMarlboro on Dec 02, 2005 at 9:32 am

Wah A4 less room leg than Wira! Die lar like this. I'm nearly six foot tall and leg room is important for me. Afterall its always nice to not feel cramped when driving long distance. I do that a fair bit. Especially driving outstation to the next state and so on.

How much does a used A4 1.8T cost? Over RM100k?

• Greets,

Its is worth to find and own one ?

Any high maintenance cost ?

Regards.

• hi,

what is the differences between B4,B5 & B6?

• B5 is launch in year 1994 (Malaysia only get it in 1995) the B5 A4 is the one Paul posted; it has a tremendous number of fans due to its classic looks (you wont get bored looking at it, even 10 years later).

The A4 B5 comes in a variety of engine options, but Malaysia only get 1.8 NA Front Drive in year 1995, only to receive the 1.8T Front Drive in year 2001. However, there are a bunch of A4 1.8T which are imported to Malaysia (CBU unit) in year 1997. These excellent cars now costs around RM60 – RM68k for a 1997 model. The year 2001 A4 1.8T (With steptronic gearboxs) costs around RM100,000 now. Note, overseas, they have A4 B5 1.8T Quattros (Which i would die for one if someone in Malaysia has it.

Link to picture: A4 B5 1.8T – http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v309/blazin_dra…

A4 B6 is launched in year 2002; Audi tried very hard to revamped the original, highly succesful A4 B5, but IMO, they failed; however A4 B6 is still very successful in overseas, it comes in a range of 1.8 NA, 1.8T Quattro, 2.8 V6 Quattro and a range topper 4.2 V8 Quattro.

Link to picture: A4 B6 1.8T – http://www.personal.psu.edu/users/d/r/drk150/wate…

A4 B7 however, is launched this year, its actually a heavy update if the A4 B6, modifying its exterior greatly, retaining and improved the same chassis and body. Styling reworked to carry the Audi family face (grill side lines extending to bumpers — I DONT LIKE ! ). The Audi A4 B7 ditched the 1.8T engine in favor of a 2.0T engine with FSi technology from Volkswagon family (available in VW cars and Skoda cars). The new A4 however, had a very nice looking rear, and they ditched the sporty styling in favor of sports/classy kinda feel (more or less like the 3-Series)

Link to A4 B7 – http://www.audi.com.au/upload/86116.jpg

IN REPLY TO MrMarlboro:

The Audi A4 B5 had better room than Wira in terms front seats, rear seats however, more or less the same as Wira. However one might fell Wira to be bigger because of the thick, high quality trimmings in an Audi's cabin. Do not worry about comfort, i'm also close to 6 feet, 5.11" — 5.10+". Audi is one of the most comfortable cars if you are saying performance and comfort driving. Test drive one in local 2nd hand dealers, they're worthed. Damn comfortable, not to say as quiet as (dead) a Camry, but offers more feedback in driving pleasure than a Japanese car of course.

• Thanks for sharing your knowledge Bob!

• In replay to SAM:

Maintenance cost is of course higher than Wira, but how would you define maintenance costs? Each maintenance ? Why not we change it to parts and labor costs? Yeap, Audi parts are of course more expensive than Wira ones, simply because they had lesser of them here in Malaysia, and common sense, higher grade materials costs higher.

I would recommend you to bring an Audi foremen to accompany you if you are trying out a new car, anyway i didn't do that.

For an Audi A4 B5 2nd hand, get the 1.8T.

Change all engine oils/fluids from the car's steering, transmission,braking fluids and so on so forth. Then check on the timing belt service records, signs of accident, the change the Tie Rod Ends too.

• Greets,

Thanks Bob & others for your replys etc. Much appreciate them.

Am in the midst of getting a 2nd hand Audi a4 b5 1.8t CBU-1997 unit soon,

belongs to my boss, a well kept & maintained unit.

Regards.

• congrats! you are soooo lucky! ur boss had one! Where you situated? I'm from KL, Kuchai Lama area. Hmmm maybe one day you me and Paul can get along and form an A4 B5 club?? For me, i am still waiting for financing approval. (pls pls pls, hopefully i'd get approve) And when done, i'll make sure i drive my girlfriends kancil to work everyday, and leave my Audi with her driving 5 km to work everyday. LOL ~

logon to : www.audiforums.com (this is one of the best forums, with loads of experts and friendly guys there. (Note: don't go up and straight ask for maintenance stuffs, they have loads of threads with those info, use search function from the forum) Good luck all A4 owners!

*** All would-be Waja&Perdana buyers. Why not 2nd A4? hence we can create a wave of people looking for A4s, more parts poured to market, lowering prices for parts, more OEM modification parts available… hence lower maintenance costs! ***

By the way, logon to this site : www.streetsoflegend.com

• Greets,

Lucky, maybe, am still awaiting for my boss pricing his beloved toy, apart from gotta wait till I get my loan appoved. Looking forward that it be around the loan ballpark figure I'm gonna be getting, errrrrrrrrrrrrrr, RM50K to RM60K.

I'm originally from Ipoh, working in KL, Jln Ampang area.

No problem meeting up one of these fine weekend days for a teh tarik etc,once I that Audi is truly mine, contact me directly at [email protected] email.

Regards.

• good! i have to wait for mine too…. good luck to both k! hhmmmm wondering bout Paul's ….

Hey paul, hope you didn't give up on it yet…… it's not exactly uber sky high maintenance lar….. around BMWs lor… defnitiely more than a 1997 Camry if its maintenance costs, but do you really want a 97 Camry? or Accord? and of course more comfortable and safer than a Satria lor. :D

• Greets,

Thanks, still awaiting my boss "green light", he's outstation trip is extended till end this week. My SMS is still unanswered, hmmmmmmmmmmm.

Regards.

• good luck pal..

• Keith Tan on Dec 10, 2005 at 7:59 pm

Hi, I happen to come across this discussion while googling on A4 1.8T, which I have owned since '97. Btw. I'm a Malaysian and lived in Toronto, Canada many years. I bought my '97 B5 A4 1.8T Quattro new , which at that time cost about CND32,000 which approx. translated to about RM100,000. It's probably very cheap by Malaysian standard. But it's true to all cars in North America as auto industry is very very competitive here. A merc C240 here sells for abot CND36,000 and a BMW 330i 38'ish. A new Audi A4 2.0T is about 35 thou. now.

I have enjoyed driving my Audi and have no intention of parting with it. In fact, I have made an appointment tomorrow to chip my car with APR and change the diverter valve (to allow for a bigger boost). This will add 50 HP (to 200 HP) and 50 lb-ft of torque (to 245 lb-ft). I think I'm going to enjoy driving it more. I used to take long road trips with my familiy cross-border to the US or

to places in this vast land of Canada.

As for maintenance of this car, it has not been any more than others. Many of them have been mentioned by other posters. The usual problem was control arms, but in North America, there was a recall and Audi fixed them free. For a new Audi, it has a 4-year free maintenance (free oil change and parts replacement and labour). Beyond that, you can either continue to maintain your car at the dealer, which is expensive ($95 an hour labour and expensive original parts), or at private mechanic (there're many good ones) and parts can be sourced throughout North America. There are many after-market parts, which you can find out thru the internet. I once bought a lower control arm for $80 Can. (Original $300 plus) After-market parts can cost 50% or more less than the original parts and the quality is pretty good.

Paul, I'm not sure about parts availability in Malaysia. You can easily purchase the required after-market parts from US and Fed-Ex/DHL over . Don't thing the courier cost that much. If you can find a good mechanic, then it's worth while to own an Audi. It's much better car than an equivilent BMW, just my opinion.

Good luck!

Keith

• Very helpful! thanks Keith!

• Robert Wang on Jan 03, 2006 at 2:08 am

If you want cheap Audi parts, get it from Guangzhou,China. China has many Audis on the road so there are alot of parts available for A4 or A6. Go to chinese internet sites if you know Chinese. As Audi has been in China for over 12 years (A4 andA6 is locally assembled), parts from the market are readily available and much much cheaper than the U.S. (which also source fm. here). I just recently bought a new A6 2.0 TFSI and its been pretty reliable except for some slight noise from under passenger seat and aircon. The interior is much better than BMW and will last longer. My view is problems with any car will also depend on your driving style, if you push it to the limit all the time then its going to wear much faster. Japanese cars are really not that reliable, its just that most of their owners don't drive fast. But continental cars do need extra maintenance, I have owned a BMW 525i before and it was just as expensive to maintain but great to drive. So be prepared to allow for maintenance.

• Can we find 1997 B5 A4 1.8T in Malaysia? I think only A4 1.8.

How reliable is A4 1.8. I saw one A4 1.8 1996 in Ipoh, very good condition, mileage 136,000km. But, afraid this 9 years old car may give problem. As I have not experience on Audi car. I owned a E30 318i for about 15 years since new, still in good condition, maintenance reasonable.

My BWW foreman advised me not to buy the 1996 A4 1.8.

Any comment from Audi car onwer, especially A4 1.8?

Thank you & Happy New Year!

• Yes, we can find 97' A4 1.8Ts. But quite rare, there is one in PJ, nearby Assunta Hospital. Selling for RM65k. 97' 1.8Ts are very rare, only 125 units were brought in in year 1997 by Auto Dunia as CBUs (Complete Build Unit)

If you've owned a E30 and to you the maintenance is reasonable, go ahead with the A4. However i'm not that fond of the 1.8 NA unit, i love the 1.8T thou. The gearbox is tonnes smoother.

• kwkw (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 10:58 pm

Incidently, I'm a proud owner of the '97 A4 1.8T. It's the kind of car that makes you smile every time you look at it, especially so when its just been washed and polished.

I think Bobby hit the nail on the head with his comments. Well researched. I've had tie rod ends, control arms, timing belts, shocks replaced since I bought it 2nd hand. Drives like a charm now.

Feels good to know that there loyalists that are interested when I eventually sell this car!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 8:25 am

Why you wanna sell it? How long have you own one? mind sharing the maintenance costs? i mean a deliberate breakdown of those common ones?

Full timing belt change ?

Gearbox (Any problems? If so, how much?) ?

TREs ?

Control Arms ?

Shocks (whats wrong with them? they looked innocent… ) ?

All, full fluid change ?

Thanks~~

• esvaran (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 11:41 pm

Hi,

I am not very good when it comes to cars but always wanted an Audi. I bought a 2nd A4 1.8(NA) year 1997 clocked about 138k kms and have been driving it for a about 10 days. In fact before confirming the purchase, I did take an Audi specialist to check the car and bought it once he certified its condition. But, I have this wierd problem where the gear doesn't change when I am driving in 'D'. I took it to the dealer and he sent me to his audi specialist for the check up and it was found that the 'gear valve' needs replacement. I was lucky that the car dealer absorbed the expenses for it. It was ok for 2 days but after that the gear does not seem to change again – this happens off and on.

Did anyone of you had the same problems ? Any advice ?

Cheers.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 4:55 am

That is a common thing for Audi A4 NAs. It will take a much longer time to suit itself to your driving style (fuzzy logic gearboxes) and all Audi A4s are like that. It happens most often on slight slopes, whereby although you are not flooring it hard, the gearbox seems to want you to lift your foot then only it will change in. Its more of a characteristic rather than 'problem'

ALL Audi A4 B5 1.8 NA behaves like that. Dont worry. Maybe its something to do with its 4 speed auto gearbox. However A4 B5 1.8Ts wont have such characteristics, cos its utilizing a different gearbox, and with 5 speed auto.

Cheers dude, its hell of a nice car you are driving, if you want a gearbox as creamy as a Camry's, you'd hav bought yourself a camry right? But you know you are different. :)

• benfkb (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 5:00 am

Hi, I'm contemplating buying a used Audi A4 and thought a 2000 make 1.8 (A) would be an ok deal at about RM67k. But after reading about the gear box of the normal A4s – would it be a better option to go for an older '97 model but A4 1.8 T? Wouldn't a more recent make i.e. 2000 vs 1997 be more reliable?

Appreciate if any of you guys could offer some advice…

cheers!

• esvaran (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 7:11 pm

I will share what I have gone through with my A4 1.8(NA) 1997. True enough I had problems with the gearbox "after going around the town to check for a reliable Audi specialist who gives a good deal – does not mean they are cheap" where I had send it for an overhaul which set me back by about RM6k. The previous owner/second hand car dealer who is based near Sunway somehow seem to have fixed a wrong ECU in the car that I bought which was not meant for this model which also contributed to the problems I had which I also confirmed by calling up EuroMobil and few other guys – so had to replace with a new ECU. All these comes with a year warranty and no limit on the mileage. I had no problems since then. If you are a buying second hand Audi, please take it to an independant Audi specialist for a check up – especially the gear box and the ECU as by looking at the ECU seriel number, an experienced Audi mechanic would be able to tell what you will have to commit to if you are buying the car. And yes, A4 B5 1.8T has lesser problems.

Whatever said, it was worth spending the money in this car.

Cheers buddy.

• yip (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 9:38 am

hey,

im a 21yr old kid planning to get an Audi 1.8 (even a kid like me…. XD)

i’ve red it in the mag, Audi 1.8 yr 95-97 cost around 22k – 23k and full loan is arrangeable, full loan for a car this old, should i? how much per month? i estimated bout 400-500 per month (if im not wrong la coz my math shucks)

and, how do i know it comes with a turbo or not because the details arent very detailed, like, whats a TIPTRONIC? MULTI FUNCTION STEERING?

i’ve red all post in this section, some say good some say no good, but this name ‘Audi’ somewhat sounds more, or for me, VERY promising than a new Waja or any proton or MyVis.

Sifus! i need yours advice! (i come across some1’s post saying to form an AUDI club, that sounds good!)

• hisham on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:29 am

if am asked to rate this car i will give it 10 over 10 in everything except for fuel consumption , it's really bad

’m only getting = 60km per galon that's bad ..

• Basky on May 16, 2009 at 8:09 pm

Guys,

Is there a good Audi mechanic in Ipoh? My A4 1.8 is giving some problem. It does not engage to higher gear.

Thanks

• own a 1.8T A4 manuel 1996 Audi- highly recommend- great fun car to drive- sports seats, hard suspension, nice transmission, goes like a rocket, the 4 wheel drive makes this car very safe- can take the corners quickly with confidence. Only drawback is the expensive maintenance- cam belt and abs parts are pricey.

• todd blackwell on Oct 17, 2009 at 10:05 am

I bought a 2003 audi A4 1.8T quattro. Has been reliable and gets good gas milage. It just turned 100k miles and I'm thinking I need to replace the timimg belt, but want to know if I can wait a while . When should I have it done to avoid catatstrophy. I think audi recommends it at 100K , but most recommended service is overkill.Need to know from someone that really knows what they are talking about.

• ahmad saiful 'a on Dec 07, 2009 at 1:29 am

hi,i want to BUY USED CAR AUDI A4 B5 YEAR 1999 AND ABOVE. Please to anyone who wants to sell their audi of this type. my no. is +6013-3008374. EMAIL : [email protected] …tq

• ahmad saiful 'a on Dec 07, 2009 at 1:35 am

hi,i want to BUY USED CAR AUDI A4 B5 1.8 TURBO year 1999 and above. Please to anyone who wants to sell their audi of this type. my no. is +6013-3008374. EMAIL [email protected] …tq

• ahmad saiful 'a on Dec 07, 2009 at 1:43 am

hi,i want to BUY USED CAR AUDI A4 B5 1.8 TURBO year 1999 and above. Please to anyone who wants to sell their audi of this type. my h/p no is +6013-3008374. EMAIL : [email protected] …tq

• saiful on Dec 07, 2009 at 1:46 am

hi,i want to BUY USED CAR AUDI A4 B5 1.8 TURBO YEAR 1999 AND ABOVE. Please to anyone who wants to sell their audi of this type. my no. is 013-3008374. EMAIL : [email protected] …tq

• Raymond on Dec 10, 2009 at 6:39 pm

I bought my Audi A4 1.8T since early 2007(almost 3yrs) but til now i don't know what is ment by letter T, some people say is TIPTRONIC and some say TURBO, so how do i distinguised my car wheather it is tiptronic or turbo. i want to know this coz i want to get repair manual book/CD and difficult to get spare part.

where can i get proper list of spare part and other accessories for my Audi , if i go to local dealer for sure it espensive.

• saiful on Dec 14, 2009 at 4:06 pm

what are the common problems for an audi a4 1.8turbo with tiptronic that an owner must know?

• Dominic on Jan 09, 2010 at 4:09 am

So Paul, what car did you get at last? The Audi 1.8t or the other ones mentioned or proposed. I'm thinking of getting the 1.8t too. Please advise me as I need your expertise if you did purchase one as well as the spare parts availability. Have a Great New Year!!

• Lionel on Jan 17, 2010 at 9:47 am

Greetings! I'm thinking of getting an Audi A4 1.8T, but not sure about the differences between B5 (or 5.5) and B6. Anyone kind enough to share the knowledge of these 2 models? And how about the Fuel Consumption?

Cheers!

• nexus on Jan 28, 2010 at 1:55 am

what is the recomended engine and transmission oil for audi a4 b5 1.8 year 2000?anyone can tell me pls….now i,m using castrol full synthetic 10w 30 for engine oil but engine not vry smooth and noise. i also install HKS air compressor to boost hp but does it contribute to the increase of noise in my engine?

• some of my collge in the office are using it no problem it move like a jet so ve sent 4 one, every car need to be servics from time to time bcos their no car that can not give u problem

• Hafiz on Sep 05, 2011 at 9:11 pm

i drive the 96 b5 1.8 na auto. got lots of problems. lower arms, water pump, gearbox to mention a few. but i love it through and through. handling, speed, and comfort is just wonderful. invest some time and money, it’ll be perfect. im planning on converting it to a 1.8t manual. and its quite expensive and parts are really hard to find.
    so if anybody know where to find it, it would be really helpful.
    and im also looking for audi b5 owners to hang out with.

• Hi Guys,
    this is my first note. I own a Audi 2.0 A6, 1994 model. Do any of u know where I can get used parts? I am looking for a tri shaft (front left).

Regards
    Dharma

• eddie honkkong on Jul 22, 2012 at 12:06 pm

hi…masih on ke forum ni?

• Steven on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:36 am

Hi guys, I am seriously looking for an Audi A4 B5.5 (1.8T)and find the comments here are quite useful. Bob thank you for your feedback here it’s really helpful. Have you bought your B5.5 yet? Do you still stay at Kuchai Lama? I stay at Seri Kembangan adn may have some contacts to get cheap Audi parts. May be we can meet up…anyone who is interested…kaki Audi…and exchange ideas knowledge on our common interest…AUDI…what say you?

• francis on Apr 05, 2013 at 12:34 am

Hi, I own an Audi A4 B5 1.8T 2001 since 2006. I am thinking about forming a club of Audi A4 B5 at Facebook. So that we can exchange ideas and also some of the Sifus and experts can share some of the technical tips to help us on the maintenance of our beloved Audi A4 B5. We can post our pictures like so many Audi a4 B5 lovers around the world.

• francis on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:53 am

I did it. Please go like Audi A4 B5 club Malaysia.

• francis on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:54 am

at facebook