A1GP PROTON Pro Celebrity Race Results

The A1 Grand Prix PROTON Pro Celebrity Race went on without a hitch on the last day of the A1 Grand Prix of Nations. We saw an exciting battle between 11 cars driven by local and international celebrities. There was supposed to be 12 cars, but the man behind A1 Sheikh Maktoum had to pull out due to important business obligations.

Two laps into the race, two cars went out as they collided in a three car pile-up after turn two. With that, Karamjit Singh and young Aaron Lim were out, and the third car driven by Steven Watson continued racing, only to pull out after 6 laps due to mechanical failure.

The highlight of the race was the fierce bumper to bumper battle between Tuka Rocha and Tengku Djan which resulted in another contact. Tengku Djan got out of the contact smoothly after spinning out but Tuka got caught up and ended up with a fifth place finish as a result.

Some comic relief was provided by comedian Mazlan (Lan Pet Pet) of Scenario fame where he accidentally overtook the safety car during the warm up lap. Mazlan said, “Well I though the race had started because everyone was dicing with each other, turns out we were still in the warm up lap and when I realised this, it was too late. In any case the race was still fun, especially in the pits where everyone are good buddies.”

Tengku Djan commented, “The race has been unbelievably fun. Of course we didn’t give an inch of road to one another but it was all in good spirits and I hope the drivers will be up for it again next year.”

The A1GP PROTON Pro Celebrity Race was jointly organised by Race.Rally.Research and Sepang International Circuit with the help of sponsors from Silverstone Tyres, Proreka, and PROTON Parts Centre.

A1GP PROTON Pro Celebrity Race final Classification:

Pos 1 Car 12 Tengku Djan Ley MAS
Pos 2 Car 11 Jan Lammers HOL
Pos 3 Car 6 Christian Jones AUS
Pos 4 Car 4 Akhbar Ebrahim IND
Pos 5 Car 7 Tuka Rocha BRA
Pos 6 Car 3 Norman Hakim MAS
Pos 7 Car 1 Ila Ridak MAS
Pos 8 Car 9 Mazlan (Lan Pet Pet) MAS

Not Classified:

DNF Car 10 Steven Watson RSA
DNF Car 5 Aaron Lim MAS
DNF Car 2 Karamjit Singh MAS
DNS Car 8 Sheikh Maktoum UAE

I assume DNF – Did not finish, DNS – Did not start.

Photos and news thanks to R3 Media General Release.

Related Blog Posts:

A1GP PROTON Pro Celebrity Race Qualifiers
Proton Celebrity Champion’s Drive

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cbljkkj on Nov 21, 2005 at 9:39 am

Lan Pet Pet LOL…What a nickname

• SEE FU on Nov 21, 2005 at 3:41 pm

TENGKU DJAN!! you are damn f***KING GOOD!!! i love* you!! :P

REmarks: *only the driving methods!!! Not gay!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• Is that a Cayenne pace car in the background of the first pic? Sexy, paradoxical beast. I think that driver is having more fun than anyone else on the track!

• I wonder if that fella knows what pet pet means.. haheahea

• trav da man on Nov 21, 2005 at 5:31 pm

Lan Pet Pet is one of the comedians frm Scenario gang FYI.

Anyway if SEEFUU considering Tengku Djan (provided both of u like guys, heheh) i cant imagine what if he brings u to see his parents,n u end up meeting his dad Tenku mahareel, the culprit who destroys proton and behind all these power window problems!!!!

HAHAHHAA

juz kidding, no offense ya, good to cheer up in a pathetic monday morning! :P

Anyway Tengku Djan is not only a brilliant engineer (his is the brains behind R3), but a great racer (won the 12 hr endurance race in Sepang) and also a absolutely one of the best drifters in mysia. Bravo to this dude!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:03 pm

Djan an engineer…??? He didn't even hv an academic certificate……..check his biodata ler…….

• trav da man on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:08 pm

Hameed Koyakuti:

well i read somewhere and i remember he have an engineering degree from some uni from Germany in Automotive Engineering.

Where u get his biodata?

• Engineer or what doesnt a matter… he may get 5 digit salary dude.. LOL .. some was told.. it was pound sterling ?

anyway.. what ever it is… he is champion!!!

• Sharfox on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:53 pm

Hameed Koyakuti Bro,

A little bit of Djan…. He's not very favour to his dad because his dad was against his ambition to become a racer. During that time Alex and Fairuz Fauzy including his brother Farhan are hot in the newspapers. It was like 10-15 years back. Tg Mahalel sent him to Germany instead.

Pls get the facts rite b4 U post something baseless coz somebody here knows something quite well.

• EDDIE FANS on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:19 pm

i cannot believe y eddie was not there………:(

• superman on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:32 pm

Hameed Koyakuti said,

November 21, 2005 @ 10:03 am

Djan an engineer…??? He didn’t even hv an academic certificate……..check his biodata ler…….

He hold a Degree in Engineering. he's better educated and more tech savvy than most if not all Malaysian racers.

Alex Yoong only finished high school to pursue his Professional racing career and Fairuz Fauzy can't even speak english properly..unlike Alex and Alex is better looking too hahaha

• SEE FU on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:43 pm

Ky arr!!

Pet Pet means &%##'&%&%#$&$&#%&#&'$&.

Get it arr?? if not you tell me lah!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• Djan also speaks fluent German…

• love the comment from Jon.. 5 digit is more important..provided that not include the decimal places LOL..

• apa terjadi to karamjit?

• SEE FU on Nov 22, 2005 at 5:31 pm

aa arr!!

KaramGit can only can perform well on OFFROAD conditions, wanna to bet if he allow to drive on a bit offset the Track (just 5 m beside the track lah, in or outside is okay) KaramG sure win one!! Rally only mah!! Normal road where can?

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• honda_driver on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:49 am

the race looked more exciting than the actual A1 race. lots of scrapes, bangs and crashes.. just like british touring cars. the 2nd photo really shows just how close the racing was.

• Jagur_cina on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:51 pm

All of us who saw the race all felt he was too eager to win this nonsence fun race. Saw him take out cars no less than 3 times and he deliberately crashed into Lammers from the back to spin him out.

Afterall isn't he only racing in series totally funded by Proton budgets he himself force through? Like Lotus in 05 Merdeka race and Lotus one make races in Australia?

A big case for conflict of interest if we ever saw one. Maybe Dad encouraged him?

• honda_driver on Nov 24, 2005 at 1:43 am

it was still a good and fun race to watch, and a decent branding exercise for proton at an event that has good coverage around the world. don't know what you're trying to achieve with your "politics" jagur_cina.

• michael lee on Nov 24, 2005 at 5:04 pm

Maybe it is because we are all not born equal. But in the longer term, it is what those more fortunate make of the opportunities that they meet ( mama and papa can only help to a certain level ) – this is what seperates the champions, from the pretenders. Similarly, those who have these opportunities, should not look down on people who never had a chance – because without us ordinary people, there can be no champions.

Sorry – sound like a priest again – but I think many of us would like to give some support to our aspiring young stars rather than to see them flamed before they can fully demonstrate that they are worthy. Thanks.

• benunited on Nov 24, 2005 at 9:25 pm

ai see fuu aa…i've been keen to ask this for a very long time…wth is YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! means??? soli aa see fu no offence…:p

• SEE FU on Nov 26, 2005 at 1:15 am

Benunited arr!!

Wahlahwee…..you don't KNOW??

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! click my blog, then read the title lah!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! you R the 1st person who ask this!!?? cheer :)